Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer
Menu

Chieftain Limited Reviews

2022 Chieftain Limited Silver Quartz Metallic is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 245.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from First indian Happy with bike. Not happy with dealer follow up, so far bike is great
Date published: 2021-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 1,500 mile review Ok it 1,640 miles but close. Let’s start with I love love love this bike. I am your true sport bike convert that always wanted a bagger but didn’t only want to have an “old man bike.” Im glad I waited until now because I love all the tech and features my ‘21 Chieftain Limited has. I traded in my ‘16 ZX14r for it and haven’t missed it one bit. I have had this bike for 7 weeks as of this post and only have driven my pickup 3 times to work. I don’t mind get wet coming home from work but not arriving to work. If your on the fence about purchasing one come to the other side. It’s expensive but so worth it and it doesn’t vibrate you to death like a Harley. Never understood why a man would want his rear vibrated like that but to each his own. Love my Indian Chieftain Limited. This was not a paid review but if Indian Motorcycle is reading this I can be bribed with accessories!!
Date published: 2021-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome features and rides like a Cadillac I bought my chieftain about 2 months ago. This thing is awesome. Rides and handles great. Rode her in the rain for the first time and changed it to tour mode so it would brake and handle different in wet conditions. I could definitely tell a difference. When I’m riding in the mountains I sometimes put her in sport mode and the throttle response is everything you would expect and more (awesome) I could rattle on all day about my Indian chieftain and how much I love it.
Date published: 2021-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Ride I bought this bike a month ago and it's the best choice I've made. Even my buddies that have Harleys compliment my bike.
Date published: 2021-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing bike Upgraded from an Indian Scout. Whole new ride experience. Bike is super comfy with plenty of power and amazing features. Installed an air cleaner and some Rinehart slip ons. I could not be happier with my purchase.
Date published: 2021-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sport bike convert Always loved the look and abilities of a sport bike. My last was a 2016 ZX14R. But I never used the bike to it’s potential. My wife loves to go out on the bike so needed one that size for comfort. Always considered a bagger as an old man bike and would get one eventually, my stupidity and ego cost me years of happiness. After purchasing 2021 Chieftain Limited I can’t believe I waited this long. I knew I would never own a Harley and always figured I would end up on a Jap cruiser. Then 2020 happened and made me appreciate American Made more and more. Then after researching the Indian heritage and culture I was hooked. What an amazing bike, loaded with tech and just flat out sexy. Plenty of power out of the 116 motor. If you have been debating on doing it, stop, go get it and you will never regret it. There is riding a motorcycle and their is riding a motorcycle with pride. Do the latter and you will experience something amazing.
Date published: 2021-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bike I have ever rode I bought the Indian Chieftain Limited about two months ago and I love it. It has a lot of torque but very smooth through the rev range, looks absolutely beautiful and is a hot to ride. I find myself looking for excuses to ride all the time.
Date published: 2021-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great and comfortable ride I bought this a month ago and love it best riding bikes I’ve ever had
Date published: 2021-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible Bike. After owning 3 Harleys, I now own 2 real bikes. Borh a Roadmaster Limited and a Chieftan Limited. Both have better features. Ride snappier. Are more comfortable and look better.
Date published: 2021-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best decision I wanted to try something different. It worked out better than I could have imagined.
Date published: 2021-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy with the motorcycle I bought my 2019 Chieftain limited new on 4th of July weekend and so far I love the bike. Never owned an Indian before, so we're working through the normal growing pains with an unfamiliar brand, but the overall look and design far outweigh small irritants. I had Rineharts and the Thunderstroke® Stage 1 Performance Air Intake and I really like the sound now.
Date published: 2021-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Change for the better I have been writing Harley Davidson for over 20 years and was let down buy a recent service experience so I decided to change brands and go with Indian and I am certainly happy I did. They Indian Charlotte team Amanda Shawn and Heather did an excellent job of making sure I was taken care of appropriately throughout the sales process. 1500 miles completed and look forward to many more on this bagger.
Date published: 2021-08-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Riding in Style Very stylish and well made motorcycle. Fun to ride and comfortable. The infotainment system is fantastic, as are fit and finish. I chose the Chieftain over the Challenger because the Chieftain is much more my style. But the stock 116 is lacking. Like all V-twins it has a incredible torque. But, horsepower is a function of torque @ rpms and this delivers power only at the low end of rpm range. In fact, it's pretty much gutless after about 3500 rpms. Happily, all that torque makes it very quick for roll on power if you're rolling along at a low rpm - even in 5th. I know you're thinking "just put on a Stage II kit and all your problems are solved". It should have left the factory with a Stage II kit then. It's also long and low, which is super cool looking. But it's so long, it's not exactly nimble. And, the Dunlop E3 in the rear has broken loose on wet pavement a few times when it really shouldn't have (I hear E4s are far superior). It's strange to me too that a bike this expensive doesn't have traction assist and linked brakes. All in all, I was looking for a fantastic looking bagger for long comfortable rides that I'll have for years to come and I'm happy with it. I chose to buy a slower bike because I'm old. But if the Challenger engine was in the Chieftain frame . . .
Date published: 2021-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2020 couch corvette This bike is comfortable, fast and smooth, I’ve ridden a lot of bikes and I feel like this chieftain is a good balance between comfort and performance, I get a lot of compliments on this bike . What can Indian do different? Not much. The rear cylinder does get warm but if you are moving and just cruising you don’t notice it that much , the hot cylinder will be welcome in the winter months. For as heavy as this bike is, it doesn’t feel like an 800 pound bagger
Date published: 2021-08-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Junk Bought several weeks ago put 480 miles and have turned it in for a 2021 Harley Davidson Road Glide Special. Bike, dealer, service and customer service are the worst ever.
Date published: 2021-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features I really like this motorcycle. It has way more power than I imagined.
Date published: 2021-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2021 Chieftain Limited - Extremely Satisfied ! Had my 21 Chieftain Limited for over six weeks now and couldn't be happier. No issues what-so-ever. With just over a thousand miles on the clock this bike is everything I expected and more. And that's saying a lot as my last ride was a 2015 Goldwing. I especially like the Ride Command feature and the ability to log into my Ride Command account, create routes and easily, within seconds, download them to the bike. The 7" nav screen is great! Engine wise, there's plenty of power - couldn't be happier. The rear cylinder de-activation works great and keeps the heat away from my legs at stops and the gear spread on the six-speed trans is the best I've had. Handling is completely neutral, fit and finish is super and Polaris has done an A+ job of keeping the Indian tradition alive with the bikes styling. I'm also fortunate to have a great dealer although I wish there were more of them so they weren't so few and far between, especially for traveling cross country. That being said, I'd buy it again in a heartbeat!
Date published: 2021-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb Bike!! Finest engineered motorcycle on the planet!! Love it!!
Date published: 2021-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from King of the road Haven’t found any negatives to the bike. Gotta spend a little time to understand all the bells and whistles.
Date published: 2021-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Logical step from my Vision Bike is good, a little cramped compared to my Vision. Seat hurts my butt, the advanced technology is impressive.
Date published: 2021-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from At 1000 miles and very satisfied so far Really well thought out bike ...love the fit and finish and styling
Date published: 2021-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice color Love this bike the people at Oklahoma city are very helpful and lesen to you win looking for a bike and help you find the one that fits you well
Date published: 2021-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bike! Love this bike but for the love of Pete please get more vibrant colors. I have a 2019 Chieftain Ltd in Dark Walnut and am looking into pinstripping to give it a pop because it’s boring!!! Also your seats hurt please redesign them.
Date published: 2021-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fully Loaded This bike is a great one! I have owned a few and this is a grown man’s bike for sure. I could not be happier with my Indian Chieftain Limited.
Date published: 2021-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike I have a 2019 Chieftain Limited in Kona Brown Metallic. Beautiful bike. When I bought the bike I had the dealer install the Stage II kit along with a heal/toe shifter and the upgrade stereo system. The bike is very well balanced and corners like no other V-Twin. The transmission is extremely smooth and quiet. The air suspension is a great way to customize the bike to your load. No complaints at all. You manufacture one fine motorcycle!!
Date published: 2021-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2 Month Review Bought early April - First 700 miles of riding my Chieftan
Date published: 2021-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the info stereo center I’ve always had Harleys and I still love them. But I’ve always wanted an Indian and I can truly say that I love everything about it.
Date published: 2021-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Handles great, feels light, balances great, but... It handles great, feels light, balances great, rides smooth, looks great, and feels powerful. Overall I like it, but have a few issues with it as well. Ride command does not upload any of my ride data and vehicle information, like it should. The engine runs very hot, under your left leg and drops to single cylinder mode often, even in the cool weather that I have been riding in. Does some odd things where it does not come back down to idle every once in a while at a stop light, or stop sign, sitting there revving about 2K rpm for about 5 to 10 seconds. Along those lines, sometimes it drops down too much, and nearly dies, then continues to surge up and down at idle. It’s not very consistent. Has a lot of engine noise, where it ticks quite loudly at certain RPM’s. Dash rattles a lot at certain RPM’s as well. USB music, it always starts over from the first song, each time you start it, unless you have scuffle on. There is no option to select folders or have I figured out how to make playlists. Also, randomly drops out, or suddenly says no media, even though I am using the USB flash drive it was supplied with. Radio reception is quite terrible, where I can’t use it in my area. So, find myself needing to use Bluetooth audio as it is the most consistent. Dash gets confused if it is daytime or night, switching from black to white background. Even had it mix partially black and white once, depending on the screen you were on. Auto brightness is also an issue, where I need to override it quite often, as I can't see in in the day, or stays full brightness at night. Hopefully they can fix some of the radio issues in an update.
Date published: 2021-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Engineered Picked this this bike up a couple of weeks ago and it is everything I thought it was and more. The handling is awesome it really instills confidence. I can throw it around in the curves and yet it is comfortable on the freeway. I cnt wait to take it on a long haul.go on a long haul. I added a 12 in Klock works windscreen , which is perfect for me , as well a set of saddlebag crash bars and a heal shifter, which really should be standard. The after market is growing slowly so the factory accessories are expensive,
Date published: 2021-04-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cheap Chrome, No Top Emd Less than (1) one year old. The bike is and has been waxed weekly and kept in an enclosed building. Already chrome is pitted terribly, CHEAP CHROME,VERY THIN. it is registered to 200 MPH. will barely do 110 wide open. No Top End at all.
Date published: 2021-04-19
  • y_2022, m_12, d_3, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_245
  • loc_en_US, sid_N22TCABBAS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 18ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT