Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Indian Chief Vintage

Starting at $23,999 CA MSRP
2019 Indian Chief Vintage Thunder Black is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 627.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic Style I dreamed about owning a a vintage Indian chief...the styling is instantly recognizable and timeless in my opinion. I was lucky enough to find a 2010 kings mountain vintage chief, basically a barn find with next to no mileage in 2020. However I wanted a modern version of the same bike I could ride with confidence. I bought the bike online from a dealer 500 kms away as there were few in stock. my new 2020 is beautiful and probably the most appreciated update is the cruise control, paint, fit and finish.
Date published: 2021-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool bike I wanted to buy exactly that bike since it came out and couldn’t do it for personal reasons but when I finally got it I’m now on cloud number 9 . Did my first 1k miles on it and hopefully not gonna have probs going forward as planning to ride it not keep it as a souvenir
Date published: 2021-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love bike great ride Bought bike love it. Just wish seat was more comfortable
Date published: 2021-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Bike Was looking to trade my 2016 Ultra Limited on a Springfield or Vintage...went to the local Indian dealership and they did not have anything new that I wanted...but the salesman asked if I have seen the used Vintage outside...One look and I knew it was mine..AND for a 2016, it only had 1900 miles on it so I was getting a brand new bike with TWO SEATS at a GREAT Price and with my Trade, I paid cash and walked away with the title..That was 2 Weeks ago.. Got a big ride with the boys today and will put it over 1200 miles in two weeks, I can't stay off this thing! I get LOTS of thumbs up!
Date published: 2021-05-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Reliable I bought a chieftain 2019 model was a test ride bike got it last winter so finally got to go on a long ride about 150 miles the motor started shutting down at different speeds anywhere from 40 to 70 mph took it in they had know idea what was wrong. I used my common since and found the problem. Took it on a 1100 mile trip rand fine but lost the rear seat bolt and the heal shifter pad the replacement cost was outrages. So far not real happy with the bike. By the way if they want the fix for the motor shutdown it will cost the price of a new Harley.
Date published: 2021-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Full Send I've wanted a Vintage since I first saw one. You can keep your murdered-out club-style baggers, I like the timeless beauty. Literally everywhere I stop someone comes up to admire her lines and tell me I've got a sweet bike. She's got chrome for days and the go-fast fringe on the bags adds at least a couple of horsepower. Speaking of go-fast, she does alright. Even though I'm through the break-in period, I still haven't really pushed the envelop on what this bike delivers. I just haven't felt the need. She doesn't corner like my sporty, but she is surprisingly easy to lean. I never feel like I have to fight this bike. The acceleration is effortless and the braking is more than adequate. I went with the stage 1 slip-ons and hi-flo air cleaner and am happy I did so. I rode it stock for about a month before the switch and the difference is noticeable. I'm not just talking about the low, growly exhaust notes either. Would I recommend this bike? Is a big bear heavy? Of course.
Date published: 2021-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2021 Indian Vintage I can’t wait to ride it everyday. The accessories of heated grips and comfortable seat make long trips a pleasure. Highway pegs added yesterday and now fully able to extend my legs. Just waiting for mini floorboards for the passenger to be installed.
Date published: 2021-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best I've ridden I've ridden street bikes for almost 30 years. Started on sport bikes, then HD, now this new Indian Vintage. Have ridden a lot of makes and models. The comfort and power of this bike is outstanding. Low end torque rivals my old CBR. Great range and amazingly responsive throttle. Visually it's artful, I get compliments constantly. I'd lost a lot of my interest in riding the past few years. It's back in spades.
Date published: 2021-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding! Over the years, I’ve tried all the major brands and narrowed my search down to a bagger as this addresses all my needs. It finally came down to the RK or the vintage chief. One ride was all it took to make up my mind! I pulled the trigger and in a few weeks I turned over the 3000 kilometre mark! Incredible ride, handling, performance and......well, what can you say about the looks. “She’s right purty”! There’s no going back now! Thanks Indian!
Date published: 2021-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2019 Indian Chief Vintage...Love It! Got it early Sept 2020. Balance & fit are perfect.
Date published: 2020-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superior ride, comfort, iconic styling. After 45+ yrs. I switched brands. I'm glad I did. Never too late.
Date published: 2020-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking bike. Saw the bike online and had to pull the trigger on it. Classic style with plenty of power to get you there in a hurry. I really love the quality of the leather and the saddle is as comfortable as my recliner. Really glad I got the heated grips have had a couple of rides in the 50s and they worked awesome.
Date published: 2020-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the colors I brought the bike But haven’t ridden just yet, waiting for spring.
Date published: 2020-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you do not like attention, get a Harley One day I was out with my fiancé riding our Goldwing with a bunch of other bikes. When we pulled up to a light there was the most beautiful bike in front of us. Since we were in full face helmets (and did not have our comms in yet) we did not say anything to each other. When we got to our destination, we immediately started talking about the bike we had just seen. It took me awhile to find out it was an Indian Chief Vintage in Willow Green and Cream. After we saw it, we were on a mission to find one. We finally found one at A & A cycle in Latrobe Pa. We bought the bike in September and picked it up in October after customizing it. This bike draws attention EVERYWHERE we go! I cannot take it out without someone saying how beautiful the bike is. I have had people stop traffic, yell from cars, take pictures of it. When I ride with my friends (mostly Harley's) my bike is the only one that gets comments. You cannot say enough about how beautiful this bike is. This is also a nice riding motorcycle. My first ride was 5+ hours on it, enjoyed the whole trip. I own five (5) motorcycles and it is hard not to take this one out every time. I love the attention it draws. So much so, that we bought the Scout in the same color.
Date published: 2020-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MY DREAM BIKE My first Indian was a 2017 Vintage (after riding a HD for 12 years) and loved it. I saw that the rake angle was reduced on the 2020 Vintage to the same degree as the other big bikes, which I had test driven, and the handling was significantly better. So I traded up, for that reason. The 2020 also had some other upgrades that put the icing on the cake: Ride Mode, Rear Cylinder Deactivation and Air Adjustable Rear Shock. I got the Patriot Red/Pearl Icon paint which just POPS! I have never had so many looks and compliments! The stock pipes were too wimpy so I switched those out for some deep rumbling aftermarket turndowns and also put on the stage 1 Indian ram air box. Now it sounds as good as it looks and handles. I got the bike on May 15 and put on 6500 miles this season! I could not be happier.
Date published: 2020-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality I have been a Harley guy my entire life. I have owned every model. I wanted something different. Everyone has a Harley and you hardly ever see an Indian. I bought an Indian Chief Vintage. It's what an Indian has always looked like. This is a quality motorcycle. It has everything I wanted in a bike.
Date published: 2020-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bike! Love the bike. Wish Indian made all available accessories a little bit easier to come by. Many aren't even on the website but are available if you ask the dealer for the full catalogue... Overall great products.
Date published: 2020-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magnificent Bike! The feeling of this ride is marvelous...so glad I took the plunge!
Date published: 2020-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cheif vintsge After riding HDs for 45+ years, I was ready for a new bike. After test riding several brands, I was completely overwhelmed by the New Indian Chief. I just couldn't believe how GOOD this bike is. It was a "no brainer"! Everything I expected and THEN SOME! Power, comfort, handling and good looks to boot! I am very happy I decided on this bike.
Date published: 2020-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good looking Traded a HD trike, for it Indian is so smooth, best trade I've ever made
Date published: 2020-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sexiest bike ever! Rides and handles like a dream ,havent had this much in decades. Its the greatest looking bike I've ever seen ,straight throwback from the 1940s.
Date published: 2020-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just okay I bought this bike a couple of months ago, I have three Harley Davidsons and I have only had HD for over forty years now. Really not to sure about this Indian. Checking the oil is a nightmare, sometimes you get NO reading on the dipstick even after a ride? They say its okay? I plan on testing the first oil and verifying the actual amount of oil I take out.
Date published: 2020-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Modern Classic I’ve had my bike Indian Vintage for over a month. Everywhere I go people comment on how beautiful it is. It has all the style of an old bike with all the ride and comfort of a modern one.
Date published: 2020-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy! Happy! Happy! I went to the dealership to purchase a Scout. I was all but ready to do so, but I kept getting drawn to the Chief Vintage. My wife and I ended up buying the Vintage. I could not be happier with this purchase. I’m having the time of my life. This motorcycle is FANTASTIC and beautiful besides. It’s funny, on days we can’t ride, we sometimes just stand in the garage and look at her! In addition, I’ve entered her in two motorcycle shows and won them both including Best of Show in one. I’m VERY happy with my Indian Chief Vintage!
Date published: 2020-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike I’m 58 years old and have been riding motorcycles since I was 10. I have owned several dirt and street bikes and this is by far the best. Looks great, rides great, and is the most American made bike you can buy (sorry Harley). Will stick with Indian until I get too old to ride.
Date published: 2020-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Poor unpredictable roll in on the power at low RPM Beautiful design. Meticulous assembly resulting in perfectly matched components. Stitching on the leather components is an example of quality craftsmanship. The paint is a bit soft leading to light scratches but the quality of the finish is superb. Unfortunately, the power at low RPM and lower gears tends to surge at the worst possible moments. It can be managed with excessive clutching but it is in essence, a safety issue that needs to be addressed. This should not be the price of a digital throttle. The next question is "Would you recommend this bike to your friends?" If the power issue were addressed, then a resounding yes! As it is, a no.
Date published: 2020-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Bike!!!!!! I bought this bike about 6 weeks ago and couldn't be happier with it. I love how it handles, looks and rides. I cant stop anywhere without people comin up to me to admire it and ask me all about it. Thank you Indian!!!!!!
Date published: 2020-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just a thrill I have 1,020 miles on it after a month of ownership. I've ridden Harleys for over 40 years and this is my first Indian. It's a great motorcycle! It reminds me of riding a vintage motorcycle, (maybe that's why it's called a vintage), with a modern day engine and electronics. Loads of torque when needed. Just a pleasure to ride and gets compliments whenever I take time to park. It's loaded with chrome and I like chrome. Comfortable, good seat, good suspension. It could use bluetooth handlebar speakers as an accessory, but I got one for my helmet.
Date published: 2020-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy Owner After a test ride a few years ago I purchased a 2019 Chief Vintage. It is a joy to ride and a work of art. I have only 2 complaints: Indian accessories are crazy expensive and stopping for gas usually takes some time because so many people are curious about the bike. People want to photograph it !!
Date published: 2020-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still sweet 5 years later I love my 2015 Vintage. This motorcycle is a work of art as far as styling. The engine has a grunt that Harley riders are jealous of. Stage one exhaust and intake make it a beast.
Date published: 2020-09-17
  • y_2021, m_10, d_24, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_627
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19CVAAACA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 78ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Reviews
Indian Chief Vintage Thunder Black

Indian Chief Vintage

Starting at $23,999 CA MSRP
Trim & Color options Thunder Black

ICON Series motorcycles are part of a limited-availability factory custom paint program.

Features
Timeless Style
TIMELESS STYLE

Genuine leather saddlebags, classic wire wheels, whitewall tires, and premium leather seats make for a rich, classic ride.

As Smooth as it is Powerful
AS SMOOTH AS IT IS POWERFUL

The famed Thunderstroke 111 engine produces 119 ft-lbs of torque. Exceptional power at low RPM and a smooth ride at any speed.

AGILE HANDLING AND CONTROL
AGILE HANDLING AND CONTROL

Easy, nimble control made possible by a lightweight cast aluminum frame.