Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Chieftain Dark Horse

Starting at $27,999 US MSRP

Model shown with accessories

2020 Chieftain Dark Horse Thunder Black Smoke is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 348.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome power, handles so easy. Love this bike! So glad I test rode this bike 1 year ago.... couldn’t get it out of my head. Now it’s mine. Upgraded to the stage 3 large bore kit - sounds amazing and the power is incredible!
Date published: 2020-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible Motorcycle!! Bought this Indian Chieftain Darkhorse to replace a Harley Fatboy and love this new bike, everything I hope it would be, smooth and agile in curves, and a very smooth,comfortable ride! This bike is fast to respond to the throttle, If you want a fast, smooth and incredibly good looking bike this one is for you!
Date published: 2020-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome ride I love this motorcycle and the way it handles, it is so easy to ride and control. Everyone always tells me they love it. I couldn't be more happy.
Date published: 2020-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bike for most types riding Bought this Chieftan a couple months ago. It has been ridden on interstate and city streets. Great handling and versatility. very stable and feels very light.
Date published: 2020-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from tuning required the Indian I purchased had a stage three kit installed, there needs to be some tuning completed. This is a great bike overall.
Date published: 2020-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Near perfection! I had a brand new Street Glide ordered, and thankfully, there was a delay with the delivery which gave me time to check out some reviews on line. They kept comparing it to the Street Glide, and the Chieftain kept coming out on top. I test rode both, back to back the next day, and there was no question in my mind. I canceled the Harley, and bought the Indian. Very happy with my decision - I love the bike!!
Date published: 2020-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features !! I have owned my motorcycle for only a few months and look forward to any chance I get to go out and ride!! I enjoy the quick response and smooth gears when in town or out on the open hi ways.
Date published: 2020-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall great bike I’ve had the bike almost 2 months and I’ve had a lot of HD riders looking at it and they’re impressed with it.
Date published: 2020-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing like it! I have been on this bike non stop since purchase. Came from sport bikes and do not regret it. It’s beautiful and reliable. Non stop questions and looks everywhere I go.
Date published: 2020-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Ride I bought a couple months ago and have loved every ride. Added an exhaust to fix the only thing I didn't like - Stock exhaust is to quiet for me.
Date published: 2020-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike Truly enjoying my new ride. Great features for the money. Did upgrade to the Stage l c/w aftermarket exhaust so it sounds awesome. Also upgraded the stereo system to the Full Powerband Audio - not disappointed in the least. Excellent fit and finish.
Date published: 2020-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love at first sight I waited 30 years to find the bike of my dreams. And when it came time to make that choice in July, the 2020 Indian Cheiftain Dark Horse was that bike. It has 100% 116 Thunder Stoke power, sounds great, ridiculous looks and is a super comfortable ride whether I am on a long trip or a short commute to the grocery store. I am blessed to find her and will never let her go.
Date published: 2020-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bike! Overall very pleased with the Indian chieftain Darkhorse.
Date published: 2020-09-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 2020 chieftain dh I bought this bike a month ago. I like the bike. There are some things need some improvement gps is inferior. Trouble with shifting when cold.
Date published: 2020-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply beautiful One month and I'm loving every single thing about it.
Date published: 2020-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2019 Chieftain Dark Horse I ride with some friends who all have Harleys and they all love my bike.
Date published: 2020-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great ride This motorcycle was purchased in February. It is the second one in my garage.
Date published: 2020-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from smooth riding with 3 power levels This bike handles with cat like simplicity, it has the power when needed to get around the slower traffic, it is balanced well, I like all the different screens offered and the navigation works well. So far I've had it for 2 months and have put 2000 miles on it.
Date published: 2020-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Switched from Harley Had the bike almost two months now and I absolutely love it. Been riding for over 20 years and had nothing but Harleys all my life. I finally switched it up and I am very pleased with my purchase. So far this is a well made machine and a fun ride.
Date published: 2020-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Love it!!!!!! Been happy since the first day I brought it!!!!! Traded a 2013 Victory Vision..
Date published: 2020-08-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pain In The Rear My 2020 Chieftan Dark Horse is overall an exemplary motorcycle. 2 issues I have: I need some guidance on how to use the maps and trip planning feature; After riding a mere 80miles, my butt burts so bad I have to stop a lot of the time. Most uncomfortable seat I’ve ever had. Of course there’s no way I could have test ridden it long enough to know this. If so I wouldn’t have bought it. The mustang seat on the VTX I traded was so comfy I could ride from fillup to fillup painlessly.
Date published: 2020-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All around beautiful bike I actually bought the bike sooner than my wife and I discussed, so glad that I did. Had to hear about it but way worth it
Date published: 2020-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable Always been happy with Indian red White and blue.
Date published: 2020-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best decision i ever made! I bought this bike a little over a month ago and i have to say i will never go back to a Harley again. The handling and control is far beyond any other bike, so well balanced and the power of the 116 cu in engine is phenomenal. I can't say anything negative about this bike at all.
Date published: 2020-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great investment! I bought my CDH two months ago and already put thousands of Kms on it. I get more compliments on my bike then Harley riders get on theirs!
Date published: 2020-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bike on the market I bought this bike a month ago and I couldn’t be more happy these bikes come with better features options and comfort than any other bike and I own 6 other bikes so yeah indian is quickly becoming my favorite already have 1600 miles on her
Date published: 2020-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dream Bike! This is my second Indian; I traded in a 2017 Chieftain Dark Horse for a 2020 Chieftain Dark Horse. These bikes are extremely nimble for being a heavy bagger. The 116 cubic inch engine has loads of power. You better hold on tight when you twist the throttle! Indian incorporated the rear cylinder disable feature for when you're sitting idle for a period of time, which really helps to keep the heat off of your legs. In terms of the onboard electronics; the user interface on Ride Command is extremely easy to use and customize. The speakers on this bike are 10 times better than the factory speakers on my 2017. The fork mounted fairing does an excellent job of keeping the wind out of your face. I upgraded my windshield to a Klock Werks flare, however, the factory windshield worked just fine in terms of wind buffeting. I really love this bike and I have gotten countless compliments and requests for photos since buying it in May. My only complaint is that the headdress on the front fender doesn't light up like it did on my 2017. Hopefully Indian will address that on future models.
Date published: 2020-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfection I bought this two months ago without regret. It’s the perfect bike for myself in every way.
Date published: 2020-07-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A few issues.... I bought this 2 months ago and I am not so happy. I love the bike but the battery completely died with 127 miles on the bike. The bike stalls on me constantly and it now only has 220 miles on it. The seat bolt was stripped (noticed it when I had to remove the battery for the shop to replace).
Date published: 2020-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mirrors and Sound The mirrors look like two big bug eyes, not a fan. Pipes, shhhhh don’t talk I can’t hear my bike. Other than that, better than any Harley I ever rode.
Date published: 2020-07-07
  • y_2021, m_5, d_17, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.15
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_348
  • loc_en_US, sid_N20TCDBBAH, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 47ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Customer Reviews

Trim & Color Options

Chieftain Dark Horse Thunder Black Smoke

Chieftain Dark Horse

Starting at $27,999 US MSRP
Trim & Color options Thunder Black Smoke

Features

Features
Closeup Thunderstroke 116 V-Twin engine
THUNDERSTROKE 116 V-TWIN ENGINE

The blacked-out Thunderstroke 116 engine produces 126 ft-lb of torque for exceptional power at low RPM and responsive ride at any speed. 6-speed gearbox, throttle by wire and three distinct ride modes tailor the all the power perfectly to your needs.

A man stands behind a parked Chieftain Dark Horse Motorcycle in the street
STYLED WITH AN EDGE

Blacked-out finishes, a sleek fairing, slammed saddlebags, and Rogue seat deliver a streamlined, commanding presence.

Rider view of the Indian Ride Command panel on a  Chieftain Dark Horse
INDIAN MOTORCYCLE RIDE COMMAND

RIDE COMMAND® is the largest, most customizable system on two wheels, with Apple CarPlay® integration, turn-by-turn navigation with intuitive destination search capabilities, Bluetooth connectivity, vehicle information, plus connected traffic and weather overlays to keep you on the road longer.

Customize Yours