Indian Scout Bobber

Starting at $12,499 US MSRP
2019 Indian Scout Bobber Thunder Black is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 102.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unreal appearance! Bought my Bobber in October and absolutely love it. I get compliments every time I ride it. The only thing I have been frustrated with is the difficulty in customizing it, which was a large part of the marketing for it. I just got the 10” apes and brake lines, and was never told I’d need new mirrors and grips. Haven’t exactly been pointed in the right direction for what mirrors and grips will work with the new handlebars.
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasantly Surprised HD Rider for Decades, never even considered an Indian. Caught in a YouTube Vortex and found the Scout Bobber. Test Rode the next day......and rode it home. Wild little Motor that REALLY comes to life over 5K in the Revs (odd for a twin) and goes to about 8K. That 100HP comes out up top and the 72 FPT gets it moving from a stop nicely. Love this little ripper and could not be happier.......Full Exhaust goes on tomorrow :-)
Date published: 2017-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike! My wife & I bought 2 Scouts this past February from Paul Blouin’s in Augusta, Maine. I love my bobber, smoke black, changed the exhaust to rinehart, & solo pan seat. My wife bought a Scout add bags & a windshield to hers. She loves the bike how it handles, ride & weight. I love the Bobber, performance, handling, & ride is awesome. Nice weight to handle too. Will extent the controls. And the exhaust sounds better than HD. We have owned Softails, Street Glide, Heritage, Electra Glide & Road King and I have to say this is the best bike I have owned, its not a touring bike but to ride on back roads, around town & to put 200 miles on a day it is great. I test rode all the Indians and went back to the Scout. Suits my needs well. Our dealership is great too.
Date published: 2018-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Less is more I took part in a demo ride. I really enjoyed this bike. It is obviously not meant for touring. It is a very cool looking bare bones ride. It was easy riding. Had plenty of power when needed and easy to also just take it easy and cruise. The weight is low on the frame which I think makes cornering even easier. May not be as comfortable for a tall rider but easy to fix with mini ape handle bars. I would also recommend upgrading the exhaust. Indian offers affordable upgrades.
Date published: 2017-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sexy in black, scratch that...plain sexy I bought this motorcycle at the end of September and I took my time making sure that I had the right experiences to make sure I gave the right review. First of all, as the title alludes, this bike is sexy. It gets looks everywhere. I've been stalked in Starbucks locations across the state. "Hey..is that your bike out there?" A long conversation usually ensues. Most common of the queries are from true motorcycle enthusiasts whom usually own Harleys. This bike gets looks, even from devoted fans of other brands. Lets talk positives. First of all, the reports of the engine being a beast are spot on. I do not find myself regretting this, in fact, a Scout 60 bobber would still be a sexy sexy beast if they ever came up with one. Just saying, but I am glad it came with the 69 because my riding style is all about fast accelleration then cruising at speed. This thing flies (when you let it). One time at a stoplight I accidentally let it rip a bit too hard, I think it was a "lean back and the grip rolled with it" kinda moment and had an instant torque yank that set be back in the saddle as far as my arms would let me. It startled me a bit, but I recovered. This isn't a toy. I have always wanted a power commander, so I bought one. Did it need more power, no. But I got one with the stock pipes just in case I wanted to change things up. I must say, throttle response and as far as I can tell thus far, fuel mileage has improved. Jury still out on mpg but the quality of the bike on a power commander is worth considering even if on stock pipes. I was worried about cornering. Fat tires, heavier and lower suspension bike than I have ever previously owned had me babying it. After a few rides, I realized that the only thing holding me back was me. I dont lay into turns or scrape pegs, but I do accelerate into turns and roll it over as much as I have on previous bikes. The mirror placement is perfect (upright) for me. I cannot see myself, as cool as it would look, putting the mirrors down. As far as ride quality, well, no bike is perfect. My riding style is more of a short cruise variety. My typical rides are around 30-50 miles around the "island" (I am in Hawaii). Occasionally I hit 70+ miles but that's the exception not the rule. I also do a lot of point to point riding on this bike, just getting around. Going to to the movies, coffee, dinner, meet friends in town. From literature, it appears that my type of riding is exactly the market, as far as riding style, they were looking for. However, I think they sucked it down just a tad to far in the comfort vs. look/cost tradeoffs. Perhaps others are fine with it, and generally I am the type of rider that adjusts me before I adjust the bike as I figure the engineers know better. But his being my 4th bike, 2nd brand new, i was disappointed in how uncomfortable the bike was off the floor. Almost from the first ride, I realized I needed to make some adjustments. First step was preload. That made a huge difference. I think many dealerships overlook this step, but when you buy it, have the dealership adjust the preload IMMEDIATELY for your use. That did not occur, perhaps because the shop was closed by the time my transaction was completed, but it didn't get done and the ride home was a bull ride. This is extremely important as we will discuss in the next section. The suspension system, although an improvement over the standard scout previous models, still is sub par (being kind). If your municipality is full of horrific rough roads as mine is, please do yourself a favor and plan to upgrade suspension from the get-go. The preload helped a ton, but occasionally there's a spine jarring bump that made me question my choice of bikes. Proper preload helps, I cannot stress this enough, but I will be investing in a better suspension system as soon as enough reviews come out to distinguish which will best fit my needs. The seat is uncomfortable. I struggle with this the most because that's possibly the most iconic eye catching item on this bike (aside from the bar end mirrors). The seat sets it apart from other Scout models and i fell in love with it at first sight. However, its not built for long rides. Can I make do with this seat, yeah. absolutely, But if you tend to sit on your bike longer than I do, you will definitely be looking for other options in this area. In this, every professional review I read on this seat was spot on. Best for tooling around town, not so much for long cruises. Indian, you should put together a "Bobber Pro" model with better brakes, shocks, and seat. I would have bought it in a heartbeat.
Date published: 2017-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from That darn seat!! I bought this bike about 6 months ago. From the very first ride home from the dealer, people were stopping me to ask about my bike. As other reviews have stated, it starts a lot of conversations. This bike has great power and looks. The only problem for me is the seat. After about an hour or two, my butt is cramped up and I can't wait to get home. There are after market seats available but they are expensive and the prices are rising fast. I suppose if Indian does not have alternative seat, I'll have to spend the money. After all, what's the use of having such a cool bike if I cant ride it.
Date published: 2019-03-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from bad rear shocks rear facory shocks are horrible. im 6'1 237 lbs, and they bottom out even on smallest bumps.,now i see fox makes shocks for the rear, sold by indian, to help take care of this problem, why didnt they just put the fox shocks on to start with.. the way the bike is now its unbearable to ride..so my bike just sits till i have 900.00 dollars for the new shocks
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice throttle response Nice looking bike. I ride a scout sixty, like them both. I felt myself leaning over the gas tank just slightly. A different type handle bars May be more comfortable.
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely amazing I bought this bike a week ago at Ohio Valley Indian, in Mineral Wells, WV. Have ridden it every opportunity since. I had been in contact with the dealership for several months prior to my purchase, and the staff were great to deal with. Sales floor was immaculate. About the bike. It rides great, a little rough, but that was expected. Very clickable. A monstrous amount of power. The factory exhaust sounded very anemic, not fitting for such a powerhouse of a bike. I upgraded to crusher maverick slip-on, and do not regret it. It sounds perfect now, maybe on the loud side, but the tone is perfect. Brakes are very responsive. Transmission is smooth. Clutch feels great. Paint, and fit of the bike are perfect. Overall, I wouldn't hesitate recommend this bike to anyone! It is just that good!
Date published: 2019-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A real head turner. I purchased this bike last spring after seeing it online. It's one of those bikes that the second you see it you know you just have to have it. The matted out look is definitely for me and adds tremendously to the attitude of the machine. The performance is superb and meets all my needs. This bike gets looks from bikers and public alike. Best purchase I have made in a long time!
Date published: 2018-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Demo rider June 29th and 30th. WOW!! First impression riding this is SOLID and feels to be quality built. I believe this had the Stage 1 kit factory installed on it.Sticker on tank said so.This Red and Black beauty was a dream to ride.Wish the Scout base felt solid like this too,Unfortunately it didn't. This bike has that "GET IT BOY" response that reminds me of a Sport bike I used to have.The torque will pull you back in the seat. The only cons are, Again ,Stock seat could be more comfortable and I need a 2 up for my wife to ride with me.Indian-PLEASE make this in a 2 up model in Jade Green.Thanks!!!
Date published: 2018-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sits nice, fast, handles good. Smooth transmission Test rode today, part of a group ride at the dealership. Overall, satisfied. The turn signals and display buttons are quite small especially when wearing gloves which I do. Handle bars / grips are small diameter which is a little different for me as well.
Date published: 2017-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent This bike hits everything right on target, except one thing, so far... Performance, looks, price, cost to maintain: excellent. Only thing lacking with the bike is the seat. I can only stand the stock seat for about 30 miles at a time before I start losing feeling in parts of my body. Yes, the parts that just came to your mind are what I'm talking about, among others. Currently I'm justifying to my wife the need for a $300 to $500 replacement because, "The stock seat feels like someone strapped a $5 baseball glove on a cinder block." I'm like 5'11" 3/4, and weigh 200lbs. Other than that, I had a couple questions about the bike's matte finish, someone in customer service was supposed to reach out, but no one ever did. This is a review about the bike, though, and this bike is a lot of fun. I'm a very happy first time Indian-owner.
Date published: 2018-08-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great motor! Great fit & finish! Stiff ride As a very happy owner of a 2015 Roadmaster with just shy of 20k miles, we recently took advantage of the Indian Test Ride at our local WI dealer to check out the Scout Bobber as a new addition to our garage. I was very impressed with the overall look of the 2018 bike. Fit & finish is top-notch. Motor is just fantastic! Clutching and shifting is smooth and effortless. Very smooth throttle response as the bike gains RPMs from idle up to around 3000, which is where it really starts to sing! Ride is a little stiff and would look to soften it up if possible and would probably change out bars to accommodate a taller rider (6-1"). The Scout Bobber is definitely in the running for that spot in the garage next to our Roadmaster.
Date published: 2018-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bike Bought this bike in October the only day I regret it are days the snow and cold won't let me ride it.
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must Ride! I have been looking at this bike (Bobber) on line and went to Indian of Monmouth in Neptune when the demo truck arrived. I took the Demo ride which was not just a cheese ride around the.block, but rather a decent 20 min ride which was on the highway, and with a group. I loved the bike ride. The Bobber handles well and has plenty of power. I would strongly recommend test riding it and decide for yourself. As for me i'm sold!
Date published: 2018-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun/style/quality Great bike. Fun to ride and has great power. The fit and finish is quality. The sound stock is too quiet, but a stage 1 or Maverick Crushers fix that. The suspension is good out front but the rear is a bit harsh, feels well planted though. Plenty of aftermarket and factory accessories to make it your own. I've had fun doing that. Only wishes are: -fuel gauge -cruise control -factory fly screen for Bobber
Date published: 2019-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Slick design Indian did a great job putting this together. I added the bars and seat.
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feels much lighter than it actually is I test drove the Scout Bobber from the Indian demo truck, because this is the one that I've had my eye on. It has nice low end power and is a fun bike to ride. The available colors are great, as well as the list of available add-ons. The bike was really smooth, and one of the first things that I noticed was that the mirrors were very usable and I didn't notice much vibration at all in them. I normally ride super sports and wanted to say that this is one of the best feeling cruiser style motorcycles that I have ever ridden.
Date published: 2018-09-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Yikes! Took a demo ride and wow! What a nice bike.... for someone with a 26" inseam. I am 6'1" with a 34" inseam and the seating position feels goofy. When I lean forward to grab the bars and get my feet on the pegs, my long legs are almost hitting my arms. The engine is great along with everything else.
Date published: 2018-09-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sore bottom I bought my bobber in july last year...it should have come with a disclaimer regarding going long distance. I can only ride it for about 100 miles before i have to get off and walk around...luckily thats close to me running out of gas, so it works out in a sore butt kinda way.
Date published: 2019-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BobberLover!!! If I can get the right price, I’ll take one home for sure...love those Bobber!!
Date published: 2019-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best bike I have ever ridden smooth fast! I bought this bike a month ago very impressed from the sheer power of the 100 hp motor to the smooth handling design by Indian the bike is by far a mean head turning monster all I can say is Indian nailed it on this one!
Date published: 2018-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The experiance I was looking for Long story, many bikes, trying to find "the one." The Bobber is as close as it gets to what was in my mind. Great bike. Power, light weight, the performance you want for a smile. Fits my style of riding, i.e. - not looking for a touring bike. Short 50 miles jaunts, so this would work. All bikes need a "visceral" component. You need to want to look at it, on or off the bike. Yes, for me, this works. To me it is one of the best looking bikes out there. A home run. Indian nailed it.
Date published: 2018-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great power I took This on a test ride. It had Great-Power great responsiveness, It handled the highway with good pick up and passing ability just like a larger bike.I didn't care for the Bobber handlebars with the forward controls. A person was bent too far forward. But with longer Mini apes this would be a great ride. A person would also have to add a windshield to offset the Also would fit someone that was shorter. I had a lady that was 5' 3 mount the bike and she could stand flat footed.
Date published: 2018-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NO regrets with this one I have owned many bikes from high end to high performance. This is an amazing all around bike. This bike offers more smiles per mile than anything Ive owned!
Date published: 2018-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sweet Little Bobber I hadn't planned on test riding the Bobber, but I was last in line for a group test ride, and got last chioce. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed the short ride. Handling was flickable, power was strong, nice sound, actually very comfortable. I did not expect this of a Bobber. I'be never been interested in a Bobber, now this one has got me seriously interested. Would make a fun around town bike, easy to handle, and a fun commuter for work. I may have to get one now.
Date published: 2018-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks amazing! I have had this for a week. I can’t imagine myself on anything else. It is so maneuverable, has great power, and looks great. I’m very happy with it.
Date published: 2018-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Instant Thrills! Traded my 17 Scout for my Thunder Black Bobber. Low center of gravity makes it great for handling in any condition. So much fun and instant response as you rip through the gears, and when you come to a stop light, just look around you as people stare and give you the thumbs up. Only downside is short suspension travel which you will feel in the seat, but on a bike that is this much fun for the money...who cares! Get some!
Date published: 2018-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Long Reach LOVED this bike! Engine power was very smooth and predictable, gears changed very crisp, excellent clutch too! I didn't like how far forward the handlebars were, and I would have liked an analog RPM gauge. Cruise control needs to start becoming standard, especially if using throttle by wire. I also wish there was a Ivory Cream/Vintage Green version of the bobber, or perhaps some other vintage/faded color schemes.
Date published: 2019-04-26
  • y_2019, m_5, d_21, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_102
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19MTB00AA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Customer Reviews
Scout Bobber Thunder Black

Indian Scout Bobber

Starting at $12,499 US MSRP
Trim & Color options Thunder Black
Check Out Special Offers
Ride For Free All Summer Long
Indian Scout Bobber features
FEATURES Stripped-Down. Blacked-Out.

Slammed stance. Chopped fenders. Knobby tires. And now with ABS available on every color. The only place we didn’t hold back: the 69-cubic-inch V-Twin engine that pumps out 100 barely-tamed horsepower.

* Starting at MSRP is the manufactured suggested price and excludes delivery, setup, tax, title, license, and additional fees and expenses. Bikes may be shown with optional accessories. Final sale price determined by authorized Indian Motorcycle® dealer. Specifications and MSRP are subject to change. Due to California emissions regulations, additional costs may apply when purchasing or leasing a Motorcycle in California.