Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Scout

Starting at $11,499 US MSRP

Model shown with accessories

2020 Indian Scout Thunder Black is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 1027.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth ride! I just bought my Scout in Jan. It is my first bike and an excellent bike for a first timer!! It handles beautifully!!
Date published: 2021-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best motorcycle on the planet Awesome motorcycle. Love everything about it. Can’t wait for spring.
Date published: 2021-02-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Expensive I love the bike but instantly regretted buying it. For 17k I could’ve got a much better bike either Indian or Harley. Also if you are hoping to get accessories don’t hold you breath. I purchased the bike in December and it’s February and my passenger seat is still not here along with other accessories. Love the look of the bike but looking back I would’ve spent that money on a bigger bike with more features.
Date published: 2021-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic Best purchase ever. Limited edition fought my eye. I want another..
Date published: 2021-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice looking and lighter for my age This bike is lighter at only 500 lbs, compared to my other two bikes which are around 900 lbs, Also, this bike looks amazing, I love the colours and that it came with a faring! The size and weight make it easier to move around, and the handling is simply amazing!
Date published: 2021-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looks, ride and handling I bought the 100th Anniversary Scout in November for two main reasons. 1.) To have a local (less than 150 mile) good handling, great looking and easy mounting ride and 2.) to match my 1928 101 Scout at local shows / events. In all regards it is exceeding my goals and expectations. Absolutely great handling on local and back roads with torque and response to keep a smile on you face and envious looks from others. The match to the first generation Scouts is outstanding and an immediate draw to others.
Date published: 2021-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Size and Fast! I sold my VTX1800 because the weight was bothering me. I wanted at least a 1000cc and technically the Scout is 1200cc. So it rides nice. Enough passenger room for my wife. Carries us both well. I installed aftermarket driver running boards and will put passenger ones on in Spring. I like the factory accessories that (black leather saddle bags, black touring seat w/sissy bar, LED headlight and removeable windshield.) The bike is fast and smooth and you don't really know it on an open road! All of a sudden you're doing ( more than 55!) The bike is well balanced and has good handling. The Jade Green paint was quality and beautiful metallic. I would of liked a handlebar lock but they only come on models sold overseas. Not sure why not on the US bikes. I may invest in a small cable lock so at least it'll take effort to move it if somebody was going to. It should be at least an option on US Bikes. I am pleased with the dealer and product.
Date published: 2020-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Own Flying Carpet So smooth! Magnificent ride. I live in East County San Diego so I have a plethora of curvy roads. I dressed my Scout to my liking with longer handle bars, seats, sissy bar, saddle bags and windshield to make the max pleasurable riding experience. I ride as often as I am able. The fat tires and low riding position make me feel like I am on my own personal flying carpet. I love my cycle and would recommend it to everybody.
Date published: 2020-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike This bike is fun, easy and comfortable to ride, and is absolutely gorgeous looking.
Date published: 2020-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bike! I belong to a ladies group on Facebook and most were commenting on their Indians. I had to see for myself. I found the nearest dealer to me and saw the Scout. Beautiful bike. Went home with it! My only disappointment, it's easy to burn my right leg if I get it to close to the bike when at a stopped position.
Date published: 2020-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing bike!!!! I bought this bike in October, thinking i wouldnt have time to get to 800km for the first service this year. well, i hit that in a few weeks! im at 1500 after on lt 1.5 months ownership. just before winter too. I cant stay off of it!
Date published: 2020-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What difference 100 years make! As an owner of a fully restored 1921 Indian Scout, I could not pass up the opportunity to own the 100th anniversary edition. And I could not be happier. The bike is fast, comfortable and stylish. I hope to keep these two together forever!
Date published: 2020-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this bike! I was fortunate to buy one of the special edition Scouts. I love the smooth ride. The 100 HP really gives it the pick up I need. I live in the mountains and need it when climbing! Beautiful and functional. Just what I wanted!
Date published: 2020-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My first Indian I have owned 7 motorcycles in my life. This is my first Indian and I am extremely impressed. This bike handles better than any other bike I've had. Control is easy and comfortable.
Date published: 2020-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good buy for my needs I’m a senior rider with bad knees and a bad case of “shifter toe”. The bike is light and powerful, two of my three requirements. The forward controls plus after market heel toe shifter took the strain from my knees and pain from my toe. The lower seat height helps to steady the bike at stops. The torque curve comes on at higher rpms which makes the bikes power manageable in town and traffic. The brakes are very linear, but I wish the front had a more progressive feel. I love vintage look and the bike overall is miles ahead of the plasticy Metric cruisers. I’m 70 years old and had to put away my sport tourers but this bike has the weight and power I’m used too and should keep me on two wheels into my eighties.
Date published: 2020-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Where has the scout been all my life Purchased in September. This bike is perfect for me. Weighted low and seated low so my feet are flat, knees bent. Been riding almost 40 years and this is my 6th bike. Good things come to those who wait. She is beautiful, comfortable, easily controlled and gets compliments galore. Thank you, Indian, for the Scout.
Date published: 2020-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike I really enjoy the bike. It rides smooth, it has a lot of power, and it looks fantastic!
Date published: 2020-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really love my India Scout. I really love my Indian Scout. I put about 250 miles on it now. When I first bought it, it did have a motor problem, but Indian took care of it. Now my bike is running great they also threw in a bunch of free stuff for me, which made me feel really good. This Indian Scout handles like a dream, and you got a lot of real mayonnaise will power.
Date published: 2020-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun ride It may not be everyone's kind of bike, but it fits me perfectly, and rides like a dream, can't imagine riding a different bike
Date published: 2020-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best buy ever Bought bike 2 months ago. Super light with lots of get up and go. Engine stays nice and cool so issues in town. 2 up good. Drove 3 hrs for first maintenance. Very comfortable
Date published: 2020-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great looking bike Easy to ride just wish it was a little louder. Beautiful bike.
Date published: 2020-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding! As an owner of 14 motorcycles and 3 Indians (Chief Vintage ‘14, Darkhorse ‘11, and now Scout 40th) I LOVE this bike. The looks, the ride, the styling, the refinement, the attention to detail, the cold fusion power below 3800 rpms, and the nuclear power above 3800 rpms, and just general feel of this bike is OUTSTANDING. Nice work Indian. Added hand warmers and the fish tail pipes which give an extra roar to this beauty!
Date published: 2020-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well balanced I I bought this this summer and love it great ride looks great
Date published: 2020-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Mid Size Cruiser After a 37 year riding hiatus, I decided to get back into it on a new Indian Scout ABS. It was definitely the right choice to start riding again. Styling, handling, power are all excellent. Glad I made this choice!
Date published: 2020-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 1st Indian, great bike! Originally looked at this as an investment, but after riding it the first 1K miles I realized I'd invested in smiles. Good solid handling bike, very responsive to controls. Tweaked it for the way I ride (who doesn't?)
Date published: 2020-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Needs a better belt guard Has a plastic belt guard and the stick on reflectors have already fallen off. However, the mechanics of the bike are sound. Balance, handling and power to weight ratio are almost perfect.
Date published: 2020-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing first motorcycle I bought this Scout just over a month ago as my first motorcycle, and have already put in 900 miles. I am six feet tall, and actually love how low it is. It feels very stable and I am never worried that it will tip over. I am also glad I went with the regular Scout and not the Scout Sixty or anything less powerful. At first, it sounded like this engine would be too powerful for a first motorcycle, but I grew into it responsibly. "Responsibly," as in I already took it up to 100 mph. This this purrs, then she growls ... she's like a panther! I am so excited to grow older with this motorcycle. I only put on highway bars, and do not any other accessory at this time. She takes corners really well, and have yet to scrap a peg (knock on wood). Indian, you all hit this out the park! Please never stop producing the Scout!
Date published: 2020-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bike I’ve ever owned! Have owned many different styles and makes of motorcycles this scout is by far my favorite.
Date published: 2020-10-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Retro Beauty Purchased 8/14/2020, after looking at sever HD an Triumphs
Date published: 2020-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In Love I've had to change things to make her my own but I wouldn't want to ride anything else.
Date published: 2020-10-02
  • y_2021, m_4, d_21, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_1026
  • loc_en_US, sid_N20MSB00AA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Customer Reviews

Trim & Color Options

Scout Thunder Black

Scout

Starting at $11,499 US MSRP
Trim & Color options Thunder Black

Features

Features
The Indian 100-horsepower V-twin engine
100 HORSES. UNLEASHED.

The liquid-cooled, 69 cu in, 100 hp V-twin delivers punchy acceleration and the power to pass anyone, anywhere.

A man riding an Indian Scout motorcycle on the road
RIDE WITH CONFIDENCE

A low seat height and a lightweight frame makes for an easy, confident ride at every speed.

The Indian Scout front wheel
PREMIUM SUSPENSION

Premium front suspension and Pirelli tires provide a sporty feel while absorbing any bumps the road may throw at you.

Customize Yours