Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Indian Springfield

Starting at $21,999 US MSRP

Model shown with accessories

2020 Indian Springfield Thunder Black is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 310.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Springfield Very happy so far even though I haven't had the chance to ride much
Date published: 2020-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Motorcycle This is a beautiful bike with Indian like contours. I like the burgundy/titanium colors and the aesthetics get you noticed on the road. It has some touring features, yet considered a bagger, which I do like the large size hard bags with FOB locking mechanism. Nice tip over bars to protect the bike and the passenger side has its own floor boards. It is comfortable and very easy to ride/maneuver on the open road and on mountain curves such as Colorado. Quite practical, and the handlebars and floor board allows you to be seated in a very relaxed position. Nice size leather seat for good comfort and support. Suspension is also great. It has nice tires with TPS and it also has an anti-lock brake system. The Thunder Stroke 111 engine is outstanding, it has a significant amount of torque and is quite impressive. The display, both analog and digital are nice included features. With the three optional riding modes, you have choices for when in the city and on the highway and varying on the riding mode, you get to feel the difference. This is my fourth bike, yet first Indian and must say I am impressed.
Date published: 2020-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfortable Put almost 300 miles in the month of March in New England weather
Date published: 2020-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from rid mode, great power&sound,smouth ride handles compair to my 99 road king springfield rides like a cadillac
Date published: 2020-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glad I went with Indian Bought this 2 days before Christmas and so far I can't complain.
Date published: 2020-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size for a female my size! I owned a Vintage Chief for a few years. I loved the bike so much for touring and long distance, however my lifestyle changed a bit, and this bike proved a bit too big and heavy for me. After a few demo rides on the Scout and Bobber, I jumped on the Springfield. This was the perfect size for me. I'm 5'6", med to heavy build. Some of the other bikes had a long reach for my legs or arms, so I did not ride these. I realize they can be adjusted, this is just what was available at the time. These Indian bikes have the perfect balance, and are extremely comfortable to ride. The Springfield, to me, was a bit more compact and very manageable to ride.
Date published: 2019-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NICE SOLID RIDE! We liked the colors, all the chrome, the fact that it's an American made bike with an air cooled motor. We liked the ride and handling over our 2019 Harley.
Date published: 2019-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bike I test rode this motorcycle at Bison Thunder in St. Michael. A wonderful experience. Plenty of power, handles responsively and is smooth and comfortable.
Date published: 2019-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent bike...but I bought this 2017 Springfield new in February 2018. After riding it 7500 miles I feel I can make a honest evaluation of the bike. The looks of the bike are spot on and draws attention and thumbs up everywhere I go. Handling is really good and takes curves like a smaller bike weighing much less. It has lots of power especially in mid range. Sound is great once you install some slip on pipes. Excessive heat from the catalytic converter was unbearable for me. There are aftermarket options to overcome this. Wind buffeting behind the windshield is a problem but fork wind deflectors help. I sometimes remove the windshield and ride with a full face helmet. This is like having another bike to choose from. Warranty has covered a cracked windshield and a bad voltage regulator. This bike has a lot of good things going for it and over all I like and enjoy the bike. But... the one thing I really don't like about the Thunderstroke engine is the excessive valve train noise from 1800 to 2500 rpm. This is where the engineers let something pass that they should have eliminated in the beginning. Using the windshield holds this noise around your head and is irritating to me. I guess between loud pipes and earplugs I will live with it.
Date published: 2019-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bike Likes the twists and turns still very comfortable.
Date published: 2019-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome bike Went for a demo ride on this bike in Sturgis last week, very impressed with the bike overall. great power and solid as a rock
Date published: 2019-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I never thought I would switch My Springfield rides like a fine Paint Mare but much easier to clean up after.
Date published: 2019-08-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I enjoyed the guided ride. I enjoyed the guided ride, but I did find it not being able to see the front wheel or fender at all distracting. Also the distance from the ground to the footboards I find higher than on my heritage Softail. I like the speedometer and all the information available on that face. Being honest with you I do not think that I will be purchasing an Indian. I am sort of disappointed about that because I have a friend that has five or six old Indians and he swears by them .
Date published: 2019-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile Exhilaration I've had my 2017 Springfield for 29 months now and have 23,500 miles on her. And all that in Utah with our limited riding seasons. Great bike. I'd like to have five different bikes in the garage for whatever mood I might be in on a particular day, but that's not possible; so, versatility was the key for me. With the removable windshield and hard bags, in a moment I can head out on a sleek muscle cruiser; yet with everything thing on, I have a worthy cruiser. I think it's extremely important to really ask yourself why you ride or are wanting to ride in the first place. For me, it's the freedom, if I needed to use just one word. It's the sensation of floating or flying and just forgetting all of the demands of this world that seem to be pressing in every day. This bike is worth every penny. And my wife has learned to love the fresh perspective that I come home with after a ride. One final thought: you hear some express concerns over the weight. If all you do is sit on this bike at a dealership, it will seem a bit heavy; but I seem to remember women feeling the same way about big SUVs in the 90s before actually driving and learning that you could practically steer them with one finger. It's not heavy, and you need to actually ride this awesome bike. Lastly, you hear some talk about the heat, especially off of the rear cylinder. I ride in Utah where summer temperatures routinely push over 100 degrees. I've been on this bike in stop-and-go traffic in those temps. Do I feel the heat? Yes. It's a classic American v-twin. But is it painful, or unbearable? No. I can only say that if you use either one of these as a sole criterion for not buying this bike, that would be a real shame.
Date published: 2019-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stood up easy, we'll balanced, smooth acceleration Have not one yet but this will be my first choice.
Date published: 2019-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good power & handling Have had three Indians, Roadmaster, Springfield, and currently a Chieftan Limited, liked them all.
Date published: 2019-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Handled extremely well with fantastic power delivery!
Date published: 2019-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable ride Plenty of torque, nice pull especially in sport mode. But if buffering from the windshield.
Date published: 2019-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 500 mile review I purchased the bike a month ago , first 500 miles were very nice , bike rides awesome! Plenty of power& that classic Indian look ! The black & all the chrome, stunning!!!!
Date published: 2019-07-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smooth ride I had my first ride on an Indian and loved the balance and ease of handling the bike.
Date published: 2019-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth and Powerful Ride I rode this at the Lexington KY Demo Days and loved it.
Date published: 2019-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smoth, comfortable ride. This will be my next bike I currently ride a Scout Sixty and I am happy with it. Once the kid is out of college and I can afford it, the Springfield will be my next bike. Loved it!
Date published: 2019-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bike Took the Springfield Dark Horse for the Demo ride. Even in Standard mode the throttle response was quick. This bike had great power delivery, a smooth motor and a smooth comfortable ride. Fit and finish was excellent. The only draw back was the heat from the rear cylinder.
Date published: 2019-07-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good bike but not for me I liked the power, handling and brakes of the Springfield and the bike is great looking. Unfortunately, the cockpit is too large for me. The reach to the handlebars caused my back muscles to cramp.
Date published: 2019-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome ride! I test rode the Chieftain and Springfield, and while the Chieftain has more creature comforts, the Springfield has a far superior ride. I could ride the Springfield all day.....and perhaps never come home.
Date published: 2019-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well built, very smooth ride, good power The Springfield is very nice. It rides very well on rougher roads. Has plenty of power and the electronics tell the rider everything they need to know. I don't sit as low in the bike as my current bike, so I was a little less comfortable. I think a driver backrest would help with the comfort, although overall I was comfortable during the test ride. Overall, I great bike.
Date published: 2019-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprisingly good power and handling. I was surprised by the power and ease of riding this bigger cruiser. I am not used to forward controls but quickly learned to manage. The only distraction was the tall windshield that forced me to look through it. That would be something to change.
Date published: 2019-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than anything else 21 k and two years later. Can't find fault. Tested them all. BMW, Honda and Harley. Those 3 couldn't touch it for ride and comfort or power. And Indian Springfield beat them in price. Harley lists a cheaper Road king with no extras. Once you get it up to Springfield standards it's 25K.
Date published: 2019-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome bike I’ve had 10 bikes and my favorite was always my road king, until now. This bike is a road king on steroids. I had to make a few personal changes to the bike, like beach bars and a floor board lowering kit but now it’s as perfect as a bike can be.
Date published: 2019-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to ride An easy bike to get on and ride. Comfortable feel.
Date published: 2019-06-13
  • y_2020, m_9, d_26, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_310
  • loc_en_US, sid_N20THAAAAA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 84ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Customer Reviews

Trim & Color Options

Springfield Maroon Metallic/Crimson Metallic

Indian Springfield

Starting at $21,999 US MSRP
Trim & Color options Maroon Metallic/Crimson Metallic

Features

Features
Closer look at the Springfield motorcycle V-twin engine
THUNDERSTROKE 111 V-TWIN ENGINE

Powered by the award-winning Thunderstroke 111, delivering 119 ft-lb of torque for impressive acceleration and passing power.

Springfield motorcycle parked on a road next to a river
CLASSIC STYLING

The Indian Springfield is covered in chrome and features an illuminated headdress on the front fender.

Front-side view of an Indian Springfield motorcycle
RIDE YOUR WAY

Quick-release clear windshield manages airflow and reduces fatigue but detaches in seconds to preserve the bike’s clean and classic look. Chrome highway bars provide even more comfort on longer trips.

Accessories

Customize Yours
-