Indian Springfield Dark Horse

Starting at $21,999 US MSRP
2019 Indian Springfield Dark Horse Thunder Black Smoke is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 45.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Marvelous Engineering!! The Ride, acceleration, handing/cornering and attractiveness of this bike makes it stand alone amongst all cruiser type motorcycles. A little pricey, but when you compare it to the Harley equivalent, then it hits a home run!! Thanks Indian!! Great engineering!!
Date published: 2018-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mr. This bike handled well. Grips felt a little cheap, and the power was so-so mid way through the gears. Seat was tall for me, but is adjustable to my knowledge. I liked the controls once I got used to them. Would like to see a heel shift.
Date published: 2018-08-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits Demo rode it at Sturgis. Was the best demo experience of them all, they just let me take it for a half hour. Ride was quick and agile on the road to Deadwood,,I didn't want to turn around.
Date published: 2018-08-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Terrible The handlebars are terrible which translate to terrible handling. Also they are set too far out so if one decides to put on apes you better hope they have foot arms
Date published: 2018-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from handling and styling Have owned three Indians so far, Roadmaster, Springfield, and Chieftan.Loved them all.
Date published: 2018-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like riding a sofa with a rocket engine Very smooth and powerful. I was impressed! The dealer, Ed, and his team were very down to earth.
Date published: 2018-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike...with some small drawbacks I have had my 2018 Indian Springfield Dark Horse for about 10 months now. I absolutely love the look of the flat black bike and feel it has the right touch of chrome. I'm a bigger guy so I like the overall size of this bike. Fit and finish are excellent. I love the touch of a powder coated frame. Very durable! Kudos for the remote lockable bags. Little annoyances - Tire pressure sensors seem to be an issue... they monitor low on initial startup. Turn bike off and on again and they read correctly (checked against manual gauge). Mine doesn't have different "modes" as it's an 18 model - however, an upgrade on the electronics would be nice Indian! That being said, if you're a short shifter, you'd love this but I feel like power plateaus at 3,000 RPM in first and second. Feels like you run out of steam at 2800 to 3000 RPM and you have to shift to get it moving. This may be addressed with the new "modes" but how about a retrofit for those of us early adopters with the 18 first year model DH?! Wish Indian would have done red dash lighting on the Springfield Dark Horse like they did on the Chief Dark Horse. This is just a "cool factor" thing. Overall this is a superb bike and it feels much lighter to ride than it really is. When you ride this and "feel" it, you really don't get the feel that you're on an 800 lb motorcycle. The engineers did a superb job on that front and honestly I love the suspension on this bike. It has a great amount of travel and makes for a comfortable ride. You will not "clench" up going over potholes, road cracks or railroad tracks. Big plus there! I'd love a little more comfort in the seat for when I'm riding for longer than 3 hours, but that's a normal, and universal, gripe from anyone that rides longer distances.
Date published: 2019-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Machine I went for a demo ride and experienced a great 20 minutes plus on the Dark Horse Springfield. Handled great due to the exceptional balance and low COG. Most impressive was the power and acceleration in the higher gears.
Date published: 2018-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth and powerful I got to ride this bike at a demo in Cave creek Arizona. Very smooth and powerful ride! It will for sure be my next bike
Date published: 2018-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just right with full stage 2 Rode during demo event. Love the “light “ handling in a parking lot. Very smooth power. Great ergonomics for long hall.
Date published: 2018-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it Ride so smooth. Was able to do a u turn without any problems. Very fast bike.
Date published: 2018-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy and stylish I rode the Springfield Dark Horse about twenty miles total at a demo day. I was pleasantly surprised by how easy it was to handle and by the effortless power. I've ridden plenty of Harleys as well and the Indian is a better ride by far. The suspension soaked up bumps and the bike actually seems happy to go around corners.
Date published: 2019-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bike! If I had the money, I'd put one in the garage! The styling is spot on. The power and sound of the exhaust were great. I love the big Indian on the side of the tank. Don't know if it's available, but I'd love to see the black leather Indian bags with Indian conchos on the back. This would add to the Indian nostalgia.
Date published: 2018-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, surprising ride! I initially did not want to test ride this one, but I'm so glad I did!....this bike has great attributes that I simply did expect.
Date published: 2018-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The new Indian The new Indian line is very impressive. The Indian Demo Truck came to Indian of Albuquerque last weekend. I rode the Chieftain, Roadmaster, and Springfield. All of the bikes perform well, very neutral handling, good lean angle, smooth ride. The 116 Chieftain was my favorite.
Date published: 2018-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I went for a demo ride today For a big bike it handled very well. All the controls were right where I wanted them and the acceleration was great. The only problem that I had was that at 5’ 10” I had to practically sit on the tank to reach the kick stand and had a hard time finding it to put it down.
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Handling! The Springfield has the larger 19" front wheel and trimmed down front fender, and you can really feel it on turn in. It just intuitively goes to the apex of the curve, smooth and effortless. A fine running machine with an engine seemingly from a locomotive!
Date published: 2019-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing motorcycle! That bike it’s just amazing. From comfortability to horse power, all numbers are way high. The bike is a silent monster. You feel like you pretty much own the road. It’s definitely a bike to enjoy the ride.
Date published: 2019-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Ride It was the first time I rode an Indian Motorcycle. The ride was comfortable and the engine responsive. The bike handled well. Personally I found the handle bar controls small and not well placed.
Date published: 2018-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice ride Completed the demo ride on the Dark Horse. Lots of power and comfortable. Prefer ape hanger handle bars than the stock ones on the bike. The bike handles well and nice in the curves
Date published: 2019-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of Power! Great bike. Surprised by the power and handling of this bike. Not as hot as my 2016 Roadking. But, cant give it 5 stars as the paint choices are all pretty boring.
Date published: 2019-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kelowna demo ride on the Dark Horse Good smooth power, excellent brakes and great ride overall. The handle bars were not in the best position for my frame and I would also prefer a windshield.
Date published: 2019-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smooth and powerful. I love the smoothness of the engine. The seat height is very good. But the bike feels big and unwieldy at slow speeds - more so than my Harley Fat Boy Lo.
Date published: 2019-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Balance good suspension style I thought about buying the DH Springfield but the cost and having to add a windshield and back rest changed my mind. Also the overall weight is a concern.
Date published: 2019-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice power I liked the bike. The seat got warm and the windshield had me seeing triple at highway speeds. the power was great no need to shift gears once moving
Date published: 2018-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kickin' Engine Had 16" apes on it along with a stage-2. Great ride, very smooth (either a pro or con). The apes didn't impede with handling at all either.
Date published: 2019-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark Horse Springfield The Springfield rides great, just didn't like where the back brake was, too high for me, but over all it was great.
Date published: 2019-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Fun to Ride This bike was as much fun to ride as I believed it would be. I look forward to purchasing one some day!
Date published: 2019-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Apes Rock! I demoed the Springfield Darkhorse 111 with stock apes. Handled great and had plenty of punch.
Date published: 2018-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast and smooth First time riding an Indian and I was surprised how quick it got up and moved down the hiway.
Date published: 2019-03-29
  • y_2019, m_5, d_20, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_45
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19THDAAAH, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 22ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Customer Reviews
Springfield Dark Horse Thunder Black Smoke

Indian Springfield Dark Horse

Starting at $21,999 US MSRP
Trim & Color options Thunder Black Smoke

Loaded with attitude and packed with premium features, the Springfield Dark Horse is dripping in premium gloss black finishes and guaranteed to turn heads. 

Check Out Special Offers
Ride For Free All Summer Long
Indian springfield dark horse features
FEATURES All-New Premium Finishes

The blacked-out Thunder Stroke® 111 V-Twin Engine defines a Dark Horse. And now it features gloss-black details that contrast with its matte-paint finish, along with an open front fender that exposes a 19” 10-spoke contrast-cut front wheel.

* Starting at MSRP is the manufactured suggested price and excludes delivery, setup, tax, title, license, and additional fees and expenses. Bikes may be shown with optional accessories. Final sale price determined by authorized Indian Motorcycle® dealer. Specifications and MSRP are subject to change. Due to California emissions regulations, additional costs may apply when purchasing or leasing a Motorcycle in California.