Indian Chief Vintage

Starting at $23,999 CA MSRP
Build Chief Vintage BUILD YOURS Find a Dealer Find a Dealer
2019 Indian Chief Vintage Thunder Black is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 540.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Got a second Indian to put on a sidecar Actually just bought my 3rd Indian. My first is a '46 Chief I'll have forever. Tried a new Indian while at Sturgis in 2013, came home, sold my H-D and ordered a Chieftain. Much better handling and smoother than my old bike plus noticeably better low speed balance. My wife can't ride on the back so I recently bought a Vintage in Willow green and creme. The bike is different but just as good as my Chieftain. After 700 break-in miles I put on a matching Hannigan sidecar. The power and great brakes on the Vintage made it a natural for the hack. The only problem I have is getting away from people when I make a stop. Even before the sidecar more people flocked to this bike than even my '46. The pros are many and I don't have any cons.
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the engine... I've had my Vintage for 5 months now, and have had zero issues...I've yet to find anything I don't like about it. One surprise feature that I had not even considered when I purchased it was it's VERSATILITY. I didn't realize how much I would employ the quick release features of the bags, luggage rack/back support and windscreen. I can quickly adapt to changes in weather, mood, and intended use. Possibly the greatest feature is what it DOESN'T have: vibration! I salute the engineers that designed the Thunderstroke 111, I am continually amazed at how smooth and well mannered the bike is!
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bike love it We were on vacation this year in the black hills the week before Sturgis and were looking at all the bikes and were at the Indian dealer looking around we have been talking about getting a bike but they all look the same my wife saw this 2014 Vintage and loved it from the start, so we made a deal and took it home with us, been a great bike no issues and turns heads, a lot a people ride bikes at work and my Indian stands out, everyone loves it.
Date published: 2018-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my BIKE!!! I bought my MINT GREEN and Ivory Cream Chief Vintage in April of 2015 and have had nothing but great riding with it. I added some pipes, air filter and some bing to it and it's AWESOME!!! The only low point is; I bought the tan leather handlebar bag from the Indian site at a reduced price. It WAS NOT mark as the 2014 tan leather dye that was of poor quality and turns "green." I will have to purchase new bag and am out the money for the first one. Also I purchased the seat backrest and instead of flipping the flap up on the back of the seat to insert the rest, I cut a slit in the flap to slip the bracket through. This keeps the flap down and doesn't allow water or dirt inside the seat.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2015 Indian Vintage Bought the bike in November 2015. The extra incentives being in law enforcement and it being an end of the year purchase helped make my decision. I had done my research and albeit I have never owned a Cruiser before when I saw the Vintage I KNEW that was the bike for me. Plus my wife loved it :) Was able to put 9000 miles on it the first year and can say without any reservations this is a Great Bike. I was and still am impressed every time I ride it. The Fit, Finesse, and Features always draws a crowd. I feel like a PR guy for Indian at times. The motor is STRONG and the Ride is excellent. It is my go to bike every time.
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 10,000 miles Bought my Vintage from the Coral Indian dealer in Florida back in April. In November I hit the magic 10,000 mile odometer mark. I love this bike, on the open highway nothing comes close to it. The big windshield protects me and the huge saddle keeps me comfy. After 31 years on the other brand I can honestly say that making the switch to Indian was a snap. If you haven't rode one, do so soon.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Head turner I bought the 2014 Chief Vintage new in July 2014. With in 6 months the leather had faded to green and I keep the bike in a garage when I am not riding. Nothing can be done by Indian, this is NOT their problem it is mine. The bike runs and rides great but I am very disappointed with the response from Indian. I know everyone who bought a 2014 with tan leather has gone through the same thing.
Date published: 2017-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vintage Journey I can't believe it's been a year since I bought this bike. Everywhere I travel people compliment the beauty of this bike. I have never rode such an amazing bike before and I'm happy to say it's all mine.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my Indian I bought my Vintage June 2017. By September I had over 8500 miles on it. I had not ridden in over 30 years when I decided to try to get back into riding. I bought my Vintage because I liked the nostalgic look and feel of it. After 30 years of not riding it took about a week to get use to it and to feel more comfortable on it. This bike continually turns heads while I’m riding. No matter, from teenagers to retired, the response is the same.....”Hey! Nice looking bike!” I went on a trip with friends from MN thru SD to WY & MT. Went thru the Big Horn Mtns and up Bear Tooth Pass and found that it handled extremely well on the 2 lane and 4 lane highways and up the switchback turns in the mountains. It was totally awesome! When we would stop in a town or small city I would have to answer questions for at least 10 minutes when people saw that it was an Indian and they would then relate their stories of when they use to ride......It was great. This was the best investment I’ve made in years......this is my stress reliever.
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rides Like a Dream! I bought my 2015 Unpainted Vintage two years ago, I also had a Suzuki & a Harley at the time. I sold the Suzuki right after and rode both the Vintage and Harley for about a year, then sold the Harley. I really like the Indain on the highway and the engine has NEVER missed a beat and from start to finish! I really like "Chief" and have ridden all over Texas. If I buy another bike, it will definitely be an Indian! Also, Lone Star Indian has been a great sponsor for our IMRG Chapter. Thanks for making some beautiful, dependable bikes.
Date published: 2017-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark and Strong I've been a Harley-guy since my dad and I put together a 1970 65cc Leggero H-D that he brought home in a bushel basket. After "trading up" for the past 20 years, I'm now the proud owner of a 2013 CVO Breakout, but the wife insisted on a more comfortable passenger seat for our trips to Daytona and Key West. We rolled into the local Indian dealership and was absolutely "hooked" after the demo ride! My dream garage is now complete with TWO Harleys, my Indian Chief and... yes... even a Ducati Diavel Titanium. God has truly blessed me!!
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty happy with it Traded in a 2016 scout for this. The vintage is far more comfortable for long days in the saddle so far. But I bought it so late in the year, I don't think I've put enough miles on to give it a unequivocal thumbs up yet. the fit/finish seem top notch, but the accessory pricing is nuts, I'm far more used to lighter, sportier bikes, so the handling and engine still seem almost ponderous to me. Not to say I haven't enjoyed my seat time so far. it's just very different than what I'm used to. But if I wanted what I was used to, I wouldn't have bought this bike. But at least for me, this is much better bike than the Scout was.
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sweet Ride I have had the bike for two months and 500 miles and so far I could not be happier. Great power and cruising comfort. Definitely a head-turner wherever you go.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dream Ride and Twigg Cycles Hagerstown! Keith at Twigg Cycles hooked me up with this new 2016 Indian Vintage! Indian pulled out all the stops on the Chief Series of Bikes and they have a model with options to suit any rider! Personally I like the Vintage but the new Springfield is a really nice bagger with all the bells and whistles too! Watch out HD.... Indians are coming to town!!!
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Total Package-Looks, Power and Performance Traded my Road Glide Ultra for the Indian Vintage and have never looked back. The dealer tricked it out with stage 1 exhaust with fishtails, hp air filter, stage 2 cams, billet rider and passenger floorboards and storage bags.
Date published: 2017-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really great bike Rides really great plenty of power and smooth. Last Nov the dealer gave me a poster of the bike for my desk. Two days before Christmas my wife said"if you really want that Indian go get it'" and the rest is history! With the stage one exhaust and intake it sounds really good not too loud. The styling and leather attract attention just about everywhere. Leave extra time to gas up cause people will come over and ask questions. And yes the white walls are a pain to keep clean, but worth it. I've been riding since 1967 and this is the first new bike for me, what a beauty. When setting at idle I don't need to keep revving the engine to see out of my mirrors, cause the 111 doesn't shake itself to pieces like some other brand!
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Instant Classic Was visiting Chattanooga TN and spotted a dealership. Drove in - test rode the Chieftan and was sold on the spot. Bought it and had it shipped to NY where I live. That alone should tell you something about this bike.The bike is the perfect blend of style and engineering excellence. Surprisingly well-balanced for a heavy ride. The power bands are smooth and the engine/tranny are responsive and well-matched. Handles better than bikes weighing 100lbs less. I still ride my HDs but the Indian is always my go-to ride. Once I'm on - it's hard to leave it.
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Motorcycle I Ever Owned I first saw this bike in Sturgis in 2014 at the Indian display and instantly fell in love with it. I knew the next time I bought a bike it would be an Indian Chief Vintage. In February 2016 I retired after 42 years at an engineering firm. I started looking at used Indians but didn't find anything close to central New York or for a good price so I decided to buy myself a 2016 model as a retirement present. I've loved everything about it ever since.
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my Indian I bought a 2015 Harley Fat Boy Lo as my first bike, and I wish I had waited. My experiences with Harley in the year that I had it, was not the experience any bike owner should have. When I went to the Indian of Albuquerque, I had the most friendly and best experience ever. Not only were they nice before the purchase but even more welcoming after. I wouldn't trade my Vintage for anything.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deffinately an eye catcher The bike is all I hoped it would be. rides like a dream, fuel economy is well within the acceptable range, the red over ivory colour with the tan saddlebags make it a site to behold, more power than I know what to do with and a comfortable ride to boot! What I don't like is the engine noise (same as on my previous Suzuki) makes it sound cheap, also the instrumentation lighting, the red lights distort the numbers on the gauges, makes it hard to see the speedometer and clock. If I knew this ahead of time, I would still purchase the same bike!
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poor Quality I purchased this Bike new In November 2015. Had to replace rear whitewall tire three times due to yellowing. Chrome quality is awful. Lots of pitting on most Factory parts. BTW only 2k miles on this climate controlled bike.
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the bike! I bought my Chief Vintage in Jan. '15,but had to wait 'till almost May to get it. Since then, I've put almost 12K on it, a stage 1, and absolutely love the bike. It's a Cadillac; more comfortable than any other bike I've ridden. It's taken me a little while to get used to the valve noise, but that's normal. About the only thing I don't like is the belt has a persistent squeak to it. A little dish soap takes care of that as the belt appears to be tracking correctly. The bike is comfortable, handles well, gets decent mileage, (@ 42mpg), goes well, and draws a LOT of eyes!
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rides Like a Cloud Best bike I have ever owned. Smooth ride and handles beautifully
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike, Easy to Handle I bought this bike about a month ago. I already have put 2, 238 miles on it. As you can tell I bought the bike to ride not to just look good even though it does. Everyone who see' s it makes a comment. My riding brothers have Harley's and Goldwings, which are beautiful bikes, but my Indian Chief Vintage gets all the attention and comments. People seem to be attracted to my Indian. I love the bike and everything about it, somuch that I sold my Harley.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One great bike I love my Indian Chief vantage it's a Awesome bike if you can get one I'd get one you want be sorry!!!
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Vintage looks Got my Vintage in 2014. Added stage 2 cams, hi flow air cleaner, but low speed response degraded. Wish I never did the cams.
Date published: 2017-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this thing! I get more looks on this bike than anyone else i ride with. If I had a nickel for every person that has stopped me to talk about it or to ask to take a picture of it... it would be paid off by now. I've bought every item that can be screwed or glued to it and I love it. I went with a Rush exhaust, cam kit, and big sucker intake and now she flies. Attached are pictures of new floorboards and brake pedal as well as Springfield Indian badges
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Motorcycle with Classic looks. I bought my 2015 Chief Vintage about 10 months ago. I was looking to buy either the Chief or the 2015 Roadking. After riding the Chief at a demo event, I pretty much had already made my decision about which bike to buy. The Chief line up overall appeals to me more than most motorcycles on the market. The only downside to my purchase is that some accessories and or options seemed to have been an after-thought and rushed into production without too much attention to quality and detail. Not a deal breaker, but the fact that 95% of the motorcycle is top notch, there are area's that make you say, now why in the "H" did they do that? The other thing that I feel really needs to be re-visited is Indian/Polaris' need to gouge customers with their "Nostalgic Pricing". Their prices for accessories are, well, RIDICULUS! This stuff isn't New Old Stock guys, c'mon! The prices on the bikes are great compared to the competition, but the accessories prices are INSANE! I guess that's how Indian/Polaris plans on making up for great prices on their bikes. Ten months so far and 6600 miles. Bike still feels great and looks awesome, but I have not bought a single accessory from Indian/Polaris to date. Still, I love this bike.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful Awesome Ride! 3 months old and still in love. Can't wait to get home every night for a ride that still blows me away. 2014 Road King just sits now, poor baby. I can't hep it I found someone new that exhilarates me to new levels.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chief Vintage I found this listed on line by the dealer. After talking several times on the phone and working out the details, I went the 600 miles to South Florida and rode it bank to Alabama. What a great break in ride. Every time I stopped for gas I was bombarded with questions and kudos. I've ridden the other American motorcycle for 31 years and this Vintage is absolutely this best ride I've ever owned. The main reason for buying is the company behind it. Indian Motorcycles are back. And back for good.
Date published: 2016-05-11
  • y_2019, m_9, d_16, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_540
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19CVAAACA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 89ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Customer Reviews
MENU
Indian Chief Vintage Thunder Black

Indian Chief Vintage

Starting at $23,999 CA MSRP
Trim & Color options Thunder Black
Features
Timeless Style
TIMELESS STYLE

Genuine leather saddlebags, classic wire wheels, whitewall tires, and premium leather seats make for a rich, classic ride.

As Smooth as it is Powerful
AS SMOOTH AS IT IS POWERFUL

The famed Thunder Stroke 111 engine produces 119 ft-lbs of torque. Exceptional power at low RPM and a smooth ride at any speed.

AGILE HANDLING AND CONTROL
AGILE HANDLING AND CONTROL

Easy, nimble control made possible by a lightweight cast aluminum frame.

See all Chief Vintage Features SEE ALL THE FEATURES
Customize Yours
-
Shop Chief Vintage Accessories SHOP ACCESSORIES