Springfield

Starting at $25,299 CA MSRP
Build Springfield BUILD YOURS Find a Dealer FIND A DEALER
2019 Indian Springfield Thunder Black is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 266.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An excellent bike Just picked up the 2016 Indian Springfield after nearly buying a H-D RK. The RK is a great bike, but after riding both it was really no question. The Springfield seems to beat the RK in every category, excluding subjective preferences. Standard features better (ABS, TPMS, additional status info, electronic locking hard bags, phone charger in hard bag, etc.), thunderstroke 111 vs twin cam 103 (the power difference is impressive, easy maintenance), ease of converting from touring bagger to cruiser. Both bikes have a very comfortable riding geometry, but I found the Springfield to be just a little more of a natural fit (5'9") while riding and a bit easier to handle when feet are on the ground while stopping. The best thing to do is ride each of them.
Date published: 2016-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spectacular Ride Its been about four months since I purchased my 2016 Springfield. In that time I've ridden the motorcycle in town and out in the country over steep hills and wide open roadways. My wife and I really feel invigorated every time we climb on and take it out on the road again. I personally am extremely satisfied with the bike both in its performance and the way its built. Being a former machinist, I am struck with the quality and hard work old craftsmanship that has gone into this machine. I appreciate all of the hard work that has gone into these machines. They're Awesome!
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Concerned I bought the blue and silver sapphire bike Springfield on February 25th. The temp got up to 49 degrees yesterday and I decided to run to the local deli and grab a couple sandwiches. Took a slow right hand turn and the engine light comes on with only 22 miles on the bike. I bought the bike to have ready for spring. I contacted the dealership and they have to see it to diagnose the problem. Its cold again and I'm unable to ride it in. They can transport it for $50 fee. I already paid $100 for another dealer to deliver so that it would be ready to go. Seems my first trip over 10 miles will be on a nice day to see what's wrong. Very disappointed.
Date published: 2017-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Medium Range Cruiser/Tourer I purchased the 2017 Indian Springfield and took delivery on 1/11/17 (The Day and Month may Be Coincidence) and have not looked back. This is my 1st Motorcycle Purchase ever and after driving everything by every Manufacturer in this class nothing comes close to the Power, Styling, and Versatility; Not to mention the Cadillac Ride! I've logged over 1,000 miles in a month in the dead of Winter in Southeastern Pennsylvania and am considering riding it to Florida for Bike Week with full confidence it'll handle the long haul with any of The Big Boys! Thanks Indian!
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NICE SOLID RIDE! We liked the colors, all the chrome, the fact that it's an American made bike with an air cooled motor. We liked the ride and handling over our 2019 Harley.
Date published: 2019-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Indian Springfield The Indian Motorcycle has out done them selves. The quality, workmanship and ride is by far out doing any other bike in the market place. After not riding for quite a few years my wife and I decided we would need a tow vehicle for when traveling with our motorhome. We spent a year researching motorcycles and tow cars. Once I walked into Wayne Indian, that was it. I knew right then this was it. I completely fell in love with riding all over again. I put 500 miles on in my first 2 weeks. Once you test ride an Indian you will understand. I can not give it enough praise on the keeping the true Indian lines, look and heritage. For the traditionalist like myself this machine by far out did it's rivals in every aspect.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my bike. I have owned almost every model of Harley. Touring bikes, Softails, V-Rods, everything but a Sportster. I grew up on Harleys (even on the back of one as a kid) and it was a tough choice to break tradition. Ultimately I did make the switch due to a simple fact. It's a better bike. It's more powerful and smoother than a Milwaukee Eight bike, feels very well put together and is more fun to ride. It's also a much better looking bike than a Road King. I go to bike night and I might see one other Indian, but that's it.
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bike, EVER! Okay so out of curiosity last Spring I test rode a Springfield and loved it! Now I'm not made of money and I've been riding my 98 Softail for a long time and really like it. Come fall and I stopped in at the Indian dealer again and there on the floor sits a red 2016 Springfield all shiny and pretty. I could no longer resist. I went home that night and sold my Harley to my son and bought the Springfield. Indian, you have your stuff together with this bike. Handles and rides better than any Harley I've ever owned, ever.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 1700 mile review I am happy i bought this bike. I have had issues with it such as; it keeps blowing a fuse for the dash. also the rear tip over bars do not touch before the bags do tested in a controlled manor. the bike handles and has plenty of power. It does however have a lot of excess noise when shifting at higher RPMS sounds like something loose somewhere but can not be found but every indian i have rode has this noise. The exhaust note is good and not over whelming. the ABS system is great and not super invasive like a cars. I feel it should come with the driver backrest and not be a high dollar add on same has LED headlihgts and running lights. the turn and brake lights are LED why not make them all LED. If you buy the bike before you buy the aftermarket apes try rolling OEM bars forward i am a bigger person and it fits well with stock bars as seen in picture below (6'3 240)
Date published: 2016-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ride! I have owned several bikes over the 30 years I have been riding and the springfield has the feel and handling I've been waiting for! Could not be happier with this bike. Fit and finish and style is are first rate and handling is awesome! The power is great and very smooth.The dealer experience was awesome,the last H.D. dealer I delt with could learn a thing or two from Indian Of Manchester NH,thanks to the great staff!
Date published: 2016-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This motorcycle is a perfect in every way! Recently purchased the Springfield. I researched this bike for 2 1/2 months. Read every review and watched every you tube video. There is no better bagger in it's class, period. Once I rode it I am even more convinced that is has the best motor, fit and finish, and ride out there. I am not criticizing Harley Davidson because they manufacture nice bikes but there is no comparison to the Indian. Great job Polaris!
Date published: 2016-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the bike, but it has some issues just about to roll 4,ooo miles on the bike. It was in the shop for a shorted wire and now needs to go back due to rear tire pressure sensor is faulty. other than that the bike is great I ride all the time I work as a motorcycle safety instructor and it handles the course better than the little TU250s we use. This minus the small problems is the best bike i have owned
Date published: 2016-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great touring bike without unneeded extras I bought my Springfield in March from the Littleton CO dealership. Excellent folks there. I have since put 11,000 miles on my bike, and absolutely love it. The bike is comfortable for long hauls and the handling is excellent. The engine does throw off a lot of heat, so I recommend anyone purchasing this bike have the optional oil cooler installed.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My second girlfriend I traded in my triumph tiger for my Indian Springfield within the first month I had it I put on 3000km absolutely love it can't get off of it the factory exhaust was ok but I needed something more so I put a pair of rinehart slipons and wow what a head turner, most bikes I've ridden are the most fun when rode fast this thing is a blast doin the speed limit, I love it. Test rode a road king and a street glide then I test rode the Springfield and actually felt bad for Harley in the suspension category I'm not brand loyal I love all bikes.
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from So far, not so good. Maybe I got the one in a million with a bad battery (hope it's just that) but this thing was dead a month after I got it, won't hold a charge and of course the warranty says I have to haul to the dealer, 3 hours from here to get it looked at...NOT a good start and a horrible warranty to boot. By the way it has 37 miles on it and not because I did not want to ride it more. Yes, I started it, at least every 3-4 days, ran it, and in the end, trickle charged it and after putting the seat and all the other junk back on 20 times to get to the battery, I'm ready to sell this thing and get an HD. THIS BATTERY SHOULD LAST 3-4 DAYS, PERIOD AND IT'S GARAGED, ALWAYS!
Date published: 2018-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good riding motorcycle i bought this 2016 springfield the last week of feb 2017 i have a little over 6000 mi on it as of june 30 2017 i had a problem with it not starting in first 200 mi which turned out to be a relay in start system fixed promtly by my dealer also have shifting problem i.e. hard to shift out of low gear dealer thinks it will fix its self i do not agree my seat is showing what looks like blistering along stiching on both rider seat and passenger seat called this to dealer att. they do not seem to be concerned may have to take these problems up with polaris anew motorcycle should operate and look like a new bike
Date published: 2017-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Never looking back Bought my 2017 Springfield on July 5th of 2017. What brought me to it was a friend of mine who was A HD rider for over 30yrs bought an Indian in 2016, I waited till 2017 to ask him how he liked it. His response was "Love it, I'll never go back to HD". At the time I had a 2014 HD 1200 I had to see what changed this man's mind so off I went to Mom's in Foxboro Ma. Needless to say the rest is history the 1200 Stayed and the Springfield went home with me.you have to ride one to see why, there's no words to describe the Indian bike
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Swiss Army knife of Cruisers! Versatile, poised, fantastic suspension, excellent engine...a legitimate and better alternative to the HD Road King. I have 7300 miles on my Springfield with most of that being ridden around my home in the Rocky Mountains. This bike handles the curves well whether loaded down with the optional trunk (from the Roadmaster) and passenger or flying solo. The trunk is plug and play along with the Roadmaster heated seat, which is nice as there's no need to visit to the dealer to have things reprogrammed. In case you're wondering, the trunk will lock remotely just as the saddlebags do. There is plenty of power to cruise well above the speed limit and the bike feels composed over rough roads - wet or dry. I recommend adding fork mounted wind deflectors as it calmed the "dirty" air behind the windscreen and made for a more enjoyable experience for both rider and pillion. DIY'ers will enjoy the easy oil (Engine & Transmission share the same oil) changes with an automotive style screw on filter. The bike changes from a solo cruiser to a full dresser in five minutes. Hint - if you plan to add the Roadmaster style trunk, you will need to change out the saddle bag spools to those found on the Roadmaster. Indian should make those spools standard. Also, a battery tender plug is found underneath the seat just behind the rear engine cylinder. The engine is torque monster and pulls strong down low. The digital information center MPG's are slightly lower than my hand calculated figures of 44-46mpg. The transmission shifts easily with the familiar "clunk" found on American style V twins. Fit and finish is good. Fit is as good as the HD's I surveyed. Paint quality is average to good. I believe my bike was built before the newer paint process was implemented for 2017 models as the black is not as good as HD's paint. However, keep it clean, polished and protected and it will still look good for many years. My fuel gauge developed an issue with moisture but was replaced under warranty. This was my only warranty issue to date. The brakes haul the Springfield down quickly and standard ABS is appreciated especially here where wildlife will come out of nowhere. The styling is something that everyone raves about and for good reason. The Springfield does it all - excellent handling, classic styling, retro styled engine with modern power, no fairing but yet has the ability to transform into a full blown dresser. I heavily considered the Road King but the engine brought me over to Indian. The Hero Discount, better suspension, remote locking bags, standard ABS and styling were all an added benefit. While the new Milwaukee Eight brings the iconic Road King closer to the Springfield's performance, the Springfield is the new standard in this category.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike So early last Spring the editor of a popular motorcycle magazine wrote a little piece praising the Indian line and showing off the new Springfield. As I respect this fellow's opinion I went to the local Indian dealer and took one out for a test ride. I was hooked. The ride, the handling the over all look of the bike had me hooked from the start. I went through the year riding my extremely fast Softail then in October I pulled the trigger and bought the red Springfield. I had the dealer make the necessary modifications; new headers and mufflers, air cleaner and cams. Okay the Springfield isn't as fast as my Softail was but I'm good with that, it's so much better of a ride than any Harley I've ever owned or ridden. Now to see how fast I can get to 60,000 miles.
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 2017 Indian Motorcycle Constructive Criticism! 2017 Indian Springfield and at msrp $22,099 I ran into a couple of issues less than 500 miles on the bike. 1) Engine error code gear shift indicator came on during a regular ride (along with engine light that would not shut off-annoying) 2) recently as in yesterday it would not start or turn over all engine indicator lights came on and the cruise control light would blink, shift indicator would not show gear, come on this a new bike, missed a bike event. These things should be made known to new potential customers and Indian-please take this as constructive criticism! Please fix these bugs! Nice bikes but sad if they don't start. I don't wan't an expensive paper weight. What will happen after my warranty expires? I had this bike less than 2 months, I love the bike, but it is sad if I can not ride it. Customer service is great, but these issues need to be addressed! I believe in the Indian brand and hopefully all the bugs will be ironed out soon!
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Indian Springfield 2016 Kudos on an excellent achievement in styling and engineering! Easy to handle, this Springfield fits like a comfortable pair of shoes - light, agile and it carries more than my other bike without the need for the luggage rack. If I could suggest a modification it would be to tone down the light volume on the dash board. The red LED lights are too bright and blur the gauges during night riding. Outside of that, I "love" the suspension which is much easier on my back, the control layout is right at my fingertips. The handlebars are just right and the optional seat makes it seem that this bike was made just for me. It's eye catching that's for sure. I don't ride anywhere where someone doesn't say "hello". Everyone has an Indian story and everyone has a friend or relative who had an Indian in the past. I wasn't planning on buying a 2nd bike when I bought this one, but I'm glad I have it.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Cruiser Yet I had a Chieftain before I bought my 2016 Springfield. Thought I'd miss the sound system that the Chieftain came with. Before I took delivery on my 2016 Springfield, I had it upgraded to Stage 2, which included pipes, performance air cleaner, re-mapping, and Stage 2 cams. Now I don't miss the sound system because the exhaust note is music to my ears. The Springfield is also the best handling motorcycle I've ever had (bar none), and I've had a bunch including Harley & rice-burners. Do not try one out unless you're ready to buy a new bike, because if you do, then you will buy one.
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I wanted the Springfield all along... I knew I wanted a Springfield from the day I first read about it. An Indian with removable windshield and hard saddle bags, perfectly capable of long distance touring that can be quickly stripped down to cruise with that classic Indian look and feel. I've had my Blue Sapphire over Star Silver (gorgeous!) Springfield for about six months now and could not be happier. Much smoother ride than what I was used to. Handles like a dream with plenty of power. A real attention getter!
Date published: 2018-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding motorcycle Indian motorcycles give you a much better value than Harley Davidson. First off the saddle bags are the shape of the fender and detachable.The windshield is detachable. The controls are chrome. The front lower legs are chrome and the best feature is the air ride...you want all that on a Harley. ...be prepared to spend thousands of dollars. ...nor to mention it is a bigger stock motor....I have never ridden a more stable bike in my life and there have been many. ..
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Riding Like I was a kid again!!! Once I test rode a Springfield (which is the first Indian I've ever ridden) I was sold. I'm 65 and have been riding since I was 14. The comfort, ease of handling, power and responsiveness did it. I was sold. Being only 5'5" being flat footed and balanced were a must as was the handling with a passenger on board. My wife rides her own but on rare occasions, she is my passenger.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Springfield and History Besides the history of Indian I Bought my Springfield (RED) in 2016 after test riding 9 different HD models/bikes. It was a Day and Night comparison with the Harley models. Specifically the handling and smoothness of the Springfield. Not much adding needed on the model other than a stage 2 ( OMG what an awesome addition) and sissy bar with back rest. It is a Head turner every where I go and my sons love it so much that are saving to buy their own Indians! Joe R. - US Coast Guard Retired
Date published: 2018-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bike. I picked the Springfield because it can be a capable touring bike as well as a local cruiser. It has plenty of power for riding with a passenger and handles very well for it's size. This is a very enjoyable bike to ride.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Style that oozes old school Indian Great riding bike, a absolute pleasure to ride. Just be prepared to be covered up with conversations and talking, about your bike at every stop. Only real complaint is the seat, very uncomfortable at first, but after about 1000 miles it seemed to soften up and become comfortable...still could have a little more backside support. Otherwise, size and soft ride suspension is second to none.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dream machine with miles and smiles I picked up the 2016 in march ride it everyday for work through Boston traffic and for 800+lbs. it handles amazing not top heavy nor feels too heavy to stop short when needed respone is top notch, extremely happy with this bike, only thing i can see bad is the Indian chieftain dark horse came out after i bought the Springfield...
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quite simply the best motorcycle I've ridden I have always liked Indian motorcycles. The fenders, the classsic lines, the heritage, all of it. For the longest time the brand kind of floundered but never died. It was too strong for that. I was not in a position to buy during the Gilroy years and the King's Mountain era bikes were nice but cost prohibitive. I was very happy when Polaris took up the challenge. Victory is a great a motorcycle brand but lacks the history and heritage. It is still a teenager. Polaris saw an opportunity in Indian and put the necessary time and money behind it. They did a spectacular job. I fell in love with the Chief Classic when I first saw it but I was not in a position to buy. I liked the Vintage too but was never huge on softbags. Along comes the Springfield and it is as if I was asked what I personally wanted in a bike. It ticked all the boxes. Quick release hard bags, quick release windshield, cruise control, ABS and that 111 Thunder Stroke motor. This is my dream bike. I didn't buy it to make an investment in a bike destined to be a classic or invest in Indian. I made an investment in me. The Springfield is fantastic. I did make a couple mods to fit me better but that is a very subjective thing and has nothing to do with the quality of the bike. I think Indian hit it out of the park with the Springfield. Oh yeah and for my money, it has to be red...
Date published: 2016-10-05
  • y_2019, m_9, d_17, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_266
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19THAAACA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 114ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Customer Reviews
MENU
Springfield Thunder Black

Indian Springfield

Starting at $25,299 CA MSRP
Trim & Color options Thunder Black
Features
Pic of motorcycle engine
THUNDER STROKE 111 V-TWIN ENGINE

Powered by the award-winning Thunder Stroke 111, delivering 119 ft-lbs of torque for impressive acceleration and passing power.

Pic of motorcycle wheel
CLASSIC STYLING

The Springfield is covered in chrome and features an illuminated headdress on the front fender.

Pic of locking saddlebag
REMOTE-LOCKING HARD SADDLEBAG

Protect your cargo in spacious remote-locking hard saddlebags with weatherproof seals.

See all Springfield Features SEE ALL THE FEATURES
Customize Yours
-
Shop Springfield Accessories SHOP ACCESSORIES