Indian Scout

Starting at $11,499 US MSRP

Shown with accessories

Build a Model BUILD YOURS Find a Dealer FIND A DEALER
2019 Indian Scout Thunder Black is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 895.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a Hoot! My 2016 Indian Scout is in one word Fun! It not only looks cool and is a real head turner, every time I stop at a gas station or store, there is always someone who is admiring the bike. It is a great conversation starter and I have met many old Indian riders curious about the new Indians. The Scout will put a smile on your face when you crank it up and ride. I find myself totally into the bike when I am riding, can't stop grinning and enjoying. It has power to spare, easy to control, you can flat foot it at stops. Indian really did it right in the design and execution of the Scout. Buy one, you won't regret it!
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of fun! I've had my Scout for a little over 14 months now, and it's a blast! I was surprised at how much lighter it felt than the Yamaha XSV1100 Custom I was riding since 2003, and how much more responsive it is..and all the compliments I get certainly don't hurt either!
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Money loser I bought my scout about five months ago.I don't like it very mutch the motor runs great but the trans is berry poor quality.I had four Harleys an three choppers and this is the worst transmission I ever had.no body sells aftermarket trans for the scout you are stuck with it I been complaining sence the first week second gear is terrible rough to say the least,the back shocks are berry cheap also.I put New mini apes on that helped and New crushed exhaust got rid of the stock junk.also put new grips the stock one's blow,and New floor boards the stock pegs are junk also should of checked this bike out more before I bought it.any body want a deal
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome bike! I wish it had a gas gauge, and more after market options, a lot of accessories have come out for the other models of indians but not this one. I have a 27" inseam and this bike is my bagger. It would be great to have the option for cruise control or heated grips and a heated seat, or at least the ability to add it if I wanted it. This is also the first bike I've had that doesn't have a neutral safety switch which is weird to me since the other bikes have it. However just because I'm short and can't get a bigger bike with more options does not mean I don't love my scout! Hopefully some after market options are available soon!
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding American cruiser I bought the 2015 Indian Scout to replace my '05 HD Sportster 1200 R. It has been a substantial upgrade in almost every way.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Bike !!! I bought this bike on June 2nd 2017 after taking one for a test ride. I loved it and decided I had to have it. I traded in my Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic - Which was my first bike. I had it for seven years. This Indian Scout is so much better in balance and power and ride comfort. It is a rocket! I had a windshield, engine guards, floorboards, saddle bags, and stage one exhaust added to it. I Love This Bike. My face hurts from grinning so much!
Date published: 2017-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable I bought this bike as a birthday gift for my wife. Riding it home I was impressed by how comfortable the riding position was. I bought the bike because the low seat height would allow my wife to stand flat footed when she stopped. Because of this I expected the riding position to be cramped. It was anything but. Forward controls and great placement of the handlebars made for a very comfortable ride. The bike also handled very nimbly and had great power. Lots of torque, so you weren't shifting all the time. I recently bought a Roadmaster and absolutely love it. I might sneak the Scout out of the garage every once in a while just to blast around.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible bike. I took delivery of my bike in May of 2015- one month after earning my motorcycle endorsement. In late August of 2015, after putting a few thousand miles on the bike, I embarked with a partner on a 6,500 mile trip cross country, to take place in a two week period. Though I am a beginning rider, I had no issues getting this bike to perform flawlessly; through wind, high speeds, rain, mountains, etc. This brings me to the craziest point about this bike- it's so approachable! In addition, I found it incredibly comfortable- allowing for a best of 800 miles in a single day! I had to carry a considerable amount of supplies as we primarily tent camped. I did this without issue on the Scout. When I want performance out of my Scout, I simply crank that throttle and all I want is on tap. When I want a classic American cruiser that effortlessly glides over the rolling plains, well, I have that too- and so much more. I contemplated the possibility of moving up to a larger Indian Dark Horse, but I simply would have an impossible time letting go of the Scout. I am now a few months away from my one year anniversary with the Scout. 12,000 miles later I love it even more than the day I took it home! It is truly amazing to think how this piece of machinery has so massively enriched my life.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ride it 'cause it's fun Purchased my 2016 Scout ABS in June of that year. Includes black bags, 2-up seating and a windshield. Wonderful joy-ride machine; a feisty little mare! And she's got the stiffest of frames. Weaknesses? The suspension is too soft/short for 2-up riding. I like it just fine when I'm alone, which is 99% of the time. I'm 5'6", 180, so I love the low seat, and rolling on that throttle is a thrill! Even 2-up, she just keeps on accelerating. Another weakness is the amount of vibration in the handlebars. But she's so much fun, I can't wait for spring.
Date published: 2018-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Obsessed with my new 2016 Scout ABS I'm 250 miles into my break in period, and loving every twist and turn. Great balance, just the right amount of torque at the low end and more than enough in the upper end. Great fit for my 5'6" frame and 160# due to reduced reach bars and seat. Smooth gear shifting and more use for 6th than I thought. Breaks all good and like knowing that ABS is there. I added the mid size windshield which is just enough without hurting the overall look. Also had to have the backrest and saddlebags, which have less capacity than I hoped. Suspension is a bit hard in the rear end, so I'm still figuring that out. I added Bassani two in one pipes to try to move the heat away from my right knee, but it's still very hot. Pipes sound awesome.
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A peppy fun scoot! I took a demo ride on this bike and it was a blast! I own a Chieftain, but was trying out the Scout as I looked for a short-distance commuter bike. My requirements were something small that I could ride on my short commute to and from work, about 20 miles, gas efficient, fun to ride, and a good corner carver. At 550lbs the bike was easy to hold up and maneuver. The 100hp and 72lbs of torque gave this bike all the power it needs to get you where you want to go quick and in a hurry, with great throttle response. The fact that its water-cooled is an added benefit when caught in city traffic. Overall, it a functional and fun bike that anyone would enjoy.
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sacagawea None of the fitment options are ideal (ie. Reduced/standard reach), poorly designed exhaust hot on leg at stop, transmission has a few issues with going into neutral when shifting from 5th to 6th, suspension - obviously, fuel capacity, tractor seat could use some spring and a sun/rain cover just for protecting the leather, turn signals move too much on rubber mounts, needs fork locks, needs helmet attachments, coolant level in reservoir needs better visibility (ie. Color or float...), and needs a small tool bag for under tractor seat.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Can't say enough about the Scout! Got my 2018 Scout 69 on Sept. 15, 2018. It's April 8th, 2019 and I have over 7K on it! I got it with a 20" windshield, saddlebags, touring passenger seat, backrests and saddlebags. It has not let me down. It's rock solid, reliable, maneuverable, sporty, sharp-looking and classy; you'll stand out from the sea of black, "that other brand we shall not mention". I ride two-up with my wife all the time and this bike handles it perfectly. Have ridden through hilly, twisty roads and it has all the power I need. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I wish it vibrated less at 70 MPH and above. Otherwise, I would give it 5 stars!
Date published: 2019-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Power Cruiser! Who Knew? I've had my Scout for a year and it has great performance and handling as well as being comfortable on longer trips. It even gets compliments from Harley riders. The one issue has been the less than optimal tires (switching to Michelins for this season) and front-end wobble in the wind. I had to add a steering head lock (only standard in Australia and maybe Europe) and finally found a security system that fit (Gorilla Series 9 Compact). I do miss the gear position indicator now on the 2016 model. Overall, it has been a very good bike. I also have a streetbike and a sports tourer, and the Scout holds its own despite being a cruiser.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'd give 10 stars if I could! I've had this bike for just over a year now, after purchasing sight unseen, and I absolutely could not possibly be happier! She's got power for days and, of course, with the legendary balance she handles like second nature. At 5'1, my Harley Sporty was too tall, with a sketchy center of balance, and my Honda Shadow Aero was grossly underpowered. Indian got this one just right! As great as this bike produces and handles, it looks even better! And with the gorgeous tan genuine Indian bags, I can easily have everything I need with me. Wherever I go, bike people flock to check er out. This is truly the motorcycle I've been waiting for all my riding life! Thanks Indian! I feel like this bike was custom designed just for me!:)
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Indian scout of china My name is Yang,I from china,Indian scout is my first motocycles,I very like this motocycles
Date published: 2017-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Looks + Great Build Quality = Great Ride! Had not planned on buying a bike in the Chicago area in late Nov 2016, but when I took a test ride on a Scout from Indian Motorcycle of Libertyville, IL I knew I had to buy it. I had owned a Harley Sportster 1200 Custom previously and the Scout is superior to the Sportster in ever way. Build quality is much higher on the Scout, the engine makes way more power, the transmission is light years ahead of the Harley and the Scout handles far better. Very satisfied with my Scout as well as the attention and great deal I received from the Libertyville dealership. Can't wait for Spring so I can start putting some miles on the bike.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Niiiiiceeeee... A beautiful and (mostly) wonderfully performing motorcycle. The only knocks are that the suspension is sub-par. The fork springs are way too soft, resulting in a slight wobble at freeway speeds. The rear shocks are not much better. Once those are replaced, there isn't much to criticize. It is a bit low. If you ride twisties, you'll scrape your pegs, but NBD. It's a matter of personal preference, I suppose, but for my taste, the cans are too large. It has more than adequate power. It would be nice to have an actual fuel gauge, and the pricing on accessories is just obnoxious. they'd sell more if they priced them better and would make up the difference in volume.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a Fun and Great Motorcycle I bought this bike last year and the experience has been amazing! I love showing it off and talking about it. It handles so well!!!
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bike Best mid cruiser on the market. Handles great wet and dry weather. Not a fan of stock sound. The skys the limit on personal style options. This is a pass down the generations bike. Plus Indian motorcycle offers a riders group to show off and hit the high way with.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to turn, snappy acceleration. Test rode the scout. Great turn in...It almost falls into the turn for you. Very little effort. Very easy to ride. Acceleration is great, it helps to be in the right gear...unlike the 111 engine that pulls in almost any gear. I'm 6'4" with a 34" inseam. This scout had the extended reach seat, but if it were mine, I'd get the extended reach foot controls as well. Gearbox is much better than I expected. Brakes and suspension work together flawlessly. Altogether great. I have no complaints about the bike. I just wish I were normal size..... Or that getting the proper seat and controls for my size was included in the MSRP.
Date published: 2019-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very, Very Fun Bike!! Purchased my Scout about a month ago and have grown to love it. It looks great, handles great, and the power is very pleasing. The next best thing to flying! The only criticisms I have, which are minor, are the somewhat stiff rear suspension and the "hard to read" dipstick. I'm going to try to adjust the rear shocks to soften the ride some. Suggest Indian source a dipstick that contrasts better with the color of oil. Perhaps a metal 'stick in a shade of light silver. My eyes aren't as good as they used to be. Otherwise, very happy with my purchase of the Scout, so far.
Date published: 2017-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Scout! Demo ride in Laconia: I've always loved the design of the Indian machines, the Scout and Bobber have great styling lines, Scout has a rich blue tank color, tan seats, chrome pipes, great looking machines. Comfortable setup, soft seat and gripping the bars seemed like a perfect fit to my body, easy to hop on and ride away. Nice engine sounds, great power though the gears, sporty, it was a really fun ride. I found myself saying, “I really like this bike” multiple times, it’s a machine that stood out as a one I'd like to get. (5 stars for ditching the group ride demo setup!)
Date published: 2019-06-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from look awesome I bought this bike last year. She has great look. But i had some problems as the clutch cable breaks and seal oil leak from the engine block.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from BE AWARE THIS IS NOT A LEGIT CRUISER This bike is a mix of a sport bike - cruiser , is very unconftable in long trips for tall people , im 6''2 , and i hate it , bought a scout red over black here in monterrey mexico, on one 2 hour trip i had the worst back pain in my whole life, the bike is amazing for acceleration, handling and fuel consumption... but then again if i wanted that i would buy a sport bike , sold it ASAP after my first long trip , don't buy this thing is you are tall or want a pure cruiser , this product is for the typical sport bike guy getting transform into cruisers.
Date published: 2017-11-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 2016 Indian scout Nice bike, but wish I would have waited for the 2017. The 2017 has better suspension and a tighter turning radius. The stock seat is like riding on a wooden plank, but a $275 mustang seat will allow you to ride for 250 miles instead of 25. If you're 150 pounds or less and want a light fast machine for short rides there is nothing better out there. If you're over 150 pounds and want to travel, plan to spend $2000 on a new seat, tires that don't suck in the rain, and front and rear suspension upgrades, or just buy a chief, because sooner or later you'll want to upgrade to one anyhow
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Middle Age Man's Crotch Rocket I took my bike home with a set of Vance & Hines Grenade exhaust installed and it was transformed into a rocket on 2 wheels. This thing is soooo fast and handles like a charm. By far the best street bike I've ever owned and the best looking.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just a great Motorcycle. I only have 500 miles and own two scouts. The fit/finish and quality is amazing. I have had zero issues so far. Powerful, great sound, stiff ride, all metal construction. My only complaints are no place for registration storage and a pain to check the oil. . It is also easy to ride and my wife has one as a new rider. too. The power is amazing and this thing hauls if you want it too. Frankly I have not been over 4K RPM and that is when it comes alive. She learned very fast and the narrow stature makes it easy to learn. I have considered a larger bike, but the Scout fits my needs. It is a real head turner too. Get ready to be stopped a lot and asked about it. Finally, the redfire color is amazing. It is pure red with no sun and a glowing golden red when the sun hits it. My wifes is Indian red and it's nice, but the pop of the pearl in the redfire is great.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Needs a few adjustments Upon riding for 2 weeks I realized a few misgivings. 1. The Kenda tires didn't exactly instill confidence. Replaced with Michelin Commanders. 2. Front spring rate was very soft. Replaced with new springs and emulators from Race Tech. 3. Although the saddle is beautiful it had to be replace because of pressure points on my tail bone.
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feisty little mare I bought my 2016 Scout-ABS in early June; a fabulous machine. She's a feisty little mare, an eager little hot rod. I've ridden nearly every day since, mostly to/from work. And I also go out for 20-40 mile joy rides, and sometimes take my wife for a ride. [I outfitted the Scout with saddlebags, passenger pegs and seat, sissy-bar/luggage rack and a short windshield]. Roll on the throttle and her speed/rpm just keep on climbing. Sweet! She's perfectly balanced and the frame has more stiffness than any cycle I've ever ridden; rock solid. If you want to ride 2-up most of the time, this is not the motorcycle for you. But the Scout is fun; you just want to go out riding solo.
Date published: 2016-10-05
  • y_2019, m_9, d_22, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_894
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19MSB00AA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 17ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Customer Reviews
MENU
Scout Thunder Black

Indian Scout

Starting at $11,499 US MSRP
Trim & Color options Thunder Black
Features
100 HORSES. UNLEASHED
100 HORSES. UNLEASHED.

The liquid-cooled, 69-cubic-inch, 100-horsepower V-Twin delivers punchy acceleration and the power to pass anyone, anywhere.

PREMIUM SUSPENSION
RIDE WITH CONFIDENCE

A low seat height and a lightweight frame makes for an easy, confident ride at every speed.

RIDE WITH CONFIDENCE
PREMIUM SUSPENSION

A cartridge fork front suspension and Pirelli tires provide a sporty feel while absorbing any bumps the road may throw at you.

See all Scout Features SEE ALL THE FEATURES
Customize Yours
-
Shop Scout Accessories SHOP ACCESSORIES