Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Indian Roadmaster Dark Horse

Starting at $28,999 US MSRP

Model shown with accessories

2020 Indian Roadmaster Dark Horse Thunder Black Smoke is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 1151.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New ride in the Stable Moved from a sport tourer to a cruiser style bike. Was looking for a ride that was stylish, yet at the same time comfortable for an older rider. The Roadmaster provided me a very comfortable platform that has all the power I need while allowing me to be stable both while moving and stopped due to its lower center of gravity and frame set up. Still getting comfortable with the additional weight this bike has, and the reduced maneuverability as compared to my other bike. And I will admit that the reaction of other riders and drivers is a kick to experience. Overall, a solid bike that will provide excellent rides for the foreseeable future.
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from COMFORT & POWER I BOUGHT IT IN OCTOBER 2014. ALMOST 15000 ON IT. IT'S BEEN PRETTY MUCH BULLET PROOF. ADDED EXHAUST, HI-FLOW AIR, CAMS. REALLY MADE A DIFFERENCE. SOUND SYSTEM CUTS OUT WHEN USING THE USB PORT WITH A JUMP DRIVE IS MY ONLY COMPLAINT OTHER THAN POLARIS REFUSES TO MAKE A BACKREST TO FIT WHEN I'M NOT RUNNING WITH MY TRUNK. THAT'S USUALLY MOST OF THE TIME UNLESS ON A TRIP. BUT YOU HAVE TO HAVE MONEY. IT'S LIKE HARLEY, COST MORE THAN IT'S WORTH. BUT I LIKE IT. ALSO WANT YOU TO KNOW I OWNED A CHIEFTAIN FROM DEC 2013 TILL OCT 2014 AND TRADED FOR THE ROADMASTER. PUT 9500 MILES ON IT. LOVED EVERY MILE.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dream machine I first rode the Roadmaster in 2016, have wanted one ever since. The opportunity came about for a test ride with the Indian Test ride and I traveled 275 miles to do it again. Tested as I ride, 2 up with my wife. Ride was great, had extended reach seat and was ultra smooth. HATED the mini apes. Power was the same as my 2018 HD Ultra Classic with the 107, but was roomier and was smoother overall, but with a sticker at $5000 more than the HD I ended up with the 2018 Ultra Classic. The Roadmaster still remains a dream machine for me, but with the price difference I will just have to wait for test rides as I cannot afford to have one in my garage.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this ride I took a rode trip to Kerrville Texas and left home on a 2006 Yamaha RoadStar and returned home on a 2016 Indian RoadMaster. The ride is phenominal. It has plenty of power and pickup. I averaged 40-45mpg on the 300 mile trip home. I can get a little over 200 miles to a tank of gas and better than that when I slow down (which I rarely do). The wife loves the backseat. It is a very large back seat. At one point on the trip I was around 110mph and she never knew it. There have been some heat issues coming off of the engine but I bought a "Crotch Cooler" from Captain itch.com and it made a world of difference. What can I say, I love this ride.
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Out standing machine. I bought this machine in Feb 2015, I had always wanted an Indian, an when Polaris bought Kings Mtn, I knew good things where ahead. Not sorry I made the purchase. Recently I put on S&S big air kit Dynojet 5 and already had stage one pipes. When I had it tuned, the tuner got 90 hp an 112 lbs of torq at back wheel. I love the fact you can take off the the bags, travel trunk an front lowers. When the out side temp gets hot, I pull the lowers off to help with heat from the motor, there is only 3 screws that hold each one on.
Date published: 2017-02-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great features...quality lacking in some areas I picked up a 2016 RM a few weeks ago. On the plus side-love the features and it's the most comfortable bike I've ever owned. The features are well documented in other reviews. On the minus...terrible rattle from the windshield actuator, squealing belt drive and mediocre paint-metallic is not well done and blotchy (grey/black). Lots of rattles from the fairing over bumpy roads. Dealer "can't hear" the rattles nor quiet the belt so far. Not what I'd expect in a $30k bike. Build quality doesn't compare with Triumph and paint doesn't compare with HD.
Date published: 2017-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Harley can’t compare Long time goldwing rider, and have ridden a few Harley’s. Also several dirt bikes, sport bikes, can am, Triumph, Honda, Kawasaki, Suzuki. Iron Butt, Los Angeles traffic and country roads. Was very impressed with the Indians. Goldwing like ride, very smooth engine. A bit more engine heat than a wing, but a lot less than a Harley. Exceptionally well balanced, not a low cog like the wing, but pretty close. Excellent low speed handling. The stereo and gps seems unmatched. Blows away Goldwing and Electra Glide. All materials seemed very high quality, Controls very intuitive, factory exhaust had a really nice sound, deep growl but not too loud.
Date published: 2018-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Ride Took a demo ride 3 yrs ago at the Hot Springs Rally, went in and bought my first Indian 15 Chieftain, 3 yrs later same rally this time road a 2018 Roadmaster, stage 2 cams, VH pipes, loved all the features best was the high boy seat and mid rise bars.... Went in and talked again to Rob Gregory of Gregory Polaris same dealer i purchased the Chieftian. I was recognized by several of the staff before even getting to Rob. We talked and after finding the right one he gave me a number i could not pass up.. So again i rode to Hot Springs on one bike and home on another.. btw best riding and handling bike ive ever been on.. after 5 hrs i still felt great and was ready to ride more.
Date published: 2018-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Clearly the benchmark for heavy cruisers/tourers I'm old. I traded a BMS K1200LT because it is tall, top-heavy, and my legs aren't what they used to be. Motivations for buying: press reviews; look; lower seat/low center of gravity; BarcoLounger back seat for wife; tendency to root for the underdog. For its class, I believe it handles well, has very good mid-range power but need more above 4,000 rpm, and is very comfortable. I have a 2016; I'd much prefer having the auxiliary light switch on the right handlebar pod to make flashing safe. Time will tell about reliability but initial quality and press reports leave my expectations very high.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the bike Have had the bike for over a year and have over 10,000 miles on it. We have had a number of issues; shock failure, oil leak, drive belt or bearing squeal(still on-going - dealer taking care of this week) and the battery. All of these were handled very well by warranty at the dealer (Smokin' Joes), particularly special was the service we got in Bettendorf, Iowa when our shock gave out on a trip. A call to corporate and 4 hours later we were on the road. Brenny's Motorcycle Clinic was top notch start to finish. Our biggest issue is the swirls in the paint. Paint is soft and only using cotton cloths it still scratches. Payed way too much money to have a bad paint job.
Date published: 2016-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful bike I brought the bike about a month and so far everything is great. A few items that is negative, the bike runs great in the rain except the windshield and angle is perfect to throw water in your face I'd like a better angle to deflect the rain better. The button are not easy to push with or without gloves, the seek button is holding the left or right arrow button for a length of time with isn't easy. Now the positive, it looks great and runs great. I just ran it from PA to MA about 450 miles with little discomfort. She handles better than I expected but my experience with newer bikes are limited.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top notch I seen the advertising on television. I was interested and thought why not take a look. After looking it over and up righting it, I knew this was a whole new world of motorcycle and I liked it a lot. After the test ride, it was the motorcycle for me. I can not thank Indian enough for coming back in the world. Thank you for building a great motorcycles.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Roadmaster I love the bike had it for 2 years and still have it. I am extremely disappointed in the seat the bike looks great but the seat (tan) looks terrible. I have complained while under warranty but was told it was normal. I also have a 2016 Chieftain It only has a few thousand miles on it and the seat looks fine (black) I really do have a problem with that seat looking like that and being called normal. I would think Indian wouldn't want that called normal and wouldn't want there bikes to look like that many people have commented how nice my bike loos but question why the seat looks like that. I just smile and say Indian says its normal.
Date published: 2017-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, solid, powerful I bought my RM a month ago and love it. The design aesthetics are well thought out and logical. Nothing is arbitrary. The bike is beautiful. The lines are smooth and flowing. Fit and finish are top notch and befitting the price. Quality components are used throughout. The bike handles very well for its size and weight. It is supremely comfortable ergonomically. Im 5' 6" and I dont have any trouble with it. All controls are very intuitive whether they be physical or electronic. This not a Goldwing. Its not supposed to be. A comparison between the two is not valid. This is a classic American tourer that has soul and character. Everything about its design and construction reflects that.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from this was a test ride with two people. Fit and finish was nice on the bike. Hand controls or nice on the bike. The heads-up display was okay. The handling of the bike does not compare to the Victory Vision. My feet or higher on the floor boards that I'm used to. The fly by wire throttle has a lag. The transmission is smooth I'll tell you. If I were to buy one it would always be in sport mode. The look of the bike is nice although I would have stuck to the freedom 106 motor. You just can't get better than the victoryvision when it comes to the whole package. Power, handling, comfort. The only thing the Indian has over the Victory Vision is fit and finish
Date published: 2019-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Motorcycle I received this motorcycle as a Christmas present, December 2019. I could not be happier. The only adjustments that I made to the motorcycle was to add lowering links and changed the stock windshield to a Klockworks shorter w/curve windshield. I am 5'4" so my intent is to change the kickstand to with the flip so that I am not stretching to put it out or bring it back in. The pipes sound great. The heated seats and grips work great on long and short rides. I can't say enough about this machine without a tear to my eye. I hug my wife daily because it was a gift from her. It is smooth on the road with the feel of a car. I absolutely love it!!!
Date published: 2020-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ROLLING ARTWORK Beautiful, powerful, nimble, comfortable, reliable, luxurious, soulful, versatile, nostalgic
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Indian RoadMaster 2015 Hello , I bought my Indian RoadMaster last of August 2016 , very comfortable, powerful, smooth in highways, very light bike when you ride it . It have a good speakers very clear and not noisy. I did 10500 km and no issues. For the service the price is very good and not expensive. Close your eyes and pay for the legend bike . Best regards
Date published: 2017-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome bike Bought bike 4 months ago and already have over 11,000 miles on the odometer. I love my RoadMaster!! Great ride, love the premium stereo with 6 speakers.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from DO NOT Buy BLACK Trade-in, depreciation, resale is horrible. I bought mine a month ago and was offered $11,000 below what I paid. Do not trust the dealer if they tell you a color is not available. Call other dealers directly. The Quick Disconnect trunk is nice but no seat back available for the Roadmaster for around town. I don’t like riding around town with the trunk but girlfriend wants a seat back. I hope Indian offers one soon. The Chieftain seat back kind of fits but the Roadmaster seat is wider so it squeezes the seat out of shape. Good riding bike. Great safety features and other accessories.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from RoadMaster I have had the bike for a year and still enjoy it very much and is now my most used. I still and will always own Harleys but the ride comfort and styling of the RoadMaster is the main reason I purchased it. It had become uncomfortable to do long trips on the Harley due to the constant vibration in the handlebars and seat which I do not get on the RoadMaster. The only negatives I have are the sound (just used to the aggressive sound of my Harley) and I wish it had a GPS instead of having to use my phone. The other thing I found disappointing is the finish on the fairing where you can see the mold marks of some internally mounted supports.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First Indian and Love It I bought the 2017 Indian RoadMaster to replace my 2004 Honda VTX 1300. The first time I saw the new Indian lineup was at the 2013 Sturgis Motorcycle Rally at the Crazy Horse monument. From that day, I knew I had to have an Indian. Little did I know that I would be buying a RoadMaster 4 years later.
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from New to the tribe I was on the fence between the Harley Ultra Low and the Indian Roadmaster all winter long. Both where pretty compatible with what I was looking for. Just before spring I went to Harley Davidson first just to talk. Got treated like it didn't matter if I bought a bike or not. Went to Indian the same day and they made me feel like I mattered. Was interested in what it took to get my on the bike. That's when I knew wanted to be a part of the tribe. Not only did the bike sell itself. The salesman worked with me on my trade. Harley told me to sell mine on Craigslist because used Harley's were a dime a dozen.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Satisfied! Bought my Roadmaster a month ago and am extremely pleased with how it handles. The low center of gravity makes the bike feel lighter than it is. It responds easily to rider input in curves. Also enjoying the remote luggage locks, heated seat and hand grips. The bike is very comfortable. My wife rides with me and she absolutely loves the seat and back rest layout. Suspension is impressive - it's fantastic. No bottoming out or neck/back jarring has been experienced by my wife so far. I like the movable windshield, ride with it in it's highest position while cruising and get now wind. Lower it when I'm on tighter roads or in town. Love it. The power is great. Lots of torque.
Date published: 2020-03-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sturgis Demo Rides Considering a new touring bike and test drive the standard Roadmaster and Roadmaster with cam and big bore upgrades. Went on 3 Indian rides and 3 Harley Davidson rides. The stock HD Road Glide Ultra beat both versions of the Roadmaster hands down. Unless a major design change comes in the 2020 model, it will be the HD Road Glide Ultra for me. Note I have an Indian Vintage and three Harley’s and am open to either bike st this time. The fact that the 2020’s were not available at Sturgis is a big disappointment. In closing I will say the Indian transmission is far superior than the HD design.
Date published: 2019-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good, just beat the heat I purchased my Roadmaster a couple of days ago and just completed my 500 mile breakin ride. Flawless. Handleing and comfort were as I expected, coming of a Chieftain. Very smooth, lots of extras. First thing I did was remove the CAT as this is the main cause of the heat everyone complains about. Buy a head pipe and new slip-on's, but the CAT has to go. As I said, I put 60K on a 14 Chieftain. I learned the hard way. Once you do this you will love, love, love the bike. Everything else is just spot on. Can't wait to get out and get some real riding in.
Date published: 2018-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Number One in America / the World! I bought my Roadmaster two years ago in March. The first week I road it from Connecticut to Chicago, through snow in Pennsylvania. With my heated grips and seat along with anti-lock brakes and its splendid cruise control, along with stage One engine upgrade and Vance/Hines pipes I had a dream ride. Ever since then my Indian big iron has taken me where ever I have wanted to go, 20,000 miles worth so far. It is infinitely stable and easy to handle. I've been on bikes since 1950, all brands, but Indian tops the list.
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike, I love, I mean Love my bike. I rode a 2014 Chieftain, put just over 60K on it and traded it for a 2017 Roadmaster. I love it MORE than the Chieftan, 1st Cut out the cat, 2nd slip ons, 3rd K&N Air Filter. Then summer pull off lowers. Life is good, heat issues gone. Indian needs to move the cat back on the right pipe and move the left pipe cat to the cross over. Problem sovled. Other than that, phenominal bike. It's my daily driver, in Las Vegas, NV. Heat in the summer 120 easy. Don't forget the download after the cat removal. Indian listen, I'm a 40 year rider, move the cat.
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My Roadmaster I love this bike but have had LOTS of problems with it and i mean LOTS. When the bike runs it runs and handles better than any bike i have owned. This bike has also failed more than all the bikes i have owned put together. I dont think its all Indians but i do have a bad one for sure. I am thinking about trading for a 2017 roadmaster. I would of kept this bike for at least 8 years but with the issues its time to change and give Indian a fair chance on a great bike.
Date published: 2016-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable all-day tourer! I've had my Roadmaster for 17 months now, and have ridden nearly every day. It's been a great bike, with all the torque you could want, wind protection in the winter, plenty of storage, luxurious seat, and a grin inducing throttle. Issues have been minor cosmetic problems not surprising from a new model, but still dissapointing. Plastic chrome trim needed replacing at 6 months, and the dye on the seat leather isn't holding up well. I'm also on my third audio control panel due to rubber deterioration and my third fob after my first two both just died. (Not the battery, the failures were confirmed by the dealer.) Still, as a daily rider and tourer I love the bike and the dealer has been great.
Date published: 2016-03-10
  • y_2020, m_8, d_12, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_1150
  • loc_en_US, sid_N20TKDBBAH, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Customer Reviews
Roadmaster Dark Horse Thunder Black Smoke

Indian Roadmaster Dark Horse

Starting at $28,999 US MSRP
Trim & Color options Thunder Black Smoke
Features
Thunder Stroke 116 V-Twin Engine
THUNDERSTROKE 116 V-TWIN ENGINE

The Thunderstroke 116 blacked-out engine produces 126 ft-lb of torque for exceptional power at low RPM and a smooth ride at any speed.

Ride Confidently
RIDE CONFIDENTLY

Outstanding steering geometry and a lightweight cast aluminum frame come together to provide responsive handling and agile cornering.

Car play
INDIAN MOTORCYCLE RIDE COMMAND

The largest, fastest, most customizable  system on two wheels, with Apple CarPlay® integration, turn-by-turn navigation with intuitive destination search capabilities, Bluetooth connectivity, vehicle information, plus connected traffic and weather overlays to keep you on the road longer.