Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Indian Chieftain Dark Horse

Starting at $27,999 US MSRP

Model shown with accessories

2020 Indian Chieftain Dark Horse Thunder Black Smoke is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 323.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Machine is a great ride I'm loving the Indian Chieftain Dark horse, very comfortable.
Date published: 2021-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lot of horsepower Switched from a Harley to the Chieftain Dark Horse and am very happy. You get a lot more for your money going with an Indian
Date published: 2020-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great,feels great! I always wanted an Indian since I was a youngster and it did not disappoint me...
Date published: 2020-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great BIke Love the bike, like driving a BMW Car, but way cooler and much more fun. One downside i have found i sin 2019 model the infotainment system, is not upgradable to Apple car play, which sticks as is not as feature rich in controls without it.
Date published: 2020-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The right motorcycle I had a hard time deciding between an Indian Chieftain and the HD SG. I looked, researched, and test drive for months before deciding on Chieftain. In all honesty the deciding factors were many, but small personal opinions. I felt like the “other” brand’s sales team were not completely up front about financing terms and the Indian team were completely open and transparent about everything. I felt the other guys were trying to sale me the bike based on the number of shops, not the quality of the bike whereas Indian was all about which bike was best for me. In the long run the sale itself was much less stressful and the sales team were great and patient. The ultimate deciding factor was that my local dealer had received the 21 models and had used a 20 model to accessorize and use in the front window of the shop. The price for the decked out model was nearly the same as the 20HD and the 21 Chieftain, so of course I jumped all over it. The bike itself is amazing. I haven’t ridden in about 20 years and The Chieftain just felt more stable and easy to control for a new rider. I am a fairly big guy at 6’2” and 300lbs so I didn’t feel that a smaller bike was right for me as a starter bike and I was right. I’ve put about 300 miles on it so far around the downtown area as well as small back roads outside of town. I’ve ridden tandem a few times with my wife on the back and honestly can’t feel the difference in the bike’s handling. plenty of power, easy to control, all the “accessories” I could ask for, a soft ride and dependability. Overall just a great motorcycle. You can go wrong with it.
Date published: 2020-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing bike I have had this bike for a little over a month ago and I am rarely not riding it.
Date published: 2020-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just awesome I cant say enough how happy I am. This is my second Indian.
Date published: 2020-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loving it I been dreaming of owning an Indian for years and to finally have one is such a blast I love riding My dark horse!
Date published: 2020-12-05
  • y_2021, m_1, d_24, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_323
  • loc_en_US, sid_N20TCDBBAH, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Customer Reviews

Trim & Color Options

Chieftain Dark Horse Thunder Black Smoke

Indian Chieftain Dark Horse

Starting at $27,999 US MSRP
Trim & Color options Thunder Black Smoke

Features

Features
Closeup Thunderstroke 116 V-Twin engine
THUNDERSTROKE 116 V-TWIN ENGINE

The blacked-out Thunderstroke 116 engine produces 126 ft-lb of torque for exceptional power at low RPM and responsive ride at any speed. 6-speed gearbox, throttle by wire and three distinct ride modes tailor the all the power perfectly to your needs.

A man stands behind a parked Chieftain Dark Horse Motorcycle in the street
STYLED WITH AN EDGE

Blacked-out finishes, a sleek fairing, slammed saddlebags, and Rogue seat deliver a streamlined, commanding presence.

Rider view of the Indian Ride Command panel on a  Chieftain Dark Horse
INDIAN MOTORCYCLE RIDE COMMAND

RIDE COMMAND® is the largest, most customizable system on two wheels, with Apple CarPlay® integration, turn-by-turn navigation with intuitive destination search capabilities, Bluetooth connectivity, vehicle information, plus connected traffic and weather overlays to keep you on the road longer.

Accessories

Customize Yours
A man and a woman gathering around a red Chieftain Dark Horse