Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer
Menu

Indian Springfield® Dark Horse® Reviews

2019 Indian Springfield Dark Horse Thunder Black Smoke is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 86.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2018 Springfield Dark Horse Amazing MC. Best I've ever ridden. My wife and I both ride. We each have HD's. This new Springfield is leap years ahead.
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazingly Nimble for a heavy machine!! I purchased this bike in August of 2018 and I find myself looking outside everyday this winter to make sure it's not snowing so I can ride. The power is a constant strong pull, shifts smooth, throttle by wire is still a little querky for me but I'm sure I will adapt. I have owned 4 V-Twins including '53 Panhead, shovelhead, Evo and Twin Cam and was looking at the new bike of the competitor. Rode both and though it was difficult since I still love the others, but I can't say i ever regretted the decision to go with the Springfield Dark Horse. The handling is superb, It feels like it weighs 500 lbs not 800+! but when you are making tight turns at low speeds, you can feel it if you lean too far!!! so beware, it is heavy though it doesn't corner like it should it corners like a beast and is so smooth that I grin from ear to ear EVERY TIME I ride this bike!
Date published: 2019-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bike with features that do not break the ban I was hooked when I took a demo ride. Great style and power. Rides true and steady. Good balance and control on turns. Feels nimble for a big bike. Built to be customized to your taste. Best bike I have owned besides a Victory Gunner and Octane. No other brand compares to the value you get with this bike.
Date published: 2018-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My next bike Very smooth, good handling, fit comfortable. Plenty of power.
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is truly a great machine~! I've had this bike (2018) for a year now, and at just over 12,500 miles, I think I can finally give an honest and accurate review. In brief, I'm still thrilled with it. Very comfortable (max. miles per day so far is 841) and so easy to handle for a cruiser; I rented a road king while in Denver, and I was so happy to get back to my SDH I just cannot express! I rode from Minnesota to Louisiana last month and truly enjoyed the trip. I typically ride to work and back as well. In fact, in the last 5 months I've been on the bike all but 12 days. Just a couple observations though - it is burning a little oil, which distresses me because I took such OCD-like pains to follow the break-in procedure accurately. Really - I did. However, it's only about a pint every 1,000 miles and oil is cheap. Also, a quicker throttle response would be nice; the power is definitely there, but one really has to roll the throttle to tap it. I tested a new Roadmaster, and the "sport mode" response is exactly what this bike needs. I prefer the '18 styling to the '19-20...who thought that all of the gloss black paint belonged on a flat black dark horse??? As in so many other Indian reviews, I'll mention how many comments I field on a routine basis - people love this bike.
Date published: 2019-09-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Satisfied I have owned this bike for 1and a half yrs it has been a reliable and comfortable ride on a number of 1000 mile trips for me and my wife
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Black Beauty I've only had the bike a few months but I love it. The bike is a beast in stock form, add a few upgrades here and there and it's a totally different animal.
Date published: 2018-05-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I wanted to like this bike... I test rode a Springfield and the ergonomics did not work at all for me (I'm 5'10"). My knees felt like they were pushing into my chest when I had my feet resting on the floorboards and it also sorely needed a heel shifter (did I just not see it?). The top of the windshield was directly in my line of sight and I experienced intense buffeting above 35mph to the point that it was very uncomfortable. The speedometer is way too low on the tank so I had to look down to check the display which takes my eyes off of the road. I'll stick with my Scout. It may not have the size and weight that would be ideal for long slab rides but I can stretch out, see my speedo without lowering my head and ride buffeting-free until above 70mph.
Date published: 2019-06-28
  • y_2019, m_12, d_9, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_86
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19THDAACH, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 6ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT