Indian® Chief Dark Horse®

Thunder Black Smoke
$17,499 *
Learn more about this bike:

Indian® Chief Dark Horse® Thunder Black Smoke

Indian® Chief Dark Horse® is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 220.
  • y_2017, m_11, d_22, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_220
  • loc_en_US, sid_N18CCDAAAH, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Indian® Chief Dark Horse® is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 220.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Supa, Mega Ride! I bought this bike in July 2015, a few days prior to my 9th wedding anniversary. I wanted to buy a Harley Davidson Sportster in 2009 but my wife was against buying a motorcycle and instead pushed me to have a baby. At that time we didn’t have children. We were blessed with a baby girl in 2010 but we lost her in 2011 just before her 1st birthday due to severe complications happened during her birth. I kept my wife closer to me at this time as close as the fire for the motorcycle kept alive. We were blessed with a baby boy in 2012. Towards the end of 2014, I decided to buy the motorcycle and my wife gave me a go ahead to buy whichever brand/model I liked. I visited the Indian Motorcycle showroom (Specialized Sports Equipment) here in Dubai. I pass by this showroom everyday while commuting to and from work. They are pretty cool guys, extremely friendly, polite and passionate! I wanted to buy the Scout and did the test drive. I was very happy, it’s a powerful bike but it was small for my size since I’m 189 cms tall. I tried the Chief Classic and the Chieftain, liked both but couldn't take a decision since both bikes were impressive. At this time the showroom guys informed me that the Dark Horse will be available in a few months. I waited but before I saw it, I made an initial payment deposit since I had already read a lot about this bike and had also seen the pictures on the internet. I ordered the stage 1 exhaust with fishtail tips (all black) and got it fixed before I took delivery of the bike. This is my first motorcycle purchase in my life and I do not have experience riding a big cruiser. All I had was a 100 cc Honda scooter in the past. I would compare this purchase with my first Mac, a PowerBook G4 in 2002, when Windows was extremely popular, I choose Mac. The same applies here, Indian is the Mac of motorcycles and Polaris is the Apple of motorcycle industry! After 5k service, I changed the header pipes to Freedom Performance’s True Duals and also changed the air intake to Wimmer Custom Cycle’s Koldair intake. Also fixed the pillion seat and tank pouch and very soon the saddlebags. My bike is 12000+ kms now and I already have the stage 2 cams ready to be installed. This is a fantastic bike with exceptional build quality. I’m privileged and honored to ride this bike on the streets and highways of Dubai, UAE where we have some of the best roads in the world! Truly an amazing ride, as amazing as the city itself!
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable ! Ever since Indian relaunched a few years ago, I wanted one. With much sacrifice and dedication to own such a premium machine, I was able to get one a month ago. It has been worth every hour and penny invested. My Dark Horse handles like a dream, has power on tap, puts observing heads on a swivel, and has been everything I ever wanted from a motorcycle. I am on the small side, 5' 7" and worried that it might be too much bike for me. However, the riding position, balance, and control are outstanding. I have no qualms whatsoever about the length or weight of the bike. It is an ease to handle and I could not be more impressed or proud to be a member of the Indian tribe !
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Bought at the beginning of September. Most comfortable motorcycle I've ever owned. It's maneuverable enough to get around in town with ease, and large enough to go for hours on the interstate and be comfortable while on the road. Effortless power from the Thunderstroke 111, even two up. With the stock exhaust, the sound is pretty subdued until you open the throttle. Then she'll bark plenty. Many people have asked why I didn't get a Harley Davidson. I tell them just take one demo ride and find out for yourself. Sure hope they do. I do wish that the accessories weren't so pricey but given the quality, it's hard to complain too loudly.
Date published: 2016-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply amazing! I cannot say enough good about this ridiculously awesome bike. I am close to completing my version of what I call the 'Indian Chief Vintage, Dark Horse edition'. I just need to get the black highway bars on. I liked the classic Vintage model, but the flat black (thunder black smoke) paint job on the Dark Horse matches my 1953 Chevy 3100 pickup perfectly. Plus, it seemed easier to just add the components than repaint the glossy paint from the Vintage model. I added the leather fringe to the OEM black saddlebags which helps with the 'vintage' look. Great bike by Indian!
Date published: 2016-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome ride this is my very first motorcycle, what better than an indian. the ride is nice, lean angle is very good, very controlled power is there when you need it. ABS is nice being a new rider, the sound is awesome for being stock. One thing I don't like is the floor boards are positioned a little high for my liking. but the bike has so many good things going for it, tons of factory accessories, aftermarket accessories are getting better as time goes on. Polaris/ Indian, make a factory bracket to adjust the floorboards down that are compatible with the highway bars installed. would highly recommend
Date published: 2016-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Goodbye Ducati 999, Hello Dark Horse Daddy like, and momma approves! after getting marry, my wife pressure me to get rid of the sport bike, but I have this inner thirst for the open open road. After many negotiations and discourse, she finally approve a solution. She will let me get an Indian if I get rid of the Ducati. No problem! At this age and 3 kids, it's definitely time to slow down and enjoy the view. No better bike than an Indian Dark Horse to cruise toward midlife.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I was looking for! This has been an interesting experience getting used to the new Indian. In many ways it is very like my first ride but of course with all the changes that time and technology have allowed it is a whole new riding adventure. I feel that this is what Indian would've evolved into if the company had stayed in business and been able to grow naturally.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth!! Test rode an Chief Dark Horse and loved it. Besides the fact it's pretty much murdered out it was smooth to ride. The throttle response was nice with out being choppy in 1st gear like my Harley was when I got it. Shifting was nice, not to much work or overly loud like some bikes. And the biggest selling point for me was the suspension. I hit a pothole every bit of six inches deep and about a foot wide, going 25 mph. I barely felt it. And on the highway that engine is a BEAST. 4th gear, 70 mph, and I could still feel I was in the power band and had 2 gears left. Again loved it, can't say enough good things about it.
Date published: 2017-05-28
  • y_2017, m_11, d_22, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_220
  • loc_en_US, sid_N18CCDAAAH, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 468ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

check out more

stay connected

SIGN UP FOR EXCLUSIVE EMAIL OFFERS & UPDATES

*Required Fields

Thank you

for signing up

Look for exclusive news and offers in your e-mail soon!