Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Indian Chieftain Dark Horse

Starting at $27,999 US MSRP
2019 Indian Chieftain Dark Horse® is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 281.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2017 Chieftain Blackhorse I purchased this bike 5 weeks ago and have put 1500 miles on her. I absolutely enjoy riding this bike and wish I had purchased one years earlier. I say this with 35 years of riding time. I do wish all bikes didn't need an aftermarket exhaust and tune to get the right sound though. Indian did and excellent job though trying to comply with the EPAs stringent and rediculous rules. Something that I would like to see is the cruise button and high beam switch with lighting. On a dark night those switches are invisible.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Indian Demo Rides I rode three Indian motorcycles yesterday, A Dark Horse Chieftain, A Chieftain and a Scout 60. The bigger Indians were a smooth ride with some throttle hesitation and a bit of excessive heat coming up from the engine. The throaty sound was nice, but my feet felt high on the floorboards, maybe something that takes some time to adjust to. Overall, pretty good bikes. The Scout 60 ran great, but was very small. I felt like a big kid on a tricycle. The 5 speed transmission kept rpm's up even at fairly low speeds, probably a good bike for someone very short to use around town. Bottom line on the big bikes is the heat. I don't think that Florida is the right place for an engine that radiates so much heat. A recommendation to buy this bike would depend on where you live.
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike Bought this bike last October and has been an awesome bike. Lots of power, great handling and smooth ride. A few negatives are small saddlebags, should have an option for a bigger size. The adjustable windscreen keeps coming loose and rattles. The biggest complaint I have is the tapping coming from the engine. Overall, I love this bike and turns heads everywhere.
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Style, comfort, performance I purchased the UK 2017 Jack Daniels Chieftain. When she arrived I was so impressed I ordered the 2018 Chieftain Dark Horse. Great bike.
Date published: 2017-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Indian demo I had try 3 different style. My favorite 2019 chieftain dark horse.
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2020 Indian Chief Dark Horse Ruby Smoke Outstanding ride. Comparing it to my 2017 Chief Dark Horse is literally night and day. All the features, i.e., Nav, 3 choices of engine power modes, stereo, fairing and last but not least, the ride! The ride was much quicker, smoother and precise, not as heavy a feel, I think due to the newer steering geometry. Excellent!
Date published: 2019-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bike all around. I bought my bike January 28th 2017. In Maryland we have had odd temperatures for this season. We have been in the 70 to 80 degree range. The handling is as great as my ZX10RR. It is extremely smooth riding down the road. I have had lots of bikes over the last 30 yrs. None like this. I love my Dark Horse.
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Price points. Indian and the other V-Twin manufacturer. I think you have priced yourself into a tight market segment. We're not all loaded. The price of your clothing and apparel is pretty ridiculous. It's a great ride, if you can afford it. The IMRG at a national level, sometimes I wonder if you're really out there.
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from stage 2 upgrade I already own a 2019 Indian Roadmaster which i love and wanted to test ride a bike with either a stage 2 or 3 to see what i am going to choose as an upgrade. After testing the stage 2, i am satisfied that i will be upgrading to a stage 2. the power and sound is just perfect for this bike and since my Roadmaster is just a upgraded Chieftain dark horse, i will be happy to be upgrading my bike with a stage 2. BTW, i have road tested numerous bikes over the years and can say without a doubt that the Indian brand is by far the most beautiful bike out there.
Date published: 2019-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike Upgraded from a scout back in may and completely worth it. 10,000 miles in four months commuting 120 miles round trip each day. Comfortable ride each day. . Not one complaint.
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I loved my 2018 I bought my Darkhorse in September of 2017 off of the show room floor at All Out Cycles and have put over 31,000 miles on it in under 2 years. I’ve had several electrical problems but it’s a machine and machines have problems. She has been a good bike and has been enjoyable to ride. I just rode her from Virginia to Sturgis, South Dakota and ended up trading my 2018 Chieftain Darkhorse to a 2019 Chieftain Darkhorse!
Date published: 2019-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS BIKE Bought 2020 Chieftain 116 Ruby Smoke on Oct 1st 2019, been dreaming of owning one for years & finally did it. Couldn’t be happier, hate to Park it. Rides so nice & handles like a dream. I feel like I can do anything on it. If your thinking bout buying one, STOP, no more thinking, just get to your nearest dealer & bring it home. I added a Freedom Shields Windshield (14”) & a Heel Shifter (should be standard?)
Date published: 2019-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Bike 12000 miles since Aug 2016 :-) !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A pleasure to ride I wish my summers were longer and I had more time to ride. There is nothing I don't like about this bike.
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the look and ride I've had it almost one year now I love it but it has a couple of electrical issues that come and go had it checked at two dealerships and they could not reproduce them. The tire monitoring system comes up blank on the front tire while I'm riding. The radio keypad freezes up can't do anything with it. And the hand warmers don't shutdown when I turn off the bike sometimes
Date published: 2017-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Scout has everything This is why I chose it: 1) It had the features I was looking for (ABS and Radiator) and enough power 2) Being a new rider at the time the center of gravity makes very easy to handle and it just felt right, and 3) the great looks. It was everything I was looking for and I fell in love with my scout. After two years I love it even more, it's just a fun bike to ride.
Date published: 2018-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2019 Indian Chieftain Dark Horse (Bronze Smoke) Bought the is bike in Sep 2018 and now have a little over 8,000 miles on it. Time for a review. On the day of purchase I did back to back test rides of a 2019 HD Street Glide Special and a 2019 Chieftain Limited. Both great bikes and both have pros and cons but in the end I chose the Chieftain. Things I like: Features - The Chieftain has led lighting all around and I really like the adjustable windshield and locking saddle bags. I do like the three ride modes but find myself typically riding in "Standard" mode. I appreciate the rear cylinder deactivation feature but have yet to use it. Even living here in Arizona I don't find engine heat to be an issue. I really like the ride command. It's intuitive, easy to use and has all the info I'll ever need.The tire pressure monitoring system is very nice to have. The ride - The bike rides and handles great. The suspension and ride quality was a big factor for me when choosing between the Chieftain and Street Glide. The Indian was just better. I also found the ergonomics better. The Indian fits me well. For being a heavy bike it sure does handle well. Feels light and nimble. Style - Of course this is subjective but I really like the new style. Yes, it looks more like an HD but I'm okay with that as I've always liked Street Glides. And I hate to say it but I've never liked the fairing, bags and big fenders on the older Indians. Guess I'm not nostalgic. I just don't like the "dated" look. Performance - The 111 is fine for me and I like that the power is down low. Being bagger I rarely push the RPM's that high anyway. Short shifting is pretty much how I ride. Would I like more power? Of course. I've considered the stage 3 kit but to be honest don't trust the dealership to install it correctly. Right now the bike doesn't have any issues and I'd like to keep it that way. I do have stage 1 installed (Indian Performance Air Intake and Rinehart exhaust). The Rineharts sound great. Things I don't like or wish were better and things I fixed: My biggest complaint is the dealership network and availability of parts and add-ons. The HD dealerships near me seem to be well organized and have everything you can think of to add on to your bike. Not so with Indian. Lots of things aren't available and when they are they're not in stock and need to be ordered. As mentioned above I would like to add stage 2 or 3 but just don't trust them to do it correctly. I did not have that feeling with HD. With every bike I've owned my very first purchase was touch-up paint for the inevitable rock chip in the fender, fairing and bags. Can I get that for my Bronze Smoke bike? Nope, not yet. Have contacted Polaris multiple times and they don't have it yet and they won't provide the paint code for proprietary reasons. It's a small thing but I found it to be odd and a little annoying. I would also like some lower wind deflectors but those aren't available yet either, at least not by Indian. While I like the led lighting I don't like the colored lenses on the front and rear signals. I wish they were clear or smoked. I figured that would be an easy upgrade but I'm having a hard time finding them. This could be on me. I also wish the front signals were dual purpose, turn signals and running lights. There may be after market options for this already but I'm not able to find them. A couple things I had to change - The stock windshield wasn't working for me so I upgraded to the 13.7 Indian Flare windshield which is a nice improvement. I've heard good things about the Rogue seat and in the beginning I liked it. I expected it get even better after some time breaking it in but that wasn't the case. Surprisingly it got worse and after 7K miles I replaced it with an Ultimate seat. The Ultimate seat sits me a little higher but it's way more comfortable. Big difference. Also, the Ultimate seat and backrest combo was pretty much the same price as the Rogue backrest and bracket alone. Getting the Ultimate was a no-brainer. The prices of Indian accessories is a little crazy. So in summary, the things I don't like are pretty small complaints and pale in comparison to the things I like about the 2019 Chieftain Dark Horse. The bike itself is great and I hope it proves to be reliable over the years to come. My other hope is that the after market and dealership network continues to improve. For the bike, I give it five stars.
Date published: 2019-07-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice bike, too expensive, not very good demo guy First, the demo van wasn't what I was told it would be. I wanted to test ride a Springfield and the dealer wouldn't prep one. Told me to wait for the demo van, which would have every model to ride. When I went they didn't have any Springfields to ride. The guy was kind of rude and said if you want to ride a Chieftain, it's the same thing. I don't know, the big fairing and all the gadgets wasn't the experience I wanted. Also, the bike was fully optioned out at $34,400. Overall, very comfortable ride with a ton of power with the 116. Great maneuverability, but the throttle seemed sloppy. About 1/8th turn of play before it would accelerate. He didn't explain tour mode vs standard vs sport before the ride. I was in tour mode, but would have preferred standard or sport if I had known.
Date published: 2019-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING RIDE!! Surprisingly nimble for the size. This motorcycle is absolutely amazing!! I have been doing research for a new bike for the last 5 years, and Indian always had an intriguing style. And it has only been improving. My first bike was a 2006 Honda Shadow AERO...this machine blows that out of the water. I fully expected this bike to be cumbersome on the road and difficult to handle because of the sheer size, but boy was I wrong! It handles better than my old bike, which is considerably smaller and closer to the ground. The storage and features on this bike alone are worth the purchase, let alone the power train. I haven't been able to ride much since the purchase because of weather, but I find myself sitting in my garage just staring at it...its that beautiful!! Well done, Indian Motorcycles!!
Date published: 2020-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid as a Rock! I got a chance to demo this bike this week and wow! What an amazing experience. This baby had the 116 big bore upgrade, and you can really feel it. I had a concern with the 4" riser handle bars, but in the end, it was a perfect fit. The controls were easy to access and operate and the radio had decent sound as well.
Date published: 2019-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 116 finally has the power Demo'd this bike with the stage 3 kit and finally see a bike that can replace my 1900 Roadliner. Wish the drive by wire was more responsive has the lag for a seasoned biker is troubling. Floorboards are a little high for people taller than 5'10. Other than that, it's got the power and performance I like.
Date published: 2018-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Bike! Demoed this bike at 4 corners rally in Ignacio CO. Plenty of power, loved the feel, handled like it was on rails, really like the touch screen and the power windshield. But it was the performance that really makes this bike so good. I got off this bike, went to the Harley demo fleet and rode a Roadglide special for comparison, there is none, this is a superior motorcycle! Limited dealer network and aftermarket support are drawbacks, nearest dealer is 250 miles from my house. Not to mention that it is overpriced.
Date published: 2019-09-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Clunky I felt the tranny was a little clunky and I was disappointed with the high handle bars. I thought I would like them more but instead they were just a little uncomfortable.
Date published: 2019-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Updated Ride Took a demo ride yesterday at Indian KC. I currently own a 17 Roadmaster. Wanted to ride a 116 to see what’s up. Was put on a 19 Chieftain Darkhorse. First impressions: 1) Took me a few minutes to acquaint myself with the updated controls. Think most of the changes are good. 2) If money was not an issue, I’d have my on the lift at the dealer right now to do the big bore kit. The 116 is ON POINT. And finally, 3) Not a huge fan of the new look faring but am sure it will grow on me.
Date published: 2019-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chief Strokahantas Bought in February 2020, I have had goldwings and harleys and a lot of other bikes in the last 40 years and this by far has been the best bike I have ever ridden
Date published: 2020-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing machine My wife and I arw in the market for new motorcycles and after many test rides of the models we are convinced that the Cheftian Darkhorse is the right one for us.
Date published: 2019-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loving it Bought my new Indian in August really enjoying it. Only gripes push seat back about an inch and lower the floorboards about 1.5 inches other than that great bike
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, better than Harley, but not my Victory I rode this bike today at a Demo site. Found the standard grips to be uncomfortable, the lack of a heel toe shifter to be annoying, and the engine vibration to unacceptable. Overall, for a tall man (6'3" 255) it fits and that is important. Much better than any of 3 Harleys I also demoed today. Yet I will keep my 2014 Victory Cross Country. Don't know why Indian who I believe has a superior product to Harley Davidson seems to be trying to make bikes more and more like them.
Date published: 2019-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Bike Bought mine back in November and i wont refret it...great investment...And get the looks from Harley Riders wishing they could get one..
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features, looks and ride! I bought my 2017 Chief Dark Horse at Thanksgiving of 2016 and I couldn't be happier with it. I just started riding again (after nearly 25 years) at age 50. It's just an awesome all-around large bagger. Great features, awesome looks, best steering geometry on any bike this size that I've experienced, great sound, great acceleration... I love it! Real head-turner too. I just got back from bike week (Daytona) and received countless unsolicited compliments and "thumbs up."
Date published: 2017-03-18
  • y_2020, m_7, d_12, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_281
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19TCDAAAH, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 36ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Customer Reviews
MENU
Chieftain Dark Horse Thunder Black Smoke

Indian Chieftain Dark Horse

Starting at $27,999 US MSRP
Trim & Color options Thunder Black Smoke

ICON Series motorcycles are part of a limited-availability factory custom paint program.

Features
Chieftain dark horse
STYLED WITH AN EDGE

A fairing, slammed saddlebags, and a gunfighter style Rogue seat delivers a streamlined, commanding ride and presence.

Chieftain dark horse
INDIAN MOTORCYCLE RIDE COMMAND

The largest, fastest, most customizable system on two wheels, it features turn-by-turn navigation with intuitive destination search capabilities, Bluetooth connectivity, vehicle information, plus connected traffic and weather overlays to keep you on the road longer.

Chieftain dark horse
MODERN. MEAN.

LED lighting from nose to tail and a lowered stance complete the custom-inspired look.

See all Chieftain dark horse Features SEE ALL THE FEATURES
Customize Yours
Chieftain dark horse
Shop Chieftain Dark horse Accessories SHOP ACCESSORIES