Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Indian Chief Dark Horse

Starting at $21,999 CA MSRP

Model shown with accessories

2019 Indian Chief Dark Horse Thunder Black Smoke is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 316.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bad to the bone First Indian. Should have made the switch from Harley Davidson along time ago.
Date published: 2020-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Look great feels good Best thing I ever did was buy this Indian Motorcycle great bike fun to ride
Date published: 2020-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ride. Turns heads. brought the bike home a few months ago and love riding it whenever I can. It always turns heads and starts conversations.
Date published: 2020-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing bike I absolutely loved the look of this bike when I first saw it. What amazing bike. Rides great!!
Date published: 2020-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really like it Bike looks and runs great, and it’s comfortable, handles good.
Date published: 2020-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bike!!! I bought the 2019 Indian Chief Dark Horse a couple months ago and I couldn’t be happier. I’m a new rider and after completing the 3 day Riding Academy at my local Harley-Davidson dealer, I was able to jump on the bike without any issues. I’m 5’7” and the bike fits perfectly. I owe it to all of the people who posted reviews about this bike because it really helped when I was looking for a bike.
Date published: 2020-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just the look I wanted! Been away from motorcycles for about 12 years now (guess how old my oldest is) and finally decided to get back on two wheels. When I looked at the market I was surprised to see how much has changed. I knew I had outgrown the sport bikes but wasn’t quite mature enough for a Touring...that left me wanting a mean looking cruiser that wouldn’t take hours a month of chrome polishing. When I saw the Chief Dark Horse I was sold. Started doing my homework on reliability and panicked when I saw how bad it was but then realized this was all pre-Polaris and since they’ve taken over it seems the same quality they build their ATVs with is now going into their bikes. I love everything about the bike and am having a blast racking up the miles and customizing it to make it my own. Zero regrets on that purchase!
Date published: 2020-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth riding machine I saw this bike two years ago. Just purchased it a month ago. It is the smoothest riding bike I have ever been on.
Date published: 2020-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great motorcycle Second Indian motorcycle. Used to ride HD only and let’s just say I’m never going back. Indians ride and handle way better then any HD out there. And not to mention made right here in the USA
Date published: 2020-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love the handling. I Bought my Darkhorse a month ago and I absolutely love it. Driving in Cruiser mode is smooth and comfortable, but feel the power on sport mode.
Date published: 2020-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of Power, Great Looks I bought the bike over a month ago now, upgraded from a Scout. The difference is night and day. The power and smoothness of the ride is not even comparable to a Scout or similar. Very comfortable ride, and the ride height allows you to still take corners pretty tight even though this is a large bike. When I bought the bike, the dealership had put Rinehart pipes on, which sound great (much more of a growl to them vs the stock pipes). I'd think my only gripes are; 1) Clutch grab is not a tight fit and rattles against the handlebar when I hit bumps. Tried tightening the clutch cable, but that did not solve it...seems to just be a loose fit. 2) The first shift from 1st into 2nd after starting the bike is a little rough, you really have to force it up into gear. After that however, when the bike warms up, shifting is effortless.
Date published: 2020-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the look Been riding for 40 years, this is the best ride I have had
Date published: 2020-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike What a great bike! Smooth transmission, very well ballanced, more than enough power. Fantastic machine.
Date published: 2020-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smiles for miles Bought this black pony mid April 2020. Couldn't be happier. The look. The power.The compliments. The price. The quality. The reputation.
Date published: 2020-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from She’s beautiful Smooth ride, great handling, and she looks great. Nothing more
Date published: 2020-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The sound and response of the level 2 exast system Just getting used to it. As I meet groups of Harleys, going the other way, the Witches on the backs of the Harleys are rubbernecking me to see what I am riding.
Date published: 2020-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First cruiser Ok so Ive been riding for a little over 10 years. And until I bought this bike it was always rockets. Last bike before this was an R1, However I was ready for more comfort. One day my brother showed me the scout an I had to go sit on it. I did and while it was better then the r1 by miles I was still c shaped for a riding position. Then I sat on a chief an I knew that was it. I traded my R1 in for the chief dark horse. And I only have 300 miles on it so far but I will say I am not disappointed. The ride is super smooth and sitting position is perfect. I can ride for longer then an hour and not feel any discomfort and hitting any bumps in the road are barely noticeable. The bike is fantastic an has enough power to get out of its own way. Only thing I might recommend if you do a lot of highway riding is getting a windshield. An that’s only if your doing 65+. That’s nothing against the bike it’s just the pressure on you from the wind is annoying. But it’s not like I felt like I was going g to get ripped from the bike or anything. The seat is deep and holds you in place well an is very comfortable for a stock seat. And the bike just looks and sounds great. I know for most riders they like there bike to scream with how loud it is. The stock pipes on it have a nice sound. It lets you know it’s there without being obnoxious. But I do know most people want to be heard a block away and the stock pipes don’t do that. While I loved my r1 I regret nothing getting this bike and am looking forward to a summer of long and enjoyable rides with my family.
Date published: 2020-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great motorcycle Bought in Feb. Now April. Great riding motorcycle, good power and no issues to date.
Date published: 2020-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice bike I love the blacked out look and I get many compliments. The lean angle is amazing . The Sport mode is amazing.
Date published: 2020-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not Disappointed. I waited nearly two years to get this bike. It was definitely worth the wait.
Date published: 2020-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mean, Lean and Dark I purchased the 2020 Chief Dark Horse at the end of 2019 while adding the Stage 3 upgrade along with a few other extras. Once the bike was done receiving the upgrade and the 500 mile break-in period was up, I got to test the beast out a bit. Handling is effortless, ride is smooth but pulsating, power is more than I hoped for, and looks are nothing less than exquisite. The only regret I have is there is not enough time in my day to stay in the saddle.
Date published: 2020-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Beast This machine looks and acts so mean. For a 750 lbs. bike, the handling is elite. It’s such a blast to ride. The only negative is that it does not come stock with a windshield like the classic chief and springfield.
Date published: 2020-02-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big bike..but great feel in the corners What attracted me at first was the looks of the Darkhorse… But then the smooth easy ride is making me a fan
Date published: 2020-02-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike I bought the Chief Dark Horse in January at Pikes Peak Indian Motorcycle in Colorado Springs, CO. Had a number of things done to it to include adding The Stage 3 Big Bore Kit, and had the Heads Diamond Cut. Bike looks, rides, and sounds fantastic!!!! The dealership is top notch and I highly recommend!!!!!
Date published: 2020-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Indians Rule I bought this in December, it is an awesome machine
Date published: 2020-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why Harley when you have something much much bette I test drove the soft tail. thinking this is a big bike for me to handle. I am 5'10". after enougrage myself and bought the bike. It is the best decsion on the bike ever. It handles much better, the weight is nothing. I love it!!!!!!
Date published: 2020-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First Impressions I've barely had a chance to ride it since I purchased her in the off season, and it's really cold in MN this time of year. But It runs and rides great from the little taste I've had so far, It's a beautiful bike and even being a no frills model it has some great features like push button start and cruise control.
Date published: 2020-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chief dark horse I just traded my 2017 Indian scout which I put 4300 miles on in 6 months first street bike totally loved it but on the highway got blown around. Just picked up a 2017 Chief dark horse 3500 miles on it what a bike love it thought it would be harder to ride, after two days of getting used to the bike it handles like a dream
Date published: 2019-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bookmarked for my next bike purchase I was finally able to test ride a 2019 Chief Dark Horse and it exceeded all my expectations. What an absolute road crusher! I currently own a 2018 Scout Bobber and have the Chief Dark Horse pegged as my next bike.....dependant on one singular change: PLEASE give us some color choices Indian!!! It is such a beautiful bike, but all of them are black. Indian has some of the best colors in the motorcycle industry (check out their scout line) so it only seems natural that more color options should come to the Chief Dark Horse. Pssst: White Smoke is the color I want.
Date published: 2019-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow.. I love the RIDE! I have not purchased yet... yet!!!
Date published: 2019-10-08
  • y_2020, m_10, d_28, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_316
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19CCDAACH, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 90ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Customer Reviews
Chief Dark Horse Thunder Black Smoke

Indian Chief Dark Horse

Starting at $21,999 CA MSRP
Trim & Color options Thunder Black Smoke
Features
THUNDER STROKE 111 V-TWIN ENGINE
THUNDERSTROKE 111 V-TWIN ENGINE

The award-winning Thunderstroke 111 produces 119 ft-lbs of raw torque for passing power in every gear.

EXHAUST THAT ROARS
EXHAUST THAT ROARS

Turns heads with dual exhaust pipes that deliver a rich, throaty note.

CORNER CARVING POWER
CORNER CARVING HANDLING

Engineered to perform with a lightweight cast aluminum frame that delivers easy, nimble control.