Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer
Menu

Indian Chief Dark Horse Reviews

2022 Chief Dark Horse Black Smoke is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 369.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from CDH BadAss The Good- I started my motorcycle Journey April 2022 visiting Harley & Indian dealers around my area. Based on the history and the charismatic look I knew I wanted an Indian. Harley didn’t appeal to me at all. After figuring out what was a right fit for me (Chief, Scout, etc.) I saw a Chief Dark Horse and fell in love. I ordered my Chief Dark Horse on 7/2/22, delivery date was 11/18/22. I love the look, sound and power of the CDH Black Smoke. The ride command is awesome too! Cosmo Indian delivered my CDH 11/18/22, it was an early Christmas! I’ve been riding high ever since. The Bad- No Matt black exhaust pipes. I did know/was told this when I ordered. However 2023’ came in 2 weeks later with black pipes. The Ugly- 4 month order (at-least) based on bike and color. I understand there are supply/material and maybe labor issues Polaris/Indian is dealing with. Hopefully my next one will be a quicker turn around. After all said and done, I’ll do it again. Indian is killing it with a Innivative look, colors, power and price point.
Date published: 2023-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome midsize cruiser After the release of this new model I quickly realized it would suit my riding style much better than my previous one and after I took delivery I understand now that it was a wise choice. So far I can see many a miles being ridden on this bike! It’s also in the process of becoming a rolling tribute to our military!
Date published: 2023-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made in the USA for the rest of us!! Want a motorcycle that runs well, made in the USA and isn't a Harley? Look no further. What an incredible motorcycle. I am proud to be driving this fantastic machine. No more running around on some other import with other drivers scoffing at you. This machine commands respect and gets it in droves. So much power at the flick of the wrist, classic looks, beautiful styling with an outstanding modern twist. The 7" Ride Command display makes everything possible without the complex array of individual instruments. Keeps everything looking clean on the handlebars. The tech is still kind of new and can use additional refinement, but I'm so pleased with it, I'll take the quirks. The only question you should be asking yourself is why you haven't put your money down yet? Don't settle with a Harley like the rest, be an individual, take a stand and get yourself an Indian. You won't be disappointed, I wasn't.
Date published: 2022-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Absolute Rocket Roughly a 4 month wait to get my hands on this work of art. I have to say it was worth every second. Just about every ride I receive components. On one occasion I was asked how old it was and how I managed to keep it so good looking. It has that perfect retro look with modern touches. The styling is so far from its competitors it’s on a whole new level. Indian is really on to something. I catch myself just staring at it when she’s garaged up.
Date published: 2022-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ride ever! I ordered this bike in January and received it in July. It was definitely worth the wait. The Chief DH is amazing to ride and the new features makes it the best experience. I am overall satisfied. This bike is my second addition to my collection. I also have a 2019 Chieftain DH that also is amazing to ride.
Date published: 2022-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hand controls finish Bought the bike for my wife. She loves it except for the hand controls, one has a brushed finished and the other is polished. All their bikes are this way. Talk to a company rep in Sturgis and he said they get the controls from different manufacturers but they never noticed that they had different finishes. He said he would talk to corporate about it.
Date published: 2022-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FXD….Chief DarkHorse Love the bike, great performance handles like a dream, nimble, steady and quick. The ride command is awesome. If you’re over 5’11 get the Bobber or mini apes foot position is great feel like I’m slouching for the bars. Aftermarket is still real limit so be aware before purchasing. A few finishing details are little rough around the edges if you look for them to complain about.
Date published: 2022-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Powerful cruiser I’ve owned my new Indian for 2 months. Road almost 1900 miles. Ergonomics are good after I had cruiser bars installed. Floorboards are comfortable along with heal shifter. Only other option was a rear fender luggage rack. Overall I gave it a 4 due to a stiff non adjustable clutch lever. It should be adjustable for smaller hands, and lighter pull for older riders. I’m 5 ft 10 inches and 130 lbs, 65 years old. Also disappointed with puke tube coming out of engine that will drip oil on your clean garage floor. Ride is very smooth even for light riders. Throttle in sport mode is way too jerky. Standard mode is best. Braking is excellent. Seat is very comfortable for up to 3 hour rides so far. Fuel economy is 56 mpg, but I don’t ride it hard. Cruise control is useful and easy to use. I with turn signals were like Harley-Davidson one on left and right controls. Sometimes hard to turn on signals if you pulled in clutch handle and have small hands. Cruise control nice, but does not have ETA when viewing route on screen.
Date published: 2022-06-24
  • y_2023, m_1, d_31, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_369
  • loc_en_US, sid_N22DMABHAH, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 7ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT