Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Chieftain Dark Horse

Starting at $27,999 US MSRP

Model shown with accessories

2020 Chieftain Dark Horse Thunder Black Smoke is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 336.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing machine, rides great, feature packed I bought my 2021 Chieftain Dark Horse a week ago, I put 400 miles on it my first weekend. I am still learning this bike, but overall: I absolutely love it! It is extremely agile for its size and weight, the adjustable windshield is great. Plenty of power, adjustable rear air shock, and well thought out handle bar controls. Some features of ride command (route planning specifically) leave much to be desired. Apple car play took a little bit to figure out, but now works just like it does in my truck.
Date published: 2021-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great handling, power , styling I upgraded to a Darkhorse from a base model and am very happy with the extra features
Date published: 2021-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rides Great!!! I bought it a month ago and have 1000 miles on it. I installed the garage door opener and stage one reinharts slip ons the bike drives great, fast and sounds awesome.
Date published: 2021-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bike with a lot of bottom power I bought this bike 2 years ago coming from a Victory XCT and figured I should stick with Polaris. Though I love the bike I have two hangups..... First the stupid speed limiter !!! I am very capable to figure how fast I want to go and its sometimes faster then 174 km/h Second...its not really a fitting bike if you are over 6 feet tall. Even with the extended reach seat its like riding a kids bike for my feeling. Hence the reason I just traded it for a Challenger which indeed is way more like a Victory XCT and is perfect for taller riders.
Date published: 2021-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from character and great power I bought the chieftain Dark Horse because I could not by a new Indian anymore, Off course I understand that its not a Victory (I am 6.4) which is perfect for a tall guy. The chieftain DH though has character and I love the deep rumble coming from my Level 2 kit. The sitting position (even with an extended seat) could be a bit more roomier for me. The only thing I do not like is that there is a speed limiter on the bike.(176 km.per hour and thats it. There is lots of power left at that speed and the bike is rock solid. Give us a bit more in our own hands Indian. I do not want to be shamed by passing bikes from the other brands !!! Get that fixed INDIAN..
Date published: 2021-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Machine is a great ride I'm loving the Indian Chieftain Dark horse, very comfortable.
Date published: 2021-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lot of horsepower Switched from a Harley to the Chieftain Dark Horse and am very happy. You get a lot more for your money going with an Indian
Date published: 2020-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great,feels great! I always wanted an Indian since I was a youngster and it did not disappoint me...
Date published: 2020-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great BIke Love the bike, like driving a BMW Car, but way cooler and much more fun. One downside i have found i sin 2019 model the infotainment system, is not upgradable to Apple car play, which sticks as is not as feature rich in controls without it.
Date published: 2020-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The right motorcycle I had a hard time deciding between an Indian Chieftain and the HD SG. I looked, researched, and test drive for months before deciding on Chieftain. In all honesty the deciding factors were many, but small personal opinions. I felt like the “other” brand’s sales team were not completely up front about financing terms and the Indian team were completely open and transparent about everything. I felt the other guys were trying to sale me the bike based on the number of shops, not the quality of the bike whereas Indian was all about which bike was best for me. In the long run the sale itself was much less stressful and the sales team were great and patient. The ultimate deciding factor was that my local dealer had received the 21 models and had used a 20 model to accessorize and use in the front window of the shop. The price for the decked out model was nearly the same as the 20HD and the 21 Chieftain, so of course I jumped all over it. The bike itself is amazing. I haven’t ridden in about 20 years and The Chieftain just felt more stable and easy to control for a new rider. I am a fairly big guy at 6’2” and 300lbs so I didn’t feel that a smaller bike was right for me as a starter bike and I was right. I’ve put about 300 miles on it so far around the downtown area as well as small back roads outside of town. I’ve ridden tandem a few times with my wife on the back and honestly can’t feel the difference in the bike’s handling. plenty of power, easy to control, all the “accessories” I could ask for, a soft ride and dependability. Overall just a great motorcycle. You can go wrong with it.
Date published: 2020-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing bike I have had this bike for a little over a month ago and I am rarely not riding it.
Date published: 2020-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just awesome I cant say enough how happy I am. This is my second Indian.
Date published: 2020-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loving it I been dreaming of owning an Indian for years and to finally have one is such a blast I love riding My dark horse!
Date published: 2020-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great to handling but very hot I have gotten 975 miles on it so far it’s in the shop now for air cleaner mufflers cams got to get rid of some of this heat at 60° outdoor temperature it’ll still burn your leg
Date published: 2020-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our new Ruby! We bought Ruby in October. Jay and his team were excellent to deal with. Thank goodness the weather improved enough that we got to put a few kilometres on before the snow hit. The bike is absolutely perfect! I can’t wait until we can ride again in the spring.
Date published: 2020-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I was looking for. Plenty of power and comfortable ride, always looking forward to the next one.
Date published: 2020-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent !!! I have been wanting one for a couple of years and I finally bought one. The Chieftain Darkhouse is a whole lotta bike for an excellent price.
Date published: 2020-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Ride Bought Chieftain at end of September. Have ridden through Kentucky, Tennessee, Virginia and Ohio. This bike is amazing!! The monoshock, 116 cubic inches and features are phenomenal. Can't say enough about how much fun this bike is to ride. Ease of use and handling make it just as fun on the strait aways as it is in the curves.
Date published: 2020-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome power, handles so easy. Love this bike! So glad I test rode this bike 1 year ago.... couldn’t get it out of my head. Now it’s mine. Upgraded to the stage 3 large bore kit - sounds amazing and the power is incredible!
Date published: 2020-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible Motorcycle!! Bought this Indian Chieftain Darkhorse to replace a Harley Fatboy and love this new bike, everything I hope it would be, smooth and agile in curves, and a very smooth,comfortable ride! This bike is fast to respond to the throttle, If you want a fast, smooth and incredibly good looking bike this one is for you!
Date published: 2020-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome ride I love this motorcycle and the way it handles, it is so easy to ride and control. Everyone always tells me they love it. I couldn't be more happy.
Date published: 2020-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bike for most types riding Bought this Chieftan a couple months ago. It has been ridden on interstate and city streets. Great handling and versatility. very stable and feels very light.
Date published: 2020-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from tuning required the Indian I purchased had a stage three kit installed, there needs to be some tuning completed. This is a great bike overall.
Date published: 2020-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Near perfection! I had a brand new Street Glide ordered, and thankfully, there was a delay with the delivery which gave me time to check out some reviews on line. They kept comparing it to the Street Glide, and the Chieftain kept coming out on top. I test rode both, back to back the next day, and there was no question in my mind. I canceled the Harley, and bought the Indian. Very happy with my decision - I love the bike!!
Date published: 2020-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features !! I have owned my motorcycle for only a few months and look forward to any chance I get to go out and ride!! I enjoy the quick response and smooth gears when in town or out on the open hi ways.
Date published: 2020-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall great bike I’ve had the bike almost 2 months and I’ve had a lot of HD riders looking at it and they’re impressed with it.
Date published: 2020-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing like it! I have been on this bike non stop since purchase. Came from sport bikes and do not regret it. It’s beautiful and reliable. Non stop questions and looks everywhere I go.
Date published: 2020-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Ride I bought a couple months ago and have loved every ride. Added an exhaust to fix the only thing I didn't like - Stock exhaust is to quiet for me.
Date published: 2020-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike Truly enjoying my new ride. Great features for the money. Did upgrade to the Stage l c/w aftermarket exhaust so it sounds awesome. Also upgraded the stereo system to the Full Powerband Audio - not disappointed in the least. Excellent fit and finish.
Date published: 2020-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love at first sight I waited 30 years to find the bike of my dreams. And when it came time to make that choice in July, the 2020 Indian Cheiftain Dark Horse was that bike. It has 100% 116 Thunder Stoke power, sounds great, ridiculous looks and is a super comfortable ride whether I am on a long trip or a short commute to the grocery store. I am blessed to find her and will never let her go.
Date published: 2020-09-20
  • y_2021, m_4, d_21, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_336
  • loc_en_US, sid_N20TCDBBAH, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 62ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Customer Reviews

Trim & Color Options

Chieftain Dark Horse Thunder Black Smoke

Chieftain Dark Horse

Starting at $27,999 US MSRP
Trim & Color options Thunder Black Smoke

Features

Features
Closeup Thunderstroke 116 V-Twin engine
THUNDERSTROKE 116 V-TWIN ENGINE

The blacked-out Thunderstroke 116 engine produces 126 ft-lb of torque for exceptional power at low RPM and responsive ride at any speed. 6-speed gearbox, throttle by wire and three distinct ride modes tailor the all the power perfectly to your needs.

A man stands behind a parked Chieftain Dark Horse Motorcycle in the street
STYLED WITH AN EDGE

Blacked-out finishes, a sleek fairing, slammed saddlebags, and Rogue seat deliver a streamlined, commanding presence.

Rider view of the Indian Ride Command panel on a  Chieftain Dark Horse
INDIAN MOTORCYCLE RIDE COMMAND

RIDE COMMAND® is the largest, most customizable system on two wheels, with Apple CarPlay® integration, turn-by-turn navigation with intuitive destination search capabilities, Bluetooth connectivity, vehicle information, plus connected traffic and weather overlays to keep you on the road longer.

Customize Yours