Indian Chieftain Dark Horse

Starting at $26,749 US MSRP
2019 Indian Chieftain Dark Horse® is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 136.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Style, comfort, performance I purchased the UK 2017 Jack Daniels Chieftain. When she arrived I was so impressed I ordered the 2018 Chieftain Dark Horse. Great bike.
Date published: 2017-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bike all around. I bought my bike January 28th 2017. In Maryland we have had odd temperatures for this season. We have been in the 70 to 80 degree range. The handling is as great as my ZX10RR. It is extremely smooth riding down the road. I have had lots of bikes over the last 30 yrs. None like this. I love my Dark Horse.
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Price points. Indian and the other V-Twin manufacturer. I think you have priced yourself into a tight market segment. We're not all loaded. The price of your clothing and apparel is pretty ridiculous. It's a great ride, if you can afford it. The IMRG at a national level, sometimes I wonder if you're really out there.
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike Upgraded from a scout back in may and completely worth it. 10,000 miles in four months commuting 120 miles round trip each day. Comfortable ride each day. . Not one complaint.
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A pleasure to ride I wish my summers were longer and I had more time to ride. There is nothing I don't like about this bike.
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the look and ride I've had it almost one year now I love it but it has a couple of electrical issues that come and go had it checked at two dealerships and they could not reproduce them. The tire monitoring system comes up blank on the front tire while I'm riding. The radio keypad freezes up can't do anything with it. And the hand warmers don't shutdown when I turn off the bike sometimes
Date published: 2017-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Scout has everything This is why I chose it: 1) It had the features I was looking for (ABS and Radiator) and enough power 2) Being a new rider at the time the center of gravity makes very easy to handle and it just felt right, and 3) the great looks. It was everything I was looking for and I fell in love with my scout. After two years I love it even more, it's just a fun bike to ride.
Date published: 2018-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike Bought this bike last October and has been an awesome bike. Lots of power, great handling and smooth ride. A few negatives are small saddlebags, should have an option for a bigger size. The adjustable windscreen keeps coming loose and rattles. The biggest complaint I have is the tapping coming from the engine. Overall, I love this bike and turns heads everywhere.
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 116 finally has the power Demo'd this bike with the stage 3 kit and finally see a bike that can replace my 1900 Roadliner. Wish the drive by wire was more responsive has the lag for a seasoned biker is troubling. Floorboards are a little high for people taller than 5'10. Other than that, it's got the power and performance I like.
Date published: 2018-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Indian Demo Rides I rode three Indian motorcycles yesterday, A Dark Horse Chieftain, A Chieftain and a Scout 60. The bigger Indians were a smooth ride with some throttle hesitation and a bit of excessive heat coming up from the engine. The throaty sound was nice, but my feet felt high on the floorboards, maybe something that takes some time to adjust to. Overall, pretty good bikes. The Scout 60 ran great, but was very small. I felt like a big kid on a tricycle. The 5 speed transmission kept rpm's up even at fairly low speeds, probably a good bike for someone very short to use around town. Bottom line on the big bikes is the heat. I don't think that Florida is the right place for an engine that radiates so much heat. A recommendation to buy this bike would depend on where you live.
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Bike 12000 miles since Aug 2016 :-) !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Bike Bought mine back in November and i wont refret it...great investment...And get the looks from Harley Riders wishing they could get one..
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features, looks and ride! I bought my 2017 Chief Dark Horse at Thanksgiving of 2016 and I couldn't be happier with it. I just started riding again (after nearly 25 years) at age 50. It's just an awesome all-around large bagger. Great features, awesome looks, best steering geometry on any bike this size that I've experienced, great sound, great acceleration... I love it! Real head-turner too. I just got back from bike week (Daytona) and received countless unsolicited compliments and "thumbs up."
Date published: 2017-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a beautiful machine ! Indian has thought this through and done it right. The 111 thunder stroke motor is amazing. Low center of gravity makes this bike a dream to handle. Minor minor gripes? The windshield causes a little turbulence. (Replaced with a flare, solved) The radio controls are not as easy to use as a Harley, I installed the drivers backrest and need to have someone cut a proper hole in the flap to slide it into the seat. Unsure why there was no LED headlight or running lights. Design on this bike is like art. I consistently have people stop and compliment. You guys hit the cool factor high with this one. Love the power outlet in the bag. Would love a USB port on the right side of the dash where the knockout is. Can't get my iPod to work with the under dash USB port yet but that's probably my error. The retractable windshield is very useful. And cool ! I've added most of the trim accessories (seat grab rail, rear luggage rack, fender rails and highway bars. Dealer added the cams, air cleaner , and savage slip-ons. The sound is very nice. Power is incredible. Price point is great. Thanks for making a great bike! Welcome back Indian!!
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 116 Big Bore is a bigger deal than expected I just went for a full test ride of the new 2019 116 big bore Chieftain Dark horse. I currently ride a 2015 Chieftain with over 210,000 miles and it's almost completely stock with only a very few additions. I know very well all the capabilities of the 111 thunder stroke engine from Alaska to Key West and below sea level in Death Valley to Pikes Peak at over 14,000 feet. This 111 has never ever stopped. The main difference when you upgrade to the 116 is the ample amount of torque all the way through the power band. This is going to make a real difference when I need to get around a long truck at speed and quickly return to my lane. For this feature alone it's worth it for the confidence it inspires. My only negative comment is that Indian does not offer a Dark horse Road master or a factory option 116 motor, so I had to have one built for me at Indian Motorcycle Elkhart Indiana. I'll be glad to share with you once I have a few thousand miles on it how it's doing. Gauging from the initial response from my riding community .......... if you build it, they want to buy it!!!! Just ask the folks in Elkhart and they will be happy to tell you about the inquiries.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite bike I bought this in Nov of 2016. Of the there main riding styles, I always fell into the "standard" riding position for 32 years. This is my first cruiser and I love it. Coming from a BMW RT, this seems like a tractor (compliment). It's low revs, torque, relaxed position, effortless balance; it just cruises and it fits my need for relaxing. So far the paint has been very easy to clean. I did add a lot of extras to bring it up to a Roadmaster, which I would recommend.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bike! Enjoyed the ride! Very enjoyable experience riding the Chieftain Dark Horse, the difference in the standard and Sport modes was very substantial, almost too touchy in sport mode when trying to ride in traffic, but drop it into standard mode and it's very relaxed and pleasant. Adjustable windshield worked well, and the controls were intuitive. The large screen was nice and easy to read on the road, almost too big,! The glove touch screen was fantastic. Only complaints are handle bars were a bit too high for long-term comfort and after being on the bike for only 30 or 45 minutes the seat felt as though it might not make it for the long haul. Very nimble and and comfortable, the power of the 116 cubic inch engine was great and the brakes were just as impressive. The white smoke paint with all the blacked out components looked really hot,
Date published: 2019-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Indian demo I had try 3 different style. My favorite 2019 chieftain dark horse.
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Machine!! First off I am 5'3" and there are few large engine bikes that I feel comfortable on and can touch tippy toes much less flat footed. On the Chieftain Dark Horse I could touch flat footed and it was the 116!! The bike is weighted perfectly, as well and it took curves like a spoke bike which was awesome! Most large bike (mainly Harley's) get the front in wobble when dipping hard in curves; however this DID NOT HAPPEN with the Indian. I love the modes (touring, standard and sport) you can feel the power difference and handling of each mode. The stock bars felt great at the hight they were. The power fairing windshield was super cool. Awesome sound system and the stock seat felt good. I could see myself putting an easy 700 miles with no issues or soreness. Great bike! I will be getting one as soon as I pay pay truck off!!!
Date published: 2018-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well thought out bike....almost. Took this bike out on a demo. The engine is well balanced as is the motorcycle. Seat was comfortable and position of feet was nice with a size 14 shoe. I love when the floor boards say put your feet where ever you like and not put your feet here. I'm 6'0" and felt like this bike was made for me. However not so much for the wife. The one thing that always grinds my gears about these baggers is they design it for the driver and not the passenger. If you're going to offer a passenger seat why not the backrest. Looking at the backrest options have to say its not pretty both in price and in looks. I think Indian could one up these bikes and make a Kuryakyn multi-purpose driver and passenger back rest that should come standard with these bikes to fit the color scheme, not just standard chrome or black. The standard sound system is powerful and has excellent quality. Power windshield is smooth and has quite a range, love it. Touch screen, very well thought out and user friendly, this is a must! ABS brakes are incredible, cheers to the engineers who helped put that together. This bike is perfect for me but not for the wife, hence the 4/5 stars. When I'm done with the Victory Cross Country though I have to say this is the one. Love the colors too. Front fairing is a stud. Keep up the good work Indian! Can't wait for the next ride.
Date published: 2019-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Ride! Went to ride the Cheftain at the demo ride in Harker Heights, Tx. I got to ride the Cheiftain with the 116 pack....let me tell you..wow! That bike was so responsive in either mode, but once in the open road and in sport mode, passing a car at 60 mph in 5th gear felt like 2nd gear starting out! I accelerated so quickly, and it felt very balanced. Thanks for the demo, I will definitely be visiting the dealership again!
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even more fun than it looks. I was able to demo ride one of these at Biketoberfest. Impressed with how easy it was to ride a bike this big. Exceptional power from the 111 stroker, intake, and exhaust upgrades. Did notice a lot of wind turbulence with full face helmet but I am a tall guy. I would highly recommend checking this Indian out if you are in the market for a cruiser. The new colors are amazing in person.
Date published: 2018-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ride Bike had the 116 engine upgrade. Excellent power and performance.
Date published: 2019-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stand out from the crowd Was looking for a V-Twin bagger that was comfortable, had up to date electronics like GPS and Bluetooth and stood out from all the other baggers. I got everything I wanted and more in my Chieftain Dark Horse. I loved the bike from day one and would recommend it in a heartbeat to anyone looking at the competition in this type of motorcycle.
Date published: 2018-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 116 upgrade Most responsive bike I have ever rode to date..owned several different models previously..currently ride a 2018 Roadmaster..with true duals n power commander with a high flow air cleaner.. The 2019 chieftain with the factory 116..is quite impressive I must say..the heat factor in addition has improved marketably..Great job!!
Date published: 2019-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really smooth power I’ve been hearing a lot about Indian motorcycles from one of my Brothers. So I decided to take a ride at the local demo day, even though I didn’t expect much. To my surprise The bike handled great,the power was smooth and plentiful and the ride was almost plush, soaking up the pumps perfectly. I have to say Indian surprised.
Date published: 2019-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great bike loved the bike, very comfortble. The movable windshield is a great feature. The sound system was great too. My only negative was my legs were not stretched out enough to my liking while riding. I felt like I was on top of the bike more than "in" it if that makes any sense. Otherwise great bike that I'm considering buying.
Date published: 2018-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing power Amazing power with the 116ci. Loved the bike only two things I would say to help for us bigger guys 6'6" 287lbs. The seat being a touring seat, extended reach. An windshield being a little taller was catching lots of air above it with it fully up. I would recommend the bike to anyone thinking of the street glide special
Date published: 2019-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid as a Rock! I got a chance to demo this bike this week and wow! What an amazing experience. This baby had the 116 big bore upgrade, and you can really feel it. I had a concern with the 4" riser handle bars, but in the end, it was a perfect fit. The controls were easy to access and operate and the radio had decent sound as well.
Date published: 2019-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2019 Chieftain Dark Horse...116! Got to demo the 2019 Chieftain Dark Horse today at Coastal Indian in Myrtle Beach, SC...and it had the 116 big bore upgrade. First impression was POWER! Second impression was nimble...this bike responded extremely well. The entertainment system is the best out there. This will be my next bike.
Date published: 2018-10-05
  • y_2019, m_5, d_22, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_136
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19TCDAAAH, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 75ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Customer Reviews
Chieftain Dark Horse Thunder Black Smoke

Indian Chieftain Dark Horse

Starting at $26,749 US MSRP
Trim & Color options Thunder Black Smoke
Check Out Special Offers
Ride For Free All Summer Long
Indian Chieftain Dark Horse features
FEATURES Streamlined, Blacked-Out Style.
Top-Of-The-Line Amenities.

Pairing a new, streamlined look with fully blacked-out style and modern technology, the Chieftain Dark Horse features a 19" contrast-cut wheel, the industry-leading Ride Command® touchscreen display, a 100-watt premium audio system and the remarkable power of the Thunder Stroke® 111 V-Twin engine. Now with three selectable Ride Modes and Rear Cylinder Deactivation for customizable performance and enhanced comfort. 

* Starting at MSRP is the manufactured suggested price and excludes delivery, setup, tax, title, license, and additional fees and expenses. Bikes may be shown with optional accessories. Final sale price determined by authorized Indian Motorcycle® dealer. Specifications and MSRP are subject to change. Due to California emissions regulations, additional costs may apply when purchasing or leasing a Motorcycle in California.