Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer
Menu

Indian Chieftain® Limited Reviews

2019 Indian Chieftain Limited Thunder Black Pearl is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 186.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mine is a Chieftain Elite This bike is all that it was claimed to be and then some. Smooth, comfortable and great handling. The sound system is amazing. Love the easy to use navigation. And that paint...OH MY!
Date published: 2018-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME FOR 2019! I bought this Chieftain Limited on 09/26/18 and I couldn't be happier! Indian is definitely setting the standard for the modern age biker. "More bang for your buck", is an understatement! Its the many different features, and accessories that make a world of difference. This motorcycle has no shortage of them. Great bike for the many miles , and many smiles! Be prepared to get plenty of compliments! My only "con" is that I don't like the new "gunfighter" seat. I replaced it with the "genuine leather heated touring" seat. Other than that, 2 thumbs up!
Date published: 2018-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2017 Chieftain Ltd- great bike, not perfect Owned my Chieftain Limited since May of 2017. Best bike I've owned yet. Perfect? No, but what bike is. Likes; Power, Ride, Looks, Ergonomics, Ride Command, Power Windshield, Key FOB lock/unlock, Big Roomy Saddlebags. Can go with a 116 kit! Dislikes; Seat- way too uncomfortable after 75/100 miles (big annoy), Odd Oil Level Dipstick- needs a special tool to check/fill oil (minor annoy), Loud Honk when activating alarm system (minor annoy), Rear Shock- Air fill valve placement (minor annoy) Fun bike to ride and cruise with my lady. Just took my 1st thousand mile long ride on my Limited and it performed great. More aftermarket performance parts and accessories available coming each month it seems, which is great. Get a tuner to bring out more power and loose the heat. Buy it and welcome to the Tribe!
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best motorcycle I have ever ridden I rode this motorcycle during a demo ride. I enjoyed so much that I spent all morning and part of the afternoon riding it. I especially enjoyed choosing from the three different ride modes (standard, touring, sport). Once I tried the sport mode I remained in that mode because it was such a trill. The motorcycle had ample torque and was extremely responsive. The bike shifted flawlessly and cornering was like a bird in flight. If I were to purchase a new motorcycle this would definitely be the one!
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional comfort and ride I enjoyed the opportunity to ride the Chieftain Limited. The ride and comfort surpassed my expectations. I recently test drove the Harley Davidson Road Glide and I must say the Chieftain was far better in every aspect. The engineers at Indian really put a lot of effort into the design and operational facets of the vehicle. I'm not quite ready to purchase a new motorcycle, but when I am, i will most definitely purchase an Indian. Thank you again for the opportunity to ride a piece of art.
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent!!! Picked this up on 10-09-2017. Great bike!! More than pleased. My last 5 bikes were Harley's. No more Harley's for me. Only problem I did have was I did not switch brands sooner.
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great handling bagger The ride quality of this amazing bike is well thought out and in my opinion, surpasses Harley in comfort. The new ride select feature is a great option on this engine abs brings the performance on par with the Harley Milwaukee 8 engine. Being a shorter rider myself, I did find it difficult to put up the kick stand while on the bike but after that everything else was easy. The slow maneuvering and dipping into turns was confidence inspiring, easy and fun. The touch screen was easy to manipulate. The movable windscreen is a great usable feature and all the controls were easy to get to for me using my thumbs. The cruise control was easy to engage and that stock sounds system blew me away! Way louder then the Harley sound system. The difference I find between this amazing bike (Chieftain Limited) and the Harley Street Glide is that the Indian has to be short shifted to stay in the correct power band. The Thunderstroke engine in these newer models do have the get up and go that is a noticeable improvement over earlier models.
Date published: 2018-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bagger ever! I'm comparing the Chieftain to an HD Ultra Classic Limited (2012), 2004 Honda Goldwing and 2013 Victory Cross Country Tour. It obviously lacks storage and heated grips. Wind/rain protection is reduced because it has no lowers. However, the power is better than the 103 (and it's cooler to the rider), it's power is on par with the GW and Vic. It's low speed and high speed handling are better than all 3 other bikes. It's ride isn't as plush as the Vic and GW, but light years better than the HD. Fit and finish are almost as good as the HD, but much better than the other 2. Overall I'm very happy with the Chieftain!
Date published: 2020-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent all round bike I have been wanting a bagger for a couple years now. Looked at some other bikes but they just didn't have what I wanted until I laid my eyes upon the Chieftain Limited and I fell in love immediately. I love the new front end and all the great creature comforts. Hammering down the the big road or in town cruising, this bike does it all.
Date published: 2017-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bike for the price I used to ride Harleys, then I bought a Indian Scout, I stripped it down and made it a solo and for a while it was my dream bike, then I wanted to travel, so I made the hard decision to give up what I loved and search for something which could carry me across the states, so last month I bought this Chieftain Limited, I rode bike off and on for many years, yet I'm still an amateur just a little here and there, I look forward to improving my skills on the road either through classes or experience, Never the I'm pleased where I'm at and I hope the best to all the riders out there both New and Experienced Ride On
Date published: 2020-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for intended purpose I began riding by racing off road, so prefer footpegs to be under me. I ride a 20 year old BMW at present, and the Indians I tried had more features, lower seat, but not as responsive handling or compliant suspension. I think the Chieftan or Roadmaster would be good on a long relaxed ride, and preferable to a Harley. It was good for the feet forward riding style, but probably would get another BMW for the money. I would consider if I had a lot of money as a second or third bike.
Date published: 2018-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Indian Chieftain white 116 motor The motor is wonderful. I enjoyed the cruise, the mini apes were not comfortable for me, the right foot brake seemed too far forward for me, I could not check out other features as ride prep short and demo ride itself was short. Brakes good, acceleration wonderful, adjustable windshield too short. The bike sounded amazing, really good. overall i liked the bike, a bit heavy and much different feel from my current bike. I may test ride another model tomorrow. Thanks for providing the demo rides...very helpful in my consideration of my next ride. Would like to know of promotional discounts available.
Date published: 2019-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike After 6000 miles I still find my bike awesome. Had other touring and street bikes over the years, in my 60s now and it's nice to have an American made bike that out-performs many other makes.
Date published: 2018-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2017 Chieftain Limited We got our new Indian in August and we love it. We wish there was an Indian Riders Group here in central Illinois. Features we would love to see include: Hydraulic clutch, Chrome wheels (please). We are not into everything flat black. We are proud of our Chieftain and want it to standout even more than it does already at our favorite riding spots ! Thanks for making a cool ride!
Date published: 2018-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the bike BUT! I love the bike. Its a smooth ride. It have plenty of power/torque. The sound system is outstanding, it even sound good with the stock exhaust, I have had several comments on how great my Chieftian looks. Overall I am happy with my choice. BUT, Indian made a bike that produces way more heat than it should prompting customers to do two mods ASAP, intake and exhaust. Now those two mods should be a want not a necessity. Of the two only the intake was available. Which brings me to the availability of Indian parts. Weather they are dress up or performance they are ridiculously difficult to find. So if you want a really nice sounding smooth riding bike that turns heads Indian is the one for.
Date published: 2020-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I bought about 45 days ago and now have 1100 miles on it. What a bike to ride!! Great heads up display, features and the ride is just amazing! So happy with my choice to purchase an Indian
Date published: 2020-08-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Bike I rode the Chieftain limited today and the ride was smooth and comfortable. I have been a sportbike rider in the past and now have a small cruiser. There are tons of features and the radio is great. At the last demo days, I rode the chieftain that was bored out with cams and exhaust. Riding this stock model was quite a bit less impressive. Throttle response seemed a little delayed and the power was noticeably missing - hence the 4/5 star review. Still a great bike and will definitely be the bike I buy if I choose to buy Indian.
Date published: 2018-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great handling and comfortable My last bike I rode 11,000 kms in three years, I’ve had my Indian for two months and I’m already over 4500 kms.
Date published: 2020-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Bike I bought my 2017 Indian Chieftian Limited just about one year ago. I traded in a 2009 Victiry Vision. I am throughly impressed with the Indian. From the power to the comfort to al the features. It has been a great first year. It's easy to accessories as well. Keep up the good work Polaris
Date published: 2018-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Limited caught my eye, so I had to buy! I originally bought the Indian Chieftain in 2015. after riding Harley Davidson since 2006, I had to give the originator a try. The Indian is superior in engineering and it handles like the import sport bikes that I use to ride as a young man. With the new GPS System and 100 watt stereo, I had to go down and take a look. The 2017 Limited is absolutely amazing. I had to ride her with that gorgeous nineteen inch front rim. She handles like a dream, after I said to myself that she had to ride well...she's an Indian. Of course I added all of the bells and whistles. Stage 1 air cleaner, pipes, and stage 2 cams! I added floorboards for my lady and kept the nice backrest from my 2015. She is a fantastic looking and handling motorcycle. My old Chieftain held her value too. I received a fair offer, and another fifteen hundred dollars for my trade, and I walked out the owner of the Limited. Please don't take my word for it, go to your local dealer and take a look, or better yet, ride an Indian. Once you do, you will never ride anything else.
Date published: 2017-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don’t plan on being home once you buy it! I’ve had my Chieftain Limted for a year now & by far it’s the best cruiser out there. From the back woods of PA to the turnpike in Philadelphia; this bike handles it all. Choosing Indian after being a dedicated Harley owner was one of the best choices I have ever made.
Date published: 2018-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best all around bike I ever owned! I purchased a 2017 Elite about a year ago.. the more I ride this bike the more I enjoy it! Handles and performs better than any cruiser I’ve ever ridden! I tell people that it’s like a BMW RT married a HD Street Glide and the Chieftain is that child!
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2017 Chieftain Limited I sold my 2013 Victory Cross Country and purchased the 2017 Chieftain Limited. The quality overall is better and so is the comfort. Had the extended touring seat installed for extra leg room. So far so good and don't miss the Victory.
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent bike I love the chieftain because of the features and the ride. The only thing I wasn’t a fan of was I’m a bit to tall for it and I felt a little smushed in it. Otherwise one of the smoothest rides I’ve ever had on a motorcycle!
Date published: 2018-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Bike, rides like a dream! I bought my 2015 Chieftain a week ago, LUV IT, rode sport bikes, sport touring bikes all my life, Always liked Indians from yesteryor , When I saw they were back in the game, I had to get one, Best Bike I have ever owned, Purchased at Bestline Powersports, Indian Dealer , St College, Pa
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun and Functional I recently traded my 2014 Victory Highball in on a new 2019 Chieftain Limited. I love my new ride! It is so much more comfortable for long rides and I feel less fatigued at the end of the day. The GPS is tricky and I have not yet had success with ride command planning a route. The radio is very good and I have no issue linking my MotoZ (Droid) to it to stream music. I receive messages too, but I find that distracting. The engine has plenty of power and torch but I find it has a hesitation when I want to launch hard from a stop. I think with a stage one and a bigger air intake this issue might resolve its self. I actually am a very big fan of the factory exhaust sound.. I was surprised how nice of a rumble the factory exhaust offers when you drop a gear and give it a bit of gas to pass a car etc. I have no plans to change the exhaust in the future because I enjoy the more quite ride experience when I'm cruising. I have switched though the different ride modes but find the standard mode to be more suited to my riding. The sporty mode I find to be lurchy and the tour mode doggy. I haven't used these modes much, but for longer journeys I could see how the tour mode could save on gas. Overall, I am satisfied with my new bagger. I enjoy riding a lot more and find more excuses to ride now. I can't wait to see what Polaris does next with the Indian line!
Date published: 2020-08-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The way it starts and it's smooth powerful ride Impressed with the fit and finish ,like the extras you pay more for on other motorcycles,like chrome perches on handlebars power and remote locking bags Anti lock brakes ,ect,ect.She rides really nice.
Date published: 2018-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fantastic Style and Sound! I test rode this bike and I love the styling and I love the sound too but it seems to me that the 111 Thunderstroke is just lacking in power! I test rode a new 2019 Indian Chieftain Dark Horse in Bronze Smoke and it had the Stage 3 116 Thunderstroke Kit in it and I was much more impressed with the power of the 116 over the 111! It's a fantastic bike but if you like to romp on your bikes from time to time and play with some horsepower like me then I definitely recommend the 116 upgrade!
Date published: 2018-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bike love it I love the performance and power of chieftain limited 2018
Date published: 2018-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Now this is a premium motorcycle!!! What a difference! 30 yrs of riding motorcycles and never had exactly what I wanted. Picked my bike up and realized I finally had everything I wanted in one bike. Great handling, fits perfectly, and the ride is comfortable. I believe anyone who tests rides one will be delighted Very happy
Date published: 2018-05-17
  • y_2020, m_8, d_9, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_186
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19TCAAAC1, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 72ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT