Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer
Menu

Chief Reviews

2022 Chief Black Metallic is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 37.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bike Bought this bike in September. Very happy with the bike. Now ordering parts and accessories from Indian is terrible. I ordered passenger rear footpeg set in August and I still don’t have them.
Date published: 2021-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from what a bike I haveabout 1k on the bike so far and coming from sport bike, I have no issue with the power and torque this bike provides. Bike is very comfortable and get compliments all the time while out
Date published: 2021-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great first bike 1000 miles of nothing but smiles. The Chief is my first bike ever and I couldn’t be happier. Almost settled for the scout but after much research and YouTube videos I knew the Chief was the way to go.
Date published: 2021-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible ride I bought this bike after trading in my Bobber Scout two months ago. I absolutely love the feel and handling of this ride. The only drawback is that there aren’t enough days and hours in the week to ride. Everywhere I go I get compliments on the bike and inquired about where to find one.
Date published: 2021-09-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love hate In a few years it will be good. But never ever buy a bike that is one of the first ever to come out. Indian doesn’t have any parts available. I bought a few things like a passenger seat, sissy bar, passenger pegs, and saddle bags over two months ago when I bought the bike. I’m still waiting on stuff. The Indian parts situation is a joke. maybe in a year they’ll have some stuff in stock. Otherwise the bike is okay.
Date published: 2021-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic looks with modern technology. I ride every weekend with my son and we are having a blast.
Date published: 2021-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 1st and last Cruiser. After my first test ride, I said I have to have this bike. I did wanted to wait for the DarkHorse to become available but I'm glad I decided on this one. I'm coming from the Sport bike world so this being my 1st cruiser, I was hesitant. The Chief blew away my expectations. Being 600lbs+ I expected it to ride like a brick. I'm able to flick this into corners and having so much torque, power is no issue. The only issues I have is I really, really wanted the Ride Command but the Chief comes with the traditional analog dash. The other issues would be there isn't a huge assortment of aftermarket parts out there.. most of the Indian parts are very expensive but not to the Harley price point. I have purchased the stage 1 forward air intake and slip on. This isn't my grandparents motorcycle.
Date published: 2021-08-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fun bike, good looking but some flaws The bike looks great, its fast. Deceivingly fast. Some nice features, some features it lacks. The throttle response needs to be addressed however. Its either on or off, you can't just ease into it like most bikes. This bike you roll on it at all and its rather abrupt, hate this! Headlamp is small for the bike. The exhaust is WAY WAY WAY too quiet! Bikes should make noise, this one is very quiet, pulling up to a red light you can't even hear the engine running. Disappointed overall with the quality of the bike, Indian makes better bikes.
Date published: 2021-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bitter sweet Traded my Indian Scout on this bike back in early April. I took a while to get it (and I don't have all the upgrades yet), but I love this bike. The look the feel are amazing. The sounds is nice but not quite loud enough.
Date published: 2021-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buying this bike was the best decision ever! After riding this bike for over a month. I have to say everything about it is just about perfect.
Date published: 2021-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Smooth I’ve had the bike for about a month now. It’s a standard Chief with the 111 motor. I have been doing mostly recreational riding and boy is it smooth. I have had several Japanese bikes, a Big Dog and a few Harleys too. This is the smoothest bike I have ever had. Everything is smooth, the ride, the handling, the feel and the look too. The only thing not smooth is the Sport Mode. Sport mode is short for….hang on or you just might end up looking at the backside of your bike as it heads on without you. The Thunderstroke looks great, sounds great (with an aftermarket pipe), and is the smoothest motor ever. Great power and pull. The seat works great for the two hour rides I typically take. The drag bars are comfortable for my 6’1” height bit, I wish Indian had some 2” handle risers available as they would then be perfect. The mid controls work fine but I would be more comfortable with forward controls. I may have to change them out. I love the 19” front tire and it handles super well. Crack and road imperfections are unnoticeable. Grips are comfortable and the controls, gauge controls, and cruise control work very well. The minors are nice looking and have a great field of view. The functions on the standard gauge package are great and the trigger controls are easy to use. The pipes look great but are way too quiet and too lengthy for my tastes. And aftermarket pipe will solve that problem…..when they are finally available. The only downside is the availability of Indian parts and accessories. I bought a passenger seat, sissy bar with pad and some passenger pegs an am still waiting for half my parts. The lack of aftermarket parks is also a downer. Since the the Chief model is new this year, the are very few aftermarket options. My dealer didn’t have a Chief to ride so I ordered my bike and waited about 8 weeks for it to arrive. I ordered my accessories at that time but still don’t have them all. I have one aesthetics suggestion. The Chief needs some optional struts for the rear fender. The Scout has them and they look great. The flat side on the Chief’s rear fender looks a little bland, boring and too flat. In my opinion, I t’s the only cosmetic thing off on the bike. Please Indian, please make some nicely sculpted rear fender struts for the Chief. All in all, the bike is amazing, smooth, fun and as tasty as a hot fudge Sunday on a Friday night.
Date published: 2021-07-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great looking bike I had it so far for about 2 months and I love it. I wish there was accessories available and aftermarket parts like pipes
Date published: 2021-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2022 Chief I bought this about 2 months ago and every time I get on it I like it even more
Date published: 2021-06-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs some improvements I bought this bike about a month ago. It is super quick and handles great. It has horrible ergonomics and is very uncomfortable to ride any length of time. The foot pegs are too high and too far back. You can hardly reach the kickstand because the pegs are in the way. The handle bars are way too low and forward also. I plan to install the forward controls and cruiser handlebars. This will make the bike way more comfortable for me. I’m disappointed that the bike was launched way before most any of the accessories are available including the above mentioned items that I need to change.
Date published: 2021-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Midweight Cruiser I purchased the Chief almost two months ago but the fact that I ride several bikes and the spring weather has not always cooperated I have managed to put 400 miles on it. I purchased a few accessories on day one but am still waiting for some of the components to install them. I do not like the drag bars so I am going to put the cruiser bars with the 17" windshield. I will also swap the stock seat for the 1920 solo seat which will get me up a bit higher so I will have more comfort to the mid control foot pegs. The bike is fun to ride, very nimble and plenty of power. Fit and finish is excellent.
Date published: 2021-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2018 chief classic I am a kid again it’s been 30 years since I was on a Bike now at least once a week finding new scenic routes to tool around in loving the freedom
Date published: 2020-08-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful torquey bike!! I love this bike! I had a victory and wanted another cruiser. I searched around and found the perfect one for me. I am female 5’7” and 140 lbs. it’s just right! Beautiful paint, easy to ride and throaty sound but not too loud. Sweet ! I’m happy with my purchase
Date published: 2020-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable ride Most comfortable ride I’ve ever had on a motorcycle
Date published: 2019-10-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of power I had a test ride of this bike yesterday and was very impressed with the power although I felt that the bars were a little far forward.
Date published: 2019-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No windshield smooth riding motorcycle, should have demoed one with a wind shield .
Date published: 2019-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sporty Ride Demo ride and thoroughly enjoy the Indian Scout. Fun, fast, agile, nimble. The Indian Scout is in a class all of its own.
Date published: 2019-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great looking bike bought the bike 4 months ago, love it. just one problem, i just did the demo day ride at treasure coast indian, great event, but now i want the chieftain!
Date published: 2019-03-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very unresponsive, no power, it's a DOG When I rev it a little there was a delay before the rpms went up. I ride a Victory Jackpot bring them back.
Date published: 2019-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid and comfortable. This bike is very easy to ride, very well balanced and super comfortable. It has plenty of power and very controllable.
Date published: 2018-09-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good bike, but outdated It is a good bike, but it is not worth $18,000. The cruise control was on the right side of the handle bars, this causes unnecessary multitasking. The gauges were on the tank and I kept having to move my head up and down making it difficult to see. And it did not even come with Heel-toe shifting. My $9000 Suzuki comes with that, a windshield, and bags! The 111 is also Air Cooled. Triumph has a 2300 CC bike that is liquid cooled. I would only pay about $13,000 at the max, any more this bike is very little bang for your buck. It is simply outdated and overpriced.
Date published: 2018-09-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fun to ride but overall a disappointing experience I bought my Pearl White 2016 Chief Classic new in May, 2016. It is comfortable and stylish, and sounds great. However, fit and finish in a few areas is not up to the level expected. The wiring loom connectors are all exposed without covers. I have fully avoided riding my Chief in wet weather, yet the fenders started to rust at the seams within the first year, and other signs of corrosion are evident... various brackets and screws are oxidized, and the Chief light mount on the front fender is corroding/rusting and the discoloration is apparent. The speedometer/dash cover, and headlight nacelle chrome is also pretty thin. The dash cover in particular has spider vein cracks that are noticeable in certain light conditions. Pretty much every single wiring loom connector is exposed, without any kind of cap or cover.The only time my Chief has been wet is when I've washed it, and I haven't needed to do that very often. I didn't expect such an expensive "premium" motorcycle to have these kinds of issues at all. Overall I enjoy riding the Chief and I get a lot of people asking about it, but the ownership experience has not been satisfying.
Date published: 2018-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much better than my "other" V-Twin. I bought my 2015 Chief Classic as a dealer demo from Baker American Cycles in Fayetteville, N.C. It is the smoothest, most powerful, most refined, and beautiful motorcycle I have ever owned and I've been riding for 50 years! It draws attention wherever I ride it and gets 'thumbs up' from drivers on the highways. I will never go back to the other brand and this bike makes my other one feel like a paint shaker!! Don't get me wrong. I still like my other bike, but I absolutely LOVE my Indian and I ride it pretty much exclusively now!!!
Date published: 2018-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My forever motorcycle Started with A Scout then traded for a Chief Classic. I'm in love with my Diva and couldn't imagine riding anything else. It's a smooth easy ride and heads turn when I ride down the road. Every where I go people want to talk to me about my Indian!
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An all around amazing motorcycle I upgraded from a Scout Icon to a Chief and couldn't be any happier. It's a big bike, but handles great. It also looks and sounds amazing. I can't wait for Spring to arrive so I can put some miles on this beauty.
Date published: 2018-01-09
  • y_2022, m_8, d_13, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_37
  • loc_en_US, sid_N22DMCAGCA, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 58ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT