Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer
Menu

Indian Springfield® Dark Horse® Reviews

2019 Indian Springfield Dark Horse Thunder Black Smoke is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 122.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome machine purchased this bike full stage 3 a little over a month ago and have loved every mile since. I do wish the springfield still came stock with highway bars though. They really add to the look.
Date published: 2020-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I purchased my 2019 Springfield Darkhorse in mid July and couldn’t be happier. I originally planned to get a Road King Darkhorse and spent months researching. I stumbled on a comparison between the RKS and the Springfield Darkhorse which piqued my curiosity. Further reviews and rides pushed me completely over to the Darkhorse and I haven’t had a single regret. I added the Rogue seat which my wife says is way more comfortable than the RKS, and get a ton of compliments on the overall look. If you want a Harley and are set on it, get a Harley. But if you want something unique, with style, functionality, performance, and reliability, definitely check out an Indian.
Date published: 2020-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2020 Springfield Dark Horse Bought it just over a month ago and already have 2300 miles. Happy with the performance just wish add ones were not some expensive. Aftermarket is very limited.
Date published: 2020-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ride! I bought it about a month ago. I love the power and the way it handles. It is a fun bike.
Date published: 2020-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome ride Almost two thousand miles on it loving it just wish I had more time to ride
Date published: 2020-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love being part of the Indian community At 46, I thought I’d be with Harley-Davidson forever. Then the day came that my loyalty to Harley-Davidson was not returned by Harley-Davidson. That day I left the HD dealer/service department and drove to my local Indian dealership. “Just to look”, I told myself... within five minutes of looking at the beautiful machines and digging into the history of this amazing part of American motorcycle history I was hooked! Then, I saw this machine... that was it! I was all in on Indian. The looks I get and the number of people who ask about this classic inspired ride is phenomenal! I LOVE MY INDIAN!
Date published: 2020-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far happy with the Springfield Dark Horse 800 plus miles in a month. Superior ride comfort and excellent engine power.
Date published: 2020-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Springfield Dark Horse is a great bike Now that I have put a few thousand miles on my new bike, I have had no issues whatsoever. It performs as well as the many bikes I've had.
Date published: 2020-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ride Love the bike. Handles better than the chief vintage I owned previously. Plenty of power!
Date published: 2020-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected My last bike was a Yamaha Virago over 30 years ago. I was a little concerned about the weight. I shouldn't have been. Very comfortable with a low center of gravity. I got the red seat package as well as highway bar and passenger boards. Just waiting for the windshield and running lights. Didn't make me too happy. I think the weight may have had something to do with me escaping possible injury or worse. One of those plastic totes (16X24X16 quesstimate) fell out of the truck ahead of me (doing speed limit, 70 mph, and back a ways. No tailgating). It's bouncing, I'm guessing which way is it going. I guessed right but not right enough. I clipped it going about 70. My foot was resting on the highway peg attached to the highway bar. The hit knocked my foot off the peg, but the bike reacted like Rocky..."Is that the best you got!" And it didn't even flinch. After a minute I looked down and saw that the rubber floorboard pad was gone. I didn't go back to look. When I got home, I saw the bar AND the bolt attaching it to the frame was bent so far back that the floorboard was resting on the highway bar. I'm alive and kicking. I credit the bike to a large degree.
Date published: 2020-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Ride I like the way the bike looks and handles. I get a lot of looks when I'm riding. The bike feels light and smooth. Corners nice. I like the 116 C.I. engine. It responds quickly. I like the sound of the engine. I like key fob and the fact that you can automatically lock the bags.
Date published: 2020-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A rare gem in my neck of the woods I have only had this dark horse for two months and have have loved every minute of it. It’s well balanced, great for me at 5’8”. People continue to seem amazed by it when I pull up next to them. Saddlebag fits a small soft yeti cooler perfectly. Really well lit for night rides. Have 600 miles on it so far and wake up every day hoping to get another ride in.
Date published: 2020-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2020 Springfield Dark Horse I bought this bike a couple months ago and so happy that I did. Great ride, great power, and most of all great looks!
Date published: 2020-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bike my bike is the best ride i think i have ever owned
Date published: 2020-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome motorcycle..despite what my "harley" frien great bike i would buy more when i can.Beautiful looking bikes..despite what some are saying that Indian "stole" styling cues from that other company.
Date published: 2020-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome bike I love this bike only issues is lack of horsepower and 4000 room limit. Other issues is fuel gauges are estimate, always almost a gallon left of 5.5 tank but everything says empty and does not match trip milage . Wish horn button was easier to reach, too close to light switch. The big power button and the ignition switch should be ONE,would like to see side panels fit better so I don't see gaps.
Date published: 2020-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderfully Riding Bike I purchased my Springfield Dark Horse 6 weeks ago and have managed to put 2,000 miles on it. This bike does not disappoint!
Date published: 2020-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ride! 2019 SFDH bought new at the end of April 2020. It is the the best ride and most beautiful motorcycle. It gets compliments every time I take it out
Date published: 2020-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome bike Just got it a month ago and love it. I ride every day if possible. Loads of torque and great suspension and handling. It is absolutely savage in sport mode. Definitely recommend.
Date published: 2020-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth finish Every time i look at my bike in the garage, i find more details to it that i hadn't seen before, stainless steel brake lines name placards with indian stamped on it. The dark horse in Thunder smoke is such a nice look with very few glossy parts that it balances well from one black to the next. Such a smooth ride & a head turner. As mean as this bike looks it has the power to back it up. Coming from street bikes for 18 years transitioning to this cruiser wow the power does not let you down, the balance from a big cruiser on this bike is phenomenal. You need to take a test ride.
Date published: 2020-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Springfield Dark Horse I was out of riding for almost 40 years. I bought a Kawasaki EN650 Vulcan back in early 2019. Took the 2-day MSF and was off and running again. Rode that back for one year and then made the jump to Indian. I have not been disappointed in any of the experiences. The staff at Mall of Georgia Indian were great and the bike quality and looks are still amazing to me.
Date published: 2020-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall just an amazing bike. Ive owned many other cruisers, including Yamaha, Honda, Sazuki, and Harley; and this is by far my favorite cruiser. Tons of power, rides smooth, looks great, great features, etc
Date published: 2020-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Phenomenal Motorcycle In the 5-6 weeks of owning my Springfield DH, I have put on ~1400 miles and not a single mile has disappointed. I'm a "no frills" kind of guy and expect everything on my bike to directly relate to performance. This motorcycle EXCELS at that! Indian has made a beast of a bike in this 2020 model.
Date published: 2020-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark Horse its the one I last bought a new bike upon return from Gulf war. I enjoyed it and rode it from East to West coast. This Dark horse I just bought exudes an increased level of technical features, smooth engine and style I admire more than the leading competitor. I expect this to be my last bike and to ride it eventually the entire 4 corners of our great country.
Date published: 2020-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well balanced. Great power. I bought this bike and it is not just a bike. You own the road when riding this and this machine is fantastic on the corners.
Date published: 2020-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Motorcycle I’ve Owned Couldn’t be any happier with the 2019 Springfield. Plenty of power, comfortable ride & handles like a much smaller bike. Very pleased.
Date published: 2020-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bike Bought a month ago - Winter in Ohio so haven't ridden much but in the first 200 miles I love it. Traded in a 2018 Scout, which I loved also but didn't have room in the garage for both.
Date published: 2020-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Indian I bought the 2019 Springfield Darkhorse to complement my Chief Vintage that I’ve owned for 3+ years. Having both now is great. They are the same but different. The shorter wheelbase and steeper rake on the Springfield gives it quicker steering and a lighter feel. Both have the 111 engine but are mapped different. My Vintage is black with tan leather and my Springfield is white smoke. I put the 5 inch shorter tinted Jack Daniels windshield on the Springfield. Locking bags on the Springfield. I love both and it’s fun having a choice.
Date published: 2020-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great look Great bike, powerful engine, mean look! Handles the highway great! Looking forward to first long haul!
Date published: 2020-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The bike rides and runs amazing Bought a scout bobber in april and absolutely loved it, so began riding further so decided to go for the Springfield dark horse!
Date published: 2019-10-21
  • y_2020, m_9, d_26, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_122
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19THDAAAH, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 71ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT