Learn more about this bike:

Indian® Chieftain® Classic Thunder Black

Indian® Chieftain® Classic is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 8.
  • y_2017, m_11, d_22, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_8
  • loc_en_US, sid_N18TFAAAAA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Indian® Chieftain® Classic is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 8.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Features but HOT ! I test rode the Chieftain while at Sturgis. Here's what I found; The suspension was spot on. It was the most comfortable ride I had EVER ridden, and I've been riding since 1971. That feature alone might sway me to buy one. The electric windshield was terrific but was made cheaply. It was loose and sometimes rattled while riding. It needs some work. The power was very good at all speeds. The tranny shifted easily into all gears, including neutral. The bike had a good feel to it and great sound from those mufflers at all speeds. The displays on the fairing were easy to read and well thought out. The capacity of the saddlebags were comparable to my Harley. All other features were very good as well. The only down side to this bike; it is HOT at idle and standing still!!!!! I mean uncomfortable HOT! That issue needs to be addressed very soon! And the paint isn't up to par with Harley either. Overall, if you can put up with the heat, its a good ride. As I said before, the suspension is spot on for comfort!
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Overall Bike, comfort, ride, performance. I've had my Chieftain a hair shy of 4 years. It now has 55,000 miles on it and runs better than the day I brought it home. I don't think they get broke in until around 15K. I know they run a bit hot, HD moved the CAT back to combat this, I just removed mine, Vance & Hines slip ons, problem solved. I have Avon grips and highway pegs. Other than that she is stock and runs great. Handles like a dream, smooth, powerful and flawless. I rode HD, Honda, Yamaha, ect for about 35 years before getting this bike, hands down the best riding bike I've ever owned period. I was on HD exclusively the previous 12 years. I love my Chieftain and when its time to retire her, I'll buy another. Maybe a Road Master. You won't be disappointed give Indian a ride.
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like Riding on a Lazyboy!! Bought one of the first numbered bikes. Do not regret it. It rides Awesome. Was so use to tightening up for bumps on my Harley. This thing takes them in stride with some Great Glide.
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the styling. Had bike about and runs great and we get a lot of compliments. Only 3 things I would change: More comfortable seat, add a compass & reduce engine heat from rear cylinder.
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Motorcycle!!! This is my second review of this mc and I'm going for another test ride soon. I was so impressed with the suspension that it is worth more time in the saddle to further evaluate the whole bike. I'm certain I'm going to buy one and still keep my Harley. The Chieftain is that good a bike and so is my Road King. Too many toys is a good thing! My Road King is red but my Indian will be black. You have to give this bike a chance. It is FANTASTIC!!!
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from top of the line in the motorcycle world I climbed on this motorcycle in June 2014. Power, torque, craftsmanship and style. I absolutely LOVE this motorcycle. This bike handles like a dream in hard curves, mountains and around town. The thunderstroke 111 is a beast. I believe I will keep this bike for ever. I have owned 3 other make of motorcycle. None of them compared to the quality of the Indian chieftain.
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Style power handling sound The bike has great features handles great in the curves has awesome power sounds good and mileage is great for a bike this size. Also get a lot of people come to look at it and ask about it.
Date published: 2017-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasantly Surprised I went into RideNow Powersports Concord for the sole purpose of having my Yamaha 950T serviced. I always thought that I would one day upgrade to the big boy bikes, but after meeting Justin Massey, Sales Rep., with whom I felt very comfortable, I found myself actually, seriously looking into purchasing an Indian Chieftain Limited. Because of Justin's reassurance that doing the math on a purchase is not a commitment, but rather a chance to look at facts and takeout the guess work. To make a long story short, I didn't think I could be made comfortable enough to purchase the bike, but Justin and the sales staff got it done. I am now the proud owner of a 2018 Indian Chieftain Limited. Now, I could have spent my review describing my new Chieftain, but that bike sells itself and you can read about it or see it at any Indian dealership. But what you can't see anywhere is the service and attention to detail that I experienced at the hands of Justin and the Concord, N.C. staff. It made the difference. I've been in North Carolina just over two years, and I can tell you sincerely, interacting with Justin and the Concord staff was the best personal interactions I have had since moving here.
Date published: 2017-11-01
  • y_2017, m_11, d_22, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_8
  • loc_en_US, sid_N18TFAAAAA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 249ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

check out more

stay connected

SIGN UP FOR EXCLUSIVE EMAIL OFFERS & UPDATES

*Required Fields

Thank you

for signing up

Look for exclusive news and offers in your e-mail soon!