Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer
Menu

Indian® Chieftain® Classic Reviews

2019 Indian Chieftain Classic Thunder Black is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 89.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Features but HOT ! I test rode the Chieftain while at Sturgis. Here's what I found; The suspension was spot on. It was the most comfortable ride I had EVER ridden, and I've been riding since 1971. That feature alone might sway me to buy one. The electric windshield was terrific but was made cheaply. It was loose and sometimes rattled while riding. It needs some work. The power was very good at all speeds. The tranny shifted easily into all gears, including neutral. The bike had a good feel to it and great sound from those mufflers at all speeds. The displays on the fairing were easy to read and well thought out. The capacity of the saddlebags were comparable to my Harley. All other features were very good as well. The only down side to this bike; it is HOT at idle and standing still!!!!! I mean uncomfortable HOT! That issue needs to be addressed very soon! And the paint isn't up to par with Harley either. Overall, if you can put up with the heat, its a good ride. As I said before, the suspension is spot on for comfort!
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like Riding on a Lazyboy!! Bought one of the first numbered bikes. Do not regret it. It rides Awesome. Was so use to tightening up for bumps on my Harley. This thing takes them in stride with some Great Glide.
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dream Bike! August of 2017, My new wife (just married) accidentally stumbled upon a phenomenal deal on a used 2015 Chieftain(2008 miles). Previous owner installed stage 2 cams, performance air filter, Reinhart slip on exhaust. I've since then put around 2000 miles on it and let me tell ya! WOWWW. It is an absolute pleasure to ride! Riding position is so comfortable on longer runs with no shoulder pain or lower back issues. My Chieftain (Tala) rides like a dream. In my opinion the suspension is spot on just firm enough to be nimble but forgiving when you need it to be. Power is amazing, smooth thru ought the power band and pulls like a freight train in all gears. I've replaced the stock speakers with Polk Audio since I'm a little bit of an audiophile. The overall ride is composed very very well at ALL speeds. Only issue I had was the back fender had a little paint bubbling on the edge. Replaced with no hassles under warranty. If you're looking at reviews trying to sway you one way or the other GO TEST RIDE ONE and take this into account: This bike has elevated my passion for riding to another level that I didn't know existed. Pure pleasure and tech savvy mixed into it. Last but not least the bike is absolutely beautiful! I'm a proud INDIAN owner. :)
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bagger EVER!!! I’ve owned motorcycles from just about all the Major motorcycle brands including Harleys but my Indian Chieftain is by far the best overall motorcycle I have ever owned. It blends the reliability, technology, and performance of the Japanese cruisers with the classic styling, fit and finish of an American cruiser. For a big bike it is very easy to handle. As a Millennial I can say for certain that Indian is headed in the right direction for future motorcyclist.
Date published: 2018-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike I spent several days at Daytona Bike Week conducting test rides of virtually the entire Harley and Indian lineup and the Chieftain Classic is the bike for me. It is a much more refined experience than a Street Glide or an Electra Glide Standard, which were the two Harley models I thought were most comparable. You really do need to ride the bikes back to back to determine what is the best choice for you. Having the ability to do this over an over again at Bike Week really enabled my to determine that the Indian Chieftain Classic was the bike for me. Best advice I received before buying was TEST RIDE, TEST RIDE, TEST RIDE and recommend you do the same as this is such an individual decision!!! One small detail I really like on the Indian vs the Harleys is the gear position indicator. It is always visible on the Indian but seemed to be never visible when I wanted to see it on the Harleys. A minor point but another example that I found the Indians much more refined that the Harleys in about every way that mattered to me.
Date published: 2019-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Spirit Best bike I've ever owned! My 2016 Indian Chieftain was purchase in Colorado 2017. I was on a 2006 Yamaha Roadliner 1900S at the time heading to Colorado for my birthday trip, when after 800 miles from Minnesota had to stop for the night due to issues. Next morning was the call that decided it all. Here I was beginning of trip I had planned for months to celebrate my 50th & experience the Million Dollar Highway and everything Colorado had to offer. (I had previously test rode a 2015 Indian Chieftain in Spirit Lake, Iowa during Okoboji open house year before but couldn't make commitment since I was dedicated to becoming debt free.) Now her I was at G-Force in Lakewood, CO with situation of being stranded or choice of purchasing a New 2016 Indian Chieftain. No doubt looking back I've made the right decision! I love riding it's all I think about during winter months in MN (hate snow, originally from Indiana), so I travel solo as often as I can to visit family that are still there & in Montana. I feel so comfortable while riding my Cheiftain, it takes my soul & "Spirit" away. The ride is smooth, push button start is something I've never had prior, while the power & comfort are strong reasons for enjoying my new ride. Wished I just had 12months of riding my "Spirit", my Indian Chieftain. Teresa Bell of MN
Date published: 2018-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cadillac of Cruisers 2016 Chieftain 30kms no issues Solid bike Ran that bike from Muskegan ferry Michigan to home over 1200kms in one day and not a blip! Changed the seat to an Ultimate when I got it for long ride and it's the best bike I've owned.
Date published: 2019-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best overall bike I have ever owned in over 34 yea I have now owned 2 chieftains, I took advantage of the gaurenteed trade in value, with 101000 kilometres riding in Canada only in four seasons I can say I love this motorcycle
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from top of the line in the motorcycle world I climbed on this motorcycle in June 2014. Power, torque, craftsmanship and style. I absolutely LOVE this motorcycle. This bike handles like a dream in hard curves, mountains and around town. The thunderstroke 111 is a beast. I believe I will keep this bike for ever. I have owned 3 other make of motorcycle. None of them compared to the quality of the Indian chieftain.
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NOW WE'RE TALKING! Test rode the Chieftain Classic at Sturgis and I knew I was hooked! The riding position, the bend of the handlebars, the seat height, and the comfort of the seat all make this machine feel right! The power windshield is not offered by Harley. Too bad. It is fantastic! The suspension travel is far better than Harley, and I own a Harley! Bought my Chieftain in November, 2018, and I'm not looking back. The Indian is a far better machine than my Road King.
Date published: 2018-11-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Chieftain Classi I never rode an Indian motorcycle, so I thought, why not after riding Harley's for nearly 30 years. My honest opinion, I could see myself buying an Indian as my next bike.
Date published: 2019-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great motorcycle. I own a Victory Hard-Ball currently, and this is very comparable. I like the fit and feel of my Victory better (significantly longer bike, more comfortable seating position as a result), but it's easy to see all that early DNA and tech across the 2 brands. The performance, power, and handling are very similar which I am glad to see. I still like the the "svelte" design of the Vics better as well (less bulk between your legs when sitting with your feet on the ground). Indians are great bikes, and I like the updates I am seeing year over year. If Polaris stretches them out a little, and keeps bringing in the styling looks and touches that made Victory bikes so unique, they may bee an option for me.
Date published: 2019-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Handles curves with ease and smoothness I did a 10 mile test ride through the canyons at the 79th Sturgis. I did my test ride on a 2018 Chieftain powered by the 111. I did this ride with 3 other friends and we all had the same feelings with the bikes. The bike handles amazing, it was like just floating on the road. Cornering handling is probably the best of any bike I have ever been on. I say that with 20+ years of riding experience. The bike has amazing balance very user friendly. The only thing I was disappointed in was the power out of the 111. It felt very underpowered to me compared to a Harley with a 107. The 116 was available for test rides but there was a long wait and I did not have the time. I wish I could have compared the 2 engines but maybe next time. Just my opinion it's a very well built bike and easy to handle.
Date published: 2019-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike. I bought my new Chieftan Classic on December 1st. I fell in Love with the Thunder Black Pearl. The dealership in Belmont N.C. had just sold the one I wanted, but quickly found another. Great great people at this dealership...I cant express how wonderful these people are. From start to finish, everything was great! And...I Love my new bike. Way better than my 2003 Harley! Merry Christmas to Me. Jason C.
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasantly Surprised I went into RideNow Powersports Concord for the sole purpose of having my Yamaha 950T serviced. I always thought that I would one day upgrade to the big boy bikes, but after meeting Justin Massey, Sales Rep., with whom I felt very comfortable, I found myself actually, seriously looking into purchasing an Indian Chieftain Limited. Because of Justin's reassurance that doing the math on a purchase is not a commitment, but rather a chance to look at facts and takeout the guess work. To make a long story short, I didn't think I could be made comfortable enough to purchase the bike, but Justin and the sales staff got it done. I am now the proud owner of a 2018 Indian Chieftain Limited. Now, I could have spent my review describing my new Chieftain, but that bike sells itself and you can read about it or see it at any Indian dealership. But what you can't see anywhere is the service and attention to detail that I experienced at the hands of Justin and the Concord, N.C. staff. It made the difference. I've been in North Carolina just over two years, and I can tell you sincerely, interacting with Justin and the Concord staff was the best personal interactions I have had since moving here.
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This bike is made to ride! Test rode a Chieftain Classic at Sturgis 2017. That sowed the seed. Everything on this bike, from the engine, to the windshield, to the Ride Command, to the suspension, stereo, and looks, is so well engineered and thought out. Bought mine November, 2018. Best bike I’ve ever owned!!! I just can’t say enough good things about it. Test ride one. That’s all it will take.
Date published: 2019-08-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy Overall, But.... I have had the Chieftain for a couple of months now and overall I'm happy with the bike. The bike did develop a vibration I can feel in the right floor board after the first 1000 miles that I also notice in the mirror (blurry vision) between 2500 and 3000 RPM. The dealer felt it was normal (subjective of course) but it wasn't as smooth as it was during the first 1000 miles. This is a little disappointing to me because I bought the bike for touring and comfort. I wish I could give it 5 stars, but the vibration is an issue.
Date published: 2020-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like the bike I’m a Harley owner, and road an Indian at Americade. After riding, I was interested in owning both American brands. I got a good deal on a 2018 Chieftain classic. I am impressed with power of bike and smooth ride. Getting used to bike, and so far I like it. The styling is classic Indian, and like the stereo. Nice bike
Date published: 2019-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2018 Chieftain Classic - An Awesome Classic Reborn I bought my brand new 2018 Chieftain Classic 1 1/2 months ago and only due to the weather am I still working on my 500 mile break in period. I decided to add a full stage 1 right out the door along with a backrest for myself. The bike beautifully in all speeds and RPMs without any chugging as I’ve seen in other posts. It was great pull from the start and even sets you back in the seat when passing someone on the highway without the need to downshift. The torque is unbelievable fro the TS111. During my 500 mile service I plan to add stage 2 cams and look forward to a bit more power and that classic big bike rumble at idle. Overall, I am extremely satisfied with my purchase and plan to log many miles around Alabama and Tennessee through the beautiful backroad scenery.
Date published: 2020-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Ride I enjoyed a demo ride on the chieftain this afternoon. After riding my 2012 Judge, the Chieftain was so much smoother in very way, with virtually no vibration such as I am used to. This was a very nice bike to ride. The raise/lower wind screen made riding at freeway speed much quieter, making my old and noisy helmet almost acceptable for 70 MPH+ speeds. A touring bike may just be in my future. Thank you for this opportunity. I may have to change my nickname from Rafting Don to Cruising Don.
Date published: 2018-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT Bike to ride---looks good and feels good My Chieftain is the most comfortable bike I've ridden. The ride as well as the mix of old school style and new age tech just make my Chieftain a real pleasure to ride. Great handling and power mixed together---GREAT JOB!
Date published: 2018-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the styling. Had bike about and runs great and we get a lot of compliments. Only 3 things I would change: More comfortable seat, add a compass & reduce engine heat from rear cylinder.
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Mine is a 2015 chieftain and it has 44000 miles on it. Have had no problem with it and we do a lot of traveling.
Date published: 2019-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good Ride command system Demo the 2019 chieftain, very nice bike. The 111 motors has great power.
Date published: 2018-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it and so do some of the H-D riders Best bike I ever owned. Wish these came around sooner.
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Motorcycle!!! This is my second review of this mc and I'm going for another test ride soon. I was so impressed with the suspension that it is worth more time in the saddle to further evaluate the whole bike. I'm certain I'm going to buy one and still keep my Harley. The Chieftain is that good a bike and so is my Road King. Too many toys is a good thing! My Road King is red but my Indian will be black. You have to give this bike a chance. It is FANTASTIC!!!
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love My Chieftain Classic Been a little over a year since I purchased my 2017 Chieftain. I liked it when I bought it and my pleasure in owning the bike has just increased over time. I took a 3.000 mile trip through Canada during August and the comfort and performance were all I could ask for. Have Stage one and two and recommend the upgrade. Just rode the 2019 and liked the selective throttle.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything I’ve been looking for. Didn’t want a touring trunk or hard lowers, but wanted everything else. Got more than I expected. Suspension, handling, power, and looks; all top notch. Test rode the bike in 2017; bought one in 2018. Traded in my Harley. Love the power windshield and the Ride Command. Added heated hand grips and seat plus others. Just what the doctor ordered! It’s a keeper!
Date published: 2019-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bike ever! I purchased the Indian Chieftain in February 2016 after a test ride. Having ridden for 50 years and owning dozens of motorcycles, I can say this Indian is easily the best motorcycle I've ever owned! I've rented Harleys all over America and there is no comparison to the Indian. Plus, the Indian stying makes all other brands seem obsolete.
Date published: 2018-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2019 Indian chieftain classic I bought this a month ago and have added stage 1 and 2 exhaust. I am only just through the breakin period and absolutely no buyers remorse. This bike handles like a dream. My only issue was a cable was disconnected during manufacturing that caused the bike to only start if in neutral. The dealer repaired. All in all a fabulous bike
Date published: 2019-06-01
  • y_2020, m_8, d_12, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_89
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19TFAAACA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 87ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT