Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Chieftain

Starting at $21,999 US MSRP
Logistics surcharge of $400 will apply.
Plus destination charge and set-up.

Model shown with accessories

2020 Indian Chieftain Thunder Black is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 662.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Fun Love this Baby! Handles perfectly. I switched brands from a well know established brand. So fare I can say I won’t be returning to the old Iron. The balance and engineering is impressive.
Date published: 2021-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 2nd Indian is even better than my first! I've had a 2015 Vintage since late 2015. Absolutely loved the bike and rec'd many compliments. But after test driving the 2021 Chieftain it was an easy decision to upgrade. The shorter wheelbase, improved handling, better seat, ride command and advanced electronics make for an amazing riding experience.
Date published: 2021-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Glad I made the move to an Indian Purchased back in May 2021. Love the power and handling along with overall appearance. Wish the accessories weren’t so overpriced.
Date published: 2021-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it I've had my bike a little over a month now and love it. it is so much better then my old bike which was a Yamaha V-Star 1300.
Date published: 2021-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bike For ME!!! I waited over 20 years to get my bike. I was convinced I was going to buy a HD Street Glide. A friend told me to check out the Indian before I made the purchase. I walked in and my Baby was sitting in the middle if the showroom floor. It had the Stage 1 and Stage 2, LED headlamps and rear shifter installed. I talked to the family and bought it the next day. It was the best experience you could’ve imagined for the purchase of your first bike. I am on it every chance I can get. Everywhere I go someone stops and looks at the bike. They all think its a SG until they see the Indian and they can’t stop smiling or asking questions. Indian makes beautiful, fun to ride machines that handle like sport bikes. If you want to stand out in a crowd, BUY AN INDIAN!!!! It will be the best decision you can make and you will not second guess yourself.
Date published: 2021-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An awesome ride experience. En entirely awesome ride experience. Extremely comfortable, quick and cuts corners with ease. That, and the spacious storage space an storage options, is a must for long rides.
Date published: 2021-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chieftain Stoped by the Indian dealer just to browse on the way to the HD dealership. Found a left over 20 Chieftain and went for a test ride. Absolutely loved it! I had already test rode the HDs and found this to be a better handling and balanced bike. The price compared to the options that came with it, made this a no brainer to me. Bought the Chieftain and haven’t looked back at all. Several of my friends are now looking to make the swap to the Indian line. The accessories are a little higher price wise, but they all seem to be high quality built to last. The dealership really made the deal also, very friendly and knowledgeable people there. Treated me like they wanted to help me find the perfect fit for me. The other brand made me feel like they were doing me a favor by talking to me. All around a great experience.
Date published: 2021-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid, smooth, fit and finish, performance This bike is a dream ride. Every time I go out on a ride it is a whole new experience.
Date published: 2021-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love love love this is the best riding motorcycle I’ve ever been on! i’m A 5 foot 3 1/2 woman and I can handle this bike easily coming off of a HD heritage .
Date published: 2021-06-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What a way to down size Took one for a test drive, came in and said to find me one. Does nothing but pull threw all the gears. Great ride. So much lower than last ride. Feel much safer on it. Plain and simple. Got few things to add on. But loving it so far. Why only 4 stars, Only God and family get 5 stars.
Date published: 2021-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Ride!!! Indian Cheftian 116 bought in march 2021. Love the look, ride and power.
Date published: 2021-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all around bike Love the bike wish some of the features were a little easier to use like CarPlay and the installed navigation system. Other than those small things great bike great sound system
Date published: 2021-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome indian I traded my scout in on my Chieftain. It wasn't an easy decision because I loved my scout. But with the bags and other features was the reason for my decision. And it was a great decision. Rides so smooth and sounds amazing. I love it. Nothing better then wind therapy with my Chieftain. Thank you indian.
Date published: 2021-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome motorcycle I bought it February for my birthday. Once you ride and Indian your in love!
Date published: 2021-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My first new motorcycle I bought this 2021 Indian Chieftain in February 2021. I just put 500 miles on it. This motorcycle has plenty of power and torque. Lots of extras. Radio, cruise control, adjustable windshield, I was looking at a HD before I bought this Chieftain. Harley dealer wanted to sell me a lower end street glide with no extras for $4000 more. I am so glad I ended up with this motorcycle. Best decision ever.
Date published: 2021-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sharp Looking! Great handling for a big bike! I traded my 2014 Vintage in on this bike. It is noticeably quicker and seems to handle better. I'm a smaller frame guy and really like the way this bike fits me.
Date published: 2021-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing bike Lots of power, handles great, super comfortable. Has all the bells and whistles I want.
Date published: 2021-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dream bike!!!! I bought this bike a couple of months ago and could not wait to get it home. It did not disappoint! The ride home was the best ride of my life, so far. Smooth and perfectly balanced. Having the radio ans cruise control made it even better.
Date published: 2021-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the bike! Light weight easy to handle, well b Great bike! Complements everywhere I go, love how it rides!
Date published: 2021-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Liked looks and performance I want to try Indian over Harley ,heard lots of good reviews on Indian performance
Date published: 2021-01-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Quality control Bought the Chieftain in November and by December it was in the shop . It was having intermittent valve train tapping like the lifters weren't pumped up . Took a video of it and the dealer wasn't able to replicate it. Overall I loved the bike just hate that it was having issues at 600 miles .
Date published: 2021-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Issues Bought my Chieftain Classic Nov., 2018. After many long trips and over 17,000 miles, no major issues. Dealer installed Stage 1 performance kit with fish tail endcaps, heated handgrips and seat. Runs good. Still no issues. Its a keeper. I expect to put on over 100k miles and more. Ride the dang thing. Let's roll!
Date published: 2020-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great handling Had a classic. This makes riding even better brand loyal
Date published: 2020-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2019 Chieftain I bought this Chieftain late September and love it.
Date published: 2020-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from smooth ride Excellent ride. The employees are friendly and knowledgeable. Only have had 1 issue & it was fixed ( navigation upgrade ).
Date published: 2020-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing bike I needed a bike for longer rides and want to ride it cross country. So far it’s a really easy bike to ride
Date published: 2020-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome bike!! Bought the bike during Elkhart Indians open house!! 1 1/2 months ago
Date published: 2020-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bike. The radio has quit working a few times and currently does not work. The clip holding down the dash storage compartment broke the first week. Ergonomics could improve. Handlebars could be moved back, along with floor boards. Backrest is a must for long rides. I found the pipes drag often. I adjusted the rear shock and it still drags leaving my driveway and when cornering. Plastic side panels below the seat need better fastened. The left one blew off riding down the road. I luckily caught it when it flipped up.
Date published: 2020-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the bike This bike has been amazing. But that being said some features weren’t there that I was told were with my model. That was a bit frustrating. The CarPlay option is also a joke. I hope in coming months they do a better job making it available. After first service was done I get error codes almost every ride now. Check engine light, chassis fault error, battery flashing. Dealer suggests just turning it off and back on says it’s normal after first service. I’d rather no what’s causing these things to through errors but Oh well
Date published: 2020-10-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I’m sure its nice if I ever get it. I bought this bike 3 months ago and still don’t have it. Made 3 payments and watched the beautiful riding days slip by. Went to Minnesota to pick it up and 10 miles later it stalled and would not start. It’s been back at the dealer ever since.
Date published: 2020-10-12
  • y_2021, m_10, d_23, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_662
  • loc_en_US, sid_N20TCBAAAA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Reviews

Trim & Color Options

Chieftain Thunder Black

Chieftain

Starting at $21,999 US MSRP
Logistics surcharge of $400 will apply.
Plus destination charge and set-up.
Trim & Color options Thunder Black

Features

Features
Closeup of the Thunderstroke 111 V-Twin engine
THUNDERSTROKE 111 V-TWIN ENGINE

The award-winning Thunderstroke 111 produces 119 ft-lb of raw torque for passing power in every gear.

A woman riding a Chieftain bike
AGILE HANDLING AND CONTROL

Outstanding steering geometry and a lightweight cast aluminum frame come together to provide responsive handling and agile cornering.

Two men on the side of the road staring to a Chieftan bike
TURN HEADS

Streamlined fork-mounted fairing and slammed saddlebags perfectly frame the legendary Thunderstroke engine and command attention on the road.

Customize Yours