Learn more about this bike:

Indian® Chieftain® Classic Thunder Black

Indian® Chieftain® Classic is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 25.
  • y_2018, m_2, d_19, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_25
  • loc_en_US, sid_N18TFAAAAA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Indian® Chieftain® Classic is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 25.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Features but HOT ! I test rode the Chieftain while at Sturgis. Here's what I found; The suspension was spot on. It was the most comfortable ride I had EVER ridden, and I've been riding since 1971. That feature alone might sway me to buy one. The electric windshield was terrific but was made cheaply. It was loose and sometimes rattled while riding. It needs some work. The power was very good at all speeds. The tranny shifted easily into all gears, including neutral. The bike had a good feel to it and great sound from those mufflers at all speeds. The displays on the fairing were easy to read and well thought out. The capacity of the saddlebags were comparable to my Harley. All other features were very good as well. The only down side to this bike; it is HOT at idle and standing still!!!!! I mean uncomfortable HOT! That issue needs to be addressed very soon! And the paint isn't up to par with Harley either. Overall, if you can put up with the heat, its a good ride. As I said before, the suspension is spot on for comfort!
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bike Ever I bought this bike new in May of 2016. I added a few minor improvements and had it pin striped. While at a physical therapy appointment in the waiting room I spotted 2 girls stop and look at my bike in the parking lot and one of them pulled oout her cell phone taking several pics of my new ride. When I got called in the therapist asked what I like best about my new Indian over my old Suzuki Intruder. After telling him all of the obvious reasons I liked it better I said, " and besides nobody ever stopped and took pictures of the Intruder!" And that just about sums it up!
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dedicated to my wife My wife of 34 years passed away November 29 2017 and since I purchased my 17 Chieftain, I decided to have it custom painted in her favorite colors of blue and purple. I had a Pancreatic Cancer ribbon painted on with initials of JAS for Jane Ann Schwartz and her date of birth and date of passing. I know she watches me as I ride knowing how much my heart is broken and my Indian provides me some grace!!!
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great handeling I am so excited about my new purchase. I cannot wait for the weather to truly break so I can finish the initial break in and really get her going. I am 6'7" so finding accessories that make it a more comfortable ride is important. While I think the quality of the new OEM products is excellent, the cost is just too high. I can't afford to buy a $300 dollar set of Indian highway pegs when I can pay $150 for almost the exact same product from Kuryakn. The best quality means nothing if people can't afford to buy them. Just my two cents worth.
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Overall Bike, comfort, ride, performance. I've had my Chieftain a hair shy of 4 years. It now has 55,000 miles on it and runs better than the day I brought it home. I don't think they get broke in until around 15K. I know they run a bit hot, HD moved the CAT back to combat this, I just removed mine, Vance & Hines slip ons, problem solved. I have Avon grips and highway pegs. Other than that she is stock and runs great. Handles like a dream, smooth, powerful and flawless. I rode HD, Honda, Yamaha, ect for about 35 years before getting this bike, hands down the best riding bike I've ever owned period. I was on HD exclusively the previous 12 years. I love my Chieftain and when its time to retire her, I'll buy another. Maybe a Road Master. You won't be disappointed give Indian a ride.
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2017 Silver Chieftain I got the bug in the spring. I flew to Denver from Asheville for Demo Days and fell in love with the Chieftain, just couldn't pull the trigger at that moment. In June I bought a Sportster, mostly due to the money, but other factors. Even while buying it, The Indian was in the back of my head. I finally saw that the special for the closeout of 2017 was right where I needed it...free money! I bought it in December and even with the bad weather, I have put more miles on it than the Sporty in 6 mos. Wanna buy a Harley?
Date published: 2018-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like Riding on a Lazyboy!! Bought one of the first numbered bikes. Do not regret it. It rides Awesome. Was so use to tightening up for bumps on my Harley. This thing takes them in stride with some Great Glide.
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the styling. Had bike about and runs great and we get a lot of compliments. Only 3 things I would change: More comfortable seat, add a compass & reduce engine heat from rear cylinder.
Date published: 2017-08-30
  • y_2018, m_2, d_19, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_25
  • loc_en_US, sid_N18TFAAAAA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 78ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

check out more

stay connected

SIGN UP FOR EXCLUSIVE EMAIL OFFERS & UPDATES

*Required Fields

Thank you

for signing up

Look for exclusive news and offers in your e-mail soon!