Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer
Menu

Indian Springfield® Dark Horse® Reviews

2019 Indian Springfield Dark Horse Thunder Black Smoke is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 122.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very powerful You better hold on to the handle bars on sportmode
Date published: 2019-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It has great features and is a very smooth ride. I already own an older Indian. Just wanted to test drive a newer Indian
Date published: 2019-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ride and power I ride (and love) a 2016 Springfield. The new model feels similar, but the 116 motor is so much more powerful. They set me on the ride mode of touring, and the around town riding was very similar to my own bike. The difference came when I got to the highway and accelerated. There was a lot of power, which continued in every gear and at every RPM. Very fun ride. The controls felt smooth. Only complaint was that I prefer a windshield at highway speeds (it was a cold day!).
Date published: 2019-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Cruiser ride I've had! Test rode this Springfield Darkhorse. Best cruiser ride I've had! Smooth and powerful ride. I was impressed.
Date published: 2019-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The bars were a bit too far forward.Other than th Did not buy at this time I would like to get some more information before I buy
Date published: 2019-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Test Ride I took a test ride a couple of weeks ago and I was thoroughly impressed! Comfortable ride, smooth engine, good braking, beautiful bike, and good handling. I'd love to have one in the future.
Date published: 2019-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it !!! Loved it the only things I would Change is add a winshield and more leg room .
Date published: 2019-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid Heavyweight Motorcycle Pleniful torque, easy to handle, smooth ride and just enough electronic features to be modern without sacrificing a natural ride.
Date published: 2019-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tremendous Power Excellent ride and fit! The power of the 116 with Stage 3 is Insane! I have a stock 2018 Chieftain Limited with the 111 and it has tons of power and torque, but the 116 in sport mode is crazy!
Date published: 2019-09-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Where are the differences? I honestly don't see any major differences in these new bikes. They look like the ones that were out last year and before that. I test rode one of these bikes and while they are nice, I still don't see a lot of upgrades or major changes.
Date published: 2019-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is truly a great machine~! I've had this bike (2018) for a year now, and at just over 12,500 miles, I think I can finally give an honest and accurate review. In brief, I'm still thrilled with it. Very comfortable (max. miles per day so far is 841) and so easy to handle for a cruiser; I rented a road king while in Denver, and I was so happy to get back to my SDH I just cannot express! I rode from Minnesota to Louisiana last month and truly enjoyed the trip. I typically ride to work and back as well. In fact, in the last 5 months I've been on the bike all but 12 days. Just a couple observations though - it is burning a little oil, which distresses me because I took such OCD-like pains to follow the break-in procedure accurately. Really - I did. However, it's only about a pint every 1,000 miles and oil is cheap. Also, a quicker throttle response would be nice; the power is definitely there, but one really has to roll the throttle to tap it. I tested a new Roadmaster, and the "sport mode" response is exactly what this bike needs. I prefer the '18 styling to the '19-20...who thought that all of the gloss black paint belonged on a flat black dark horse??? As in so many other Indian reviews, I'll mention how many comments I field on a routine basis - people love this bike.
Date published: 2019-09-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bike! Demo days rider 8-30-19 Bettendorf Ia. The one I rode was Matte white. Nice cushy seat and smooth ride. Shifting was good, Decent Power to weight ratio. Little vibration through bars ,But not terrible. Nimble for the size it is, I would own one.
Date published: 2019-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ride Bike was amazing lots of power handles great. Incredible style
Date published: 2019-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bike I just test drive the indian springfield in sturgis SD for the 79th sturgis motercycle rally and could not be more impressed. The bike handled well and was more agile than my harley davidson street glide. i have only ever owned a Harley Davidson but after this its clear my next bike needs to be an indian
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Decision When looking to replace my ‘12 HD Street Glide, test rode Road King Special and this...done. Brought the sundown home the following week. Best decision.
Date published: 2019-08-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Springfield Dark Horse with Ape Hangers Demo ride was very nice but my first time with ape hangers had me a little concerned. I just didn’t feel in control as I do on my 2017 Roadmaster Classic. It also had after market exhaust with high flow air cleaner very powerful had to really hang on!
Date published: 2019-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ride I rode it with the ape hangers installed on it and enjoyed the demo ride a lot !!
Date published: 2019-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth ride and lots of torque I just did a 40 minutes demo ride and really enjoyed it
Date published: 2019-07-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Comfortable, stable, but slow. Had a test ride at a Demo event. Bike was comfortable and was a relaxing ride. However I found my self missing the acceleration I was looking for in the first two years. Out of the three engine modes I don't think I could stand using anything other than sport.
Date published: 2019-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Strong, smooth and stylish! Loved the ride of the Dark Horse. Wide power band and soaks up the road - good looking cruiser.
Date published: 2019-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Was ok My St-Valentin present. For me from me with all my love. Indian Chieftain. If I have to buy another it will be a Roadmaster
Date published: 2019-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth, Solid Ride I have been reading reviews and I wanted to ride the Springfield Dark Horse myself. I thought it felts supremely stable, had plenty of grunt and was easy to maneuver.
Date published: 2019-06-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I wanted to like this bike... I test rode a Springfield and the ergonomics did not work at all for me (I'm 5'10"). My knees felt like they were pushing into my chest when I had my feet resting on the floorboards and it also sorely needed a heel shifter (did I just not see it?). The top of the windshield was directly in my line of sight and I experienced intense buffeting above 35mph to the point that it was very uncomfortable. The speedometer is way too low on the tank so I had to look down to check the display which takes my eyes off of the road. I'll stick with my Scout. It may not have the size and weight that would be ideal for long slab rides but I can stretch out, see my speedo without lowering my head and ride buffeting-free until above 70mph.
Date published: 2019-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Upgraded air and exhaust I have a dark horse and wanted to try ape hangers and stage 1 air cleaner
Date published: 2019-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2019 Springfield Darkhorse I took one of these out today on a demo ride. It was outfitted with probably the tallest ape hangers Indian offers (unlikely aftermarket on a demo bike) as they were definitely more than shoulder height on me. I had it in sport mode which definitely provided plenty of pep in its step partnered with at least the Stage 1 exhaust and high flow air cleaner (unsure if had Stage 2 cams). No complaints, smooth ride, plenty of power, and no faring blocking the road ahead of me.
Date published: 2019-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really liked the riding modes Nice bike, lots of features that I’m interested in but, wished it was water cooled.
Date published: 2019-06-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from decent Power on the bike I rode was good. Employee told me it had a stage 3 upgrade. Different power mode was cool, adjustable windshield was cool. Over all look is just ok compared to the bike I currently own.
Date published: 2019-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Plenty of power It was great on the highway and handled well on bac roads. Shifting was stiff, but that at be because it was so new.
Date published: 2019-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First Ever Indian ride. Exceeded my expectations on every level. Smooth and powerful ride. Only problem, can’t decide between Chief Vintage & Chief Springfield.
Date published: 2019-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Demo days test ride I was very curious about this bike. I have a Victory Cross Roads Classic and this is basically what my bike became after the production stop of Victory. The bike was the most comfortable of the 3 that I demoed; Roadmaster, Chieftain LTD, and Springfield. The seat was a bit further back than the other 2 giving me more leg room so I didn't feel as cramped, although still not as much room as my Victory. I would have to go with an extended reach seat to be more comfortable. I also wasn't happy with the position of the instrument cluster. It was positioned to far down on the fuel tank so in order to see it I had to look down and take my eyes off the road to see it. Having it mounted higher on the tank, or as a gauge between the handle bars would be a better spot for it. That way just a quick glance will give you everything you need to see.
Date published: 2019-06-09
  • y_2020, m_9, d_26, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_122
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19THDAACH, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 71ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT