Indian Roadmaster

Starting at $29,499 US MSRP
2019 Indian Roadmaster Thunder Black is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 1024.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dream machine I first rode the Roadmaster in 2016, have wanted one ever since. The opportunity came about for a test ride with the Indian Test ride and I traveled 275 miles to do it again. Tested as I ride, 2 up with my wife. Ride was great, had extended reach seat and was ultra smooth. HATED the mini apes. Power was the same as my 2018 HD Ultra Classic with the 107, but was roomier and was smoother overall, but with a sticker at $5000 more than the HD I ended up with the 2018 Ultra Classic. The Roadmaster still remains a dream machine for me, but with the price difference I will just have to wait for test rides as I cannot afford to have one in my garage.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expensive, but you get what you pay for. I like this motorcycle a lot. This is my third motorcycle in my life and probably going to be the last one for a while. From the power features to the insanely powerful motor, it has everything my Road Star didn't and more. It runs very hot hot which is my only real complaint ESPECIALLY for the ride side passenger leg/foot area, but with an 1811cc air cooled & oil cooled engine, it almost comes with the territory. Other than that the bike seems very solid and full of features that I will never get tired of. I bought this motorcycle primarily for riding 2 up since I don't own a car, I want my motorcycle to do EVERYTHING, and this comes close.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from COMFORT & POWER I BOUGHT IT IN OCTOBER 2014. ALMOST 15000 ON IT. IT'S BEEN PRETTY MUCH BULLET PROOF. ADDED EXHAUST, HI-FLOW AIR, CAMS. REALLY MADE A DIFFERENCE. SOUND SYSTEM CUTS OUT WHEN USING THE USB PORT WITH A JUMP DRIVE IS MY ONLY COMPLAINT OTHER THAN POLARIS REFUSES TO MAKE A BACKREST TO FIT WHEN I'M NOT RUNNING WITH MY TRUNK. THAT'S USUALLY MOST OF THE TIME UNLESS ON A TRIP. BUT YOU HAVE TO HAVE MONEY. IT'S LIKE HARLEY, COST MORE THAN IT'S WORTH. BUT I LIKE IT. ALSO WANT YOU TO KNOW I OWNED A CHIEFTAIN FROM DEC 2013 TILL OCT 2014 AND TRADED FOR THE ROADMASTER. PUT 9500 MILES ON IT. LOVED EVERY MILE.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Out standing machine. I bought this machine in Feb 2015, I had always wanted an Indian, an when Polaris bought Kings Mtn, I knew good things where ahead. Not sorry I made the purchase. Recently I put on S&S big air kit Dynojet 5 and already had stage one pipes. When I had it tuned, the tuner got 90 hp an 112 lbs of torq at back wheel. I love the fact you can take off the the bags, travel trunk an front lowers. When the out side temp gets hot, I pull the lowers off to help with heat from the motor, there is only 3 screws that hold each one on.
Date published: 2017-02-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great features...quality lacking in some areas I picked up a 2016 RM a few weeks ago. On the plus side-love the features and it's the most comfortable bike I've ever owned. The features are well documented in other reviews. On the minus...terrible rattle from the windshield actuator, squealing belt drive and mediocre paint-metallic is not well done and blotchy (grey/black). Lots of rattles from the fairing over bumpy roads. Dealer "can't hear" the rattles nor quiet the belt so far. Not what I'd expect in a $30k bike. Build quality doesn't compare with Triumph and paint doesn't compare with HD.
Date published: 2017-08-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Clearly the benchmark for heavy cruisers/tourers I'm old. I traded a BMS K1200LT because it is tall, top-heavy, and my legs aren't what they used to be. Motivations for buying: press reviews; look; lower seat/low center of gravity; BarcoLounger back seat for wife; tendency to root for the underdog. For its class, I believe it handles well, has very good mid-range power but need more above 4,000 rpm, and is very comfortable. I have a 2016; I'd much prefer having the auxiliary light switch on the right handlebar pod to make flashing safe. Time will tell about reliability but initial quality and press reports leave my expectations very high.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful bike I brought the bike about a month and so far everything is great. A few items that is negative, the bike runs great in the rain except the windshield and angle is perfect to throw water in your face I'd like a better angle to deflect the rain better. The button are not easy to push with or without gloves, the seek button is holding the left or right arrow button for a length of time with isn't easy. Now the positive, it looks great and runs great. I just ran it from PA to MA about 450 miles with little discomfort. She handles better than I expected but my experience with newer bikes are limited.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top notch I seen the advertising on television. I was interested and thought why not take a look. After looking it over and up righting it, I knew this was a whole new world of motorcycle and I liked it a lot. After the test ride, it was the motorcycle for me. I can not thank Indian enough for coming back in the world. Thank you for building a great motorcycles.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, solid, powerful I bought my RM a month ago and love it. The design aesthetics are well thought out and logical. Nothing is arbitrary. The bike is beautiful. The lines are smooth and flowing. Fit and finish are top notch and befitting the price. Quality components are used throughout. The bike handles very well for its size and weight. It is supremely comfortable ergonomically. Im 5' 6" and I dont have any trouble with it. All controls are very intuitive whether they be physical or electronic. This not a Goldwing. Its not supposed to be. A comparison between the two is not valid. This is a classic American tourer that has soul and character. Everything about its design and construction reflects that.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from this was a test ride with two people. Fit and finish was nice on the bike. Hand controls or nice on the bike. The heads-up display was okay. The handling of the bike does not compare to the Victory Vision. My feet or higher on the floor boards that I'm used to. The fly by wire throttle has a lag. The transmission is smooth I'll tell you. If I were to buy one it would always be in sport mode. The look of the bike is nice although I would have stuck to the freedom 106 motor. You just can't get better than the victoryvision when it comes to the whole package. Power, handling, comfort. The only thing the Indian has over the Victory Vision is fit and finish
Date published: 2019-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this ride I took a rode trip to Kerrville Texas and left home on a 2006 Yamaha RoadStar and returned home on a 2016 Indian RoadMaster. The ride is phenominal. It has plenty of power and pickup. I averaged 40-45mpg on the 300 mile trip home. I can get a little over 200 miles to a tank of gas and better than that when I slow down (which I rarely do). The wife loves the backseat. It is a very large back seat. At one point on the trip I was around 110mph and she never knew it. There have been some heat issues coming off of the engine but I bought a "Crotch Cooler" from Captain itch.com and it made a world of difference. What can I say, I love this ride.
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ROLLING ARTWORK Beautiful, powerful, nimble, comfortable, reliable, luxurious, soulful, versatile, nostalgic
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from RoadMaster I have had the bike for a year and still enjoy it very much and is now my most used. I still and will always own Harleys but the ride comfort and styling of the RoadMaster is the main reason I purchased it. It had become uncomfortable to do long trips on the Harley due to the constant vibration in the handlebars and seat which I do not get on the RoadMaster. The only negatives I have are the sound (just used to the aggressive sound of my Harley) and I wish it had a GPS instead of having to use my phone. The other thing I found disappointing is the finish on the fairing where you can see the mold marks of some internally mounted supports.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Ride Took a demo ride 3 yrs ago at the Hot Springs Rally, went in and bought my first Indian 15 Chieftain, 3 yrs later same rally this time road a 2018 Roadmaster, stage 2 cams, VH pipes, loved all the features best was the high boy seat and mid rise bars.... Went in and talked again to Rob Gregory of Gregory Polaris same dealer i purchased the Chieftian. I was recognized by several of the staff before even getting to Rob. We talked and after finding the right one he gave me a number i could not pass up.. So again i rode to Hot Springs on one bike and home on another.. btw best riding and handling bike ive ever been on.. after 5 hrs i still felt great and was ready to ride more.
Date published: 2018-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Indian RoadMaster 2015 Hello , I bought my Indian RoadMaster last of August 2016 , very comfortable, powerful, smooth in highways, very light bike when you ride it . It have a good speakers very clear and not noisy. I did 10500 km and no issues. For the service the price is very good and not expensive. Close your eyes and pay for the legend bike . Best regards
Date published: 2017-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome bike Bought bike 4 months ago and already have over 11,000 miles on the odometer. I love my RoadMaster!! Great ride, love the premium stereo with 6 speakers.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from DO NOT Buy BLACK Trade-in, depreciation, resale is horrible. I bought mine a month ago and was offered $11,000 below what I paid. Do not trust the dealer if they tell you a color is not available. Call other dealers directly. The Quick Disconnect trunk is nice but no seat back available for the Roadmaster for around town. I don’t like riding around town with the trunk but girlfriend wants a seat back. I hope Indian offers one soon. The Chieftain seat back kind of fits but the Roadmaster seat is wider so it squeezes the seat out of shape. Good riding bike. Great safety features and other accessories.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Roadmaster I love the bike had it for 2 years and still have it. I am extremely disappointed in the seat the bike looks great but the seat (tan) looks terrible. I have complained while under warranty but was told it was normal. I also have a 2016 Chieftain It only has a few thousand miles on it and the seat looks fine (black) I really do have a problem with that seat looking like that and being called normal. I would think Indian wouldn't want that called normal and wouldn't want there bikes to look like that many people have commented how nice my bike loos but question why the seat looks like that. I just smile and say Indian says its normal.
Date published: 2017-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Harley can’t compare Long time goldwing rider, and have ridden a few Harley’s. Also several dirt bikes, sport bikes, can am, Triumph, Honda, Kawasaki, Suzuki. Iron Butt, Los Angeles traffic and country roads. Was very impressed with the Indians. Goldwing like ride, very smooth engine. A bit more engine heat than a wing, but a lot less than a Harley. Exceptionally well balanced, not a low cog like the wing, but pretty close. Excellent low speed handling. The stereo and gps seems unmatched. Blows away Goldwing and Electra Glide. All materials seemed very high quality, Controls very intuitive, factory exhaust had a really nice sound, deep growl but not too loud.
Date published: 2018-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Number One in America / the World! I bought my Roadmaster two years ago in March. The first week I road it from Connecticut to Chicago, through snow in Pennsylvania. With my heated grips and seat along with anti-lock brakes and its splendid cruise control, along with stage One engine upgrade and Vance/Hines pipes I had a dream ride. Ever since then my Indian big iron has taken me where ever I have wanted to go, 20,000 miles worth so far. It is infinitely stable and easy to handle. I've been on bikes since 1950, all brands, but Indian tops the list.
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blown away! I came to the demo days hoping to check out the Springfield, as it is fairly similar to my current ride. I checked out the Chieftan first and then took out the Roadmaster. I have ridden other full dresser bikes and have not been a big fan, so I did not have high expectations for the Roadmaster. I should have! It was absolutely amazing. The weight is carried low, so it feels much lighter than you expect. It is easy to lift off the kickstand and is very agile when in motion. The Thunderstroke 111 is a joy to short-shift and the touring chassis rides like a Cadillac. I loved it so much, I didn't even bother to ride the Springfield! Love that Roadmaster!
Date published: 2018-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The bike that I have been waiting all my life Mostly everything is perfect except the following: - Too much heat coming out on the right leg. If I encounter too many red lights, I will end my ride with my right calf cooked to medium well. - The leg's wind protectors are too far away from the frame, causing too much air to pass between the wind protector and the frame. This air hits my leg (especially on the left side) and it is not comfortable at temp under 65 F (17 C). - Because it is an ultimate touring machine, I would appreciate the gas tank to be a bit bigger (increase to 25 liters instead of 20). - Rattle from the front windshield after 2 years of use.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bike...excellent sales staff... This my second Indian...came off a 14 Vintage into a 17 Roadmaster and so glad I did. The fit and could be better on the trunk but that is the only flaw I could find (and I am very picky). I have already addressed this issue and it has been corrected. The power is awesome, the handling is effortless. Sooo much storage and the new Ride Command is very easy to reach and use. My bike is an Icon (mesa red smoke over thunder black smoke) and it is stunning. Gary, Jordan, Lane, Curtis and Robbie contributed to an easy and enjoyable buying experience.
Date published: 2017-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bike over all I bought my new Roadmaster Feb. of 2015 and logged over 10,000 miles on her the first year. Bike has ran great, but had to repaint her due to the lack of paint under the fenders. Reworked the seat due to poor leather and foam. Replaced the clutch cable with a Barnett one the factory one didn't hold up. Still a great bike that I love and would buy another one for sure. You need to tell your Dealers that those riders who travel across country should get quick service on the road like H.D. does that would be a big help. I've had five riding friends buy Indians now after traveling with me.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First Indian and Love It I bought the 2017 Indian RoadMaster to replace my 2004 Honda VTX 1300. The first time I saw the new Indian lineup was at the 2013 Sturgis Motorcycle Rally at the Crazy Horse monument. From that day, I knew I had to have an Indian. Little did I know that I would be buying a RoadMaster 4 years later.
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2015 roadmaster 2015 roadmaster... My lazy boy on steroids....I was so satisfied my son purchased a 2016 scout
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the bike Have had the bike for over a year and have over 10,000 miles on it. We have had a number of issues; shock failure, oil leak, drive belt or bearing squeal(still on-going - dealer taking care of this week) and the battery. All of these were handled very well by warranty at the dealer (Smokin' Joes), particularly special was the service we got in Bettendorf, Iowa when our shock gave out on a trip. A call to corporate and 4 hours later we were on the road. Brenny's Motorcycle Clinic was top notch start to finish. Our biggest issue is the swirls in the paint. Paint is soft and only using cotton cloths it still scratches. Payed way too much money to have a bad paint job.
Date published: 2016-04-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great motorcycle.....until Thought this was the best motorcycle ever. But each time I took it in for the shceduled services it got less so. With the added Indian Stage 1 it was great. But at the 500 service, after it felt different. It started dying on cold starts and gurgle popping. At the 2500 service, after the gurgle popping stopped and it just popped loud. And it started surging on deceleration braking. Especially on a spot where I was going downhill and at the bottom was a curve. Taken that curve hundreds of times since the purchase as it's my route home. Scared the heck out of me. It didn't do any of this before the 500 mile service. Then at the 5000 mile service the "Safety Recall" had to be done. Was told I must do it to stay in warranty. After that recall the Stage 1 was gone. The bike was the same as any stock motorcycle. The dealer said the motorcycle felt "normal". Bull. I knew my motorcycle and it was completely different. But, the surge now happened at a little bit lower RPM. Popping is now much more often and gurgling on all deceleration. So I went from and assume motorcycle to one like that movie of Christine the car. Possessed. Polaris did authorize the Stage 1 to be reinstalled but only because I demanded all the Stage 1 parts to be removed and given a full refund. Bait and switch isn't high on my list of things I like. But once the Stage 1 was installed, the motorcycle did not have the same snappy response I liked about the whole machine. I don't think it's the same Stage 1. And the popping and gurgling never stopped or lessened. Now totally unhappy. The motorcycle is no longer better than a Harley. Would not even consider another Indian. I do see there is a fix for all this but not from Indian. That's a real shame because it was such a good motorcycle until they started changing how it ran. I'd just like to have the bike I had before the 500 miles service. Oh. I forgot about the heat issue. Heat was never a real issue. After the 5000 mile service it's now unbearable. I'm positive this isn't what you want in a review but that's it for me. A totally unsatisfied customer.
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing motorcycle! I bought my 2017 Roadmaster 2 months ago (January) and I have put 2200 miles on it. For a 900 pound bike it handles so well. Slow speed maneuvers are not a problem. It does not feel top heavy. I love the heated grips and heated seats. I ride all season so the heat is welcome in the winter. By the same token, I know I am going to have to remove the catalytic converter because the heat coming off the pipes will be intense in the summer. The seat is very comfortable and my wife loves the pillion, especially with the arm rests. Ride command is great. The sound on the 2017 is so much better than previous years. Sound is loud and crisp with stock speakers. Volume is never above 5 even at highway speeds. GPS, phone calls, bluetooth and USB music all work great. Radio reception is weak but a new firmware was released today that is supposed to address that. I cant recommend this bike enough!
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My Roadmaster I love this bike but have had LOTS of problems with it and i mean LOTS. When the bike runs it runs and handles better than any bike i have owned. This bike has also failed more than all the bikes i have owned put together. I dont think its all Indians but i do have a bad one for sure. I am thinking about trading for a 2017 roadmaster. I would of kept this bike for at least 8 years but with the issues its time to change and give Indian a fair chance on a great bike.
Date published: 2016-10-08
  • y_2019, m_8, d_20, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_1023
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19TRAAAAA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 98ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Customer Reviews
Roadmaster Thunder Black

Indian Roadmaster

Starting at $29,499 US MSRP
Trim & Color options Thunder Black
Indian Roadmaster features
FEATURES Made For The Self-Made.

The Roadmaster is loaded with premium touring amenities. Impressive power from the Thunder Stroke® 111 V-Twin engine, keyless ignition, industry-leading Ride Command® with a 200-watt premium audio system, individually heated seats, and a push-button power windshield. The list goes on and on.

Make It Your Own
* Starting at MSRP is the manufactured suggested price and excludes delivery, setup, tax, title, license, and additional fees and expenses. Bikes may be shown with optional accessories. Final sale price determined by authorized Indian Motorcycle® dealer. Specifications and MSRP are subject to change. Due to California emissions regulations, additional costs may apply when purchasing or leasing a Motorcycle in California.