Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Indian Chieftain Classic

Starting at $32,499 CA MSRP
2019 Indian Chieftain Classic Thunder Black is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 103.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Ride The features are exceptional. The ride is like a glider. Sadly, the seat is the worst. Working on replacing or modifying it.
Date published: 2020-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bike Traded in my springfield for a model with radio and gps and full fairing
Date published: 2020-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All around great bike. I love the power of the bike. Even though its a touring bike the acceleration is incredible. The ride command system is awesome. The audio quality, the navigation, and all the screen options make the experience that much better. Also you can't beat the ride and the styling.
Date published: 2020-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the way it handles. I bought mine about two months ago and absolutely love it!!!!
Date published: 2020-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bike I ever ridden I purchased this MC a month ago after first visiting a HD dealer and test riding 3 of their bikes. So happy I decided to visit the Indian Dealer right after those test rides. This bike rides like a dream, well balanced, shifts smoothly and doesn’t look like everyone else’s bike (HD). Love the Design and outstanding Engineering of their machines that my wife purchased a Scout the same week
Date published: 2020-08-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It been backfiring left the dealership they didnt have time to adjust the shifter it was a little to low for my toe so when I got home I went to adjust it i noticed it was bent i called the dealership they don't keep pets in stock
Date published: 2020-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First ever brand new bike Great bike and the ride is fantastic. It’s a great mix of retro styling and all the goodies.
Date published: 2020-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome smooth riding bike For a big bike it’s the best one I’ve ridden for comfort, cornering, handling. You can throw this thing around the corners, kick it down and fly out of it!
Date published: 2020-08-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Could be great, but Keeps breaking down. I’m having to put it in the shop again for the 4th time in 2.5 months. Hopefully it’s just a gremlin they find this time. When it works it’s awesome.
Date published: 2020-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like the look and features. Bought this 2mo ago. Enjoy the ride but it gets to hot.
Date published: 2020-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Motorcycle! Excellent Motorcycle! Great handling and extremely comfortable ride. I especially Like the power windshield and the Ride Command. I also find the sound system to be exceptional. I would purchase an Indian again without reservation!
Date published: 2020-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2019 Chieftan Classic I purchased this bike in late May and it is awesome. This bike suits me like no other bike I have had in the past. It easily is my favorite ride compared to the Harleys and Goldwings I have had. Great bike
Date published: 2020-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally!!! Outstanding fit and finish! Been eyeballing fairing bikes for many years now and was finally able to pull the trigger on my beautiful, glossy black Chieftain Classic!
Date published: 2020-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic Icon Wonderful ride, this bike gets looks everywhere you go.
Date published: 2020-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great motorcycle i bought a month ago and i'm very happy, i get "nice looking bike" all the time
Date published: 2020-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy Overall, But.... I have had the Chieftain for a couple of months now and overall I'm happy with the bike. The bike did develop a vibration I can feel in the right floor board after the first 1000 miles that I also notice in the mirror (blurry vision) between 2500 and 3000 RPM. The dealer felt it was normal (subjective of course) but it wasn't as smooth as it was during the first 1000 miles. This is a little disappointing to me because I bought the bike for touring and comfort. I wish I could give it 5 stars, but the vibration is an issue.
Date published: 2020-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike I stopped in at Indian of Springfield for the first time. Shortly after I traded my Street Glide for a Chieftain Classic. Never intended to but sure glad I did!
Date published: 2020-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plenty of power..... smooth ride I trading my Harley Davidson Street Glide on this Chieftain Classic.So much smoother than the Harley and seems like it has a little more power
Date published: 2020-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than ever exspected I bought it in March and if its above 40 im on it. The wife added a few thing to make her more cumfy on the back and now she is planning road trips
Date published: 2020-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bike I ever owned Lots of power, class and style. Lots of chrome feels solid but surprisingly nimble
Date published: 2020-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cheiftan classic I am throughly enjoying my new Indian. Very smooth and easy to ride at 75 mph.
Date published: 2020-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2018 Chieftain Classic - An Awesome Classic Reborn I bought my brand new 2018 Chieftain Classic 1 1/2 months ago and only due to the weather am I still working on my 500 mile break in period. I decided to add a full stage 1 right out the door along with a backrest for myself. The bike beautifully in all speeds and RPMs without any chugging as I’ve seen in other posts. It was great pull from the start and even sets you back in the seat when passing someone on the highway without the need to downshift. The torque is unbelievable fro the TS111. During my 500 mile service I plan to add stage 2 cams and look forward to a bit more power and that classic big bike rumble at idle. Overall, I am extremely satisfied with my purchase and plan to log many miles around Alabama and Tennessee through the beautiful backroad scenery.
Date published: 2020-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome ride, style and power I have owned and rode since 1974, several different brands but none with the comfort and power of the Chieftain!
Date published: 2020-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything I’ve been looking for. Didn’t want a touring trunk or hard lowers, but wanted everything else. Got more than I expected. Suspension, handling, power, and looks; all top notch. Test rode the bike in 2017; bought one in 2018. Traded in my Harley. Love the power windshield and the Ride Command. Added heated hand grips and seat plus others. Just what the doctor ordered! It’s a keeper!
Date published: 2019-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Way too many features I didn’t buy anything yet and I would never spend $30000 for a motorcycle
Date published: 2019-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING MACHINE We own 2 a 16 and a 17 with trike conversion. We absolutely love them both!!!
Date published: 2019-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Old Ruby I am exemely pleased! It's a great ,great bike! Handling, and looks are great too.
Date published: 2019-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This bike is made to ride! Test rode a Chieftain Classic at Sturgis 2017. That sowed the seed. Everything on this bike, from the engine, to the windshield, to the Ride Command, to the suspension, stereo, and looks, is so well engineered and thought out. Bought mine November, 2018. Best bike I’ve ever owned!!! I just can’t say enough good things about it. Test ride one. That’s all it will take.
Date published: 2019-08-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Handles curves with ease and smoothness I did a 10 mile test ride through the canyons at the 79th Sturgis. I did my test ride on a 2018 Chieftain powered by the 111. I did this ride with 3 other friends and we all had the same feelings with the bikes. The bike handles amazing, it was like just floating on the road. Cornering handling is probably the best of any bike I have ever been on. I say that with 20+ years of riding experience. The bike has amazing balance very user friendly. The only thing I was disappointed in was the power out of the 111. It felt very underpowered to me compared to a Harley with a 107. The 116 was available for test rides but there was a long wait and I did not have the time. I wish I could have compared the 2 engines but maybe next time. Just my opinion it's a very well built bike and easy to handle.
Date published: 2019-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth ride.. I dont own an Indian yet, but am planning on purchasing one next year. The Chieftain will be my bike. I've been on one several times at Sturgis and the Indian dealership in Denver.. Love this bike!
Date published: 2019-08-15
  • y_2020, m_10, d_30, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_103
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19TFAAACA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 58ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Customer Reviews
Chieftain Classic Thunder Black

Indian Chieftain Classic

Starting at $32,499 CA MSRP
Trim & Color options Thunder Black

ICON Series motorcycles are part of a limited-availability factory custom paint program.

Features
Chieftain feature
CLASSIC FAIRING DESIGN

The fairing design was inspired by the sleek and powerful streamliner locomotives of the 1950s.

Chieftain feature
PREMIUM CHROME FINISHES

Chrome engine, chrome exhaust, chrome highway bars and a chrome headdress on the front fender, make it shine like no other.

Chieftain features
HERITAGE INSPIRED STYLE

The Chieftain Classic features the iconic valance front fender and 16” wheel.