Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Indian FTR 1200

Starting at $11,499 US MSRP

*Price after $2,000 customer cash

2019 Indian FTR 1200 Thunder Black is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 50.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Indian FTR I love the fact this bike is built for the road, any road. Pavement, Gravel, or Dirt the FTR is comfortable on all.
Date published: 2021-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great stock , Aftermarket makes it perfect Bought this leftover base model for a great price, made it my own and fixed the known fueling and cold start issues through aftermarket. Now runs great and is a blast anywhere!
Date published: 2021-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Bike! I had a HD Night Rod Special before buying this bike, and I didn’t like the riding angle too much, or the way it handled, and bought this bike to replace it. I’ve got to say.. It is the most comfortable bike I’ve ever been on. The riding angle is perfect, and it handles phenomenal! It keeps pressure off my knees and lower back which is a huge plus.
Date published: 2021-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! I picked up this bike a week ago. Already have 200 miles on it. This is a super fun bike. I've been riding motorcycles for over 50 years and this thing makes me smile every time. Fit and finish is excellent along with a two year warranty. Can't beat that. Not a lot of aftermarket parts but hopefully the vendors will take notice. I've never had any stalling issues with my bike. It's a great machine.
Date published: 2021-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great power After getting some miles on the the biggest thing I can say is that this bike is amazing. It handles well and looks like nothing else on the road. The only downfall in my opinion is when getting into longer rides, the fuel range is a little short (120-140 miles) and the stock seat starts to create a high pressure spot on the back of the legs on the edges. Other than that the bike handles highway speeds well and I can’t wait to see how it handles at higher elevations.
Date published: 2021-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent all around bike. I purchased my FTR in November last year and have enjoyed every ride so far. Excellent all around bike with great power and torque and looks that get a lot of compliments. Great purchase.
Date published: 2021-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The right bike for me I narrowed down a list of 10+ motorcycles and found the FTR to be the best fit for me.
Date published: 2020-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quick Comfortable ride I love the bike although it is nearly to tall for me at 5'8"
Date published: 2020-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best most modern V-twin around. I started looking at the FTR a year ago. The look and riding position are like nothing on the market.I had to get one and I am glad I did.
Date published: 2020-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Bike! 550 miles in and I’m loving it. What a beast, gorgeous design and wonderful engine. Never had so much fun on a street bike having owned everything from Kawasaki, Aprilia, and Ducati.
Date published: 2020-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good ergonomic I have always like this style of motorcycle, it has a street fighter look, and room for improvement.
Date published: 2020-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It goes fast, and looks cool. I cannot describe how much I enjoy having something that goes as fast as it looks. This bike is mean, and with the right pipe on it, sounds mean. It goes fast, and looks cool. What more can I ask for from an investment :) Great compliment to my Chieftain in the garage. And its great to have a bike that stands out in a crowd of black Street Glides.
Date published: 2020-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very fun bike This bike is an absolute blast to ride. I'm a taller rider so the handle bar set-up is comfortable for me. The power to weight ratio of this bike is perfectly dialed in. The top end torque is impressive and exhilarating. Only minor issue I've had is it struggles a bit until reaching operating temperature, sometimes misfiring. I get excited every time I pull it out of the garage for a ride!
Date published: 2020-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All I thought it would be I bought my ftr in August and have just now hit my 500 mile service. Bad weather and bad timing due to life has slowed the miles from flying by. After my service I have made a pledge to ride every chance I can. This motorcycle is a torque monster. The motor has no problem with low end as well as high end. Ample power is available at any point in time that you need it. I am very happy with my purchase. And as I said in the review title, it’s all I thought it would be... and then some. The only complaint I have is the bulky looking rear fender/license plate holder. It wasn’t a problem though. I relocated all of it under the seat and eliminated the bulky looking assembly. everything I wanted in a motorcycle the ftr 1200 has provided. It’s an awesome ride and can get the adrenaline pumping without breaking a sweat. Thank you Indian. It’s like you customized this bike just for me. Awesome.
Date published: 2020-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bike ive had. Got almost 2000 miles on it. Added S&S Slip-on, bar-end mirrors, and a Corbin tidy tail. Regardless of what all the babies say.. My mapping is fine, tires are good, seat isnt too hard, and the pegs arent too slick.
Date published: 2020-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mega cool scooter! I love riding this bike! Fits me perfectly and the engine power is awesome! Also get a lot of attention as the look of the bike is so unique!
Date published: 2020-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great New model from Indian, Fun and Sporty I bought this bike as my 2nd bike and it sure lives up to its name. It has plenty of power and acceleration, and it has a command tall seating position. Fastest Bike I have ever owned, and I have many different bikes over the years. You will be pleased my the Performance of this machine, it is good value for the money, and much better than other American make competitors.
Date published: 2020-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No regrets buying Enjoy riding everytime I'm on it. Has the right amount of power and control for me. It's a beautiful clean bike overall. A lot of details. This is actually my first on-road bike. Depending on the person, I wouldn't recommend to new riders with no experience. This bike can easily eat a person whole if they don't respect it nor understand the fundamentals of riding. Ftr has a range of about 120 miles per tank for me, not for long distance cruising for most. Somethings I don't like are the cold starts, it will idle rough and usually stalls engine with the stock ECU. It's a common issue that can easily be resolved. Catalytic converter and stock muffler are ugly and bulky. I would love to see more 1st/3rd party after market parts/upgrades. Should have 600-750cc variant also.
Date published: 2020-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exciting Motorcycle From the first, visual impression of the FTR1200, it’s an amazing machine. The styling and dirt track DNA immediately drew me in. Once the 1203cc engine fires up and the throaty rumble of the S&S exhaust graces your ear drums you quickly realize that this bike isn’t all looks, it’s even more about performance. The bike pulls hard from a start, but wakes up at speed when the motor revs above 6k. On a quick weekend trip to the mountains, I rode 255 miles on the highway to a secluded cabin. No problem. Cruise control is a blessing. Once in the mountains, I hit the back gravel roads and immediately felt like I could power slide and drift every corner. The FTR instills confidence as it is so stable and loves to go sideways. Then I hit the pavement of the windy mountain roads. With a 45 degree lean angle carving the curves at speed was a blast. For the price rang of the FTR, anyone would be hard pressed to find a better looking, more versatile bike. 5 stars.
Date published: 2020-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This bike delivers and just feels special I bought this bike at the start of spring and haven't been able to stop riding it since. The power, handling and character all combine for a thrilling but balanced ride. The style is authentic and sporty. My other poor other bikes have just been sitting now. I can't find any flaws with this bike unless I nitpick. I am happy to see Indian going a new direction and making something cool instead of just then another "crusier". This V-Twin is just superb and the bike makes you feel special. Well done Indian and I couldn't be happier with this machine.
Date published: 2020-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome torque!! Fueling not the greatest. Bike rips! Arm stretching torque. Cold starts are an issue, excessive surging at most rpms.
Date published: 2020-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun to ride I bought the bike 6 weeks ago and it is a blast to ride! Also had my first service done and the dealership experience was great!
Date published: 2020-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Amazing bike! Great styling, great power and an absolute blast to ride
Date published: 2020-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastically fun I bought this as a second bike as I already own a Chieftan and wanted a fire road bike. Indian couldn't have got it more correct. I smile every time I fire up the engine and roll the throttle.
Date published: 2020-08-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fun Bike but rough running The only 2 negatives is they run very rough at start up and die out frequently until warm. It is a very tall bike for shorter riders.
Date published: 2020-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike! Love this Bike! Fun to drive and get a lot of compliments on it!
Date published: 2020-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rowdy fun... 6 weeks old...very pleased. A new bike that didn't break the bank and isn't like the others. Accessories seem a little pricey.
Date published: 2020-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome bike Ive owned this bike for about 3 months. Was hard not to get on it during break in. Its a blast, corners well. Indian is killing the motorcycle industry with its top notch quality and reasonable pricing model.
Date published: 2020-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome bike Plenty of torque behind that throttle. She’s mean and very agile, and boy what a looker. You get people from all walks of life checking out this gorgeous bike. Only thing I can say, is if you like superbikes, this bike is not for you.
Date published: 2020-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best bike I've ever owned! Overall, the FTR is leaps and bounds beyond my expectations. Aesthetically, is amazing. The engine is my favorite part. So much TORQUE everywhere! I also think the build quality is tremendous. It handles very well for tight roads and ergonomically, is very comfortable. Two issues are all I could find. Cold start engine performance is...terrible. This only impacts the first 3 minutes, but it needs to be fixed. Also, the suspensions a bit stiff from the factory. But thats it for gripes! For an entire bike, thats awesome.
Date published: 2020-06-01
  • y_2021, m_10, d_24, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_50
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19RTA22AA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 94ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Reviews
Features
FTR 1200 Thunder Black

Indian FTR 1200

Starting at $11,499 US MSRP
Trim & Color options Thunder Black

*Price after $2,000 customer cash

Features
Race-Inspired Design
RACE-INSPIRED DESIGN

The rear swingarm design and tank silhouette are just a few of the elements borrowed from the FTR750 race bike.

Poised for Thrills
POISED FOR THRILLS

A powerful 1203cc V-Twin engine with 123 horsepower and 87 ft-lbs of low-end torque delivers progressive, predictable power.

Nimble Handling
NIMBLE HANDLING

A sporty riding position and compact size combine for a commanding, precise ride.

* Starting at MSRP is the manufactured suggested price and excludes delivery, setup, tax, title, license, and additional fees and expenses. Bikes may be shown with optional accessories. Final sale price determined by authorized Indian Motorcycle® dealer. Specifications and MSRP are subject to change. Due to California emissions regulations, additional costs may apply when purchasing or leasing a Motorcycle in California.