Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

FTR

Starting at $12,999 US MSRP
2022 FTR Black Smoke is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 39.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It goes fast, and looks cool. I cannot describe how much I enjoy having something that goes as fast as it looks. This bike is mean, and with the right pipe on it, sounds mean. It goes fast, and looks cool. What more can I ask for from an investment :) Great compliment to my Chieftain in the garage. And its great to have a bike that stands out in a crowd of black Street Glides.
Date published: 2020-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very fun bike This bike is an absolute blast to ride. I'm a taller rider so the handle bar set-up is comfortable for me. The power to weight ratio of this bike is perfectly dialed in. The top end torque is impressive and exhilarating. Only minor issue I've had is it struggles a bit until reaching operating temperature, sometimes misfiring. I get excited every time I pull it out of the garage for a ride!
Date published: 2020-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All I thought it would be I bought my ftr in August and have just now hit my 500 mile service. Bad weather and bad timing due to life has slowed the miles from flying by. After my service I have made a pledge to ride every chance I can. This motorcycle is a torque monster. The motor has no problem with low end as well as high end. Ample power is available at any point in time that you need it. I am very happy with my purchase. And as I said in the review title, it’s all I thought it would be... and then some. The only complaint I have is the bulky looking rear fender/license plate holder. It wasn’t a problem though. I relocated all of it under the seat and eliminated the bulky looking assembly. everything I wanted in a motorcycle the ftr 1200 has provided. It’s an awesome ride and can get the adrenaline pumping without breaking a sweat. Thank you Indian. It’s like you customized this bike just for me. Awesome.
Date published: 2020-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bike ive had. Got almost 2000 miles on it. Added S&S Slip-on, bar-end mirrors, and a Corbin tidy tail. Regardless of what all the babies say.. My mapping is fine, tires are good, seat isnt too hard, and the pegs arent too slick.
Date published: 2020-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mega cool scooter! I love riding this bike! Fits me perfectly and the engine power is awesome! Also get a lot of attention as the look of the bike is so unique!
Date published: 2020-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great New model from Indian, Fun and Sporty I bought this bike as my 2nd bike and it sure lives up to its name. It has plenty of power and acceleration, and it has a command tall seating position. Fastest Bike I have ever owned, and I have many different bikes over the years. You will be pleased my the Performance of this machine, it is good value for the money, and much better than other American make competitors.
Date published: 2020-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No regrets buying Enjoy riding everytime I'm on it. Has the right amount of power and control for me. It's a beautiful clean bike overall. A lot of details. This is actually my first on-road bike. Depending on the person, I wouldn't recommend to new riders with no experience. This bike can easily eat a person whole if they don't respect it nor understand the fundamentals of riding. Ftr has a range of about 120 miles per tank for me, not for long distance cruising for most. Somethings I don't like are the cold starts, it will idle rough and usually stalls engine with the stock ECU. It's a common issue that can easily be resolved. Catalytic converter and stock muffler are ugly and bulky. I would love to see more 1st/3rd party after market parts/upgrades. Should have 600-750cc variant also.
Date published: 2020-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exciting Motorcycle From the first, visual impression of the FTR1200, it’s an amazing machine. The styling and dirt track DNA immediately drew me in. Once the 1203cc engine fires up and the throaty rumble of the S&S exhaust graces your ear drums you quickly realize that this bike isn’t all looks, it’s even more about performance. The bike pulls hard from a start, but wakes up at speed when the motor revs above 6k. On a quick weekend trip to the mountains, I rode 255 miles on the highway to a secluded cabin. No problem. Cruise control is a blessing. Once in the mountains, I hit the back gravel roads and immediately felt like I could power slide and drift every corner. The FTR instills confidence as it is so stable and loves to go sideways. Then I hit the pavement of the windy mountain roads. With a 45 degree lean angle carving the curves at speed was a blast. For the price rang of the FTR, anyone would be hard pressed to find a better looking, more versatile bike. 5 stars.
Date published: 2020-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This bike delivers and just feels special I bought this bike at the start of spring and haven't been able to stop riding it since. The power, handling and character all combine for a thrilling but balanced ride. The style is authentic and sporty. My other poor other bikes have just been sitting now. I can't find any flaws with this bike unless I nitpick. I am happy to see Indian going a new direction and making something cool instead of just then another "crusier". This V-Twin is just superb and the bike makes you feel special. Well done Indian and I couldn't be happier with this machine.
Date published: 2020-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome torque!! Fueling not the greatest. Bike rips! Arm stretching torque. Cold starts are an issue, excessive surging at most rpms.
Date published: 2020-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun to ride I bought the bike 6 weeks ago and it is a blast to ride! Also had my first service done and the dealership experience was great!
Date published: 2020-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Amazing bike! Great styling, great power and an absolute blast to ride
Date published: 2020-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastically fun I bought this as a second bike as I already own a Chieftan and wanted a fire road bike. Indian couldn't have got it more correct. I smile every time I fire up the engine and roll the throttle.
Date published: 2020-08-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fun Bike but rough running The only 2 negatives is they run very rough at start up and die out frequently until warm. It is a very tall bike for shorter riders.
Date published: 2020-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike! Love this Bike! Fun to drive and get a lot of compliments on it!
Date published: 2020-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rowdy fun... 6 weeks old...very pleased. A new bike that didn't break the bank and isn't like the others. Accessories seem a little pricey.
Date published: 2020-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome bike Ive owned this bike for about 3 months. Was hard not to get on it during break in. Its a blast, corners well. Indian is killing the motorcycle industry with its top notch quality and reasonable pricing model.
Date published: 2020-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome bike Plenty of torque behind that throttle. She’s mean and very agile, and boy what a looker. You get people from all walks of life checking out this gorgeous bike. Only thing I can say, is if you like superbikes, this bike is not for you.
Date published: 2020-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best bike I've ever owned! Overall, the FTR is leaps and bounds beyond my expectations. Aesthetically, is amazing. The engine is my favorite part. So much TORQUE everywhere! I also think the build quality is tremendous. It handles very well for tight roads and ergonomically, is very comfortable. Two issues are all I could find. Cold start engine performance is...terrible. This only impacts the first 3 minutes, but it needs to be fixed. Also, the suspensions a bit stiff from the factory. But thats it for gripes! For an entire bike, thats awesome.
Date published: 2020-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprising punch The engine delivers good low end power, then revs into a midrange punch that is great fun. Not having to run into high rpms makes carving up curvy roads a blast. Handling is right on, bringing confidence to those tight curves where I ride. The cruise control is a pleasant surprise I never thought I would use, and it makes the straight roads and hills relaxing. I love mix of gloss black, satin black and subtle chrome of my bike.
Date published: 2020-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good start! I test road an FTR at Barber vitage fest. Much quicker handling that the long wheelbase would suggest. I loved the quality fit and finish. The motor was not comfortable at 80+ MPH. Too many vibes and did not feel comfortable there. Any motorcycle now days has to feel comfortable there. That is where freeway speeds are.
Date published: 2019-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I actually rode an FTR 1200 Really liked the bike. Easy to ride, sounded good, was comfortable. Ride route was a good mix of roads. But there was a lot of heat coming off the engine, that's my only complaint.
Date published: 2019-10-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from FTR 1200 sport bike I'm accustomed to an in line 4 cyl. The v twin does not have my kind of power range. To much vibration at cruising speeds.
Date published: 2019-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bike. Who ever made the internet questionnaire is a dope. I test rode almost all the new 2020 bikes, this questionnaire shows only 2018 bikes. It's not even showing the FTR1200 as an option for review. The demo truck was awesome, and the people were very knowledgeable and helpful. I also tried to add a photo, but the "file size is too large". The bikes are great.
Date published: 2019-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Indian FTR 1200 The Indian FTR 1200 delivers as it should. It has plenty of power. The suspension was on the stiff side which I liked. My only gripe with the setup is that it had a slight sportbike feel to the seat in that it was leaning forward.
Date published: 2019-09-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rode the FTR 1200 Test rode on 9/17/2019. Would like to see Adventure touring styling on this bike and I would purchase. Too naked for the type of riding that I do. Engine is wonderful!!
Date published: 2019-09-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from FTR model I test road a FTR flat track bike and it had great response. 123 hp gets you moving quickly. Handling was good. The foot pegs felt odd but I ride a cruiser bike. Hand grips feel small but probably ok with gloves on. Radiator put a lot of heat on my legs. Good torque, acceleration is good in high gear, I didn’t have to down shift much.
Date published: 2019-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FTR 1200 review Test rode a FTR in Sturgis. What an awesome bike!!! Tons of power and features and lots of aftermarket accessories. I currently ride a Victory Boardwalk but came off of sport touring bikes, the FTR handles and pulls like a sport bike with a comfortable riding position
Date published: 2019-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from FTR review no selection available I thought the suspension was too stiff, set on medium, I would love to see this bike in a 700 cc or smaller. The seat height was a bit too tall for me at 5'9". There was way too much power, I currently ride a 1200cc Tenere. Offering a 700cc with a high pipe, keeping the weight very very light would be a winner. Please consider this as we older riders need LIGHT bikes, that aren't too tall. I think it was a great first effort. I am in the market for a bike that I described.
Date published: 2019-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FTR 1200 DEMO VERY GOOD. ALREADY OWN DARKHORSE, SCOUT AND SCOUT 60
Date published: 2019-07-01
  • y_2021, m_4, d_21, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_39
  • loc_en_US, sid_N22RZA22A4, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 62ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Customer Reviews

Trim & Color Options

FTR Black Smoke

FTR

Starting at $12,999 US MSRP
Trim & Color options Black Smoke

Features

Features
NIMBLE HANDLING

17 in wheels with Metzeler Sportec tires and street tuned suspension provide planted cornering, agility, and agile handling.

POISED FOR THRILLS

Class-leading 87 ft-lbs of torque and 120hp with smooth power delivery to push your heart to the back of your chest and your concerns to the back of your mind.

WORTHY OF A DOUBLE TAKE

The modern, monochromatic matte-black paint is interrupted by bold red highlights, including the Indian Motorcycle script on the tank, pinstripes on the wheels, and a rear spring that’ll be the last thing they see as you blow by.

Customize Yours
* Starting at MSRP is the manufactured suggested price and excludes delivery, setup, tax, title, license, and additional fees and expenses. Bikes may be shown with optional accessories. Final sale price determined by authorized Indian Motorcycle® dealer. Specifications and MSRP are subject to change. Due to California emissions regulations, additional costs may apply when purchasing or leasing a Motorcycle in California.