Menu

Indian® Chieftain Dark Horse® Reviews

2019 Indian Chieftain Dark Horse® is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 245.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perfect switch over I have been on a sport bike for over 20 yrs. and rode it hard and with no fear. Finally not only age but the years of injuries in college and the USMC the pain was taking its toll. I researched and decided on Indian. I took a leap of faith and did not test ride nor ask other riders what they thought. Leaving the dealership was the first time I throttled anything other than a sport bike. It took me all of 10 mins to get the feel. Now I’m wondering WHAT TOOK ME SO LONG! LOL I’m loving every minute of riding my Dark Horse Chieftain and would not trade it for anything else.
Date published: 2018-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shock I love how this bike rides. It is easy to handle even for a newer rider. I could spend hours on this bike very comfortably. Plenty of creature comforts come stock on this motorcycle. It has great power even at low RPM. The Chieftain carries it weight very well. I am looking forward to owning this ride soon. All the upgrades are reasonable and you get so much for your money. Very pleased with this machine!
Date published: 2017-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wouldnt Ride Anything Else! Bought this bike June 20, and already have almost 4000 miles on it. The ride is unbelievable and the heads it turns is even better. Not only does this bike have style but also the power to outrun mostly any bagger on the road. Have added cams and filter and LED headlights since the buy and am like a 5 year old on Christmas everytime I ride this bike. Unbelievable and undescribable how happy this purchase makes me!
Date published: 2017-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dream to ride If you want a bike that you want to stand up and start in the morning and hate to put on the kickstand at night, this is your ride!
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Indian Dark Horse Bagger 2017 Had the 2016 DH chief bought in 2015, seen the Bagger! Bought it. Only flaw was Ride Command just came out so this model at the time didn’t have it. Also It got hot right around the legs. Indian added heat guards! Other then that I enjoyed this bike!
Date published: 2018-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pleasantly surprised! I'm not normally interested in Cruiser types of motorcycles, but I went to a recent Indian demo day and tried some different styles of motorcycles. I was very surprised by how much I liked the Chieftain. The ride and power are very good, fit and finish are excellent, and it was a fun bike to ride. I was worried about low-speed handling and being able to move the bike around, but these were never an issue. I normally wouldn't consider buying a cruiser style of motorcycle, but I have to admit this one has my interest and it's a bike I will keep in mind the next time I am looking to buy a motorcycle.
Date published: 2019-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2017 Chieftain Blackhorse I purchased this bike 5 weeks ago and have put 1500 miles on her. I absolutely enjoy riding this bike and wish I had purchased one years earlier. I say this with 35 years of riding time. I do wish all bikes didn't need an aftermarket exhaust and tune to get the right sound though. Indian did and excellent job though trying to comply with the EPAs stringent and rediculous rules. Something that I would like to see is the cruise button and high beam switch with lighting. On a dark night those switches are invisible.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Indian Demo Rides I rode three Indian motorcycles yesterday, A Dark Horse Chieftain, A Chieftain and a Scout 60. The bigger Indians were a smooth ride with some throttle hesitation and a bit of excessive heat coming up from the engine. The throaty sound was nice, but my feet felt high on the floorboards, maybe something that takes some time to adjust to. Overall, pretty good bikes. The Scout 60 ran great, but was very small. I felt like a big kid on a tricycle. The 5 speed transmission kept rpm's up even at fairly low speeds, probably a good bike for someone very short to use around town. Bottom line on the big bikes is the heat. I don't think that Florida is the right place for an engine that radiates so much heat. A recommendation to buy this bike would depend on where you live.
Date published: 2018-11-01
  • y_2019, m_10, d_14, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_245
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19TCDAACH, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 9ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT