Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Indian Chieftain

Starting at $26,999 CA MSRP

Model shown with accessories

2020 Indian Chieftain Thunder Black is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 626.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best bike I've owned Love my 2020 indian chieftain best decision I made
Date published: 2020-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light and agile I bought it in July love it no buyers regret should have bought one sooner. Had to get rid of the ex wife first
Date published: 2020-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well handling bike I bought my 2020 chieftain about a month ago. The bike is awesome to ride very comfortable and feels well balanced.
Date published: 2020-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 1rst Class I am very happy. The bike is a real gem! rides smooth, and is very sharp!!!
Date published: 2020-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I upgraded 2months ago. And one of the best things I've done.
Date published: 2020-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Ride I bought about 2 months ago and love the features and power.
Date published: 2020-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2020 Chieftain...I love it I love it, the best bike I have rode and I have rode many Harley-Davidson and sport bikes.
Date published: 2020-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the electric shield I only have one thing that bothers me on the motorcycle and it’s the heat from motor and heat radiants through the seat and my crotch sweats
Date published: 2020-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 2020 Cheiftain I purchased my first Indian 3 months ago, all I can say is "What a bike!" I absolutly love everything about it. From handeling to comfort to power you will have nothing to complain about.
Date published: 2020-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ride I traded in a Scout for this one. It’s bigger, much more powerful, and more comfortable.
Date published: 2020-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sweet, fun ride, love the stereo and the GPS, Wasn’t sure if I made the right decision, after 1000 miles, I love it. It’s bad to the bone.
Date published: 2020-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall great bike I bought this bike in May. I couldnt be happier im glad i made the purchase. With that said i have some bones to pick. How do you offer tpsm reading on the ride command but dont have the actual sensors on all your 2020s come on indian you can do better. And 2nd the ride command needs work how can you offer to move or change widgets but without the GPS module you cannot save them? They reset every time you shut the bike off! Again come on indian you have SOMETHING good but drop the Ball! Oh and offer the sage brush green for the chieftain!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2020-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my Indian Great bike!! So glad I bought one. It makes riding an absolute pleasure.
Date published: 2020-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ride I bought this bike a few months ago, love the power and features it has.
Date published: 2020-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2020 Chieftain 3 month review, I love my ride. I would submit there are too many positives to list only negative is the Ride Command, the software is restricted and features like GPS and MPG are absent. I recommend all Indian crusers come with full Ride Command.
Date published: 2020-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love riding this bike I bought this a little over a month ago and have loved riding it from day one. It handles excellently and accelerate smoothly. Shifting was a little choppy at first but has smoothed out since. Very happy and I get lots of compliments.
Date published: 2020-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent handling and ride quality Had my 2019 Indian Chieftain for 2 months after having a Suzuki Boulevard C109R for 9 years. I’m glad I made a excellent choice and not follow the typical crowd of buying a Harley Davidson. I’ve received so many compliments.
Date published: 2020-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chieftain Review Absolutely love it! I ride t as often as I can and love every minute. Great bike!!
Date published: 2020-06-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good motor! Second chieftain I have owned. Much prefer the 2017. The new style doesn’t block wind and has more buffer even with the windshield up. Love the power train and brakes.
Date published: 2020-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lucille I bought Lucille two and a half months ago , I'm in love ! Bike is comfortable and very awesome to ride . I didn't get all the bells and whistles , but I'm slowly adding them. Indian makes an outstanding bike !
Date published: 2020-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful bike I've had this bike for a few months now, just rolled 1250 miles and have enjoyed each mile. I sold my 2015 chief vintage for this chieftan. The ride and maneuverability is a lot better than the vintage. All the toys make the ride that much more fun.
Date published: 2020-06-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fill the power Love my bike! The sound the power and it look so good .
Date published: 2020-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pure perfection I bought this bike in April I was hesitant at first I was riding an Indian Scout and wondered how a bigger bike was going to handle Well it handles like a dream I’m confident and feel as safe as my Scout.
Date published: 2020-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Came from Harley After Riding Harleys for years I wanted a change, and Indian has really stepped up their game. Took my chieftain for a long ride across 3 states and was comfortable the entire time. Minus a small software issue with the radio not keeping presets still waiting for that update.
Date published: 2020-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bike I bought the bike in March. I'll I'd ridden for 30 years was Harley-Davidson. The bang for the buck combined with power and comfort is awesome.
Date published: 2020-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth ride,lots of power I've owned this bike for nearly two months and it is so fun to ride. It's the best bike I have owned so far.
Date published: 2020-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Serious riding machine I purchased this bike in March of 2020, I have put 300 miles on it since (5/15/20). I have enjoyed every single mile immensely. This is a machine built to ride. Comfort, handling, power, speed, and it turns heads where ever it rolls.
Date published: 2020-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Impressed After 2 decades on Harleys, Im very impressed. This bike is so smooth and powerful. The only complaint is the EPA restricted stock tune. But thats not Indians fault
Date published: 2020-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The best! I've only ridden about 600 miles due this hole pandemic thing, but they have been great. This is an excellent machine, I love the handling, the look, the sound system, I like it all. I have the Chieftain basic, so I'm missing the remote locking bags and TPMS (I added GPS). But still love love love this bike.
Date published: 2020-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Exceptionally smooth and powerful ride This is my first bike. I did the Basic riders course on a 250 and then jumped to thos beast. It rides and handles great even for a novice like me. It has enough power that I haven't even pushed ot yet but will get up and go as fast as you want. It sounds good, but wish the sound had a little more attitude to it.
Date published: 2020-04-15
  • y_2020, m_10, d_28, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_626
  • loc_en_US, sid_N20TCBAACA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 82ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Customer Reviews

Trim & Color Options

Chieftain Thunder Black

Indian Chieftain

Starting at $26,999 CA MSRP
Trim & Color options Thunder Black

Features

Features
Closeup of the Thunderstroke 111 V-Twin engine
THUNDERSTROKE 111 V-TWIN ENGINE

The award-winning Thunderstroke 111 produces 119 ft-lb of raw torque for passing power in every gear.

A woman riding a Chieftain bike
AGILE HANDLING AND CONTROL

Outstanding steering geometry and a lightweight cast aluminum frame come together to provide responsive handling and agile cornering.

Two men on the side of the road staring to a Chieftan bike
TURN HEADS

Streamlined fork-mounted fairing and slammed saddlebags perfectly frame the legendary Thunderstroke engine and command attention on the road.

Accessories

Customize Yours
A man and a woman gathering around a red Chieftain Dark Horse