Indian® Chief® Vintage Reviews

Indian® Chief® Vintage Thunder Black is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 308.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bike I've ever owned ! I own 4 Harley Davidson's and 6 Italian and Japanese bikes and have been motorcycling continuously for over 40 years in three countries. I have always been aware of the fine pedigree of Indian Motorcycles through my father, and have been very interested to own one since the ownership of the Indian brand came under the Polaris stable. I bought my superb classic looking Willow Green and Ivory Cream Indian Chief Vintage in January, and could not be happier - it's simply the best bike I've ever owned, and is superlative in all respects - and you know Indian's got it right when one of the first comments i got from a passer-by when i took the bike home was "wow, that's fantastic - what a great restoration - what year is it: a '53?"
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great bike......BUT I have had a 2016 Vintage for about a year. Love the look of the bike and the ride. The problem is with the noise the engine makes. Between 2500 - 3500 RPM in 3rd and 4th gear the engine sounds like it's coming apart. I opened a case with Polaris/Indian and took the bike to the dealer to investigate. So far all I hear is that its normal. That noise is not normal. I've been riding V-Twin bike for over 20 years and have NEVER heard anything like that from a healthy engine. I want to love the bike, just need to quiet the engine. Do your homework before you buy a Thunder Stroke 111. I am not the only one complaining about this noise.
Date published: 2017-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Ride of a Lifetime People stop me left and right to admire my Indian. It's the ultimate walk in the park with your dog, everyone notices me, or at least my Indian. I was at my doctor's office the other day and the in-take nurse, who happened to be a motorcycle enthusiast, told me how she and her husband saw the most beautiful bike on the road the other day. After what she was describing began to sound more and more like my motorcycle, I took out my cell phone and showed her a photo of my Indian. "That's yours?, she asked incredulously, and with wondrous, adoring eyes, continued the in-take exam as though she had just met Bruce Springsteen.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the engine... I've had my Vintage for 5 months now, and have had zero issues...I've yet to find anything I don't like about it. One surprise feature that I had not even considered when I purchased it was it's VERSATILITY. I didn't realize how much I would employ the quick release features of the bags, luggage rack/back support and windscreen. I can quickly adapt to changes in weather, mood, and intended use. Possibly the greatest feature is what it DOESN'T have: vibration! I salute the engineers that designed the Thunderstroke 111, I am continually amazed at how smooth and well mannered the bike is!
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like Riding a Recliner I have ridden about 1,000 miles and the most noteworthy thing about it is the ride. Whether riding solo or two up, the ride is consistently very comfortable. For a large bike it is also very nimble; I just completed the BRC2 with it. Despite being the largest bike there, I had no issues with any of the exercises, even in the rain. For those of whom ride year round as I do, I recommend the back rest and the heated hand grips. I can almost make toast on the highest setting. My only complaints are the holes on the handlebar bag I added on. I am not about to pay $50 for a pack of 3 conchos when I need only one. Surely there must be a better way.
Date published: 2016-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Got a second Indian to put on a sidecar Actually just bought my 3rd Indian. My first is a '46 Chief I'll have forever. Tried a new Indian while at Sturgis in 2013, came home, sold my H-D and ordered a Chieftain. Much better handling and smoother than my old bike plus noticeably better low speed balance. My wife can't ride on the back so I recently bought a Vintage in Willow green and creme. The bike is different but just as good as my Chieftain. After 700 break-in miles I put on a matching Hannigan sidecar. The power and great brakes on the Vintage made it a natural for the hack. The only problem I have is getting away from people when I make a stop. Even before the sidecar more people flocked to this bike than even my '46. The pros are many and I don't have any cons.
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sweet Ride I have had the bike for two months and 500 miles and so far I could not be happier. Great power and cruising comfort. Definitely a head-turner wherever you go.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty happy with it Traded in a 2016 scout for this. The vintage is far more comfortable for long days in the saddle so far. But I bought it so late in the year, I don't think I've put enough miles on to give it a unequivocal thumbs up yet. the fit/finish seem top notch, but the accessory pricing is nuts, I'm far more used to lighter, sportier bikes, so the handling and engine still seem almost ponderous to me. Not to say I haven't enjoyed my seat time so far. it's just very different than what I'm used to. But if I wanted what I was used to, I wouldn't have bought this bike. But at least for me, this is much better bike than the Scout was.
Date published: 2017-02-22
  • y_2018, m_4, d_24, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_308
  • loc_en_US, sid_N18CVAAAAA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 76ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT