Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Indian Chief Dark Horse

Starting at $18,499 US MSRP

Model shown with accessories

2019 Indian Chief Dark Horse Thunder Black Smoke is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 351.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Bike I took ownership of my Cheif around 2 months ago and let me tell you what a great purchase it was. This bike has plenty of power and the suspension is great for a non touring type bike. I would highly recommend this bike to anyone looking for a sick cruiser
Date published: 2021-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bike ever owned!! I bought this bike about a month ago. Every time I ride, someone always stops me to check it out!
Date published: 2021-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it all I bought my 2022 Indian Chief Dark Horse in July 2021 and I couldn't be happier. The bike's performance has exceeded my expectations. It has a lot of power, its very responsive and also very nimble. It handles like a bike that weighs much less than it actually does. My only cons are that stock exhaust is embarrassing. For the price point of this motorcycle you should at least be able to hear the exhaust when you roll on the throttle. Seems like a ghetto ploy to make the exhaust upgrade a must. Also for some reason my Ride Command keeps bouncing back to the starting menu while I am riding. I am not overly concerned as I am sure its just an update that can be fixed. Other that those two items the bike has been a blast and looks very aggressive. Also be aware after market parts for the Chief are essentially none existent which I am now learning. If you plan to do some mods to your bike do some research and make sure those products are made for the Indian Chief.
Date published: 2021-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb Bike -- 2022 Chief Dark Horse Received my 2022 Chief Dark Horse in early July after a 6 week wait. Beautiful bike! Was tender with it for first 500 mile break-in period. Since then have driven the bike in all kinds of situations and it has performed flawlessly. Stealth Grey is a great color that elicits many positive comments wherever I stop and even some jealous looks from H-D drivers. A very enjoyable bike to drive as its handling is superb and power unmatched. Just a super bike all around.
Date published: 2021-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rides perfect! I've been riding this bike for a month or so now and I've loved every moment of it. My only nitpick is the location of the horn
Date published: 2021-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike Does everything well and looks great. Wish the performance parts were more readily available.
Date published: 2021-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a awesome machine My birthday present and father's day gift. I wanted it when I saw the reviews
Date published: 2021-08-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but not great New models are always gonna have bugs to work out. No excepting to the new Chief Dark Horse. Clutch is still engaged way out there at the end of finger tips, throttle has a latency til you're moving. Then you have good response but at low speeds you'll feel the gearing jogging in and out. Seat is getting broken in but still hard on lower back/upper butt on longer rides. Will definitely be changing that out. And lastly, rear suspension is hard. Great for cornering but be ready to get bucked around on harder bumps as you hit them straight on
Date published: 2021-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2022 Chief Dark Horse - Awesome Amazing combination of look, technology, power and ride! Also loved my last bike, an Indian Springfield, but this one is better for me personally since it's a lot lighter as a cruiser but not too light for touring if desired. Will be even better for touring once I add the numerous accessories I want. They are all backordered until late 2021, so that's the only bummer - especially since I had to pay for the accessories up front. Still 5 stars because this is primarily about the bike and the engine.
Date published: 2021-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from light weight VERY nice bike except for the rear fender.. could have done something a bit better
Date published: 2021-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Its A 2022 I'm loving the 2022 Chief. Just got it this spring but can't stop riding it.
Date published: 2021-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2022 Dark Horse I bought this 2022 Chief Dark horse about a month ago. So far I really like it. Ive put about 1400 miles on it and its been flawless. It has a lot of power and handles well. I enjoy it a lot. The headlight may need to be adjusted as its seems aimed a bit low for night time riding. The exhaust is to quiet, as all factory bikes are when you first get them. I plan to upgrade the exhaust in the future.
Date published: 2021-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Completely in love! I bought my bike a few months ago as someone who’d never ridden. I spent a day figuring out how to pick my feet up and rode around in first gear. Since then I’ve passed my motorcycle safety course and can’t wait to get back home from WY to LA to my bike. My only complaint so far is the seat is very uncomfortable!
Date published: 2021-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent motorcycle!! The Chief Darkhorse is my first venture into the American V-twin market. I *almost* went with a model from the other big boy on the block (the orange and black gang), but the Indian appealed to me across the board - power, tech, good looks, price, and the salespeople don’t call you “dude” and “bruh” while “Born to be Wild” blares throughout the dealership. The Chief isn’t perfect, but I’m sure it’ll smooth out after it’s been out for a year or so. Pros: awesome torque that makes power no matter your rpm’s; comfortable riding position; solid gearbox; the ride command is awesome; classic, nostalgic styling; beautiful motor; quality parts throughout; infinitely customizable. Cons: the wait to get one……; the complete lack of Indian branded aftermarket parts (EVERYTHING is on back order); the grab point of the clutch lever is too far out (makes friction zone slow stuff challenging); THE RIDE COMMAND PHONE APP DOESN’T COMMUNICATE WITH THE RIDE COMMAND ON THE BIKE; the Bluetooth connection is a little wonky (phone/headset connections come and go); the factory exhaust note is weeeeaaaakkk (my wife told me it needed a new exhaust when we got home from the dealership). Overall, yes, I’d definitely buy the bike again without hesitation. I’m a little miffed it was released before the cons were ironed out, but I’m sure it’ll happen soon. When the bugs are worked out I’ll raise my score to 5 stars!
Date published: 2021-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast Beautiful bike with lots of power! Stock pipes are pretty quiet. Needs a stage 1 up grade.
Date published: 2021-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the color I bought my bike because of the size I’m 5’2” and the bike is lighter and handles great
Date published: 2021-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2022 Chief DH for 6' tall guy I got the DH over the DH bobber or Super Chief because i liked the rims and Jade Smoke the most. When I ordered the bike I also ordered the Stake 1&2, higher seat and forward controls. (Would have got the Super if they had the color and rims I wanted). None of the parts came in with the bike. Wont be here until August (got the bike in May) but that another issue with Indian for another time. I am 6' tall before boots. I am a bit squished feeling on the bike. I have to reach pretty far forward for the bars and the mid controls arent comfortable after a few hours. The extended reach bars and the forward controls are going to fix any problems I will have with fit. My gf is 5'3" and she has even harder time reaching the bars but loves the controls and weight (she has a '13 softail slim). The look is perfect. I get compliments everywhere I go. I cannot stop taking pictures of it . The engines..... I am a newer rider but I've ridden the HD 103ci and 1100cc VTX and 750cc Shadow. This bike is much better in turns, easier to ride and the power is AMAZING. I haven't even put it in sport mode yet. Not sure I need the stages but go bug or go home right! The GF rode the DH to compare to the Softail Slim and said the DH will be here next bike for sure. Converted another from the dark side. In summary, if you're taller get the forward controls and the extended reach bars or the Super Chief. Leaving HD in the dust, priceless!!!! *Did not the the DH Bobber with mini apes
Date published: 2021-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bike plenty of power I've had the bike a little over a month, it's a great bike looks gorgeous and handles so much better than i expected! Was originally looking scout bobber but with the wife's interest in 2 up trips put the chiefs in my cross hairs and i'm glad i waited for it because this bike is everything we could have wanted and still everything i wanted in terms of performance!
Date published: 2021-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just the right bike I have dreamed of owning a motorcycle for years. Once I saw a vintage Indian I knew I would someday own an Indian bike. I read the books and took the training classes. I got my endorsement and started shopping bikes. Finally my finances were in order and I was ready to make a purchase. The owner of my local Indian dealership took his time to show me many models and features, including a bike similar to the Chieftain I had seen all those years ago that put me on this path. After hearing me talk, and seeing what I was interested in, he guided me to the new Chief. Sitting on it felt just right. The lighter weight was a big buying point, while still being a bigger bike. I am a 300 lb guy and the smaller Scout just didn’t feel right for me. I opted for the Dark Horse for the electronics upgrades and the bigger engine. The ride modes gave me some confidence in being able to use tour mode until I was ready for a sportier shift and acceleration. The bike handles very well quickly giving me confidence taking off and making turns. For as elaborate as the electronics are, they are not confusing or distracting. I will probably open up the exhaust later for a little louder sound. The bike is clean and simple, yet grabs attention for its perfectly balanced style. I am definitely looking forward to some of the optional accessories to be available. I am still learning, as I would imagine everyone is to some degree. I couldn’t have picked a better bike for me to start this adventure on.
Date published: 2021-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome bike! I bought this in April and took it on a couple in state rides. Very happy with the bike all around. Exceeded my expectations!
Date published: 2021-06-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Ride Bought my Chief from work (Indian dealership) and the assistance was GREAT! I love the power, the comfort, the looks! Great maintenance and easy to work on. I do not like that the accessories are taking to long to arrive. One thing I would improve is the design of the handle controls; The buttons are too far apart and the signal button leaves a discomfort sensation on the thumb if not wearing gloves. Overall, amazing ride!
Date published: 2021-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from CHIEF!!!! Bought mine over a month ago. Absolutely love it except for the availability of the accessories. Can't get a straight answer on their availability, it keeps changing. Started with May and now they are telling me August.
Date published: 2021-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's amazing. I bought the bike 3 months ago, I absolutely love it. Parts are hard to get for the moment but it doesn't feel like it needs anything. I'm in love! 10/10 recommend it for experienced riders.
Date published: 2021-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Bike! I preordered my Chief Dark Horse in March and received it in the middle of April. I upgraded from a Harley Sportster and the two bikes aren’t even in the same universe. The Indian is superior in every detail and feature. It rides and shifts smoother, has all the features for riding long distance, and has plenty of power. The only thing I would change is a deeper more throaty exhaust. The stock exhaust is too quiet for me.
Date published: 2021-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely love this bike I’m fortunate enough to of been able to ride some of everything in the few short years I’ve been riding. Indian has been gunning for HD hard the last couple years, but this bike is coming at the performance cruiser market as a whole. It’s going to take a couple years but I think the Dyna is going to be unseated as the go to platform to build off of. I’ve already done some mods to my bike and it’s an incredibly easy platform to work with. Well done with this one Indian.
Date published: 2021-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome ride! My Chief Dark Horse Is a joy to ride; has great handling characteristics and the 111 Thunder Stroke has power to spare.
Date published: 2021-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It’s my ‘37 Chief with modern technology. This bike is my favorite of the over forty bikes I have owned or restored.
Date published: 2020-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Head turner Lots of fun to ride. Really enjoy the feel and the lines of the bike
Date published: 2020-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfectly balanced bike, great power, great sound! I bought mine like two months ago and can’t stop riding it! it rides so smooth and has great power when taking off or passing!
Date published: 2020-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love My 2020 Chief Dark Horse I have 1700 miles on my 2020 Chief Dark Horse and I look forward to every ride. I ride for pleasure on weekends and I'm having a great time.
Date published: 2020-10-04
  • y_2021, m_10, d_21, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_351
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19CCDAAAH, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 63ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Reviews
Chief Dark Horse Thunder Black Smoke

Indian Chief Dark Horse

Starting at $18,499 US MSRP
Trim & Color options Thunder Black Smoke
Features
THUNDER STROKE 111 V-TWIN ENGINE
THUNDERSTROKE 111 V-TWIN ENGINE

The award-winning Thunderstroke 111 produces 119 ft-lbs of raw torque for passing power in every gear.

EXHAUST THAT ROARS
EXHAUST THAT ROARS

Turns heads with dual exhaust pipes that deliver a rich, throaty note.

CORNER CARVING POWER
CORNER CARVING HANDLING

Engineered to perform with a lightweight cast aluminum frame that delivers easy, nimble control.