Indian Springfield® Dark Horse® Reviews

2019 Indian Springfield Dark Horse Thunder Black Smoke is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 59.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Motorcycle I have owned Had this 2018 Indian Dark Horse for over 3 months now. I was hooked when I did a demo ride in May 2018. Not only is the look of the bike great, but it handles so well with the engine. I bought the smoked windscreen and black Freedom exhaust with stage 2 cams. I have had Harleys and I own two Victory's. This is now my favorite bike!
Date published: 2018-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy and stylish I rode the Springfield Dark Horse about twenty miles total at a demo day. I was pleasantly surprised by how easy it was to handle and by the effortless power. I've ridden plenty of Harleys as well and the Indian is a better ride by far. The suspension soaked up bumps and the bike actually seems happy to go around corners.
Date published: 2019-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Marvelous Engineering!! The Ride, acceleration, handing/cornering and attractiveness of this bike makes it stand alone amongst all cruiser type motorcycles. A little pricey, but when you compare it to the Harley equivalent, then it hits a home run!! Thanks Indian!! Great engineering!!
Date published: 2018-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mr. This bike handled well. Grips felt a little cheap, and the power was so-so mid way through the gears. Seat was tall for me, but is adjustable to my knowledge. I liked the controls once I got used to them. Would like to see a heel shift.
Date published: 2018-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from handling and styling Have owned three Indians so far, Roadmaster, Springfield, and Chieftan.Loved them all.
Date published: 2018-08-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Demo days test ride I was very curious about this bike. I have a Victory Cross Roads Classic and this is basically what my bike became after the production stop of Victory. The bike was the most comfortable of the 3 that I demoed; Roadmaster, Chieftain LTD, and Springfield. The seat was a bit further back than the other 2 giving me more leg room so I didn't feel as cramped, although still not as much room as my Victory. I would have to go with an extended reach seat to be more comfortable. I also wasn't happy with the position of the instrument cluster. It was positioned to far down on the fuel tank so in order to see it I had to look down and take my eyes off the road to see it. Having it mounted higher on the tank, or as a gauge between the handle bars would be a better spot for it. That way just a quick glance will give you everything you need to see.
Date published: 2019-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like riding a sofa with a rocket engine Very smooth and powerful. I was impressed! The dealer, Ed, and his team were very down to earth.
Date published: 2018-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike...with some small drawbacks I have had my 2018 Indian Springfield Dark Horse for about 10 months now. I absolutely love the look of the flat black bike and feel it has the right touch of chrome. I'm a bigger guy so I like the overall size of this bike. Fit and finish are excellent. I love the touch of a powder coated frame. Very durable! Kudos for the remote lockable bags. Little annoyances - Tire pressure sensors seem to be an issue... they monitor low on initial startup. Turn bike off and on again and they read correctly (checked against manual gauge). Mine doesn't have different "modes" as it's an 18 model - however, an upgrade on the electronics would be nice Indian! That being said, if you're a short shifter, you'd love this but I feel like power plateaus at 3,000 RPM in first and second. Feels like you run out of steam at 2800 to 3000 RPM and you have to shift to get it moving. This may be addressed with the new "modes" but how about a retrofit for those of us early adopters with the 18 first year model DH?! Wish Indian would have done red dash lighting on the Springfield Dark Horse like they did on the Chief Dark Horse. This is just a "cool factor" thing. Overall this is a superb bike and it feels much lighter to ride than it really is. When you ride this and "feel" it, you really don't get the feel that you're on an 800 lb motorcycle. The engineers did a superb job on that front and honestly I love the suspension on this bike. It has a great amount of travel and makes for a comfortable ride. You will not "clench" up going over potholes, road cracks or railroad tracks. Big plus there! I'd love a little more comfort in the seat for when I'm riding for longer than 3 hours, but that's a normal, and universal, gripe from anyone that rides longer distances.
Date published: 2019-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Machine I went for a demo ride and experienced a great 20 minutes plus on the Dark Horse Springfield. Handled great due to the exceptional balance and low COG. Most impressive was the power and acceleration in the higher gears.
Date published: 2018-09-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Terrible The handlebars are terrible which translate to terrible handling. Also they are set too far out so if one decides to put on apes you better hope they have foot arms
Date published: 2018-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth and powerful I got to ride this bike at a demo in Cave creek Arizona. Very smooth and powerful ride! It will for sure be my next bike
Date published: 2018-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just right with full stage 2 Rode during demo event. Love the “light “ handling in a parking lot. Very smooth power. Great ergonomics for long hall.
Date published: 2018-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it Ride so smooth. Was able to do a u turn without any problems. Very fast bike.
Date published: 2018-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bike! If I had the money, I'd put one in the garage! The styling is spot on. The power and sound of the exhaust were great. I love the big Indian on the side of the tank. Don't know if it's available, but I'd love to see the black leather Indian bags with Indian conchos on the back. This would add to the Indian nostalgia.
Date published: 2018-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit I had sat on the Springfield in the showroom and did not like the position of the handlebars. The Demo bike had them set a little higher and fit me perfectly. The windshield blocked enough wind to make the ride comfortable without feeling like I was following a sail. I would have liked the full fenders on this bike
Date published: 2019-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This bike has tons of power and torque Took part in the demo ride and this beast was one of the first I got to ride, it is in my top three with the other being the classic and the roadmaster. After riding and discussing with the lead and trail riders whom both are long term indian owners I look forward to putting one of my three selections in my garage
Date published: 2019-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Springfield Awesome! This is my second test ride on the springfield. I've been vacillating between two touring models. This nimble quick to respond ride is exceptional in many ways. Impressed with the comfort and position of the controls, the instant throttle response, virtually silent transmission shifting, and of course the style.
Date published: 2019-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, surprising ride! I initially did not want to test ride this one, but I'm so glad I did!....this bike has great attributes that I simply did expect.
Date published: 2018-09-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Loved the "ride mode" feature...hated the color! Loved the "ride mode" feature...sport mode throttle response was very impressive. Hated the ugly White Horse paint and chrome-less look and instrument gauge. Also, why no crash bars on front and rear like other Springfield's have??? Love my 2015 two-tone red/black Vintage...keeping it!
Date published: 2019-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The new Indian The new Indian line is very impressive. The Indian Demo Truck came to Indian of Albuquerque last weekend. I rode the Chieftain, Roadmaster, and Springfield. All of the bikes perform well, very neutral handling, good lean angle, smooth ride. The 116 Chieftain was my favorite.
Date published: 2018-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I went for a demo ride today For a big bike it handled very well. All the controls were right where I wanted them and the acceleration was great. The only problem that I had was that at 5’ 10” I had to practically sit on the tank to reach the kick stand and had a hard time finding it to put it down.
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Handling! The Springfield has the larger 19" front wheel and trimmed down front fender, and you can really feel it on turn in. It just intuitively goes to the apex of the curve, smooth and effortless. A fine running machine with an engine seemingly from a locomotive!
Date published: 2019-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ride in the rain I took a test ride this afternoon, unfortunately it was raining. I found the Springfield easy to ride and saw it's potential as a long distance friend. However, the rain and the traffic I was riding in made my test ride feel even shorter than it was.
Date published: 2019-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing motorcycle! That bike it’s just amazing. From comfortability to horse power, all numbers are way high. The bike is a silent monster. You feel like you pretty much own the road. It’s definitely a bike to enjoy the ride.
Date published: 2019-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from decent Power on the bike I rode was good. Employee told me it had a stage 3 upgrade. Different power mode was cool, adjustable windshield was cool. Over all look is just ok compared to the bike I currently own.
Date published: 2019-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Ride It was the first time I rode an Indian Motorcycle. The ride was comfortable and the engine responsive. The bike handled well. Personally I found the handle bar controls small and not well placed.
Date published: 2018-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice ride Completed the demo ride on the Dark Horse. Lots of power and comfortable. Prefer ape hanger handle bars than the stock ones on the bike. The bike handles well and nice in the curves
Date published: 2019-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Springfield Dark Horse The Springfield is super comfortable, smooth, powerful and sexy! Easily my favorite one tested during demo days and the matte white with the blacked out engine is beautiful!
Date published: 2019-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of Power! Great bike. Surprised by the power and handling of this bike. Not as hot as my 2016 Roadking. But, cant give it 5 stars as the paint choices are all pretty boring.
Date published: 2019-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kelowna demo ride on the Dark Horse Good smooth power, excellent brakes and great ride overall. The handle bars were not in the best position for my frame and I would also prefer a windshield.
Date published: 2019-05-04
  • y_2019, m_6, d_26, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_59
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19THDAACH, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 73ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT