Indian Chief Dark Horse

Starting at $18,499 US MSRP
2019 Indian Chief Dark Horse Thunder Black Smoke is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 267.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just a great bike I made the switch! The grass is greener on the other side too! Such a comfortable, smooth head-turner. I am now a fan of the Indian brand and will only recommend this brand to anyone interested in a bike.
Date published: 2016-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Goodbye Ducati 999, Hello Dark Horse Daddy like, and momma approves! after getting marry, my wife pressure me to get rid of the sport bike, but I have this inner thirst for the open open road. After many negotiations and discourse, she finally approve a solution. She will let me get an Indian if I get rid of the Ducati. No problem! At this age and 3 kids, it's definitely time to slow down and enjoy the view. No better bike than an Indian Dark Horse to cruise toward midlife.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Test Ride of the Chief Dark Horse® I was stopping by to pick up some parts for my bike and noticed that the had a Demo event going on. So on my way out I walked by to see what they had brought. I've always been a fan of the Dark Horse bikes. The old school look with some nice high tech features. I took the test drive and was not disappointed. It throttled up nicely and felt solid. It takes the curves rather well. I like this particular model mostly because of the no frills, basic look. Even though they have plenty of accessories that you can put on. For me, I like it just the way it is. When I wear out my current bike I plan on getting one of these.
Date published: 2019-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth!! Test rode an Chief Dark Horse and loved it. Besides the fact it's pretty much murdered out it was smooth to ride. The throttle response was nice with out being choppy in 1st gear like my Harley was when I got it. Shifting was nice, not to much work or overly loud like some bikes. And the biggest selling point for me was the suspension. I hit a pothole every bit of six inches deep and about a foot wide, going 25 mph. I barely felt it. And on the highway that engine is a BEAST. 4th gear, 70 mph, and I could still feel I was in the power band and had 2 gears left. Again loved it, can't say enough good things about it.
Date published: 2017-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dream come true plus some Never thought could afford an Indian which has been a dream bike since I was a kid. Loved the price which was cheaper then the Harley's I was looking at. Has a better ride nice and soft with plenty of power to get up and go. It especially is a head turner that gives off a big WOW feature when people see it. My first add on was the pathfinder lights, head lightbis good but wanted a wider spread of light. It also really enhanced the look of the bike. Would not trade this bike for any other except maybe 2017 chieftain with new touchscreen. lol! But seriously I love my bike and it already has its place in our family
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Darkhorse! Well, I have had this for a year now and finally have been able to purchase most all of the options that I wanted for it. The bike runs really smooth and is a great ride. On the negative side, there are still 2 items that are an issue. One, after the bike sits in the garage for a few days and you get on it and ride down the road, the first time you try to put the bike into 2nd gear, it takes all the pressure I can come up with to get it to shift! And two, the throttle response is a joke. If you turn the throttle quickly, the bike is like it is confused and doesn't know what to do. This is quite embarrassing when you are trying to impress somebody! I now have the complete Stage 2 kit in the bike and while it does seem to have gained some power, the throttle response still sucks!
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Ride Great Bike I have owned this bike for about a month. This is my second Indian after owning 4 Harley's. This Dark Horse is the most comfortable, agile bike that I have ever ridden. In all its an awesome bike
Date published: 2017-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Impressive I got my Dark Horse last fall and will say that she never seems to disappoint me. After the 500 mile servicing I took her for a two day 1,000 mile ride to the Ozark's Mountains to see how well she took the curves. I find myself not only satisfied with the handling but so far she is a dream come true. The cornering on this bike is every thing a motorcycle should be. After riding Harley for decades I find this motorcycle is not only easier to handle but a lot more enjoyable to ride.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Love This Bike! After several years of riding, I think I finally found the one I will keep for a while. I love this bike. The way the Dark Horse looks with the Indian style and the ride is so smooth and easy. Everywhere I go, It seems to draw attention and a lot of positive feedback. I traded my Harley Fatboy Lo for this Dark Horse and I have never looked back. The Dealership, Treasure Coast Indian ,in Hobe Sound was Great with everything and very helpful. Made me fell at home as most of their staff came from the local Harley Dealer. My wife still has her Soft tail CVO ( the Beauty) and this is the" Beast"
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kiwi Indian Dark horse Bought my Dark Horse in May 2016 and have loved it ever since. Everyone except my wife knew it was on order, unfortunately the day it tuned up at home i was away on business, so i received a message from my surprised wife to say "your new black baby has arrived and is safe n sound", needless to say this was not the first time a new toy had arrived without her knowledge (or will it be the last). To me Indians have always been the pinnacle of motorcycles, and this bike proves it. I have owned so many bikes over the years, but this one is a keeper. These bikes are so cool in every way Have added a pillion seat, pegs, sissy bar (for the wife, she loves it too), Rinehart mufflers (sounds awesome), Wimmer high flow air intake, mapped and tuned and more recently ape hangers. Still to come are stage 2 cams and Freedom Performance dual headers. Indians are well respected here in New Zealand due to our Kiwi legend Burt Munro (the worlds fastest Indian).
Date published: 2017-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Indian DH I bought this bike in June 2015, my first Indian best looking bike they had back then, traded up for a bagger the next year
Date published: 2018-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this beast!! Gets very hot under your thigh but otherwise the prefect bike. Even a beginner could easily handle this bike!!
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Supurb Handling I can't believe how many people I get come up and ask about the bike and actually ask if they can take pictures of the bike. I have since the pics done stage 2 cams, high flow air filter and blacked out the exhaust and she's got throat now!!
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm in love ! I purchased the dark horse last fall, after test driving others I came back to this one, it has amazing handling it fits the best of all I tried feels like I am taking it for a ride not it. Is taking me for a ride absolutely love this bike ! Only 2 flaws one is the heat from the pipes gets unbearable needs a better heat deflector and the paint on the front fender almost like it has one coat and not sealed after only 2 rides it's all chipped looks like little white pebbles so that's disappointing ...
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Bike and Better Staff! During a quick family trip to New Mexico my twin brother and I noticed the local Indian dealership had a demo day. Being avid bike enthusests from upstate NY we couldn’t pass on the opportunity to experience New Mexico on our favorite means of transportation! The sign up was quick and easy and they even let our wife’s ride with us! We were able to sample several bikes with the amazing staff of Albuquerque, Indian dealership! They even took us on a personal tour ride to ensue we were able to experience an additional bike without our limited amount of time! We can’t thank the guys of Albuquerque Indian dealership for being so welcoming to a couple guys looking to get the most out of and opportunistic moment with our wife’s! We will absolutely be looking at the Indian line for our next bikes!
Date published: 2018-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark side of riding I've had my Chief Dark Horse for 2 months. This is the best bike I have every owned (I have owned harley and honda.)! Maintenance won't kill your wallet, and neither will parts and accessories. The comfort and ride of the bike has taken me 2 hours before a break. The big 111 Thunderstroke has a ton of power, regardless of what gear. Averaging 37.4 mpg solo, and 35 mpg with a passenger. My only displeasure is the lack of aftermarket parts, but, in my opinion, that does not take away from the value, or the prestige of owning my Dark Horse. -Live free and ride on!
Date published: 2016-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it's all I have wanted and expected in a sled I am extremely happy with it. I am some what disappointed in the price of the clothing apparel. I would love to add new exhaust and bags but the price is to far out of my finances. It has as much power that could ever be needed. Also The guys and girls at Elkhart Indian are the best. They have taken such good care of all my needs and that was very important in helping me with my decision before buying my Dark Horse. I spoke with Chris before purchasing the bike and he gave me all the answers that were of great importance too me. I thought of buying a Harley but the Indian was by far the best choice for me. Looks, were first in my decision. It just has the best look and style that is by far better than any Harley!!
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my bike!!! Have had my bike for about a month. Have just over 1100 miles with no problems. This replaced my Harley that I rode almost everyday. I am sold on Indian have four other bikes but hardly ride them now. With my Harley I would switch between my bikes weekly. I just can get off this bike. The only thing that I would say is the seat takes a few miles before it is broke in. Would recommend this bike to anyone looking to change from the HD brand. This bike has power in every gear. With the HD would have shift down to pass don't have to do anything but roll back on the throttle.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Meaner than my ex-wife I absolutely love this bike. Everywhere I go people comment, give me thumbs up and or take pictures of it. I always tell people it is meaner than my ex-wife LOL. It is smooth comfortable powerful and looks great. I am so glad that I finally pulled the trigger and bought this motorcycle
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bike I've had the Darkhorse for 3 months, love the balance can hard over steering locked, slow speed turns with my girl behind me. Love under turning the other big bikes. Open highway its a dream cruse control on. Mountain roads around Cherokee NC a lot of fun, working my way to scraping holes in each side floorboard pans outside corners. The Thunder Stroke loves the Mountain roads two up at 280 lb no problem. So far I'm enjoying the heck out of the bike.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Polaris Industries does it again! I purchased this bike a few weeks ago, i had a 2007 Victory Vegas before. I loved the Vegas, the Dark Horse just takes those feelings and adds more. This is my first bagger and I don't see myself ever changing from a Polaris motorcycle or from a bagger. Awesome styling, phenomenal engine in the Thunder Stroke 111, this is the first bike I've ever heard that I'd consider leaving the stock exhaust on. I hope to have this bike for a very long time.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from At long last... I have wanting an Indian Chief since seeing an early '50s model a friend owned back in the seventies. The Gilroy version came and went, the Kings Mountain version was too expensive. Now the latest (and I think greatest!) version has come around. I came to a point in life that I can afford one and no-one can tell me I can't have one. I know they are marketing the Dark Horse at a younger demographic, but at 60, I still feel young enough.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Bike for the Money I bought a 2016 Dark Horse two weeks ago and have been impressed with it so far. I do have the windshield, saddle bags , engine guard and extra driving lights installed that almost make it a Vintage. It has great power and torque in all gear ranges and the engine is smooth at all speeds. Handling surprised me for how heavy it is and alludes confidence when riding. Fit and finish is good, but the Vintage and Springfield appear to be built better (some rattles on larger bumps). I plan to keep this a long time and look forward to many years of great rides.
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from EH I BOUGHT MY BIKE IN MAY, THE KEY FOB DIED AND HAD TO BE REPROGRAMMED. THEN THE GAUGE HAD S MUCH CONDENSATION IN IT THAT POLARIS REPLACED IT. I HAVE ALL THE PERFORMANCE OPTIONS, EXHAUST, INTAKE, CAMS, AND OIL COOLER, AND MY 2013 VEGAS WAS STILL FASTER. ASIDE FROM THE FACT THAT I LOST A RACE TO A 2016 CORVETTE, I AM OVERALL SATISFIED WITH THIS BIKE. WILL I BUY ANOTHER INDIAN NO WILL I SELL THIS ONE PROBABLY NOT. IT IS GREAT FOR THE LONG HAUL, SETTING CRUISE AT 100 MPH REGULARLY IS NICE. AND MY BIKE CURRENTLY HAS 7400 MI. ON IT
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from short Love riding my dark horse. But I am tall w long legs and there is no where to stretch my legs out on long rides
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the dark horse I baught her last summer and put 9500 miles on her n 5 months. All I can say is I loved every mile I rode.
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dream Bike! :)) I have waited 19 years for my kids to grow old enough to finally purchase my Dream Bike. I really love my Chief Dark Horse. Ride is so smooth and comfortable and torque and acceleration are amazing. Once I am riding, I just don’t want to stop. I can ride for miles. I am 5’11 and the riding position is just perfect. I can praise enough the team of engineers, designers and painters at the Indian factory. You can tell they all take great pride of their jobs. Thank you all for helping me leaving my dream. Now back on the road ;)
Date published: 2018-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Review of my 2016 Chief Dark Horse, Armageddon I purchased my Dark Horse this year in late June and already have more than 2,000 miles on it. Over all I do recommend this motorcycle. I personally do a lot of riding. The road King that I traded in had 65k+ miles, I loved it. This bike has superior handling and power. The matted black is really an eye catcher, and I am constantly complemented on it EVERY TIME I take it out. As things stand I would recommend an Indian over anything else for anyone that does a lot of riding and traveling. Did over 300 miles miles yesterday, and the bike ate up the miles and despite being completely "stock " I was comfortable the whole time. Now for what I don't like. I just wished it came with the blacked out pipes and better sound. Just like Harley if you want better sound and performance, which both companies already KNOW WE DO!!! You are going to have to pay for it yourself. Wish someone would just MAKE THE BIKE THE WAY THEY ALREADY KNOW WE WANT IT!!!!
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible from engine to frame! As a life long Harley Davidson owner and former dealer, I had a bias toward that brand. However, all it took was one test ride on an Indian to see that the Chief family was a superior machine in every aspect. The sound, the ride, the maneuverability, the engineering, EVERYTHING!! Looks like for the second half of my life, I will be an Indian man!
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Ride I've had my bike for a few months now. It was my Christmas present to myself. It also was an increase in power from my previous bike. On the test drive, I really liked how it handled. CG is nice and low so it balances very nicely in all conditions. Still waiting (over a month) on the manufacturer to get back to me in regards to damage to the finish when I purchased it. I hope it's not a nightmare to get fixed because since then, I have found another damaged location and have yet to bring it to the attention of the dealer.
Date published: 2017-02-21
  • y_2019, m_6, d_25, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_267
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19CCDAAAH, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 82ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Customer Reviews
Chief Dark Horse Thunder Black Smoke

Indian Chief Dark Horse

Starting at $18,499 US MSRP
Trim & Color options Thunder Black Smoke

With its sinister look and fully blacked-out design, the Indian Chief Dark Horse refuses to be ignored. Now featuring premium, gloss black finishes throughout.

Check Out Special Offers
Ride For Free All Summer Long
Indian chief dark horse features
FEATURES Head-Turning Style. Loaded With Features.

Powered by the famed Thunder Stroke® 111 V-Twin, the Chief Dark Horse doesn't just talk the talk, it walks the walk. Although its got stripped-down style, it's loaded with all of the features you want: ABS, Cruise Control, and Keyless Ignition.

Customize Your Ride
* Starting at MSRP is the manufactured suggested price and excludes delivery, setup, tax, title, license, and additional fees and expenses. Bikes may be shown with optional accessories. Final sale price determined by authorized Indian Motorcycle® dealer. Specifications and MSRP are subject to change. Due to California emissions regulations, additional costs may apply when purchasing or leasing a Motorcycle in California.