Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer
Menu

Indian® Chieftain Dark Horse® Reviews

2019 Indian Chieftain Dark Horse® is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 249.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2019 dark horse I purchased a 2019 dark horse and i love the bike.The power is excellent ,the suspension is awesome! and I love the auto windshield,auto saddle bag locks and the tire pressure monitoring. theirs a little more room on the back for my wife than the Harley street glide we looked at and all of our friends are on Harley's for now.I believe the Indian motorcycle company is the up and coming American made motorcycle company!!
Date published: 2019-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Ride! Went to ride the Cheftain at the demo ride in Harker Heights, Tx. I got to ride the Cheiftain with the 116 pack....let me tell you..wow! That bike was so responsive in either mode, but once in the open road and in sport mode, passing a car at 60 mph in 5th gear felt like 2nd gear starting out! I accelerated so quickly, and it felt very balanced. Thanks for the demo, I will definitely be visiting the dealership again!
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I loved my 2018 I bought my Darkhorse in September of 2017 off of the show room floor at All Out Cycles and have put over 31,000 miles on it in under 2 years. I’ve had several electrical problems but it’s a machine and machines have problems. She has been a good bike and has been enjoyable to ride. I just rode her from Virginia to Sturgis, South Dakota and ended up trading my 2018 Chieftain Darkhorse to a 2019 Chieftain Darkhorse!
Date published: 2019-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS BIKE Bought 2020 Chieftain 116 Ruby Smoke on Oct 1st 2019, been dreaming of owning one for years & finally did it. Couldn’t be happier, hate to Park it. Rides so nice & handles like a dream. I feel like I can do anything on it. If your thinking bout buying one, STOP, no more thinking, just get to your nearest dealer & bring it home. I added a Freedom Shields Windshield (14”) & a Heel Shifter (should be standard?)
Date published: 2019-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features! I test fringe this bike today with a 116 big bore slip on stage 1 kit. It had increased speed and acceleration from the base model and was a dream to drive. The ride was smooth, the cornering was natural and fluid, gear shifting was smooth and very forgiving, and it was very easy to find neutral. The touch screen system was also very easy to use, understand, and contained simple functionality when driving.
Date published: 2019-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even more fun than it looks. I was able to demo ride one of these at Biketoberfest. Impressed with how easy it was to ride a bike this big. Exceptional power from the 111 stroker, intake, and exhaust upgrades. Did notice a lot of wind turbulence with full face helmet but I am a tall guy. I would highly recommend checking this Indian out if you are in the market for a cruiser. The new colors are amazing in person.
Date published: 2018-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chieftain Dark Horse 116 big bore kit The test ride was amazing! That 116 big bore kit had so much power! The different modes of riding were really cool too! The only thing I think they should do when putting the riders together is maybe have the less experienced ones in the back. Some of those guys clearly had not rode in a group before and had no idea what a staggered formation was. Some of them were all over the place.
Date published: 2019-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Polaris does it again I have put on over 100,000 miles on four different victory motorcycles sense 2003. I was devastated when I heard that Polaris was no longer going to manufacture the victory motorcycle. After my test drive on a new Indian, my faith has been restored. I am anxiously anticipating the purchase of my new Springfield dark horse. Keep up the good work Polaris, “love you long time” :0
Date published: 2019-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Demo Success at Four Corners Rally Ergonomically it was a great fit for my 5’9” frame, lots of touchdown on the pavement. Instructed about the 3 modes - Tour, Standard and Sport - I chose the Sport mode which had tight throttle response ( a little too much for my 1st Demo ride). We rode about 10 miles out of Sky Ute Casino and the Demo guide stopped and asked what I thought. I explained the “jumpiness” in the throttle response and he suggested I switch to Standard mode, and that’s all it took. We glided through the turns and hills like a hot knife through butter. So smooth, very comfortable in turns with downshifting. I picked up speed quickly and placed my hand in front of my face to check windshield placement, it was perfect. Wind hit top of my helmet with no buffeting. Sadly, the second half of the ride brought us back to the casino when I was really starting to have fun with this bike. Thanks for the demo trial. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2019-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great power very comfortable I took a test ride yesterday and I was very impressed with the power styling handling etc it had a nice seat great sound,engine pipes.. I did not turn on the stereo, Ide rather hear the bike.. and fantastic pick up, smooth breaks, the only thing I could find that may have needed improvement was the wind buffeting around the head, I couldn't seem to find the right position.
Date published: 2019-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smooth Ride Took a demo ride to check out the bike since looking to buy a newer bike in near future. The Indian has plenty of power. Easy to operate controls and a great look. I am 6'4 and 300Lbs so the fairing came back just a little too far for me. The mid rise bars did give the bike more of an open feel. Seat and riding position were comfortable and steering was responsive.
Date published: 2019-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved the power Loved the power, the riding position was very good. The only thing I would change would be the windshield, I would put a flip shield on it and waybe 1" taller but thats just for my size. It had the up graded stereo that if I had them put it on the bike ,I would have them take it right off, It was bad . My factory stereo on my cross country sounds way better
Date published: 2019-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stand out from the crowd Was looking for a V-Twin bagger that was comfortable, had up to date electronics like GPS and Bluetooth and stood out from all the other baggers. I got everything I wanted and more in my Chieftain Dark Horse. I loved the bike from day one and would recommend it in a heartbeat to anyone looking at the competition in this type of motorcycle.
Date published: 2018-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 116 upgrade Most responsive bike I have ever rode to date..owned several different models previously..currently ride a 2018 Roadmaster..with true duals n power commander with a high flow air cleaner.. The 2019 chieftain with the factory 116..is quite impressive I must say..the heat factor in addition has improved marketably..Great job!!
Date published: 2019-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from THE BEAST!! Demo days test rider 8-30-19. The one I rode was the 116 ci loaded black beast,All the performance upgrades, Motor, Cams, Pipes, Etc. Cushy seat, Nice balance to weight ratio, Big time power, Shifting kind of hard and clunky to me, Quite a bit of vibration through the dash and handlebars. Still a fun bike and glad I tried it.
Date published: 2019-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really smooth power I’ve been hearing a lot about Indian motorcycles from one of my Brothers. So I decided to take a ride at the local demo day, even though I didn’t expect much. To my surprise The bike handled great,the power was smooth and plentiful and the ride was almost plush, soaking up the pumps perfectly. I have to say Indian surprised.
Date published: 2019-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great bike loved the bike, very comfortble. The movable windshield is a great feature. The sound system was great too. My only negative was my legs were not stretched out enough to my liking while riding. I felt like I was on top of the bike more than "in" it if that makes any sense. Otherwise great bike that I'm considering buying.
Date published: 2018-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 116 white Have been wanting to ride the 116. Rode it and loved it. Nice response all around. Enjoyed sitting low in the seat as it made me feel part of it, not just on it. My only dislike is that I felt I was sitting to close to the handle bars. Didn't like that at all. Perhaps there is a option for the seat to sit further back.
Date published: 2019-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing power Amazing power with the 116ci. Loved the bike only two things I would say to help for us bigger guys 6'6" 287lbs. The seat being a touring seat, extended reach. An windshield being a little taller was catching lots of air above it with it fully up. I would recommend the bike to anyone thinking of the street glide special
Date published: 2019-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid as a Rock! I got a chance to demo this bike this week and wow! What an amazing experience. This baby had the 116 big bore upgrade, and you can really feel it. I had a concern with the 4" riser handle bars, but in the end, it was a perfect fit. The controls were easy to access and operate and the radio had decent sound as well.
Date published: 2019-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 116 Kit is a WOW I own a 14 Chieftain. This new bike with the 116 kit was awesome! The power upgrade was more than I thought it would be. Great bike, high rise handle bars would take some getting used to and the touch screen SAT/NAV is pretty nice too. I still prefer the classic styling of mine but this was a great bike.
Date published: 2019-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great motorcycle I was surprised how well it handled , I own a 2011 victory cross roads tour and I absolutely love it. the cheiftan dark horse handled as good if not better then my cross roads with more power and fetures. I may think about getting pricing from rolling fast, but I will never part with my cross roads
Date published: 2019-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2019 Chieftain Dark Horse...116! Got to demo the 2019 Chieftain Dark Horse today at Coastal Indian in Myrtle Beach, SC...and it had the 116 big bore upgrade. First impression was POWER! Second impression was nimble...this bike responded extremely well. The entertainment system is the best out there. This will be my next bike.
Date published: 2018-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome power I just attended the Indian motorcycle Demo ride in my area and chose the Chieftain Dark Horse. I was amazed by the power and throttle response especially in Sport mode.I took the bike through some twisty's and the handling was great. The adjustable electric windscreen is also a good added feature.
Date published: 2019-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The new look is great on the 2019. Fairing I test road the 2019 Chieftain Dark Horse 116 was a nice ride. Very quick response from the throttle and nice and smooth ride. Great features such as automatic lock for saddle bags, radio, and screen was easy to see and operate. The look is the best part really like the new look of the fairing.
Date published: 2019-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Bike! I actually ride a BMW but I love Indian bikes. Ride them every chance I get. I will eventually have a Chieftain in my stable, once I get my last kid out of college. This one is incredible. I love the updated fairing. The sound system is excellent. Cruise control, ABS AND electric windows!!!!
Date published: 2019-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a great bike!!! Was at the demo ride today. I was not really considering an Indian bike. But I didn’t even get out of the parking lot on our short little tour I knew this ride might be in my future. I’m going to have to do some more research now but this experience changed my perspective an Indian bikes 180°
Date published: 2019-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice ride, 116 upgrade The test ride was wonderful, I thought the ride was smooth, controlled, and very powerful as well. The bike sat well, moved under me as if I had been riding it for years. I thought the throttle response was fine, a little different than my coble throttle, but the fly by wire was just fine.
Date published: 2018-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like riding a recliner down the road I rode the 111 and the 116 and I dont have any complaints about either bike. The ride was super smooth, power delivery was amazing especially in sport mode, the radio was outstanding with a full face helmet and the volume at 3, and it's easy to learn the features of the bike fairly quick.
Date published: 2019-04-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Competent ride Did a demo today. The bike handled very well especially at low speeds. The radio sounded great and the interface was easy to use. It also had Comfortable ergonomics. The throttle response was jerky. The bike kept stalling out while idling. The passenger seat was not very comfortable but
Date published: 2019-09-14
  • y_2020, m_2, d_22, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_249
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19TCDAACH, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 98ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT