Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Indian Scout

Starting at $11,499 US MSRP

Shown with accessories

Build a Model BUILD YOURS Get Local Price Get Local Price
2019 Indian Scout Thunder Black is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 907.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feisty little mare I bought my 2016 Scout-ABS in early June; a fabulous machine. She's a feisty little mare, an eager little hot rod. I've ridden nearly every day since, mostly to/from work. And I also go out for 20-40 mile joy rides, and sometimes take my wife for a ride. [I outfitted the Scout with saddlebags, passenger pegs and seat, sissy-bar/luggage rack and a short windshield]. Roll on the throttle and her speed/rpm just keep on climbing. Sweet! She's perfectly balanced and the frame has more stiffness than any cycle I've ever ridden; rock solid. If you want to ride 2-up most of the time, this is not the motorcycle for you. But the Scout is fun; you just want to go out riding solo.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great around town ride ! I traded in a Yamaha 1300 V-Star. That bike was really more for touring, which I never do. The Scout has several features I like. Nice looks abound; even the squared off highway bars are about the best I have even seen. The weight is about 100 lbs less than the old bike, which was appealing. Instrumentation is better than the old bike as well. The shift points are really better than the Yamaha, and are noticeable. I can tell the gearing is such to keep the RPMs a bit higher than the old bike, I think to keep more power available if I ever need it. That is all good. MPG numbers seem equal to the old bike, which is ok since I have more power available. Nice job guys.
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Tall Rider This motorcycle is everything I wanted out of a bike. I was hesitant, as I have lower back trouble, and am 6'7", with a 36" inseam. I have the extended foot controls, and the extended seat, with the standard bars, and I can ride for hundreds of miles a day in comfort. I've made a few simple modifications (steel cargo rack, custom...louder...exhaust, hand grips wrapped), but overall I greatly enjoy this bike.
Date published: 2016-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Ride I was meant to experience. This motorbike wasn't purchased without some serious consideration,and time spent researching. It did not disappoint. In fact,exceeded my expectations. It's first trip was across the border,into Canada and around the Great lakes. Not only did he perform in such a way I felt joy every time I threw my leg over,I also experienced exhilaration as he was a head turner and new to other riders. When the specs were shared,the excitement only grew in other bikers. This motorcycle did not give me what I expected-I've gained a whole lot more. See y'all on the road
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Cruiser Well built motorcycle with the exception of the location of the rear exhaust header being way too close to the rider's right inner leg causing heat discomfort while sitting still. I'm still working with solutions to correct this engineering/design issue without having to replace the OEM exhaust system. Note: There is plenty of room for this rear header pipe to be made closer to the frame, away from the rider. Stock mufflers were way too quiet and replaced with Bassani fishtail slip-ons.
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from '16 Scout review I've never owned a street bike before buying the Scout. I rode dirt bikes growing up but stopped riding when the kids arrived. Now the kids have moved out it was time to start riding again. Wanting an american made v twin I chose the Indian Scout based on reviews and the fact I can't stand the looks of a Sportster. I have nothing against Harleys but being a beginning rider I didn't want something in the 700 lb range to learn to ride on. I purchased the 2016 scout without even taking a test ride. Once I decide I'm no longer a beginner I look forward to owning a variant of the Chief line having not decided which I like best at this time. For the time being I always look forward putting more miles on the Scout and I couldn't be happier.
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not a reliable bike, price is very high i bought this bike nov 26 or 27 and now two weeks in it wont start. my buddy bought his a week ago and its having the same problem. with that being said its 25 degrees here and im new to riding but all the guys that i know that have been riding for a long time said brand new bikes should not be having a starting issue like this. for the money this thing cost me i could have had a harley and 4000 more to play with. i didnt buy a bike to send it in and out of the dealer to get fixed. Though i will say the staff at my local dealership are very helpful and working with me.
Date published: 2017-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous bike I bought this back in April 2016, never regretted it. I love riding her.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bike I have ever owned, Really!!!!!!! I bought this Bike late last season, There is no Indian dealer in Alaska, Had to get it out of Washington, Lynnwood Moto-Plex, Yes I bought the Scout without a test ride, but after viewing 60-70 u-tubes, I pulled the trigger and have not looked back since! Working through the logistics with the Dealer is a whole nether chapter! Finally got it here and 4hrs later Won Ambassadors choice in the bear paw festival. Nice!! Thanks Indian, I will have this Bike forever, Evan
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I got one of the earlist ones ... ...& couldn't be happier, overall -- DESPITE the fact that the engine suffered catastrophic failure at only 1600 miles & required hand-rebuild by the selling dealer. All of the expenses (except travel time/costs) were covered under warranty, & although the turnaround time was a bit extreme (thanks to difficulty obtaining replacement parts from the factory -- some of which had to actually be pulled off the assembly line for new bikes), the final outcome seems to be an engine that actually feels 'freer' & more broken-in (mine has the factory performance upgrade). Now if they could only have done better on the ridiculously overpriced side=bags & mounts (re: which I went aftermarket...)
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my Scouts! Both of them! We bought two - one for me and one for my spouse, and we couldn't love a bike more. Easy to ride, light, fast, confidence inspiring. And gorgeous! We bought the brown saddle bags, windshields, and a few other add ons, and we get stopped all of the time. We like to park where we can see them (when stopping for lunch, etc.) and people are always stopping, staring, and taking photos. Amazing product. We are huge Indian fans! LOVE these machines. They truly have it all... looks, quality, speed, style, and at a price that doesn't break the bank.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2015 Indian Scout Love, love, love this motorcycle. I've owned all types and models, but this is the first I've ever felt compelled to purchase brand new. The looks are amazing, and the engine - oh my goodness, that engine!!!! Thank you Polaris for not just bringing back Indian, but honoring it's distinguished history while advancing the brand's technology and build quality beyond what is offered by other motorcycle companies!!! This was my first Indian, and it certainly won't be my last. Because of the Scout and my experience with Indian - I'm hooked, and I'll be back for another new "motocycle" in the near future!
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2016 Indian scout AMAZING! I live in upstate New York and haven lt haven't have much seat time since I bought my scout in February. In have 55 miles in it now and I love the bike. This is my first cruiser. I added the mini ape bangers and stage 1 exhaust sounds amazing. I also have the saddle bags and passager seat. So far I have no issue with the performance and handling of the bike love the ride only a few things I would change are two things why would you make saddle bags that cost $1000 and not have a way to lock them and only offer quick release so someone can walk off with them. Thank god I have someonwho works with me that works Leather and is putting locks on them for me. Second why the heck wouldn't you put a steering stem lock on the American version but the European version they should make it standards across the board. Here are a few photos one is of my great grandfather on his Indian back in the day I do believe it was a 1914 tourists standard model.
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smooth and balanced I had not rode a motorcycle in a decade got on the scout and it was like I had been riding steadily for that lost time. My dream growing up was to own an Indian just like one of the coolest cats to ever grace earth, Steve McQueen. I feel it ever time I'm on it. The compliments and disbelief that Indian is back and is it ever. Don't just take my word, find a dealer and test one out. You'll feel like you're on a bigger bike with better control but that sturdy feeling you get from the bigger bikes out there. The only negative I would give it is the same with any stock bike, the weak sounding pipes but for 200 xchoppers slip ones pipes has mine sounding like 400 dollars slip ones
Date published: 2016-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Bike I quit riding for almost ten year when my friend was killed on his bike. I stated getting the itch again and brought it up to my wife and she said maybe it was time. I began looking at all the brands and models. I wanted something unique that one that you wouldn't see at every other stop. I came across the Indian website and there she was in red. She was in red and was different from the other models I had seen. I showed it to my wife and she said that's the only bike I'll LET you buy. There wasn't any argument from me so I pre-ordered my first run and haven't looked back. It's comfortable, plenty of power and easy to handle. I'd recommend a scout to anyone whether your a seasoned or new.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 1st Run 2015 Scout I was on my way to buy a Harley when I saw the advertisement for a first Run 2015 Scout. I turned around and went home and called the closest Indian dealer and he said I would have to go on a waiting list and December 25 2015 I picked it up and it was the first one delivered and wow what a bike. It will never be traded or sold.
Date published: 2017-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great so far! I bought the scout about a month ago. Have only about 800 miles on it so far due to about a week and a half of rain :-( The bike has plenty of giddy up as it can keep up with my buddies 1700 CC bike. The only negative is the exhaust is a little quiet for my taste. I suppose it could be a positive for many though. The brown leather seats really looks good and accents the bike nicely. I get about 100 miles to a tank and it usually is a little less than 3 gallons of gas to fill it up. Overall the bike is now my baby and I would highly reccommend test driving one if you are even remotely interested.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Never again Wonderful bike - Rides great - but 3 local dealerships including the one I purchased it from are horrible for service - they are all too too concerned with the multiple brands they sell - they have no interest in warranty work - I have had to pay for all the work I have needed - got told today gauge replacement and moving mileage over is too much work - so another $1000 out of pocket have it done right.
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm in love with this machine! Nearly six thousand miles later, and I'm still in love. Only two changes so far; one mandatory and one optional. The stock horn (like all stock horns) is very weak...a little "meep" when hit. For $10.50 I bought a FIAMM Freeway Blaster horn from Amazon. Same connections so a piece of cake to put in. The option was a pair of 3 inch Bassani slip on pipes, which are louder and throatier than the stock exhaust, and are the perfect change. All the guys I ride with have Harley's; mostly Road Kings. I wouldn't swap if I could, and as the odd Indian, I get all the attention at biker events :).
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful styling, fabulous handling, first class. Did a demo ride Nov.'15 in Long Beach, CA and was hooked. Had to have one. Every report I read, gave it glowing accolades. The video, "A New Legacy; The 2015 Scout" with both engineers explaining how and why they designed the Scout trying to keep some of the history and considering how the Scout might have evolved if Indian had never gone out of business, is a fabulous watch. I have watched it numerous times.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First Road Bike - Love It!!! While I had to wait 3 months for my Scout, it was worth it! I grew up riding dirt bikes and the transition to this one was super easy. It's light enough to handle easily, and has plenty of power. My only criticism is that there's no gas gauge - just a warning light. Yes, you have a trip meter so you can probably predict when you're getting low, but since the tank is fairly small compared to my friends with bigger bikes, I have to stop for gas before they do. That does not take away the joy of riding, though! My 80 year old dad just rode it (lifetime motorcycle guy) and HE loved it, too.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bike i’ve ever owned Owned two harleys sportster and dyna.. kawasaki ninja 650 and homda rebel 500.. still have my dyna and rebel... just picked up 2018 indian scout and hands down the best motorcycle i’ve ever owned.. get alot of compliments and looks. The bike handles like a dream and is very fast. Taking this motorcycle thru the twisties is when i really enjoy it most. I rarely ride my other bikes since i bought the scout.
Date published: 2017-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dream machine I dreamt about owning one of these bikes since I very first saw it in a magazine in 2015. Indian is the perfect embodiment of true Americana style, tradition, and a completely self confident machine that doesn't need to rely on an unfortunate ego like some other brands. For me, riding a motorcycle is all about the love of adventure, untethered freedom, and the bond forged between man and machine. Together, we can experience life fully.. wild, raw, and completely natural. Riding a motorcycle is a way of life much like the romanticized Cowboys of the old west. When I first rode my Indian scout, I knew it was a match made in heaven. It's a partnership that I will savor for many many years to come.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Terrific Motorcycle I traded in a Slingshot for my 2017 Icon ABS Scout. I am extremely happy I did. I've had it for two months and have put 1200 miles on it. The Scout is an absolutely great motorcycle. Very little vibration, very responsive, sounds great, and is made very well. The bike is easy to ride and slow speed maneuverability is excellent. The Icon paint job turns heads everywhere I take it. This is my first Indian and I'm so impressed with it that I plan on buying a Chief soon and I will have the Scout and the Chief.
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Its just a GREAT machine. I was ready to buy a new bike early in 2016. I tried various motorbikes whilst I was looking and none of them hit the spot for me. I went to my local dealer to test ride a 3 more motorbikes and was disappointed with them all. The sales manager suggested I test the Indian and I liked it straight away. It wasn't on my list, but I am glad I tried it. It handled well, performance was excellent and I love the look. I placed my order and haven't looked back since. I added panniers, passenger seat/backrest and I changed the exhaust to give a tone that I prefer. It was a great choice for me.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun! Nimble! Quick! Smiles! I bought this motorcycle as a second bike that I can load in my toy hauler for my trips south in the winter. With it's low center of gravity and steering geometry it is a blast to ride, whether around town or on those mountain road curves. I added the taller handle bars, pulled the rear seat off and put a flat luggage rack in its place. Opened the intake and exhaust and stage one tuned it. It is just right! Only nit I have found is when you ride in the rain, the short front fender allows water off front tire to blow back at you. Just means you get to wash the bike after those rides.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bike performs like an extension of myself I rode this after several Harleys, and the difference is unbelievable. The power, control, balance, and responsiveness feel just like the exotic cars and race cars I have driven. I am more comfortable on the highway, more stable at speed, and in more control through corners than on any other motorcycle. And the looks are awesome - it is a head-turner. I tell everyone considering a new bike that they should not make any decision until they have ridden an Indian. I added the Stage 1 slip-on pipes, windshield, and tan bags. Otherwise the bike is stock. I could not be happier with it.
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My first American Iron I brought the Indian Scout in March this year (2018) and had the dealer add a few extras. Saddlebags, Windscreen, Chrome luggage rack, Stage 1 exhaust and air, plus footplates. The bike handles perfectly for the type of riding I enjoy and has more than enough performance when required. My only gripe would be the lack of a fuel gauge and this model doesn't come in Indian Red.
Date published: 2018-06-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great ride, but unreliable I bought this bike new last year, and have put 15,000 miles on it. In the last 6,000 miles, I have had three major mechanical failures that resulted in my bike being in the shop for extended periods while awaiting parts. The first time, the bike was dying in the middle of turns or at stops and had to be towed to the dealer. They said it was an oxygen sensor, and kept it about a week. Two weeks later, it did the same thing, only this time it wouldn't even start after it left me stranded on the side of the road. Once again, it was towed to the dealer, who this time said it was a fuel pump, and I was without a vehicle again for about two weeks. Currently, it is once again in the shop, awaiting parts to repair a blown main cover gasket and clutch cover gasket that caused it to start losing about 1/2 quart of oil every 100 miles or so. I bought the bike because I needed a reliable bike to get to work in the next county every day, and I have had to call in three times due to bike failure. In addition, I am the only Indian rider in my chapter of the Combat Veterans Motorcycle Association. It is quite embarrassing that I have to keep missing our rides, meetings, and major fund raiser because my brand new Indian is in the shop... again. The Harley riders are quite amused, I'm not.
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sweet bike for the price - Love the Indian Style I've been on this bike for less than 4 months. It is stock with Indian bags passenger seat and pegs along with aftermarket pipes. The comparable Victory (another Polaris brand) was a few grand more completely stock, and a new HD with the same features was out of my price range. This bike looks awesome and it is nimble / small enough to throw into the corners and really have FUN on. I'm a smallish guy (5'6") and this bike fits me really well. Even if money were no object and I wanted a fun cruiser to tool around town and maybe take some day trips I think I'd still get this bike.
Date published: 2016-10-05
  • y_2020, m_4, d_3, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_906
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19MSB00AA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 98ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Customer Reviews
MENU
Scout Thunder Black

Indian Scout

Starting at $11,499 US MSRP
Trim & Color options Thunder Black

ICON Series motorcycles are part of a limited-availability factory custom paint program.

Features
100 HORSES. UNLEASHED
100 HORSES. UNLEASHED.

The liquid-cooled, 69-cubic-inch, 100-horsepower V-Twin delivers punchy acceleration and the power to pass anyone, anywhere.

PREMIUM SUSPENSION
RIDE WITH CONFIDENCE

A low seat height and a lightweight frame makes for an easy, confident ride at every speed.

RIDE WITH CONFIDENCE
PREMIUM SUSPENSION

A cartridge fork front suspension and Pirelli tires provide a sporty feel while absorbing any bumps the road may throw at you.

See all Scout Features SEE ALL THE FEATURES
Customize Yours
-
Shop Scout Accessories SHOP ACCESSORIES