Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Indian Scout

Starting at $11,499 US MSRP

Shown with accessories

Build a Model BUILD YOURS Get Local Price Get Local Price
2019 Indian Scout Thunder Black is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 904.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bike but needs More accessories I bought the bike about six months ago and have put about 2500 miles on it. I rode it to Sturgis for the rally and it performed wonderfully on the road and at high speeds. My only complaint is the lack of accessories for the Scout. In particular, I need floorboards and cruise control for riding on the highway. There is very little available for the Scout through Indian and also not much in the aftermarket. More accessories need to be available and it would be helpful if they didn't cost a fortune like most of the Indian accessories do. Overall, I am very happy with the bike.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun ride. Smooth ride and responsive handling. Accelerates very well. Looks and sounds great. The only issues that I have had are that the clutch lever seems to stay loose and rattles quite a bit. From the factory, the clips on the rear brakes were bent and caused a screeching sound when I backed the bike up--this has since been fixed. My instrument gauge had water leak into it during a hard rain--Indian has replaced it. Though, they were not able to reset the odometer to the correct mileage. All in all it's been a great bike and I'd recommend it for hopping around town and commuting.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth shifting gobs of torque! I've owned many bikes and makes in my life, and the scout is the first bike I rode that made me shelf everything else. It is quality built and runs tight and powerful, always plenty of torque to pull away in any gear! smooth shifting and plenty of power! the low seat height and light weight make the bike a dream to ride. I will ride nothing else!
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I purchased the scout for my wife as she's ready to move up to a more road worthy motorcycle.
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from nice bike but could be better Have only put a few hundred miles on my bike so far, it handles really well, seat is not very comfortable, after only 20 to 30 minutes of riding my back and butt are suffering. Power is very good, not much sound from factory pipes and they could probably look a little better but I do get a lot of compliments on how the bike looks. Throttle spring is to hard, it's like a battle against the spring to keep the throttle open, if you relax too much you will be slowing down. Lots of cool accessories but they are over priced
Date published: 2017-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast and light I have own my Scout for 6 months. I changed a few things. Installed a chief fender, solo seat and fish tail exhaust. Small wind shield for high speeds. and a concho for that blank space. It gets lots of attention. And a picture of my custom wall of death bike. The front fender from my bike is the rear fender for the WOD bike.
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great upgrade on seat. Suspension. Had a blast. Been training on a Harley sportster 1200 and the difference is night and day. I appreciate Harley’s “clunk” of the shifter, rattle of the engine, but the Indian shines on the suspension and smooth ride.10 times better than the sportsters including the iron 883. the scout had great throttle response, and nice upgrade on the new seats. stylistically it always wins but I also enjoyed the dash display. Visiting the demo truck at Ukes Harley at the end of the month to get another feel for what I’m buying next year, but right now it’s Indian. Appreciate the demo.r
Date published: 2019-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Its not a perfect motorcycle, but there most likely is no such thing. It is fun powerful and with a few factory corrections quite possibly the most fun bike to ride and own in a long time. The Scout might just be the best blending of the old and the new working in a pleasing yet functional harmony. I have been asked what year is it and yet have tossed it into corners that modern day sport bikes would seem better suited to attack. My overall impression is what a fun motorcycle to ride and for me that is why I choose to through a leg over a motorcycle in the first place.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Terrific style & value I bought my Scout to downsize from a Victory Vision Tour (thinking my long distance touring bug had passed). Its power & agility won me over. I enjoy its style & light weight. The finish is excellent & it's outfitted with bags & will probably take me on yet another cross-country trip in the next season (the bug came back). I'm not as happy with the standard shocks which are pretty brutal, & I switched to a Mustang seat. The price of Indian gear is high; I hope that comes down over the next while. My 2015 does not have ABS which I feel should be standard on all bikes.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Indian Scout My husband and I purchased this bike for me just a month ago and I have already put almost 1,000 miles on it. It rides great if just tooling around in the city and also on long trips. The only thing I would change is that it would have a wider turning radius. I am pleased with this bike and would recommend it to anyone who is looking at one as a possibility for their own. Not only does it ride great, and the weight is balanced exceptionally well, but it is great for cruising as well as enough power to MOVE!! I can outrun my husband's Harley with no problems!!
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Indian Scout Thunder Black The Indian Scout is a beautiful piece of machinery. Its sleek looks, smooth sounds, and impeccable handling make this an ideal bike for riding both short and long distances. The bike is afforded some great features, and additional accessories do nothing but enhance the bike-owner's experience. A second seat is the perfect addition to the Indian Scout, for multiple rider experience. The Indian Scout is both agile and powerful, perfectly balanced in all aspects. If you are in the market or thinking about purchasing a motorcycle, look no further than the Indian Scout.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from well balanced,comfortable, I purchased the emrald green Idian Scout on December 30th . I took it for my first ride January 6th 2018. WOW was i suprised this bike is the Bomb! It handles well it looks great the bike has great balance and on top of all that its fast. I was so happy I got an indian . I tried and have owned lots of bikes in the last 45 years and the indian is far superior to all of them and it blowes the bike manufacturer I will not mention away and the price "WOW"
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One Great Ride! Rode the Scout from Texas to North Carolina to ride the famous "Tail of the Dragon". What an epic ride! The Scout was awesome and drew attention everywhere we went. Jaw dropping performance and stunning good looks confirmed I made the right choise.
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Scout sets the standard for mid-size cruiser Just picked up my new Scout after getting on one at a Demo Days riding event. Even with three other bikes in the stable, it was clear from the first throttle roll that this would be next. The pep is surprising, even knowing the specs on paper. Handling blows my Sporty away. Already a magnet for interested folks, the paint scheme is great (Indian has come a long way there). With this and the RM, there really isn't any need for anything else.
Date published: 2017-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In Love, Again!!! I have been riding for 35 years, was a MSF Instructor/Rider Coach for 25 years, and owner of Motorcycling Enterprises, Inc. SafeRider School in Wisconsin for 17 years. Have owned and ridden all different brands and styles of motorcycles; have logged over half-million motorcycle miles. I am 5'5" tall, 75 y.o., had lower back surgery 3 years ago. Due to my age and surgery, I have sustained a great loss of muscle strength. I down-sized from my H-D Ultra to a H-D Heritage Softail. I rode an Indian Scout at my husbands insistance and fell in love. 220#'s lighter than my Heritage, great road clearance, ABS, beautiful, nimble and easy to handle, loves those curves, what more could a grown girl want!!! Youbetcha, I'm in love, again.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Bike I bought this February 2015, I now have over 36,000 miles and can't wait for riding season to start again. This bike is quick and take me anywhere I want to go... Day trips up to 700 miles to taking 2000 mile trips.
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Almost There I liked the good power to weight of the scout. it looks really good, and uses 'updated' tech like water cooling and ride by wire. Feels fairly powerful and sturdy. It's an Indian! Tank shape is rad. Do not like the feet forward position, and the seat is only OK. The backrest spool mounts are a terrible design and obtrusive without the backrest. Would prefer this motor and transmission in a more standard chassis.
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Indian Scout = Stylish power I bought a 2016 Scout about 2 months ago and have put about 800 miles on it. I traded in a factory lowered 2007 BMW F800ST at the time of purchase. I am a 5'5" tall woman. While I loved the F800ST, I am indeed on the short side - even for the factory lowered version. How do I love my Scout? Let me count the ways! It is gorgeous and I fit perfectly on it. I did get reduced reach bars and seat. The ride is powerful and solid. Many of the 800 miles are highway miles - and I felt very solid on the highway. This bike is so easy to handle. You cannot beat the power to weight ratio on a cruiser. Yes, quite a different ride than my wonderful F800. But equally good in it's own way and better than the BMW for fit. Way to go Indian!
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What motorcycling should be about! I bought the bike about a month ago after a few years removed from riding. The Scout caught my eye due to its retro/vintage look. I was given the opportunity to do a test ride at the dealer and I knew it was a bike for me. I previously rode a sportsbike and wanted a cruiser position bike without the big stuffy cruiser look or feel. The Scout certainly fits the bill. The bike is nimble, quick and sporty yet feels well built. I am 6'1 and 230 yet the bike feels roomy and comfortable. The Scout is what motorcycling should be all about... simple and fun. It does however, have some minor imperfections like any other bike. Though the tranny is smooth, second can be a bit sticky. The rear tire at times feels a bit thin and the suspension is stiff. Also the mirrors could use help. If you are in the market for a new bike, you definetely should test ride one.
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Because it's an Indian! I haven't ridden a motorcycle in 37 years and decided it was time to ride again. When I looked at the Indian models I was sold on their style. I did a lot of research before I bought one and they got rave reviews. There are a lot of v-twins out there, most of them are from one manufacturer, I wanted to be a little different and not have the same bike as everyone else. I get a lot of complements on my bike and would buy another Indian.
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from celebrity bike! I've owned my scout since 2015. I bought a first run bike and am glad I did! It looked awesome on the web and in the video reviews so I immediately put in my order. When the bike arrived it was everything it claimed to be. It handles like a sport bike and a cruiser all in one. Tons of power and great lean angle. I'm the only guy in the city with a scout, that I can tell. I don't see any others because there's no dealer in British Columbia. This makes me a celebrity. Everywhere I go I get compliments and when I have it parked and return to the bike there's often people standing by it checking it out. They always want to talk about it. I think I should carry autographed photos in the awesome leather bags to give out to my fans. LOL.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bike..easy off, easy on! I rode a Scout and a Scout Bobber at recent Demo Days In Charleston illinois. It was a really nice riding experience. I first rode the Bobber and was not comfortable on it at all. But I really liked the ease of the way it shifted. So, I next rode the Scout. I was much more comfortable on it and l enjoyed the ride a lot. The experience was a good one for me even though I am not sure the Scout is the right bike for me at this time.
Date published: 2019-06-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mistake I brought this in September and had problems from day one. Repairs take a long time because parts were difficult to get on the. New bike because they don't have any supply at on hand
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice ride with improvments Overall I have enjoyed this motorcycle however the suspension needs work as in stiffer fork springs and improved shocks. After upgrading the suspension I am enjoying the bike
Date published: 2016-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Its good ITS VERY GOOD, It is my daily rider, I needed a bike to ride when working on my old built out H-D sportster. I looked at the new H-D bikes and saw nothing worth buying, their new engine is a joke. When I started riding the Indian I was impressed by the power and smooth handling.I love to take it out and run the roads in the Kettle Moraine area near me (curvy very curvy.) All and all really nice. Doing this stuff for 52 years from dragsters to flat track, your motorcycle runs with the best I have had over the years. Had to change out the pipes. Scott
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely best bike ever! I have owned this bike for one year and have absolutely no complaints. Polaris has done an excellent job of engineering and producing a very high quality product.
Date published: 2016-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Issues with the bike, seat is uncomfortable for long rides. After about an hour and a half my butt falls asleep or starts to hurt. I spend time shifting my weight around to try and get comfortable. Turning radius is not very good. Flashers should show that you are turning right or left. They just blink both ways now. I wish that the exhaust was deeper and a little louder. I think this can be accomplished if I purchase different pipes, but it should come standard on the bike. When I have a rider on the bike, I can feel every bump through the seat.
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Motorcycle!!! I bought my scout just before the 4th of July and man was it worth it!! Though the accessories are a bit pricey they were worth it.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Won't start I have right around 2000 miles on my brand new scout and its been at the shop for 3 weeks because it wont start. Im a little ticked off, I bought a new bike so I wouldn't have problems and now Im paying for one I cant ride.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This bike is mind blowing! I recently purchased a 2017 Indian Scout ABS in the two tone color option. I am absolutely blown away by how much of an amazing bike this is. Polaris hit it out of the ballpark with this bike, and that's an understatement. I come from a mostly sport bike background. Previous bikes I owned include a Ducati 999R, an Aprilia RSV4 Factory, an Aprilia RSV Mille R, a Ducati 998S, and so many more sport bikes I can't even count. Anyways, as I get older, I decided I wanted something more comfortable to ride, but still sporty enough that I can have fun with it. I originally bought a 2014 Harley Forty Eight, but I was disappointed. While it's a reasonable comfortable bike, the suspension is garbage, and it vibrates so much it will rattle your fillings out. I got turned onto Indians from reading motorcycle magazines, and boy am I glad I did! This Scout is a real wolf in sheep's clothing. It looks and feels like a cruiser in terms of riding comfort. However, open this bad boy up and you're in for a very nice surprise. Gobs of power on demand, an engine that just purrs (yet doesn't vibrate like the Harleys do), and a very lightweight feel, despite the actual weight of the bike. We live out in the country, so I have the opportunity to ride all these twisty backroads. This thing is a beast in the corners! Sure, you can't drag your knees like a sport bike, but this thing whips through the corners with minimal effort, and you remain completely upright and comfortable at the same time! I'm still trying to find words big enough to describe how amazing this bike is. It's the only cruiser I've ever ridden that performs like a sport bike. You can manage to be comfortable and relaxed, but still have an amazing time on those fun backroads. As I said before, Polaris hit it out of the ballpark with the revival of the Indian brand. Their marketing is genius, the bikes provide both form and function (and look killer too), and the dealer network seems to ever expanding. I'll tell you what... Harley Davidson is about to get a serious run for their money. This bike just destroys a Harley Sportster in every aspect.
Date published: 2017-09-01
  • y_2020, m_2, d_21, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_903
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19MSB00AA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 70ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Customer Reviews
MENU
Scout Thunder Black

Indian Scout

Starting at $11,499 US MSRP
Trim & Color options Thunder Black
Features
100 HORSES. UNLEASHED
100 HORSES. UNLEASHED.

The liquid-cooled, 69-cubic-inch, 100-horsepower V-Twin delivers punchy acceleration and the power to pass anyone, anywhere.

PREMIUM SUSPENSION
RIDE WITH CONFIDENCE

A low seat height and a lightweight frame makes for an easy, confident ride at every speed.

RIDE WITH CONFIDENCE
PREMIUM SUSPENSION

A cartridge fork front suspension and Pirelli tires provide a sporty feel while absorbing any bumps the road may throw at you.

See all Scout Features SEE ALL THE FEATURES
Customize Yours
-
Shop Scout Accessories SHOP ACCESSORIES