Indian® Chieftain ® Reviews

Indian® Chieftain® Steel Gray is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 247.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best handling, smoothest motorcycle I've owned I have had my 2016 Indian Chieftain for about 3 months now and it is by far the best motorcycle I have ever owned or ridden. The torque, handling and smooth ride are off the charts. It fits me ergonomically and also style wise, better than any other bike I've owned. The transmission and the clutch are wonderful. The rake on the Chieftain makes parking lot and slow maneuvers easier than any large bike I've tried. It handles much better than my previous 2011 Victory Cross Roads. As you can see in the picture, mine has a custom paint job, conceived by Mark A. Moses of Indian Motorcycle Charlotte. I loved my Victory...and it was the best motorcycle I had owned until I bought my Chieftain! I think I am an Indian customer for life now.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mostly a Good Bike! I bought this motorcycle in April, and I am mostly pleased with it. Mechanically, it is an excellent motorcycle. The engine is strong, it handles well, and I get many compliments on its looks. However, the paint on it is terrible. It seems to be very soft, and even though I have many coats of wax on it, it seems to get a new stone chip or two every time I ride. What I thought were fingerprints when I bought the bike turned out to be buffer marks in the paint from the factory. And if you don't use the finest, softest microfiber towels while cleaning it, the paint scratches. I've owned many motorcycles, and have never had one where the finish is so poor.
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent bike Bought this bike Oct 1 2016 since then I’ve put over 10.000 mile on it worry free with one trip I put over 3.600 miles on it I have a bad back and neck problems buythe time I got back I was still feeling great a comfortable bike for a long trip smooth ride great accessories the weather band came in handy got us ready for some unexpected rain so we could suit up I can’t say enough about the chieftain and how great it is and the quality keep up the great work thanks Indian for making a great bike and bikes
Date published: 2018-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bike but still have headlamp issues I've had my Chieftain for about 4 years, and the engine is great. The only problem that I have, which has been persistent, is the headlamp and auxiliary lights short circuit, and won't go on. This problem has been addressed a couple of times, but due to all my driving along PCH in Malibu for 55,000 miles so far, the salt air and moisture seems to cause problems with the wiring and definitely eats the chrome. The performance of the bike is exceptional for driving and handling.
Date published: 2018-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Second Chieftain Had a 2015 Chieftain and saw the new navigation/ information screen and purchased a 2017 three months ago. While a lot seems familiar , I see a higher build quality , quieter engine and better fuel economy. The nav / information screen is great and I would never want to be without it. I feel like the ride is smoother , perhaps some improvement to the front suspension. I am very proud of the styling , when I see the other American cruiser , it looks added-on and old.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fulfilling a dream! I have day dreamed of owning an Indian for more years than I can remember. When the thunderstroke 111 was introduced I followed the media and Web reviews closely. Then the line up introduced at Sturgis had me hooked. The next step was to wait for a dealership to open in my state, Maine. in June of 2014 a dealership opened in Maine. I bought a chieftain that week. I love motorcycles and riding. This bike exceeded my expectations.style handling and power. Not a single regret. Just ride one, you'll be hooked.
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bike I've ever owned! I LOVE this bike. Only had a couple things that were an issue and they were fixed. i.e.- I'm short, so added kickstand extension and had some issues with key fob but entering my "code" remedied the problem. Also, heat from motor broiling my thigh and added a heat shield. I added front lowers to highway bars and the added weight is top heavy, making slow maneuvers a challenge but all else, is awesome! I love it!!!!!!
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the whole thing Traded off my Harley last March and do not regret that decision at all. Beautiful machine, quick, responsive and powerful. When I stop places...people begin to drool :)
Date published: 2018-01-19
  • y_2018, m_4, d_26, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_247
  • loc_en_US, sid_N18TCBAAAX, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 199ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT