Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Springfield

Starting at $20,999 US MSRP
Build Springfield BUILD YOURS Get Local Price Get Local Price
2019 Indian Springfield Thunder Black is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 268.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike Bought this bike in June 2016, the most easiest handling 858lb motorcycle I have ever driven, unbelievable corning and acceleration, have already installed stage 1 & stage 2 components, this is definitely the most comfortable road bike you can buy.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I wanted. Bought in April, coming up on 10k miles. Commute everyday 50+ miles, both freeway and surface streets plus monthly group rides, errands around town, rain or shine. The bike never disappoints in it's handling ,comfort and power. Stock model came just as I wanted for my next bike. Quality is outstanding. Its the bike I've always wanted to have. And it's an Indian!
Date published: 2017-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovin' it! Bought the Springfield 2 days after the Mar 3 intro and have not looked back. Had a Victory Crossroads prior, both are great bikes, but definitely love the Springfield. Told the dealer in 2014 that the Vintage needed a hard bag option. The frame mods they did give it a better "around town" ease of handling, yet very comfortable on the road as well. Glad I joined the Indian family even if we do still have another Crossroads in the garage too.
Date published: 2016-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features Super fun to ride! Deep saddle bags, great lighting, really good power, nice paint, really good seat, good sound. I like the belt drive, sitting position, and foot boards.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Less is more I love this bike overall better ths any Indian I rode at the demo ride in Denton,TX hosted by Big Tex Indian. This bike has no stero, no GPS or fancy fairing. It has a windscreen and is a stylish cruiser/touring bike. It handled like a dream. It sounded just the way it should and for all it's simplicity it was far and away the best bike I rode. When it came down to it, I thought about the bike I rode in on (1999 Suzuki VL1500 LC Intruder C90). You dont miss what you never had. It has always been about the ride and the adventure. No gadgets just you and your motorcycle... That's why this was such a special ride. Everthing you need and nothing you don't.
Date published: 2019-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from JUST A PERFECT FIT FOR A SHORTE MAN AS MYSELF !!! I bought the bike the week it was released and have enjoyed every ride on it . the perfect touring bike and just a great all day around the country bike . I am only 5 foot 6 inches and the classic I had previous was great but at the extent of my reach in tight spaces . The springfield has the looks and everything !!!
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jack Daniels Springfield Had our JD Springfield since Sept 16. Great Motor. Added touring seats and trunk to make it better for traveling. Great addtition. Made a 4500 mile trip to Canada and back to Louisiana in June 2017. Rain, hail, heat, wind and dust. Not a hitch. Couldn’t ask for a better ride. Our 2nd Springfield by the way.
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Springfield 2016 In July 2016, I took a bike trip from Denver Colorado ,Idaho back through Yellowstone National Park back down in South Dakota and back to Denver. The bike performed very well.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! Owned 2 Harleys before buying my Springfield. Harleys were great but expensive to maintain. Absolutely LOVE my Indian. It has all the features I need and rides like a dream!
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 2017 Springfield Rocks! I bought my 2017 Springfield in April, 2017. I now have almost 15,000 miles on it. Been riding for 52 years and have owned 100's of motorcycles. I also have a BMW. I LOVE my Indian Springfield. It is by far the best cruiser I have ever owned and is so comfortable to ride on long multi-day rides. It handles, brakes, accelerates better than any other cruiser bikes I have ever had. Thanks Indian (Polaris) for rebooting an American icon the right way!
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Springfield armory I traded up my vintage for the Springfield in March and I am here to tell you...best move I ever made. I love this bike! The vintage was nice but this Springfield just brings things to a whole different level. We already have over 6000 miles on her and I don't have any plans to slow down any time soon. If you have a vintage right now all I can say is take the next move up. You won't regret it trust me. Thanks Polaris/Indian. Excellent job,
Date published: 2017-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth as a Cadillac! Love it! Smooth ride & so easy to handle for this lady! Feels so balanced, like it could hold itself upright with no assistance.
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Riding a piece of Art/History Great Bike to ride, customized with Indian accessories, put some new cams in and Rush slip on pipes...nice!
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Old School Look/Modern Technolgy Cruising the Blue Ridge Mountains - A Great Comfortable and Nimble Ride
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Ride, except for the Noise I bought this Mid May and am averaging over 1400 miles per month, any chance I get, but do have to wear ear plugs a lot, due to the Muffled Jack Hammer sound coming, from the lower end, possibly lifters, very irritating.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dream bike. This is my first new bike since my Honda CB125 when I was 16. This is my first American bike. I have had my eye on the Springfield since it debuted. It is everything I have ever wanted in a bike. Massive, powerful engine, incredible low end torque and wicked throttle response. A perfect combination of the classic cruiser style I love and all the high tech anyone could want. I fall more in love with this machine with every mile I ride. I bought a 2017 on clearance and got an amazing deal. I'm in love!
Date published: 2017-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I believe I found my dream bike Took delivery on July 15, almost have 2,000 miles. Had the 500 mile oil change on the rode. great dealer network. I've rode a lot of bikes, this is one fine motorcycle, well engineered and lots of style, while being built in the USA. with all the bikes on the road today, it is better to be noticed than overlooked.
Date published: 2016-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm glad my wife talked me into buying it... In February of 2017 I was looking at a custom Scout, I had the dealership holding it for me after making a deposit. When my wife and I visited the Indian showroom in Manchester, NH we really started looking at the other bikes. I was checking out the Springfield when a petite woman around five foot five threw her leg over the bike and said, "If I could, this would be the one." She walked away and my wife came over and said "hey big fella, think you can handle something like this now?" My rationale for looking at the Scout was that I didn't want a large heavy bike as I hadn't ridden since I was roughly 26 years old -- I started riding again at 50 in June of 2016. My wife told me to look at the Springfield so that we wouldn't repeat another purchase to a larger bike in the next year or so. I traded another American brand for my Springfield and am thrilled after taking the risk. While I think the Scout is a nice bike too, the Springfield is so well balanced you could corner with one hand (if one wants to ride around like that). To date there has not been one instance where I thought I would drop the bike. It has more power than one will ever need and is simply a beautiful versatile bike. Hard saddle bags are great for a gallon of milk or supplies for a trek across New England. The instruments and display leave little doubt for how things are running. I have had some stuff come up - kick stand sensor caused the warning light to stay on for 30 miles once and another sensor came on another time. The minor blips are far overshadowed with an otherwise great product. I'd buy another Indian again without hesitation (and just might if my wife isn't looking)...
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nimble, fast, and capable! I've only ridden my Springfield 100km so far and it's still in its break in period, but I'm already impressed. It turns easily, and feels lighter than my old VTX 1800, even though it wwighs about 30 lbs more. It has loads of torque, and I can still only use 1/3 of the throttle. I'm looking forward to discovering the power that comes from the 2200 rpm and up range.
Date published: 2017-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Somebody finally got it right! Indian designed this bike specifically for me! It had every feature that I was looking for in a bike. No more words need be said.
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runs great,smooth ride and smooth engine. I bought this bike in June of this year and I've put on little over 6000 miles. I think i can say that it is reliable and defiantly has enough power for my style of riding.
Date published: 2016-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this ride!! The Indian Springfield has everything I was looking for AND does not have the things I did not want....ie Radio & GPS
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great ride and features bought the blue and silver 2017 springfield on aug 30 2016 and am totally satisfied. can"t wait for my first trip. I expect to see a lot more of these bikes on the road.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome!! 2016 A Summer to remember!! Wife is very comfortable and that was the main reason for buying the Springfield.
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from SpringField Engine needs gerotor replaced. It causes sumping which in turn causes clacking sound similar to a Diesel engine sound. This is unsatisfactory.
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Springfield Thunder Clacker I have a 2016 Indian Springfield it has now started making a lot of engine noise that wasn't there before I hit 3000 miles. This is unsatisfactory. It is not normal for this engine to sound like a diesel. If this continues I will not keep this machine.
Date published: 2016-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried the Vintage; The Scout and the Chieftain After trying several of the great Indians settled on the Springfield as just handled the slow speed maneuvers best. This bike just felt like a 'part of my soul' and could not get enough time on this great ride! I am of the belief that each and ever person can find the ride of their dreams in the line up being offered. I just found the Springfield a fit for me!
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I've been waiting for... I'd been thinking "Indian" for a few years. I visited my local dealership (several times) and really fell for the Chief Vintage. I thought, "If I could get something like this with hard saddlebags, I'd be all over it". Then along came the Springfield. I'd ridden a touring bike with a fairing for the last six years and really wanted the protection (and look) of a windshield, and the convenience of the hard bags for long rides. Having the option to remove both and cruise with the bike "stripped down" is awesome. The look is so different, it's like having two bikes! The shield is truly quickly detachable. Takes seconds to put it on or to take off. The bags are easily removed also, with a couple of levers and an easily unplugged wire, you're looking at a few minutes total. And speaking of that wire, the remotely locking bags are great. Use either the button on the dash or the security fob to lock/unlock and you're done. I've had my Springfield for about two months now and have put roughly 2500 thoroughly enjoyable miles on. The bike looks great, handles extremely well and has plenty of power. Take one for a test ride. You won't be disappointed!
Date published: 2017-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 204-mile lunch run today, Jan. 18, 2018 When people ask me how I like my Indian I respond this way: "I love it, it's comfortable, it's simple and it's FUN!" The odometer turned over 4,000 miles today as I rode out of Borrego Springs, CA, with some fast-moving Harley riders. We'd just had lunch there, having ridden from Palm Desert earlier in the day. These other riders get aggressive with their throttles (some with 110 ci motors) and a big smile comes across my face as I twist my Indian throttle and this beefy 111 ci comes alive with torque and power--so much so that I'm having to keep a close eye on the Harley directly in front of me. No sense running him over! I ride about 20,000 miles per year, and I have four touring bikes. Otherwise I would have already racked up many more miles on this white Springfield last year. Today's lunch run which incorporated a multitude of twisties and elevation changes proved to me that my Indian is not only a touring bike but a sport bike that agressively takes on tight curves in a nimble fashion. I'm very favorably impressed. Oh, on almost every ride, while occasionally stopped, some stranger walks up to me and compliments my Indian. It's an all-around FUN machine!
Date published: 2018-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great riding motorcycle! 12,000 mile one year review and this is a keeper. A joy to cruise, tour and good for its size on the tight sections, too. I have owned goldwings, beemers, hogs, guzzis and Polaris left no stone unturned in designing and building this bike. I am going to run this up to 100,000 miles in the next 6 to 8 years and I know I will enjoy every mile. This bike is fully featured and with the high end finishes and performance, I have just kept it stock. Added a rack and tourpak and I'm good for touring - take off the rack, bags and shield and I have a sporty cruiser that will run well in its class. Speaking of class, the finishes and extras Indian puts on makes this a bike I dont have to troll through the accessory catalog to give it the complete look. My springfield is a winner and a good purchase for the money!
Date published: 2019-01-05
  • y_2020, m_2, d_20, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_268
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19THAAAAA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 13ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Customer Reviews
MENU
Springfield Thunder Black

Indian Springfield

Starting at $20,999 US MSRP
Trim & Color options Thunder Black
Features
Pic of motorcycle engine
THUNDER STROKE 111 V-TWIN ENGINE

Powered by the award-winning Thunder Stroke 111, delivering 119 ft-lbs of torque for impressive acceleration and passing power.

Pic of motorcycle wheel
CLASSIC STYLING

The Springfield is covered in chrome and features an illuminated headdress on the front fender.

Pic of locking saddlebag
REMOTE-LOCKING HARD SADDLEBAG

Protect your cargo in spacious remote-locking hard saddlebags with weatherproof seals.

See all Springfield Features SEE ALL THE FEATURES
Customize Yours
-
Shop Springfield Accessories SHOP ACCESSORIES