Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Chieftain Dark Horse

Starting at $34,499 CA MSRP

*Model shown with accessories

2019 Indian Chieftain Dark Horse Thunder Black Smoke is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 396.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hate Ride Command Ride command needs work the screen options suck and you want to charge us for an upgrade after paying 30K for the bike. My 2018 Dark Horse that I should have kept out preformed this 2021. I'm seriously thinking of trading it in on a new Road Glide.
Date published: 2021-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bike Bike is great . Even sounds decent for factory pipes. Sport mode is definitely a difference.
Date published: 2021-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Indian Motorcyle Ruby smoke is the coolest looking color ever! After installing Rinehart exhaust it is the best sounding bike out there!
Date published: 2021-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sporty bagger Tried a Harley but was not comfortable, so test rode an Indian
Date published: 2021-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Suspension I bought this 2021 Indian Chieftain Dark Horse replacing my 2014 Harley Streetglide The Indians suspension is exceptional smooth and very responsive with great overall handling.
Date published: 2021-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent ride I love the handling of the bike and the power that it has
Date published: 2021-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome smooth ride First Indian I have ever had and absolutely love it
Date published: 2021-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all around Love the bike even more than I thought I would awesome power comfortable and a great look
Date published: 2021-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grown Man Bike I went from the Scout Bobber to the Chieftain and so glad I did. This is the bike you want to go on trips with. Comfortable, powerful and just mean as hell looking Dark Horse..
Date published: 2021-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! Upgraded from a 2016 Scout Sixty after 10300 miles. The handling is unreal. I went to test ride the Chief and while on the ride decided to just try the chieftain. As soon as I got on I knew it was a done deal and no need to wait on a chief arriving.
Date published: 2021-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Ride! This bike is awesome! It is beautifully styled and has a perfect color combination to turn heads!
Date published: 2021-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Bike I upgraded from a 2016 Victory Cross Country that I thought could never be matched but I was wrong. Indian/Polaris really stepped up their game on these machines.
Date published: 2021-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great performance and tech is good too I did a test ride on street glide and Chieftain dark horse the same day and liked the chieftain way better in terms of performance snd tech is pretty much the same. Street glide had better buttons and build on the fairing components and handlebar but that is the only area where HD had one up on the chieftain which easily wins hands down!
Date published: 2021-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark Horse Review I bought my 2021 Indian Chieftain Dark Horse about a month ago. I rode this bike on my 1K in a Day challenge and it performed perfectly. It rides and performs like a dream. Super well balanced and easy to control.
Date published: 2021-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dreams do come true!! My wife and I have been dreaming about buying a new Indian for several years. We window shopped the dealer for fun several times while we were in Idaho falls. A few months ago I caught myself on Indians web site and came across the new dark horse chieftan. It speaks volumes of attitude and style! Everything about this bike was appealing to us. Decided to make a phone call and check it out. Long story short, we drove one home shortly after!! We are busy people, self employed for close to 40 years. This bike was well worth the wait! Everything about this bike has exceeded what we wanted out of it! Incredible power and drivability, smooth as silk ride. The whole package of this bike was engineered masterfully! Real pleasure to ride!
Date published: 2021-07-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Darkhorse I bought my bike over a month ago. I’ve been wanting a bagger for some years now and was initially considering and Harley Street Glide. I went with the Indian Chieftain Darkhorse because people said it was so much better than the Harley. I love the look. The ride quality is great (can’t compare it to the Harley because I never road one). I put an Indian Stage One kit on it and it sounds awesome. It’s like the tune isn’t great though because it goes dead while idling sometimes. Very embarrassing and annoying. The Ride Command with Apple car play sucks. Sometimes it won’t play at all even with Bluetooth connection. I have to turn the bike on then back off for it to connect. I expected more. I’m over 35K into this bike with the upgraded audio system and the Stage One kit
Date published: 2021-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic bike! Excellent handling bike, great power, ergonomics and ride command are excellent. Just a fun bike to ride.
Date published: 2021-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly is better in every way I traded a 2017 Road King Special with a full Stage 1 in for a 2021 Indian Chieftain Dark Horse. While I did like the RK, with the potential engine oil sumping and transmission to primary oil transfer issues, I just did not trust it. Also, I could not justify spending the amount of money that it would take to make the bike trustworthy. With that, I decided to sell it so I posted it up on crackbook. Within 15 minutes, the GM at Savannah Indian reached out to me. I took the bike to them, and with the best customer service that I have ever experienced, I rode home on my new Chieftain Dark Horse. I did have them swap the handlebars for midrise bars but other than that, it is a stock 116. My opinion of the bike? Better than the RK in every way! More power with better power delivery, better brakes with more feel, better suspension with better handling and a better ride, and a more stock features than HD is offering. The bottom line is that HD as a company forgot about customer service a long time ago. The cost of their parts and labor is ridiculous and their dependability isn't that great. Indian is not only making better machines, they are treating their customers properly. As long as they don't get full of themselves like HD, they'll have me as a customer for life.
Date published: 2021-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing motorcycle! Had this a little more than a month, traded in my 19 scout sixty. It's really been a goal, dream for me to own a bagger and to be honest with how hard it's been to get motorcycles this year I lucked out. Yes, it's quite a bit more in cost but the ride makes it worth it. This machine handles like a dream, has power for days and is really comfortable. My first trip was 230 miles and they were easy, enjoyable miles. The bike has a ton of features! If I were to offer Indian a suggestion it would be update the radio with ANDROID AUTO...lol please...I really don't have any cons other than that. Go test ride one and you'll see what I've been talking about. Thanks Indian for making this 51 year old man's dream come true!
Date published: 2021-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Motorcycle I bought this motorcycle a month and a half ago. Already did the break I’m service and finally been able to experience the bike at its greatest. This machine in a beast! It’s an absolute joy to ride. It’s smooth and comfortable.
Date published: 2021-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chieftain I love this bike! Traded Harley road king in for it and couldn’t be happier!
Date published: 2021-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bike. Bought it about 6 weeks. Ultra smooth ride. I wanted one for years.
Date published: 2021-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Handling! I bought a few months ago and love it! I thought buying a bagger i was giving up on performance and fun or at lest cornering. This bike has plenty of power and corners almost as well as a road bike.
Date published: 2021-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT MOTORCYCLE I TRADED IN CHIEFTIAN 2018 FOR 2021 ,GREAT CHOICE!
Date published: 2021-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike I love everything about this bike. After much research about Harleys, I derided I have owned enough of them and wanted to try something different. I am happy with the choice I make. Lots of rider features such as GPS, TPMS, Bluetooth etc. I have put 2,000 miles on it I’m just over a month. it truly is a great bike.
Date published: 2021-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great decision! I’ve been riding Harley’s for the last 15 years and didn’t think that would ever change, however one test ride on a Chieftain changed all that. So far very good. It’s got the power and the looks that I expect.
Date published: 2021-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it I had looked at getting another HD after not having a bike for 12 years, a friend said to me that he didn't think he would buy another HD and mentioned Indian, I looked at what they offered and found a local dealer that had the exact model and color that caught my eye, one ride and I rode it home that day
Date published: 2021-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME POWER AND RIDE! VERY NICE ON THE ROAD AND THE POWER IS AWESOME! I LOVE THE LOOK AND SMOKE BLACK COLOR.
Date published: 2021-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Bike! I bought my first Indian back in April! Best bike I ever owned. My Chieftain Dark Horse is smooth riding, powerful and looks awesome!
Date published: 2021-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bike Loved my 1st chieftain this one's even better than the 1st one
Date published: 2021-06-13
  • y_2021, m_10, d_24, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_396
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19TCDAACH, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 94ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Reviews
Chieftain Dark Horse Thunder Black Smoke

Chieftain Dark Horse

Starting at $34,499 CA MSRP
Trim & Color options Thunder Black Smoke

ICON Series motorcycles are part of a limited-availability factory custom paint program.

Features
Chieftain dark horse
STYLED WITH AN EDGE

A fairing, slammed saddlebags, and a gunfighter style Rogue seat delivers a streamlined, commanding ride and presence.

Car Play
INDIAN MOTORCYCLE RIDE COMMAND

The largest, fastest, most customizable system on two wheels, with Apple CarPlay® integration, turn-by-turn navigation with intuitive destination search capabilities, Bluetooth connectivity, vehicle information, plus connected traffic and weather overlays to keep you on the road longer.

Chieftain dark horse
MODERN. MEAN.

LED lighting from nose to tail and a lowered stance complete the custom-inspired look.