Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Indian Springfield Dark Horse

Starting at $27,499 CA MSRP
Build Your Springfield Dark Horse BUILD YOURS Get Local Price Get Local Price
2019 Indian Springfield Dark Horse Thunder Black Smoke is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 96.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ride and power I ride (and love) a 2016 Springfield. The new model feels similar, but the 116 motor is so much more powerful. They set me on the ride mode of touring, and the around town riding was very similar to my own bike. The difference came when I got to the highway and accelerated. There was a lot of power, which continued in every gear and at every RPM. Very fun ride. The controls felt smooth. Only complaint was that I prefer a windshield at highway speeds (it was a cold day!).
Date published: 2019-10-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I wanted to like this bike... I test rode a Springfield and the ergonomics did not work at all for me (I'm 5'10"). My knees felt like they were pushing into my chest when I had my feet resting on the floorboards and it also sorely needed a heel shifter (did I just not see it?). The top of the windshield was directly in my line of sight and I experienced intense buffeting above 35mph to the point that it was very uncomfortable. The speedometer is way too low on the tank so I had to look down to check the display which takes my eyes off of the road. I'll stick with my Scout. It may not have the size and weight that would be ideal for long slab rides but I can stretch out, see my speedo without lowering my head and ride buffeting-free until above 70mph.
Date published: 2019-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits Demo rode it at Sturgis. Was the best demo experience of them all, they just let me take it for a half hour. Ride was quick and agile on the road to Deadwood,,I didn't want to turn around.
Date published: 2018-08-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Loose It rode SMOOTH..... throttle was "sloppy", and the shifter lever took MILES to shift gears. The "Fly by wire" was disturbing..... Definitely powerful, compfy to ride. Never got it out of 4th gear. Low center of gravity. Steering was shakey….
Date published: 2018-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Indian I bought the 2019 Springfield Darkhorse to complement my Chief Vintage that I’ve owned for 3+ years. Having both now is great. They are the same but different. The shorter wheelbase and steeper rake on the Springfield gives it quicker steering and a lighter feel. Both have the 111 engine but are mapped different. My Vintage is black with tan leather and my Springfield is white smoke. I put the 5 inch shorter tinted Jack Daniels windshield on the Springfield. Locking bags on the Springfield. I love both and it’s fun having a choice.
Date published: 2020-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Springfield Dark Horse I was out of riding for almost 40 years. I bought a Kawasaki EN650 Vulcan back in early 2019. Took the 2-day MSF and was off and running again. Rode that back for one year and then made the jump to Indian. I have not been disappointed in any of the experiences. The staff at Mall of Georgia Indian were great and the bike quality and looks are still amazing to me.
Date published: 2020-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like riding a sofa with a rocket engine Very smooth and powerful. I was impressed! The dealer, Ed, and his team were very down to earth.
Date published: 2018-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Motorcycle I have owned Had this 2018 Indian Dark Horse for over 3 months now. I was hooked when I did a demo ride in May 2018. Not only is the look of the bike great, but it handles so well with the engine. I bought the smoked windscreen and black Freedom exhaust with stage 2 cams. I have had Harleys and I own two Victory's. This is now my favorite bike!
Date published: 2018-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy and stylish I rode the Springfield Dark Horse about twenty miles total at a demo day. I was pleasantly surprised by how easy it was to handle and by the effortless power. I've ridden plenty of Harleys as well and the Indian is a better ride by far. The suspension soaked up bumps and the bike actually seems happy to go around corners.
Date published: 2019-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Marvelous Engineering!! The Ride, acceleration, handing/cornering and attractiveness of this bike makes it stand alone amongst all cruiser type motorcycles. A little pricey, but when you compare it to the Harley equivalent, then it hits a home run!! Thanks Indian!! Great engineering!!
Date published: 2018-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mr. This bike handled well. Grips felt a little cheap, and the power was so-so mid way through the gears. Seat was tall for me, but is adjustable to my knowledge. I liked the controls once I got used to them. Would like to see a heel shift.
Date published: 2018-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Springfield Dark Horse The Springfield is super comfortable, smooth, powerful and sexy! Easily my favorite one tested during demo days and the matte white with the blacked out engine is beautiful!
Date published: 2019-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Decision When looking to replace my ‘12 HD Street Glide, test rode Road King Special and this...done. Brought the sundown home the following week. Best decision.
Date published: 2019-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2019 Springfield Darkhorse I took one of these out today on a demo ride. It was outfitted with probably the tallest ape hangers Indian offers (unlikely aftermarket on a demo bike) as they were definitely more than shoulder height on me. I had it in sport mode which definitely provided plenty of pep in its step partnered with at least the Stage 1 exhaust and high flow air cleaner (unsure if had Stage 2 cams). No complaints, smooth ride, plenty of power, and no faring blocking the road ahead of me.
Date published: 2019-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Motorcycle I’ve Owned Couldn’t be any happier with the 2019 Springfield. Plenty of power, comfortable ride & handles like a much smaller bike. Very pleased.
Date published: 2020-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The bike rides and runs amazing Bought a scout bobber in april and absolutely loved it, so began riding further so decided to go for the Springfield dark horse!
Date published: 2019-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great look Great bike, powerful engine, mean look! Handles the highway great! Looking forward to first long haul!
Date published: 2020-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from handling and styling Have owned three Indians so far, Roadmaster, Springfield, and Chieftan.Loved them all.
Date published: 2018-08-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Demo days test ride I was very curious about this bike. I have a Victory Cross Roads Classic and this is basically what my bike became after the production stop of Victory. The bike was the most comfortable of the 3 that I demoed; Roadmaster, Chieftain LTD, and Springfield. The seat was a bit further back than the other 2 giving me more leg room so I didn't feel as cramped, although still not as much room as my Victory. I would have to go with an extended reach seat to be more comfortable. I also wasn't happy with the position of the instrument cluster. It was positioned to far down on the fuel tank so in order to see it I had to look down and take my eyes off the road to see it. Having it mounted higher on the tank, or as a gauge between the handle bars would be a better spot for it. That way just a quick glance will give you everything you need to see.
Date published: 2019-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike...with some small drawbacks I have had my 2018 Indian Springfield Dark Horse for about 10 months now. I absolutely love the look of the flat black bike and feel it has the right touch of chrome. I'm a bigger guy so I like the overall size of this bike. Fit and finish are excellent. I love the touch of a powder coated frame. Very durable! Kudos for the remote lockable bags. Little annoyances - Tire pressure sensors seem to be an issue... they monitor low on initial startup. Turn bike off and on again and they read correctly (checked against manual gauge). Mine doesn't have different "modes" as it's an 18 model - however, an upgrade on the electronics would be nice Indian! That being said, if you're a short shifter, you'd love this but I feel like power plateaus at 3,000 RPM in first and second. Feels like you run out of steam at 2800 to 3000 RPM and you have to shift to get it moving. This may be addressed with the new "modes" but how about a retrofit for those of us early adopters with the 18 first year model DH?! Wish Indian would have done red dash lighting on the Springfield Dark Horse like they did on the Chief Dark Horse. This is just a "cool factor" thing. Overall this is a superb bike and it feels much lighter to ride than it really is. When you ride this and "feel" it, you really don't get the feel that you're on an 800 lb motorcycle. The engineers did a superb job on that front and honestly I love the suspension on this bike. It has a great amount of travel and makes for a comfortable ride. You will not "clench" up going over potholes, road cracks or railroad tracks. Big plus there! I'd love a little more comfort in the seat for when I'm riding for longer than 3 hours, but that's a normal, and universal, gripe from anyone that rides longer distances.
Date published: 2019-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Machine I went for a demo ride and experienced a great 20 minutes plus on the Dark Horse Springfield. Handled great due to the exceptional balance and low COG. Most impressive was the power and acceleration in the higher gears.
Date published: 2018-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bike. Who ever made the internet questionnaire is a dope. I test rode almost all the new 2020 bikes, this questionnaire shows only 2018 bikes. It's not even showing the FTR1200 as an option for review. The demo truck was awesome, and the people were very knowledgeable and helpful. I also tried to add a photo, but the "file size is too large". The bikes are great.
Date published: 2019-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Was ok My St-Valentin present. For me from me with all my love. Indian Chieftain. If I have to buy another it will be a Roadmaster
Date published: 2019-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth and powerful I got to ride this bike at a demo in Cave creek Arizona. Very smooth and powerful ride! It will for sure be my next bike
Date published: 2018-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just right with full stage 2 Rode during demo event. Love the “light “ handling in a parking lot. Very smooth power. Great ergonomics for long hall.
Date published: 2018-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark Horse its the one I last bought a new bike upon return from Gulf war. I enjoyed it and rode it from East to West coast. This Dark horse I just bought exudes an increased level of technical features, smooth engine and style I admire more than the leading competitor. I expect this to be my last bike and to ride it eventually the entire 4 corners of our great country.
Date published: 2020-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it Ride so smooth. Was able to do a u turn without any problems. Very fast bike.
Date published: 2018-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bike! If I had the money, I'd put one in the garage! The styling is spot on. The power and sound of the exhaust were great. I love the big Indian on the side of the tank. Don't know if it's available, but I'd love to see the black leather Indian bags with Indian conchos on the back. This would add to the Indian nostalgia.
Date published: 2018-10-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Terrible The handlebars are terrible which translate to terrible handling. Also they are set too far out so if one decides to put on apes you better hope they have foot arms
Date published: 2018-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit I had sat on the Springfield in the showroom and did not like the position of the handlebars. The Demo bike had them set a little higher and fit me perfectly. The windshield blocked enough wind to make the ride comfortable without feeling like I was following a sail. I would have liked the full fenders on this bike
Date published: 2019-06-05
  • y_2020, m_5, d_23, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_96
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19THDAACH, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 82ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Customer Reviews
MENU
Springfield Dark Horse Thunder Black

Indian Springfield Dark Horse

Starting at $27,499 CA MSRP
Trim & Color options Thunder Black Smoke

2019 Jack Daniel's® Limited Edition Indian Springfield® Dark Horse® starting at $39,499 - Learn More

Features
Matte That Shines
MATTE THAT SHINES

The matte paint scheme complements the gloss black accents for a premium look.

Powerful Thunder Stroke 111 V-Twin Engine
POWERFUL THUNDER STROKE 116 V-TWIN ENGINE

The iconic Thunder Stroke 116 delivers 126 ft-lbs of torque for exceptional acceleration and power.

Corner Carving Power
CORNER CARVING HANDLING

Easy to handle and effortlessly balanced, the Springfield Dark Horse makes quick work of corners with its lightweight cast aluminum frame and improved touring design.

See all Springfield Dark Horse Features SEE ALL THE FEATURES
Customize Yours
Springfield Dark Horse
Shop Springfield Dark Horse Accessories SHOP ACCESSORIES