Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Chieftain Limited

Starting at $27,999 US MSRP
2019 Indian Chieftain Limited Thunder Black Pearl is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 233.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Riding in Style Very stylish and well made motorcycle. Fun to ride and comfortable. The infotainment system is fantastic, as are fit and finish. I chose the Chieftain over the Challenger because the Chieftain is much more my style. But the stock 116 is lacking. Like all V-twins it has a incredible torque. But, horsepower is a function of torque @ rpms and this delivers power only at the low end of rpm range. In fact, it's pretty much gutless after about 3500 rpms. Happily, all that torque makes it very quick for roll on power if you're rolling along at a low rpm - even in 5th. I know you're thinking "just put on a Stage II kit and all your problems are solved". It should have left the factory with a Stage II kit then. It's also long and low, which is super cool looking. But it's so long, it's not exactly nimble. And, the Dunlop E3 in the rear has broken loose on wet pavement a few times when it really shouldn't have (I hear E4s are far superior). It's strange to me too that a bike this expensive doesn't have traction assist and linked brakes. All in all, I was looking for a fantastic looking bagger for long comfortable rides that I'll have for years to come and I'm happy with it. I chose to buy a slower bike because I'm old. But if the Challenger engine was in the Chieftain frame . . .
Date published: 2021-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2020 couch corvette This bike is comfortable, fast and smooth, I’ve ridden a lot of bikes and I feel like this chieftain is a good balance between comfort and performance, I get a lot of compliments on this bike . What can Indian do different? Not much. The rear cylinder does get warm but if you are moving and just cruising you don’t notice it that much , the hot cylinder will be welcome in the winter months. For as heavy as this bike is, it doesn’t feel like an 800 pound bagger
Date published: 2021-08-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Junk Bought several weeks ago put 480 miles and have turned it in for a 2021 Harley Davidson Road Glide Special. Bike, dealer, service and customer service are the worst ever.
Date published: 2021-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features I really like this motorcycle. It has way more power than I imagined.
Date published: 2021-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2021 Chieftain Limited - Extremely Satisfied ! Had my 21 Chieftain Limited for over six weeks now and couldn't be happier. No issues what-so-ever. With just over a thousand miles on the clock this bike is everything I expected and more. And that's saying a lot as my last ride was a 2015 Goldwing. I especially like the Ride Command feature and the ability to log into my Ride Command account, create routes and easily, within seconds, download them to the bike. The 7" nav screen is great! Engine wise, there's plenty of power - couldn't be happier. The rear cylinder de-activation works great and keeps the heat away from my legs at stops and the gear spread on the six-speed trans is the best I've had. Handling is completely neutral, fit and finish is super and Polaris has done an A+ job of keeping the Indian tradition alive with the bikes styling. I'm also fortunate to have a great dealer although I wish there were more of them so they weren't so few and far between, especially for traveling cross country. That being said, I'd buy it again in a heartbeat!
Date published: 2021-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb Bike!! Finest engineered motorcycle on the planet!! Love it!!
Date published: 2021-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from King of the road Haven’t found any negatives to the bike. Gotta spend a little time to understand all the bells and whistles.
Date published: 2021-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Logical step from my Vision Bike is good, a little cramped compared to my Vision. Seat hurts my butt, the advanced technology is impressive.
Date published: 2021-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from At 1000 miles and very satisfied so far Really well thought out bike ...love the fit and finish and styling
Date published: 2021-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice color Love this bike the people at Oklahoma city are very helpful and lesen to you win looking for a bike and help you find the one that fits you well
Date published: 2021-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bike! Love this bike but for the love of Pete please get more vibrant colors. I have a 2019 Chieftain Ltd in Dark Walnut and am looking into pinstripping to give it a pop because it’s boring!!! Also your seats hurt please redesign them.
Date published: 2021-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fully Loaded This bike is a great one! I have owned a few and this is a grown man’s bike for sure. I could not be happier with my Indian Chieftain Limited.
Date published: 2021-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike I have a 2019 Chieftain Limited in Kona Brown Metallic. Beautiful bike. When I bought the bike I had the dealer install the Stage II kit along with a heal/toe shifter and the upgrade stereo system. The bike is very well balanced and corners like no other V-Twin. The transmission is extremely smooth and quiet. The air suspension is a great way to customize the bike to your load. No complaints at all. You manufacture one fine motorcycle!!
Date published: 2021-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2 Month Review Bought early April - First 700 miles of riding my Chieftan
Date published: 2021-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the info stereo center I’ve always had Harleys and I still love them. But I’ve always wanted an Indian and I can truly say that I love everything about it.
Date published: 2021-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Handles great, feels light, balances great, but... It handles great, feels light, balances great, rides smooth, looks great, and feels powerful. Overall I like it, but have a few issues with it as well. Ride command does not upload any of my ride data and vehicle information, like it should. The engine runs very hot, under your left leg and drops to single cylinder mode often, even in the cool weather that I have been riding in. Does some odd things where it does not come back down to idle every once in a while at a stop light, or stop sign, sitting there revving about 2K rpm for about 5 to 10 seconds. Along those lines, sometimes it drops down too much, and nearly dies, then continues to surge up and down at idle. It’s not very consistent. Has a lot of engine noise, where it ticks quite loudly at certain RPM’s. Dash rattles a lot at certain RPM’s as well. USB music, it always starts over from the first song, each time you start it, unless you have scuffle on. There is no option to select folders or have I figured out how to make playlists. Also, randomly drops out, or suddenly says no media, even though I am using the USB flash drive it was supplied with. Radio reception is quite terrible, where I can’t use it in my area. So, find myself needing to use Bluetooth audio as it is the most consistent. Dash gets confused if it is daytime or night, switching from black to white background. Even had it mix partially black and white once, depending on the screen you were on. Auto brightness is also an issue, where I need to override it quite often, as I can't see in in the day, or stays full brightness at night. Hopefully they can fix some of the radio issues in an update.
Date published: 2021-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Engineered Picked this this bike up a couple of weeks ago and it is everything I thought it was and more. The handling is awesome it really instills confidence. I can throw it around in the curves and yet it is comfortable on the freeway. I cnt wait to take it on a long haul.go on a long haul. I added a 12 in Klock works windscreen , which is perfect for me , as well a set of saddlebag crash bars and a heal shifter, which really should be standard. The after market is growing slowly so the factory accessories are expensive,
Date published: 2021-04-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cheap Chrome, No Top Emd Less than (1) one year old. The bike is and has been waxed weekly and kept in an enclosed building. Already chrome is pitted terribly, CHEAP CHROME,VERY THIN. it is registered to 200 MPH. will barely do 110 wide open. No Top End at all.
Date published: 2021-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bike! I bought this bike about a month ago and just hit 2000 miles. I wanted a heavier bike that I could be flatfooted on and where the weight was distributed so that I didn't have to fight it at low speeds. This bike is all that and more. It is very well balanced and handles the road beautifully. It has more than enough power. The bags are a great size for weekend trips. The RideMaster is great once you learn how to use it. I was a little disappointed that there were not more detailed instructions that came with the bike. The link between the RideMaster and computer is a little hit and miss. I've had a number of tracked rides that would not come up on my computer. The handlebars are more of a reach for smaller persons. I had to order reduced reach bars so I wasn't leaning forward so much. The other thing I really didn't like was the kickstand. For those of us with shorter legs you literally have to kick the kickstand 2-3 times to get it all the way forward so the bike is secure. I had to order a reduced reach kickstand as well. I love the keyless ignition and ability to lock my bags. And the fact that you can still start your bike should you lose your fob while out and about. I had to order the taller windshield because at highway speeds my head got whipped around by the wind but I was expecting that with the small windshield. Bottom line, this is an awesome bike. I changed 3 things on it to better fit me and by far the best bike I've ever owned!
Date published: 2021-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ride I love the bike it rides great and you get so many more options for the price over a Harley glad I went this direction
Date published: 2021-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features The nicest motorcycle I have ever purchased! Been riding for 40 plus years
Date published: 2021-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this bick bought this bike 1 month ago can't wait for summer.
Date published: 2021-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New 2019 Chieftain Limted Bought this bike new about 6 weeks ago. Been riding Harley's pretty much for 40 years, so far I love the feel and just overall performance of the bike.
Date published: 2020-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Navigation system the power of the bike the comfor I bought it two months ago me and my wife took a trip we was not tired after riding for a long distance comfortable seat
Date published: 2020-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features on chieftain After 300 miles of riding two up the seat could be better and the windshield could be a couple of inches taller and less distorted.Other than that the chieftain is a good riding bike .
Date published: 2020-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love At First Test Drive Absolutely made the right decision when I purchased my 2020 Chieftain Limited. Not my only motorcycle but the one I choose every time to ride.
Date published: 2020-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bought it a month ago and I can't ride it enough. Way to much crappy weather
Date published: 2020-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome bike Sweet ride great customer service awesome features and good price
Date published: 2020-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very smooth ride I m so glad I bought this bike.. It has grace and style
Date published: 2020-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great overall performance My overall experience with this company and dealer is great.
Date published: 2020-10-08
  • y_2021, m_10, d_25, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_233
  • loc_en_US, sid_N19TCAAAA1, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_indian
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 78ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Reviews
Chieftain Limited Thunder Black Pearl

Chieftain Limited

Starting at $27,999 US MSRP
Trim & Color options Thunder Black Pearl

ICON Series motorcycles are part of a limited-availability factory custom paint program.

Features
Chieftain limited feature
CHROMED OUT STYLE

A bike that looks as good as it performs, the Chieftain Limited features a sleek fairing, slammed saddlebags, a 19” front wheel and distinct badging.

Ride Command
INDIAN MOTORCYCLE RIDE COMMAND

The largest, fastest, most customizable system on two wheels, with Apple CarPlay® integration, turn-by-turn navigation with intuitive destination search capabilities, Bluetooth connectivity, vehicle information, plus connected traffic and weather overlays to keep you on the road longer.

Chieftain limited feature
MODERN. AGGRESSIVE.

LED lighting from nose to tail and a lowered stance complete the custom-inspired look.